Shanghai Food & Shopping

sweatcorn

Hi Sharon, I can oni vaguely remember :

1 Cheng2 Huang2 Miao4 (arts n crafts stuff)
2 Nanjing Street (shops n shopping malls)
3 the new 'Raffles City' (shopping malls)
4 Ren2 Ming2 Guang2 Chang3 (shops n shopping malls)
5 the junction btw Xiang1 Yang2 Jie1 and Huai2 Hai3 street (pasa malam style wif stalls selling imitation goods)
6 Hong Kong Famous Shops Street (underground shops at their train stations something like city link mall)

As for food, we ate while we shop so mostly we ate at the restaurants in the shopping malls... can't help much here...

but be sure to bring lotsa $$ for shopping cos the stuff r so cheap there...

also if u r shopping at shops (not shopping malls) pls remember to bargain... u can get the item at 50% or less from their initial offering price... esp at location 5.

Hope u'll hv a rewarding trip...

sharonw

Thanx sweatcorn,

Guess i will have a great shopping time... What did u buy huh?? Btw, how is the security over there?? Isit oso very cheap eating in restaurant??

As for the pasa malam (xiang yang jie), isit open everyday?? Day or Night market huh??

Sorrie for asking so much...getting excited abt the trip... but i think the weather is really HOT now.....

sweatcorn

hi sharon, yes u sure hv a great time shopping...

i enjoyed myself there...

i bought clothes mainly... n some small pouches n bags from the pasar malam... some other knick knacks like a couple of those cheena pattern dinning table deco stuff (tables mats, coasters, tissue boxes n etc)... errrm... think got some more little things that i cannot remember...

security is ok lah... juz be careful of your wallet n bags when u r at a busy place... that's wat our tour guide advised us loh... u going on free n easy or guided tour??

yes eating in the restaurants is cheap compared to sin lah... but there oso got food court... no worries abt eating...

I dunno the exact opening hrs for the pasar malam but at night oso hv... that time we went at 8pm still got lah... not sure if summer got longer opening hrs... we went during spring time... weather wet n cold... not very good...

sharonw

Haloo Sweatcorn,

I be going on free & easy for 6 days. That's why i was hoping to find out more before my trip. Thanx for the info.. I be setting off next Friday.

meaty

hi sharon, i thinking of going shanghai.
which tour agent did you book with?
which month is good for going shanghai?

alyssa_mom

U must go to Crystal Jade located at Xintiandi. Their xiao long bao is so much nicer than the local ones. I prefer it to the Yu Yuan one where there is a restaurant that serves best in Shanghai. If you do go the latter one at Yu Yuan, just look for the one with the long q. The long q is for takeaway and if you want to dine in, just climb the steps and go up to the 2nd and 3rd floor where there are the restaurants. Got to try their renown soup dumpling where u are given a straw to suck the juice of the long bao.

U shld go to Xintiandi for dining or drinks at night...it is like our boat quay but nicer.

mocca_pooh

when i went there, i stay in a 4 star hotel farther from the city (at Ji Nian road, called Jiang Xin Da Jiu Dian) ... cos cheaper, 150 yuan per rm/night. security is ok.
only thing is u have to travel a bit everyday to go out ... but e taxi there is oso veri cheap

vi_vi

I stayed in a 3 star hotel directly above a shopping arcade along Nan Jing road.

Very cheap. $40 per nite only. No frills, basic and clean lah.

The hotel name is called Dong Ya, i.e east asia.

quite safe too since traffic is bz along the road.

I totally enjoyed myself in Shaghai. Loved the food there.

suetan

Hi all, can anyone share hw much roughly a package to shanghai n some other states cost? Planning to go for 6 days n budget is $600

truffle

Are the Shanghainese very well-dressed? Will dec be very cold? Wondering what i should pack in my luggage. I do not want to appear too sloppy there.

Hey Truffle,

It's cold there now! We were there 2 weeks ago. Imagine open-air air-con in the streets! Nice to have it, but the temperature drops at night. Even my office cardigan cannot keep the cold away.

Well-dressed... well, mainly are in long sleeves + jeans/pants due to the cold weather...

Hey Truffle,

It's cold there now! We were there 2 weeks ago. Imagine open-air air-con in the streets! Nice to have it, but the temperature drops at night. Even my office cardigan cannot keep the cold away.

Well-dressed... well, mainly are in long sleeves + jeans/pants due to the cold weather...

ginn

Just wondering anyone knows whether shops and everything else is open during CNY period in Shanghai? Thanks

Dear truffle: It's hard to define well-dressed. Younger Shanghainese tend to dress down these 3 years. Certain nightspots still observe dress code. Certain shops will patronise you if you're sloppily dressed. Rule of the Thumb, wear something comfortable, but not absurdly crass, unless you want to be scorned at by the Shanghainese. I usually pack my better-quality winter fashion into my luggage when I go to Shanghai on biz trips. This way, I win respect and good service from the mercenary Shanghainese. Sounds stupid but it's a fact.

