Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

tulip_76

Hi, gals

I'm living at blk 150....actually, I am staying opposite blk 150 now...my parents' home. So far, I guess Blk 150 and 156 have already completed....now, they are still doing touch-ups at the rest of the 4 blocks, walkways, pavillion etc.

piper

Just met up with another ID today....recommended by HBay. The lady seems experienced and gave some good suggestion for our house.

We also went to Mayer's sale today. Gotten a hob & oven
...now still need to buy a hood, fridge , washing machine...seems like an endless list.

esp

erica, our bathroom dun come with Vanity and showerscreen cos its a standard flat. I think premium have la but not standard. The full lenth vanity in my quotation is abt 1.3k

Piper, you so fast buy liao ar? aiyo.. set me thinking if i should start buying the necessary things like aircon, hob n hood etc.

Tulip_76, you live just opposite? Wow, you must be used to the area by now. When we went there, we were still finding our way around.

Piper, how long does it take for the hob & stuff to be delievered? we haven't gotten the keys yet, right? They will hold for you?

blk 150 - tweetie, tulip_76
blk 151 - tulipblue,DJ
blk 152 - yellow, venus, mosaic_fish
blk 153 - Pauline
blk 154 - brambles, nemo
blk 155 - elaine77, piper
blk 156 - dolphin, orith, vel, erica

tulip_76

DJ, you are right. I am very familiar with the area now cos I have been staying here for more than 5 years. Actually, it is a coincidence to get a flat opposite my parents. Was considering Punggol then but somehow, still think Sengkang is a better place to stay in

tweetie

I am staying in Blk 150, no changes. But till now, hvnt receive any news from HDB. Called them up so many times but the std ans is "we will give you the keys anytime from nw till 2nd qtr 05"

Sigh..... I cant wait to move in...

So far, met a few contractors, but hvnt decided on which one to take. My budget is abt S@15k. Any rec.??

piper

Hello Dolphin & DJ,

Mayer was having a moving out sale over the weekend at their Changi warehouse. My husband & I tot that it's a good buy..we saved abt $500

Becos it's a moving out sale, they were unable to store the things for us. But the hob & oven are considered "small" items as compared to fridge & washer. So we just gotta find a space to keep the oven until our reno.

My hubby wanted to get a fridge since it was on offer....but i dissuaded him coz there's no place for us to keep the fridge.

brambles

hi ladies!

hi piper... can i know how much did u buy the cooker n hob for? i saw the sign for the mayer sale on sat but din go...
also care to share which reno contractor did HBay recommend? can pm me

hey tweetie, i got the same answer from HDB everytime i call HDB. my hubby n i give up on them liao. i now surf the HDB website to find out the key collection date...

i'm also searching for ID/reno contractor. has anyone confirmed any yet?

hi tulip, do u know if the metal hoardings surrounding the site is already removed?

pauline12sg

So is it confirmed that our bathroom dun come with Vanity and showerscreen? Think we have to let the contractors know so that they can work out e quotation within our budget. 15k should be no problem, depending on what they are going to give you, for eg, feature wall, shoes rack etc

wow, tulip_76, so you can be the "eyes" for us whenever you go out!

It's nice that you found a place so near your parents. SK was the nearest we could get to our parents but it's still a 10-15mins drive away.

Next time got to find out from you where the nice places to eat are!

Knowing HDB, they'll just stick to the official answer and won't commit to any date until they are sending out the letters to ask us to collect the keys...so boh pian, just have to sit tight.

tulip_76

Hi, Brambles. Pauline is right. The metal hoardings surrounding the site is not removed yet. I think it is due to the work near the carpark that is not completed yet (e.g. walkway to car park, pavillion and playground) plus paintings on some blocks still need to be touched up. Think our carpark looks very beautiful cos the highest level has been transformed to something like a park and it is open-spaced. Can go there walk walk after dinner

Hi, DJ. I have seen the progress of the construction and waited till my neck 'long long'
. Haha, I don't know if it is good to stay so close to parents....afraid that they might knock on my door anytime they want to find me....just cross the road will do
. Called HDB and they also gave me the same old answer... collections of keys will be 2nd qtr 2005 and nothing more than that. No choice, have to sit and wait.

mosaic_fish

I tink our toliets have the showerscreen as if u see from the floor plan, there is a line drawn across the toliet. I had shown my floor plan to some IDs they also mention tat our toliets shd have the showerscreen. But not sure for the vanity top.

piper

have u all received the confirmation of the loan? the 2nd letter after you've sent out the loan application.

Behind the letter, it says that we'll be invited to take possession of our flat soon.....i wonder how "soon" can tat be?

Wah...Piper, you're the first one to receive the letter!
When was your deadline? I only sent mine out last Sat.

I also wonder how "soon" soon is...but well, 2qtr this year is Apr-Jun...so soon lor.

tulip_76, so what's good to eat around the area? Your worry sounds so cute...reminds me of "Everybody loves Raymond". But then, your parents are the ones living opposite, not your husband's right?

