Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

Hi dolphin

Well, dun noe lei, ADT ppl came and knock twice on my door, promoting their security product. Sigh !

Ya lor, our area always rain lei, yesterday, i was completely wet by the heavy rain, just a short distance ran fm rumbia LRT to blk 153. But the thunder is more scary.

SCV ppl came to my house today. Finally can watch sCV, i waited for 1 1/2 mths le. Yepee

pauline12sg

Hi Dolphin, so nice to have a dog with u at ur new hse! I love dogs but I reckon that I'll have time to take care of it, so till now, I only have the chance to play with my aunt's dogs whenever I am at her hse rather than owing 1 myself. My aunt has 10 dogs currently, all are very cute and clever. Talking abt them now makes me feeling like hugging them 1 by 1! Hee...

Hi Jennifer, have u moved in to RVC? Which blk are u staying at?
Mine is blk 153 but so far there isn't any salesperson from ADT knocking on my door. Anyway, we all must be careful as there are still many renov going on at our estate, not so safe at the moment.

spyder

hi people. seems like this is the thread for rivervale crescent residents? i just got my unit at this current WIS from HDB... so would like to know anyone has any nice reno designs or contractors to share? maybe like some pics or some quotes?
thanks in advance... =)

esp

Hi jennifer, the ADT systems installation is FOC but the system will cost ard $30per month something like tt, do you guys think its necessary ? you install the scv at your hse ar? how much you paying per month ? i dun have the luxury to be in front of tv.. sigh

Pauline, your aunt have 10dogs ? she must be a true dog lover, i cant even handle one. Haizz.. My this dog have separation aniexty and wont want to be alone so if he is at my place i cant leave the hse without him, partly cos its also a new environment for him. He is so cute and funny, keep exploring my room when me and my hubby is asleep, i play hid and seek with him. hehe

pauline12sg

Hi Dolphin,
Yah yah, my aunt loves dogs alot! She is very busy with her work but lucky to have a good maid to help her take care the dogs in the daytime. Hee... ur dog is very cute, u can play hid and seek with it. Will ur dog cry when it doesn't see u? It pains me to see them crying...

pauline12sg

Hi Spyder,
Which blk have u taken up? I've finished my renov but sorry to say I do not have any pics to share now. U are welcome to come up my hse with ur partner and take alook.

esp

hi pauline, ya he does cry when he cant find me.. keep barking at my wiw. he thought i was inside but i was in another room probably he smell me ard but cant locate. worse thing is he cried silently when i left him at my mum's plc last evening he stays there cos in the daytime my mum can take care of him, he only comes over for weekends hoilday. Due to his this separation anxiety pro, i could let him stay in my plc else i really need not step out of the hse anymore.

Hi Pauline,
Ya, i have moved in to RVC since 11 Sep from AMK, temporily stay with my parents first as my house is currently under going reno in depot road. I am staying in blk 156
Hv to be careful of ADT salesperson, they came twice but was different people.

Hi dolphin, seriously i dun need ADT, heard it is super sensitive, even to the cooking smoke or joss stick burning. Sound scary!!
Ya, i had installed SCV, paid abt $40 for addit channel 55 for the HK serial shows every mth. No digital SCV, as it is too costly. Also i had moved frm AMK, mine belong to the old subscription plan.

hydeto

Hi Guys,

I just bought a 5 room at blk 155 and still waiting to get my key.
Getting headache now for the renovation.
Anyone out here willing to share with me your experince n estimated cost?

It will be nice if anyone here willing to let me have a view of your renovated house for gaining me some ideas for my own, Thanks.

Pls email me at [email protected]

spyder

hi hi pauline, thanks for the invite.
hmmm. i am sure we can arrange a viewing soon. :p my block is 155.

hi ivan, you just bought your unit at the latest walk in selection? i am in the same block as you. which level did you get?

g_apple

Wow.. we hv new neighbours!!

Hi Spyder and Ivan

I can recommend u my ID.. very good experience and no hidden cost. Hicupps bound to hv but they resolve it.

I dun hv pictures also. Will be moving in next week, If u interested to visit my pl, PM me. I will be there on Sat PM

piper

ivan & spyder,
welcome to rvc. i'm sure u're gonna enjoy(or pull hair?!) the reno process that's gonna take place. u r welcomed to view my place when its ready in 2 weeks time. now still very dusty and look like a warzone! but can slowly see the light at the end of the tunnel.

snowman,
saw you've hanged a piece of red cloth over your gate, is that something you've to do for 'moving house'?i'm, a bit sua ku when comes to chinese customs. when are you offically moving in? me also look forward to join the big family at rvc.

spyder

hi hi people of RVC... haha... thanks for the warm welcome... i guess this estate is really a very young estate...
saw a lot of young people around... haha... so now ivan & me have pauline, green apple & piper on standby for us to view reno? wow... tats nice...

so how many people are in the 'gang' hahaha...
but hor, er... you all reno big time one arh? all costing about how much har? :D

hydeto

Spyder - I just got it from the latest WIS, you too? Me is at level 15, how about u?

