Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

My a/c is turned on 30+ hours a day...just received May bill, it was $390+, close to $400. It's mostly electric since the only cooking I do is for the boy...which is like boil porridge 2x a day.

A/C in living room on from 8am - 9:30am, 11am - 1pm, 3:30pm - 6pm, 8 - 9pm = 7hrs/day

boy's room a/c on from 9:30am - 11am, 1pm - 3:30pm and 7pm - 7am = 16hrs/day

our room from 9pm - 6:30am = 9hrs/day

So total daily a/c usage is like 32hrs/day and the living room a/c is a higher btu one....so you can imagine lah, that's why bill so high.

spyder

i think maybe the massive increase across all is due to increase in power prices and electrical tariffs?? i didnt trace but i think there were at least 2 increases over the past 2 years?

trekkerb

$400 is huge. Yup, the prices has gone up twice for the past year. Well, with inflation & prices going up, we young folks here have to start tightening our belts even more.

Ya lor....prices keep going up...

say, do you all eat/buy food from RV Mall often? What's your favourite thing to eat there?

I find that I usually end up with KFC or Macs...

trekkerb

Acks..... hate the food @ the mall. The food court has nothing nice & it closes @ 8pm.

I usually take 2 stops (either way) away for food.

spyder

Anyone tried the Saba Fish set Korean Food in the food court? I find it quite nice.

Everything else is quite normal there.

Long time, long time...

Just let you know, we went to Kopitiam City for lunch just now...quite a lot of food and of course it's exciting just to see a new place lah. haha. I think half the kopitiam is non-air con. Anyway, it's 24hrs (with 24hr NTUC and Sakura Restaurant). Right at Buangkok MRT.

Just sharing lah...I tried the fried kway teow (I think it's not bad, but I don't know fkt) and HB had chai fan (I think he thought not bad also). I'm just happy it's 24 hrs. Another option for us all

Yap I also agreed. The work seem to stop. The LRT linkway work suppose to finish by 4th quarter 2008 and that is next month !!!

spyder

hi people.. the works were delayed due to some cabling that they found while digging and had to re-plan the way the things worked out.. so i guess maybe some changes needed to be done??

other than that nothing much, juz felt that some motorbike keep reving its engine on purpose in the night thats very irritating.. LOL..

trekkerb

Spyder, seems that you are always keep up to date on the status. You got it from some website or you are the contractor or from town council?

spyder

trekker, haha, no lah, i think they should have pasted a notice on the notice board, near your letterbox area? or was it from the magazine or some flyers, but i do remember i read it somewhere about them finding the original plans could not proceed as there were some stuffs underground that had to force them to divert some works..

spyder

oh ya, by the way, seems like punggol pasir ris town council had lots of funds, no doubt some were lost thru the lehmann bonds, but thats part and parcel of funds management i guess.. however, with the amount disclosed, it means the town council does have quite a huge amount of funds with them, yet, why are our conservancy charges still so high?? shouldnt they reduce it??

trekkerb

Spyder, I doubt it will be reduced. From my understanding, the sinking funds are for long term (5 years or more), it's like a 10 year trust funds.

Maybe we should write to them & ask them on the cost of running & why the huge amount in reserves...

spyder

trekker > dont waste the effort.. they will have to sooner or later.. its every singaporeans wish to know now what they are doing with the monies.. first the charities, in the end, i think some of the boards need to come clean with what they are doing.. :p

g_apple

So this thread is still active!

Any Blk 152 neighbours here... recently I kept hearing water pouring down even on a bright sunny day! Dunno is water pouring or aircon.. by the time I go to my window, the water is flowing (not dripping) thru the aircon ledge!

spyder

hi green apple, not at block 152, but most probably your neighbour in the showers washing the panes direct from the bathroom or some very hardworking home owner keep washing windows??

anyway, may i know who should we write to in terms of highlighting concerns with our neighbourhood?? hdb or town council?? i keep seeing lots of dirty rubbish at my kitchen and aircon latches, there are ciggie butts at times too.. worried might catch fire..

spyder,
I believe cleanliness and upkeep has to do with TC. Their office just "downstairs" can just ask them... But well, my neighbour burns joss paper at outside my door every 1st and 15th (the ceiling is black and ash flies into my home) and TC doesn't do anything about it.

Trekker,
been thinking about getting one too... there's one I'm looking at called "justrelax" can find it online.

trekkerb

Hi DJ,

I was looking @ "justrelax" as well. However, it seems rather expensive. $288 a month, 4 sessions, 3 hrs per session. That's like $24 an hour.

Heard that they are on TV for some TV shows or something hence the price.

Another was "homeworz", price is pretty much the same. A cheaper alternative is "starmaid" which cost about $200 a month.

So I'm checking if anyone can give some advice.

spyder

DJ,

thanks, i aint asking for much, burning of joss paper is always an issue, my neighbour tries to keep it in a container, but when big wind blows, it fills the whole corridor, but very seldom as they take effort to clear it in a way i think..

what i am concerned is, is the neighbours at the top throwing things down.. my aircon ledge keeps filling with tissues and papers, once even found a packet of food on my hanger.. sigh..

rvc15x

Noticed that there is an AXS machine installed @ the foyer of BLK 156.
Next time can pay bills without going to the mall.

