Serta Mattress- Anybody?

raccoon

I was comtemplating between Sealy and Serta bed last weekend and made an impulsive buy on Serta after finding it much more comfortable than Sealy at the same price point. Anyone bought Serta?

ah_cat

I got a Serta Nightstar mattress for a yr plus & no complaint. I beleive u must have try lying on the bed & it's very comfy rite?

Dun worry too much, although it's not a popular brand in Sg but it's one of the few top brand in state.

racherlle

hi Rachel!

I've gotten a Simmons.. but i tink Serta is quite a gd brand too! looks comfy!! did u get urs at Taka last weekend? saw in the papers that they are having 50% off their mattresses rite? quite a gd buy!

which model did u get??

raccoon

Cat,

Thanks for your assurance! i think it's 2nd in term of sale volume..whew

Racherlle,
I dunno able the sale and 50% discount in taka. I bought in IMM last weekend. if real 50%, then my heart pains...

racherlle

hmmmm..
rachel.. which model did u buy?
tink it might be different.. so dun worrie too much.. hw much did u pay for it?

melodyfloss

rachel i regret to tell you that my first mattress is serta whichi got it from imm. my experience with them is really bad. after using my mattress for 2 months, i called them up and told them the mattress sink in. this is terrible as my husband has slip disc. i have requested them to pop in my house to have a look. they said they will do so. guess what they took 1 mth to come. bad service. they say the mattress sag because my husband is more on the heavy side.rubbish! how can the mattress sag only after using 2 months. my husband back hurts so badly and we finally discard this mattress and settles for sealy mattress at IMM. so far, my husband and i are very pleased with sealy though we only use it for 2 days and the services that they provide is excellent.most importantly, sealy mattress offers a guarantee instead of warranty.

melodyfloss

rachel, serta is only ranked no 3 in terms of sales volume . the reasons that they can emerge as no 3 is because serta is priced so cheap in the states. so is bulk volume and not because of its innovative R&D. i have found out from the internet when i first made my first purchase ( from serta) they are using mira coils . this is very basic coil. when i first got my serta, i also very conderned about the comfort. i guess at the end of the day, i made a very huge mistake by selecting serta

racherlle

oh Sealy is gd too!
hopefully ur hubby is feeling better now...
having a gd mattress is definitely very important!

btw which model did u get for Sealy?
I liked the Crown Jewel and the Royal Monarch!

melodyfloss

bought the royal monarch as my husband cant really wait too long for crown jewel. i understand they need to ident takes 4 - 6 weeks . waiting time is so long. mu husband feels that royal monarch is good so just get that piece. so far, i am a happy customer

raccoon

Hwee hwee,

Serta really so bad ah? so sad for u and hubby... I should not have bought on impulse. I went to harvey norman today and the sale person is strongly promoting sealy too. sob sob. At imm-serta, i relented when the sale promotor called up head office to give us good price after learning that her son is sort of related to my FH.
Btw, which serta model did u buy?

Racherelle,
I'm glad you never regret your choice of simmons too. seriously, i like sealy royal monarch a lot and it is priced reasonably at 2.5K. but upon trying serta perfect sleeper - washingston, i felt it was a close match at a steal - 1.5K! And that seal my and FH fate to serta...

racherlle

hi rachel!

i've gotten the Glendale from Simmons.. i bought it at 2,999..
ur 2.5k for Royal Monarch is King size? coz i remembered the lady told me it's ard 2.7k.. hmm..
u have further discounts ah??? she told me there's another 5% disc if i'm not wrong..

oh ya regarding abt serta.. dun worrie too much.. i tink a lot of tings also depend on ur luck.. dun tink serta is really tat bad..

ah_cat

Hi Hwee Hwee,
Which model did you get? So far my Serta mattress is quite ok leh. My hubby is 80+ kg & I am 40+ kg but there's no sinking problem. Anyway, our mattress comes with extra cushion on the top & bottom of the mattress, so it gives us a very good firm support.