Green Apple - Thanks for your warm invitation, I will PM you for more detail, will be glad to do a visit at your place this weekend, Thanks!

Piper - Can't wait to see your ending product in 2 weeks time.

Hope can get more idea on the budget for renovation after viewing and comparing some of the houses so won't kena chop by ID later on.

Went to visit 3 ID today and submit my floor plan, need to wait around 1-2 weeks to get qoutation and initial design plan from them, 3 of the diff ID give around 20k plus minus qoutation estimation.

Linewerkz, Homeguide design, Creative design, anyone here have any testimonial about them?

spyder

ivan - hey, like you, i just got mine unit from the lastest wis too. mine is the 7th floor.
so guess i'll be seeing you around.

i am hoping to get ideas for the renovation too. so far, i got my quote from classic ideas about 23K, but just the bare minimums. another rough quote is from wright interiors, a friend, he quoted me about 30K+ but some differences in design...

can i check with those who have the keys already, its 5-room standard, may i know what are the things that are already provided by hdb? toilets? kitchen? flooring? wiring?

trekkerb

Ivan & Spyder, Welcome to RVC.

For 5-room standard, the kitchen wall tiles & the 2 toilet are done up. You are not allowed to hack your toilet tiles. (You shd sign that agreement when u take the keys.)

I have moved in, you are welcomed to come take a look @ my place. It's just the basics that I have done up.

As for the Ids, I think some of us here can recommended it to u guys/gals if you dun mind.

tarepiggy

Hi Ivan & Spyder, welcome to RVC!

I'm staying at blk 153, neighbour of Pauline =D

Mine is a 4-rm, of which the wall & floor tiles of the 2 toilets & kitchen hv been done up by hdb. Tink it's the same for 5-rm flat except for kitchen flooring.

Tho' i've gotten my hse key since July, my reno din start till last mth as my fiance & i were taking our time to decide on wat type of hse we want eventually, so currently our reno is still in progress. We didn't engage ID as we are adopting a loft (minimalist) approach, we browsed thru Home Decor & Design mags, plus went to some frens & RVC neighbours' new hse to get a feel of the different concepts & furnishing styles. So with a list of reno items & design in mind, we engage our contractor to do the work. So far we are very pleased with our contractor's quote & workmanship, & most importantly, the working relationship wif open communication. Altho' our contractor is not an ID firm, they gave us very gd advice on enhancing some of our carpentry design along the way. They did up my fren's hse (country's style) very nicely & at a reasonably quote too, tat's why my fiance & i decided to engage them. Sometimes it's kinda hard to compare quotes across companies due to diff design proposals, so it's better if u hv a rough idea of the styles & the list of reno items u want, then u may be able to compare the quote of certain items based on Price per ft or sq ft & the types of materials used.

Hee... just sharing some of my reno experience ... u r welcome to visit my hse too when reno is completed, prob end of tis mth =)

tarepiggy

Spyder, we do hv a contact list, first compiled by my_gal, but subsequently, we all help to update as & when there's new additions! ;D Now there's about 18 of us in the list.

If u & Ivan like to be included in the list, u may email ur nick, real name, RVC address & hp no. to my email at [email protected] I will update the list wif ur details & email to all in the list.

pauline12sg

Dolphin, ya it will be difficult to bring ur dog over to RVC since he has separation anxiety problem... Nvm, ask ur sis to bring him to ur hse during the weekends so that u can hug hug him!

Jennifer, so when will be ur flat at depot rd ready? Wow... so coincidence that ur parents and ur new hse are both under renov at ard the same time.

Spyder, I engaged my uncle's renov firm. My uncle is the boss and he is the one who help to design and oversee everythings during renov period for me. I'm lucky to say I didn't meet up much problems during renov, things were running smoothly then.
My hse renov is simple but both my hubby and I are very satisfy with it. :p

Ivan, welcome to RVC too!

rvc15x

moved into RVC officially on last Sun.
But was running around like mad china man due to alot of stuff not fully packed/unpacked yet.
So if u happened to see a guy shifting stuffs last weekend to and fro the carpark, high chance that's me!