Ginn:

Sure, they are business as usual, but UNUSUALLY crowded with domestic tourists plus overseas ones like you during CNY...The Shanghainese themselves are out of town...

there'll be quite some rain end of the year..so bring waterproof covered footwear (brolly can easily buy there at cheap prices)..otherwise your feet will freeze! dress up/dress down is entirely up to you..i was there in my usual tshirt and jeans and i didn't feel a bit uncomfortable or got lousy service.

ginn

hi yule,
thanks for the tips.. Seems like you know shanghai pretty well. Any recommendations for hotels there? Thanks!

vi_vi

I just came back and stayed in Xin Jin Jiang aka Jin Jiang Tower. The location is good, near huai hai lu and nan jing lu.

Shanghai have gotten expensive compared to the last time i went there 2 yrs back. more and more sky scrappers. quite scary the progress.

ginn

Hi meow,
How many days did u stay at shanghai? Wonder wat are the places of interest there and how many days is enough? Or is it just a city for food & shopping? Thanks!

vi_vi

I actually went on a tour wif my parents. total 10 days coz we extended 2 nites in Shanghai. The route goes from Nan Jing to Hang Zhou to Wu Xi to Su Zhou and finally SHanghai. Total 4 days in Shanghai.

Shanghai is just typical big city like Hong Kong. Personally I think the Shanghai Museum is quite well done. Worth a visit. Must take boat ride in the nite to see the Bund. Shopping is concentrated on HUai Hai Lu and Nan JIng Lu. Xian YAng is famous for fake designer everything. Plenty of nice restaurants and good food but standard of living is comparable with Singapore so dun expect everything to be cheap.

I think 4 days is just about right for Shanghai only. If you have time, should take a 3D 2N tour to Su and Hang Zhuo. Else a day trip to Zhou Zhung also a good alternative.

hope this helps

DEar Ginn:
I'm sorry for the late reply. Yah lor, I've been there for work, leisure, and visiting relatives for more than 10X oredy. I'm sick and tired of mighty Shanghai, baby!

I usually stay at my friends/relatives' apts, but occasionally I stay at Charms Hotel (Zhong Fu hotel) which is a stone's throw from Nanjing Rd. It's very convenient and cheap too: RMB400-600 depending on season.

smurfying

Hi yule, let's better chat at the rite place huh! Ok asked my FH liaoz, the mutton restaurant in SZ tat doesn't allow Japs in is called 大ç°ç‹¼.

And i mentioned abt the Nanxiang XLBs to him, kena scolded by him, cos i've actually ate before without even knowing it haha... We din eat at the ChengHuang temple there, but he claims tat we ate the "real" nanxiang XLBs when we were on our way to 西å”.

Hi tansy!

Yeah, I think it's more considerate to chat here hor?

How come don't allow 大ç°ç‹¼? Are they anti-Jap?

Oh dear! You're so forgetful...you can ask him to bring you to another competitor nearby 绿 波 廊。

smurfying

yeah....the postings came slow n in office tis noon, hang so many times...
yah, 大ç°ç‹¼ is anti-jap one. Hey my FH asking if u're in banking, say scarli he knows u...haha...He's looking for golf kaki, so if u noe he says he wan to know u haha!!!

I just went to heat up my bobo-charchar cos the weather is soo chilly now! Hey, your FH is in banking? Is he on local or expat package? No, he belongs to the new batch...we're the pioneers...Golf? My hb is an avid golfer, not me. Boring sport...

I guess that's why he is at Shekou...Fedex? UPS? DHL?!! kekeke!

Anyway, i think it's better that you sign on the dotted line, get a job there, and join him. I don't mean to demoralise you or sow seeds of discord, but I've seen many r/s breakdowns because the gf never join the guy in SH.

The men just got lonely or engrossed with everything Chinese, and after doing some financial calculations, they feel they can afford a cheaper condo in SH than one in S'pore, esp if they don't hv enough CPF if they're on local package.

Yes, you won't feel this, but as one work and stay longer here, you enjoy the freedom, the cheaper cost of living, it'll become very hard to pull out and start afresh in Singapore without CPF. That is why many of them prefer to marry a cheaper option: decent Shanghainese girls who are prettier and cheaper to maintain. Of course, this is for those of my guy friends who are determine to remain in China to Fa(1) Zhan(3)...

OK, sounds like those girls are cheap? No lor, my Shanghainese gfs are degreeholders from proper family background, speaks decent English, look attractive, etc. Most imptly, they fill in the gaps when the Singaporean gfs are absent.

Just my 2 cts worth...Think abt it, but don't brood over it, dearie

smurfying

It's ok...cos i've known these even before i got tog with him. Haha, u see when he's in SZ during the 1st yr, we aren't tog. Only last yr tat he hook me up :p Yesh u're rite, another of our mutual fren got himself a SH gf, then think he's going to marry her kind.

On the contrary, think he's more scared tat i run away with his proposal ring keke... One thing i like abt him is tat he really knows wat he want n he takes his words seriously. So i choose to trust him.