Trekker,

if you have any advice, remember to post it up!

I tried Justrelax for their steam cleaning service (sofa, mattresses and stuff). I wasn't around but my HB was very happy with the service. Which is why they are still on my list. I emailed them about cleaning. If I remember correctly, it's 2hrs each time, but they'll send two people each time.

Spyder,
that sounds terrible man. *sigh* then did you talk to them? Food will invite pest leh... The neighbour above me is okay lah, just like to drill and shift furniture around.

I'll check out the AXS machine one day. I think I have a bill to pay

spyder

DJ, problem is, i donno which neighbour is doing that, there are 10 units above me.. so i am not sure.. shifting of furniture is confirmed by my neighbour above.. for throwing of food, i am not sure which family.. but i now suspect someone is throwing roaches off their kitchen.. so far, 2 incidents cockroaches appearing in my kitchen.. could have flown in, but very rare occasions.. they are exterminated so nesting is impossible.. have to be always on the alert.. sigh.. all these are okay actually, i just dont want any fire hazards or really dangerous stuff coming down.. i already see many neighbours throwing things off their windows without a care in the world along my block.. =(

spyder,

which is your blk again?

I don't open my windows (any of them!) unless I'm physically present. Most of the time, even when I'm around, the windows are closed. As for kitchen window, it's always closed except for the top two, I leave a small opening. I hardly cook...when I cook, then I open the window. I think that helps in keeping things out. Will freak out if I see a cockroach at home!

Have to tell TC lor...they are in charge of this, right?

trekkerb

Hey DJ,

I asked for a quotation from Homeworz, weekly, 3 hours session, 1 person - $250. However, the scope of work is fixed, eg 10 pieces of ironing.

Checking others like Justrelax, Maid on wheels & Ah-mah online.

So many choices, so little advise. I'm lost! Mummy!!!

Haha...Trekker,

Ya, most of them have fixed duties...I asked Justrelax the info I got is:

- They'll only clean the surface of furniture (e.g. bookshelf, only clean the exposed and unblocked areas)
- they said they'll clean windows once every 2 months,
- they'll provide all equipment except vacuum, iron and ironing board
- also only do 10 pc of ironing per session
- min package is $288

Actually, I've tried a PT cleaner before, she's not from coy but an individual. $10/hr it'll take her about 4+ hrs each time. She's okay but she doesn't like to travel to this area since it requires two buses from her own place...she always ends up walking in from PG rd. But we provide everything lah and if she doesn't like it, she'll tell you.

I find cleaners quite direct nowadays (feedback from other friends too), unlike my mom's time. They'll say this detergent better or this mop better or that cloth better, etc etc. My friend just told the cleaner to go buy and paid her for the things so she'll stop complaining.

Which is why I'm considering going through company. At least they'll be less flaky - "your place so hard to get to, I found another place easier to get to so I don't do your place any more". And some bring their own equipment, so that's one less thing to have to talk to them about.

Can't give any solid advise since I'm pretty much stuck in limbo right now too! Wait for you to try...haha...then you tell me good or not :p

spyder,
wah, your side nice...more breezy, probably that's why you keep your windows open. Our apt not much breeze so doesn't make a difference if my windows are closed.

trekkerb

Hi DJ,

Had session #5 yesterday. I said it's pretty good. $50 per session (4hrs)

I understand she does this full-time, has 12 accounts at the moment (some of them for a couple of years)

what does she do? Like does she only iron 10 pcs each time or more chin chai? haha

Did she complain about your cleaning equipment and detergent or just use what you have? Or did you give her some money to buy what she wants to use?

Does she use a vacuum cleaner (seems like standard practice now and most don't sweep)?

Are you usually around when she's cleaning or do you leave the home vacant?

So many questions hor... If she has 12 a/cs that means she's fully booked already lor... hmm..

trekkerb

Hi DJ,

She uses the vacuum cleaner (I dun think anyone uses broom). As for the cleaning equipment, she's quite open about it, she did make some suggestions on what to get/use. I got some she suggested.

She ironed more than 10. She's very chin chai on this. She uses the remaining time to do ironing.

I'm around when she's cleaning. I'm still not comfy on leaving the house vacant.

I say it's $$$ well spent. Yes, I think she's fully booked, dun know if she's open to more a/cs.

How abt yours? Juzrelax?

Still haven't started anything!
Guess because I don't mind doing laundry and HB can do floors and bathroom once a week, we're pretty happy. Plus, windows always closed and hardly cook. So not that dirty to begin with... but keeping options open, in case we need one lor...

rena87

Quality Moving Services

Felicia @ 96811159

Specialise in House, Shop , Office, Foctory, WareHouse, School, Retail Shop and Etc .... Relocation

WareHouse to Exhibition Monthly or Weekly

Wrapping & Packing of all items

Dismantle and Assemble for all needed items

Protective wrapping for all Fragile items

Disposal

Partitions dismantle and assemble

Relocation of SafeBox and Piano With protective wrapping

Painting Services

CCTV Fixing

Cable wiring and lens wiring

Cleaning Services

Reliable Workers