Hi Piper
the piece of red cloth is for auspicious reasons. (as advised by my uncle) its all up to individuals.
Saw ur contractor removing all the floor protection yesterday, looks like ur reno is finishing soon.
as usual din say hi to u this morning as i overslept (too dog tired from all the unpacking)
now i understand the "ba wu"(hokkien) of moving.

Hi Ivan & Spyder,
welcome to RVC.

etnt

Ivan and Spyder,

Quite a few of us have moved in or moving in soon. If you have the contact list, you can ring some of us up for visitation.

After moving in, you'll find that you'll be busy "settling down" which is why I believe the thread is getting quieter.

Most of us have different requirements for the reno, like mine is 15k+ and for those who have vistited, I believe they would agree that it's as minimal as it can be. But then I dump the rest of the $$ into furnishing and the final figure would work out to be the same as most in the end.

I suggest that you start with the amount that you want to spend on the house in total (reno + furnish) and from there budget and partition accordingly. This will give you some hard numbers to work with and better adjust your expectations.

elaine77

After a long weekend and taking leave over the 2 holidays, feeling very lethargic when i go back to work today.. yawn yawn..
plus the rainy day today.. should have taken another day leave to sleep at home.. kekkeee..

spyder and ivan.. welcome to RVC and my neigbours of blk 155, im staying in the same block. I have moved into the estate for about a month & 1 week.. everything is fine.. except that my hubby car's right side-mirror was vandalised or should i say stolen.. 2 weeks ago..we were shock when we went to our car. We make a police report about it, so now we try not to park too far away from the lift.

i spent about $27K doing up the reno including air-con and the basic reno thingy like wardrobe.. bomb shelter and kitchen, i did not do alot of carpentary work as we want to keep it simple. Mine is white concept, pauline hubby named it as 'white house' kekee.. just knock on my door if you want to come view my unit, i will be in most of the evening after work or weekend.

esp

hi jennifer, oh is it that bad ar? aiyo.. the alarm keeps going off will be very busy . i have a frd staying at the other site of the BTO project compassvale area blk 26+, she say her plc there rather ulu and she once found a wire stuck into her padlock, seems like its a attempt break in.

Pauline, ya very sad lor. but he came over yesterday with my mum and we did some cooking. hheeh

Snowman, its like that one.. all the packing and unpacking can be really tiring.

hydeto

Hi Guys,

I will prolly do a RVC visit tomorrow afternoon.
Will check the RVC list tonight and try to do some arrangement with you guys for visit tomorrow if possible, Thanks!

spyder

hi hi people!

mudpie - i've emailed you my contacts, so i guess i'll be calling on the rvc residents for reno viewing soon.
thanks for your help.

pauline - oic, so your uncle did it all for you.
hope to view it maybe this weekend.

snowman - thanks for your welcome!
if you see any suspicious couple walking around the neighbourhood and peering here and there... it could be me... lol...

etnt - hi! thanks for your info and update, so i guess you are added to pauline, green apple, piper, trekker, mudpie, & elaine... + you... thats 7 houses for ideas...
wow... ivan, please take note. lol...

elaine - hi neighbour! thanks in advance. :p once i get the list from the ring leader, will be smsing you people le... heh... thinking of going up this sunday to look around...
which floor are you staying in?

ivan - i think like you, i should be budgeting about total 30-35K for the whole flat... so far, got quotes from ID about doing up the basic would cost around 23K, but maybe after viewing the flats, we would have a better idea.
good luck!

general - to all those who are kind enough to offer their flats for viewing, i'll try to see if i can make it on sunday.
thanks in advance.
just called hdb again to expediate my application, i hope to hear from them by end of november... hmmm...

hydeto

Spyder, so you also get HDB to expediate your application too. I did that too but I didn't call them. I ask for it during my WIS. Maybe I should call them too like you did.

One of my fren which also bought a Sengkang flat from last few WIS session actually got his key within 2 weeks.

hydeto

Still haven't received the contact list.
Wonder anyone out here at home tomorrow late afternoon? If possible, can let me do a short visit?
Will be visiting Green Apple house since she pass me the contact liao.
etnt, elaine77, Trekker and anyone out there who is free to let me do a short visit?

spyder

hi ivan - maybe application needs some time... lol... i'm trying to see if i can drop by a few of their places on sunday too... still waiting for the update from them too.
as for expediating the application, the first time i called, i think they only listen for fun only... today call, actually verify my info... donno what they doing...
i hope to get keys within 2 weeks too if possible... lol... then can be in time for my wedding. i am actually having my AD in december 2005... so it'll be really really cool if i can move in to a new place after my wedding... but i guess a little miracle needed... lol... so praying for the best...

tarepiggy

I hv just updated our RVC Contact List & emailed to all in the list! Err.... pls refer to my 2nd email hor ... cos in the 1st email ... i blur blur... accidentally left out someone ....sorrie

bb123

Good morning neighbours,

Its a monday again after last week of alternate days working. Those who took leave must be really enjoying the long break.