U meantioned abt the highly eligible shanghainese gals, yah hav seen n abit worried too lor. But well, if he want to fall for a china gal, he would hav done so long ago...not 3yrs later cos temptation during the 1st yr there would b the highest? I dunno, but i choose to trust him, else i'll be like those other forumers, posting "Help, is he having an affair n such?".

But that said, to be fair to you, there'll be others who choose to stick to their "Made in Singapore" gfs, in lieu of their Chinese ones...Most of these ppl are working for GLCs, stat boards, MNC with postings of 2-3 yrs. When their term is up, they will come back to Singapore to work. Morevoer, they are on Singapore terms, i.e. their CPF continues to snowball whilst they are in China. In most cases, their gfs will never risk their career to join them there...

For another group of people who go to China after graduation, they usually suffer a paycut and compromise on their packages becos they want to experience China. Eventually, they leave on Chinese soil, spend RMB, enjoy CHinese living stds, they realise they can't return to S'pore high living stds anymore. They also find it hard to service their mortgage becos of their shortage of CPF funds, unless you remain working in Singapore lah! They are left with the option of buying a 70-yr lease condo in China which is cheaper (RMB300-400K for a decent apt with amenities in the suburbs). Better than HDB flats. However, when their S'pore gf gets demanding, they will break up and look for Chinese girls whom they can readily call upon.

Remember, don't think there're only Shangahinese girls there. My Singaporean guy friends marry those Anhui, Suzhou, Hangzhou ones working in Shanghai...they are less materialistic.

Please don't let me spoil your evening...This is the real situation there that you shd brace yourself up to!!!

OK, I know you hvae all the trust in him. I also hv a lot of trust in him, but there are some decisions that you shd make right now. That's why I ask if he is on local or expat package. Any stable CPF income or not? Any spouse allowance?

When you purchase a flat or property in S'pore, you've to first ask yourselves, how much are u making every mth to service the mthly instalments if you continue to work and live in S;pore. In the event that you quit your job, what is your maximum allowable downtime (of no income) when you move to China if he still doesn't wanna return to s'pore...this means, his income alone must be able to service the Singapore mortgage...a couple of S$ hundreds can last him many days of entertainment and lunch.

It's not a problem if he has CPF. If he doesn't, like many of my friends, then it's really pointless buying a S'pore flat unless you rent it out. Leasing also comes with a set of criteria and problems...

Anyway, if he wants to come back to Singapore, then investing in a Singapore property is wise. Do you know that Singapore's policy is to "tie" us all back in Singapore via CPF policies? Despite that, I've many guy friends who simply give up CPF and throw all their stakes in China and plant their roots here...

smurfying

Yule u hit the bulleye! He's the group who choose to go for overseas exp in China straigh after grad.

We've been having disagreement past few nites over the issues u've mentioned hah!! Alone on my CPF, we could afford a flat not more than 200k. So i can't quit my job if we're servicing the flat. He agreed to put money in his CPF cos he say it's a way to help him save too.

Eh actually he's working for GLC, 1st two yrs was a overseas program, think u may hav heard of ABF program. This yr is his bond w the co. next yr feb his contract ends, and actually tis period of time, he's in dilemma whether to stay on or come back. He has said v clearly, if he's back, it's becos of me cos he doesn't wan to lose tis r/s. Tis made me feel so bad, so i'm willing to relocate so that he can advance his career there.

For the time being, somehow i've sort of presurized him quite a bit. Felt so bad after each disagreement

beautiful

hi yuletide, i stayed in charms hotel too when i was in shanghai!
agree that the location is great cos it's so near to shopping area...

hi tansy, i think i will be like you - don't worry and think too much cos you just started on this relationship. agree that trust is the fundamental in all relationships. so, treasure all the phone calls, msn, e-mails, etc

I guess as much it is ABF. I know a lot of those young guys on this program and I know the package too. Just a quick recap, over 50% of those ppl I know return to Singapore after their adventure. They realise it's tough to service the Singapore mortgage. There are a few who are offered a job by the company or start their own ventures!!

I can understand how you feel...but from the way you describe, he really loves you...so do hang in there, ok?!

It's really a very tempting world out here. Lots of freedom, the space you enjoy, the cheap living stds, the places you can visit, etc. But weigh your pros and cons lor.

smurfying

eh even i'm tempted sometimes, told him i really dun mind to relocate, cos i wan freedom n get the taste of working overseas too haha...but think nobody wants to employ me...Orghh...

Singapore is indeed quite tough to live in, esp the housing loans n such. Recent attempts in getting a flat alone got me so pissed w HDB hah!

Hv u ever thot of buying an apt in SH? It's cheaper and he can stay there and cut down on his housing expenses too. A 1.2sqm beautiful apt around Xin Zhuang area is probably RMB400-500K (SGD100K)?

Well, I did everything alone too when my hb was overseas. My hb just needed to come back to attend his own banquet!!! But it's worth it, cos now he treats me like his queen

Sigh...I want to make myself a cup of milk tea cos my feet are cold...Talk to you again, tansy!

NITE NITE!!!
kao_byebye.gif