Hi Rachel,
Since you had already bought the mattress then it's better dun think too much lah. The more you worry, the more you can't sleep over it so why not just take it easy? And if it really so bad, then take this as a lesson to get another brand .. But if it's good, then you gain it.

raccoon

Racherlle,

2.45k is for a queen-sized Royal Monarch. That is b4 the 5% discount if i remember correctly. King size shld be at 2.7K, i think...

Cat & Racherlle,
Thanks for assuring me. I hope my serta mattress will turn out to be reliable.

ginko_nuts

Hi cat and Rachel

How's your serta? Is it comfortable? I have tried perfect sleeper in Taka yesterday. Found it very comfortable. which model did u get?

Hi Hwee hwee
may I know which model of serta had given u the problem?

Thank u so much!

bonn_ng

The Sealy royal monarch is not bad. Considered as medium soft. They sure have something real firm. I like the Simmmons Tribute. Its a firm mattress with a plush top. Not bad. Feeling is almost the same as the royal monarch from Sealy.

The Sealy bed frames designs are much better than the Simmons. Oh well, its all personal views. Hope that helps.

Do go to the showrooms and try them out. Its all about yourself and your spouse's feel to the mattress. Oh yeah, remember to ask delivery leadtimes. Seems like Simmons mattress take quite a while to reach our shores if they run out of stocks.

Note : Currently Sealy having some promotion on the 'free' bed frames with the bed. If you don't want the 'free' bed frames, I think you will be given some discounts vouchers. ;)

cutepigs

Hi Keck Kiong

Funny... I was at Taka Sealy showroom... They did not mention about any promotion on 'free' bed frames.

Btw why the 'free' is in quotes?

bonn_ng

I have been going to the mattress shops for the past few weeks and from what I know, the Sealy shop at IMM does include a bed frame. But I don't really think its free since the SE mentioned that if I don't want the bed frame, she will give me vouchers instead.

That's a very clear indication that the price shown does include the price of the bed frame. By how much? I won't know.

But I do feel Sealy bed frames are much nicer in design as compared to Simmons. Just my POV.

pink_ice

Helo, All
I highly recommend the new SERTA ALABAMA, its extremely comfortable! Just like hotel beds! Try if out at IMM.

Helo, Cat,
I strongly agreed with you that it's not a popular brand in Sg but it's one of the few top brand in state.

Helo, Hwee Hwee
Pls share with us which model of SERTA mattress hv caused u problems????

sirtech

Hi pink ice,

Agree.... tried the alabama and it extremely comfortable... you bought it? what did the guy offer?

Hi Hwee hwee,

Really like to find out the model of SERTA that caused problems.. thanks

rainbow

Hey Gals,

Ive gotten a Serta Mattress too! Bt it from Taka late last year and i must say its simply heavenly! The mattress seems to envelope around ur body and it sends us to lullaby-land almost immediately!

I believe it really depends on personal preference. My hubby and I din like the Simmons mattresses cos felt they were a wee bit too hard! In fact, whenever we stay over at the 5 star hotels like Ritz Carlton, we always miss our comfy Serta mattress!
But if you prefer a firmer mattress, Serta may not be for you then!

ceraine

hi Pink and Altexk,
thanks for your acknowledement of Serta. Quite scared after reading Hwee Hwee's post.
i tried on the Albama today...oh..its heavently.bery fluffy and realli envelop us.
btw, taka do not sell this model and is not giving Bedframe/bedhead free for other models.
will be sealing our fate to Serta these few days. for $2599 with complete bedframe/bedhad, i felt its a good steal.

tried another model at taka...posteuric something..perfect too ..but it cost 10k. wow..thats too expensive for us.

Rachel,
have u received ure mattress? hows the service of Serta?

tequilaneat

i bought a SERTA Pennslvania Queen Size mattress @ $2,799 it was so comfy my hubby and i like it very much. The salesman give us the following FOC:

2 pillow
1 mattress pad
1 latex contour pillow (for stiff neck)
1 cute counting sheep
1 anti spray (for dustmite)
1 silicon pack

The service i received was good... I paid a 20% deposit and the salesman even say i can pay the balance within 7 days of the delivery... use first then pay later hahah...

bluesand

Dear Ceraine,

May I know what size is your Alabama bed for 2599? Is it queen ? What's ur package like ?