Wow, new neighbours!!! Welcome!!!! The List seems to become longer.............

spyder

hi hi..

it has been a really fruitful trip to rivervale crescent yesterday... =)

mudpie - thanks for the contact list, just in time for me to arrange for house hopping.

pauline, green apple, elaine - gotta arrange with you ladies again

mosaic fish, etnt, trekker - thank you all so much for your time and all the advices... really appreciate all your help, more or less, sort of understand what i need to do for reno and the things to look out for...
now, just need to pester hdb to give me my keys asap... hahaha...

congrats again to mosaic fish for this coming week. ;P

hydeto

Spyder,

care to share what you gain from your yesterday trip?
Was too busy for the weekend so unable to make a trip down to RVC.

spyder

hi back to BB123...

hi ivan, well, yesterday was kinda a mad rush becoz sms everyone who offered to let me go to view their flats, in the end, managed to get to view etnt & trekker. didnt know mosaic fish until etnt asked me down to their place.
its very nice. i think if you can visit etnt's place, which is very nicely done up at around your budget, but everything which needs to be there are there. but his air con is quite powerful i feel. heh heh.

i think each house i visited, each owner shared their own designs and they were very kind to offer advice on what to look out for.

final place i visited was trekker's place, my idea of my house was quite similar to theirs, and i would say he gave a lot of advices and ideas
didnt wanna do window grilles initially, but on seeing his platform along the windows, wow, very dangerous leh... hahaha... so i think gotta do, he shared lots of stuff to look out for.

i think if you have time, just pay them a visit, can take some ideas and what they have to offer us, which was very good. things to look out for when planning for reno. oh ya, managed to peep into a few flats too... hahaha...

oh ya, btw, guys & gals, yesterday, lots of names of companies were mentioned. i believe alumix, hong liang and somemore, can i just check hong liang electronics is it located in alexandra? thanks.

etnt

Hong Liang is at alexandra, Sweetson is at bkt batok, Goh Ah Bee is at hougang. These are some of the popular neighbourhood shops.

Your experience may vary.

hydeto

Thanks for sharing Spyder.
BTW I emailed HDB yesterday and they replied me today and I'll be getting my key on 15 Nov. *excited

Think I'll need to get some time to visit you guys. etnt, trekker, green apple etc, will sms you guys if I making a trip down to RVC. Thanks in advance!

spyder

thanks etnt, was walking past just now and thought to myself, this is hong liang everyone's talking. hahaha... now then i know its so near my office... :p goh ah bee is quite popular too... becoz i staying in hougang... i think more or less my electronic items get from them lor...

spyder

congrats ivan! i will email them now. how come i have yet to receive any news. just called them. still no appointment date for me. sigh...

bb123

Wow... so exciting...
bring me back to the days while I was waiting for my keys. keke....

Both of you are more fortunate bec we got to wait quite a while before getting our keys. Even worse for those first batches applicants.

hydeto

May I know how old is the 150 series flats?
May 2005? Or eariler?

Piper - your choose the flat as BTO or WIS during 2001?

etnt

2001 is the original BTO. The flats were only ready in Jul this year. There are several WIS in between 2001 and 2005

piper

i chose it as BTO during 2001. think rvc was the pioneer batch of bto. think there's a few other plots in Buangkok and sembawang during that time. The one in Buangkok is premium flat whereas rvc is standard. reason y i remember when i chose the flat was beacuse i chose on 9th Sept 2001 and the Sept 11 bombing happened 2 days later!

hydeto

Thanks etnt n piper for the answers.

etnt, heard from spyder your house is quite nicely done.
I may be popping down to RVC tonight. Hope will be able to do a visit to your flat if you are free. Thanks.

hydeto

Oh ok, maybe some other time then.
But I normally stay till quite late at RVC because my fiancee is actually staying at RVC condo.

spyder

ivan - called hdb le, no news regarding my application.
so i guess gotta wait. only received a letter stating they acknowledge my loan application... sighz...

hydeto

Spyder - I only received the HDB Pin letter from them. But in their email they said I will be recieve the appointment letter for key collection in these few days.
Don't worry, guess you will get your appointment soon too. As I'm from day 2 selection for the WIS and I already ask for expediating on that day so I recieve it slightly eariler than you.

spyder

ivan/hyde - i know le lar, they cork up my application le, think may have delays... sucks... the lady who told processed my application tat day told me all docs required are there and no need anything else, but loan department mailed me today requesting me to verify my income... drats!