I also like Alabama.

jumbo

hi all, we've bought our first Serta mattress one month ago.. Model: Georgia.. cost us $1699 with free divan, 4 pillows, 1 mattress protector and 1 sheep toy.. Bought it at IMM too.. Sales girl said this is the discounted price as they are trying to launch in serta to Singapore.. tat's why so cheap.. but dunno how true lah.. so far, i find the mattress quite comfortable.. cos both my hubby and me prefer harder mattress and this mattress is just nice for us.. the sales girl told us to turn the mattress around every after 6 months to prevent it from sinking.. and fyi, me and my hubby weigh almost 200 kg liao.. heavy side.. keke

solonavi

We also bought alabama but din have the "latex contour pillow (for stiff neck)" as tequilaneat.

tequilaneat, may I know where u bought urs from?

The guys that delivered are very pro. Setup everything in <20mins.

JC

ceraine

uoz all,
sad to say my alabama mattress seems to sag after jsut 2months of usage.
and the threads on the mattress ran.
buti have my thumbs up for serta.
Not only did they allow replacent one to one, i am given the choice to upgrade size and even a new model.
its super good service which even simmons cant provide.
i was so impressed!!!!!
i am considering the latex(full) or pocketed spring model.
love to hear some advise from u

jnp

Hi Caraine,

Did u check with the Serta people why it sag just after 2mths? Is it a one off incident due to production problem?
I recently just got my Serta Pennslyannia King Size, have been sleeping on it for one wk already....simply heavenly! : )

summerala

Anyone still buying Serta Alabama???

Me just bought one few days ago... not gettin it so fast.... I mus say that it is really heavenly whenever I lie on it... To me, it is as good as Mayfair and Royal Monarch.... Very huggy... Two Thumbs Up!!

summerala

anyboddy got the bench too... I dunno what to do with the bench too..I quite like it just that my room quite small..so with the bench look smaller...

doggy_gal

Personally i'm still undecided bet serta and sealy. initially like sealy royal moarch. then thought that serta arizona is gd too. Pennsylvania felt even better but price a lot more too. Hard to decide.

Anyway in the midst of my shopping, I came across a shop that's willing to give the serta bench free. Thought it was a gd bargain. Went back there again to buy my bro's bed.

doggy_gal

it's one of those warehouse shops at paya lebar. The lady very nice. I will be going back to her to buy my bed when i'm ready to do so. If anyone's interested, can PM me for the details.

bride15

Hi, can you send me the detail of the shop in paya lebar? Love serta bed, and will be great if it comes with the free bench! Btw, which model u bought? is the price reasonable?

cyncyn

Anyone here owns a Serta Arizona or Perfect Sleeper model? Am still deciding between these 2. Anyone bought their mattress from sleeppost, the one at furniture mall at beach road?

humpty

I just bought Serta Arizona at Sleeppost located Furniture Mall.I find perfect sleeper is firmer than Arizona which will be good for those on the heavier side. While Arizona belong to the medium range.Better get it before May as Serta price will increase after May.

cyncyn

Hi Karen,
Thanks for your advice.
How long have u been sleeping on your Arizona? As mentioned by the sales person, Arizona is 13 inch hence gta find those European type bedsheets from Taka..do u face any difficulty getting the bedsheets?

cyncyn

haha...oic.
I bought my bedsheets first before buying the mattress...funny rite? So now worried that the bedsheet dun fit in...I got it from Aussino..tink u can try it there too.

I have actually placed an order on Arizona bt I can still change to Perfect Sleeper if I want. My mattress will only come in early Jun. How abt urs?

humpty

Hee hee!
It is important to choose the right mattress cause you will be sleeping for a couple of years.Your priority should be your mattress rather than your bedsheet.

Mine will arrive in Nov. :D

cyncyn

Hi Carollan,

Guess the package is usually standard. They will give 2 Serta pillows, 1 mattress protector and 1 sheep soft toy...u can even choose ur fave no. u want on the sheep! U try and see if you can bargain for a better deal...try to get them to give you another mattress protector...we tried bt negotiation faile. Kekeke...

Karen, did u get the same package as me?

My Arizona is $2299...tink u can go IMM...they have more variety there. :p