Walking up the carpark stairs and around the top level would constitute as exercise, right?
I wonder if this carpark has lifts. I notice some of the newer MSCP have lifts.

piper

hi DJ,

my deadline was 3 May....& i think we sent it out on the last week of april... We received the 2nd letter last week....been wanting to ask u all..but slipped my mind.

freshie79

Hi girls, the foodcourt KouFu and rivervale plaza.. not bad.. personally i like the fish soup+rice at Blk 308 hahahaha Also the chicken wings at Blk 303

tulipblue

hi mosaic_fish,
yup
aiyah they sent to my HB's old address coz they have moved hse already..my MIL actually pass by HDB and ask them abt the form so they pass a new form to her and extended our deadline to the 13th..hehe i just posted the form y'day so hopefully like Piper, can get the approved letter too..which ID did u get?

erica,
wow sounds like we are staying near places with good food..anyway the LRT is so nearby, if wanna eat chicken rice etc just hop into one and go!

DJ,
so are u and FH in Sg already? started on ur preps yet? which floor are u staying in Blk 151? me staying on the 11th flr

Piper,
my MIL did ask HDB when we can collect the keys, the lady just told her in June but din state when but knowing HDB, i think its best we wait for their letter telling us when we can collect the keys, so got any more stuff for the new hse yet?

haha actually my in-laws plus me and HB actually drove right into the site!!.. coz we wanted to take a look at the place last Sun and when we saw an opening at the gate, my FIL just drove right in! i got a shock coz i was expecting the security guard to chase us out (which in the end when we went 1 circle, he came and let us out)...everything looks abt 90% complete so tulip_76, must let us know when the borders are coming down yeah! thanks!!

tulip_76

Hi DJ

The nearest food court will be at the Rivervale Mall which is near our blocks of flats. Food is quite good at some stalls....for example, 'ke ai ji', malay food, roast duck, fish soup etc...these are my personal preferences
. There are also ard 3-4 stalls that are vacant and waiting for someone to rent them. Thus, variety wise is not that many.

Hi tulipblue

I will sure inform everyone here once I see the metals surrounding the whole area have been removed
. How I wish it happens tomorrow...haha.

Piper, thanks for the update. I guess 2nd letter would arrive in about a week as well. It's probably a standard thing for them to approve as long as we fill in all the blanks.

Erica and tulip_76,

Thanks for all the food lobangs.
Will try them out when we get back. I love chicken wings and malay food and fish soup.

tulipblue,

so daring of you to drive right in for the grand tour of the plot! Hopefully the tires are okay

we're still away and won't be coming back anytime soon, I think. Each time I say that, we'll be back in a few months ;) Anyway, we got the unit on the 14th floor. We don't know why that was available, actually. We only booked the unit last year during the mid-yr WIS. Either the unit is very bad, or someone gave it up. We look and look and look and can't tell what's wrong with it, so we're just assuming someone gave it up.

We haven't started looking for anything yet. Though we did walk around Harvey Norman last month to check out the prices of kitchen appliances. Not cheap! Anyway, will depend on a lot of your research and maybe even the finished product, when we look for ID/Contractor.

tulip_76, keep us eager ones updated on the site!

piper

hello tulipblue,

I'm still sourcing for an ID. Haven't made any decision yet. Haven't got any stuff lately...but been looking at fridge. If u gals got the place to store a fridge, Fisher & paykel got an offer for their older models. Abt 3-400 off the RRP. But delivery of the fridge needs to be completed before 30 Jun 2005. Can go to their website for more info.

But I want to wait until the GSS to see if there are better discounts. Think that will be a good time to pick up the cutlery, pots & pans.....

mosaic_fish

Hi tulipblue,

Glad to know u got the form. I had received my acknowledgement letter from HDB too. I haven't confirm with any IDs yet... still looking ard and asking friens for recommendation. Maybe you can try to let a few IDs to suggest design and see their quotations then compare.. you will be surprise some of them hide this and that just to show u a lower price.

My hubby and I planning to check out floor tiles this weekends.

Is there anyone here have in mind wat floor tiles to use yet??

mosaic_fish

Hi Piper,

I went to see electrical appliances last weekend and saw the offer but the salesperson told me customers call them and feedback tat the freezer baskets are not very good. The customer put in a chicken wrap in a plastic bag and when frozen the whole thing got stuck in the basket. The customers having a hard time to take it out.

If anyone buying pls check if those models' freezer come with baskets.

piper

hi mosaic_fish,

thanks for the info....someone also told me F&P fridge dun have light in the freezer.

We've not really decided on any fridge...still looking around. Hope to get a good deal during sales period.

daisylove

I didn't know I could post my query here until Tulip_76 directed me here. I started a thread on Rivervale Crescent Blk 15X hoping to get some advice

By the way, my hubby also secretly drove me in to view when we saw the gate was opened. We even went to our block. Although the lifts weren't ready for use, we attempted to climb up the stairs to our unit but there was a gate that obstructed us from climbing up... ha ha... quite an exciting experience... we were keeping as quiet as possible thinking the workers didn't know. When we decided to leave, we realised that the gate was closed but unlocked, so I guess the workers were trying to hint us that they knew we were inside, just didn't come up to ask us to leave. Phew, I thought I might have to call the police for help
284671.gif

I have already signed up a package with an ID company and quotation plus drawing are on the way.... just wondering what are the things we need to purchase while they carry out the reno next time as the contractors may need to fix them during the renovation. I'm thinking may be the air cons, water heaters, bath-tub and lights, did I leave out any else important? I'm not thinking of getting everything ready at one go because I can buy the furniture slowly, only the necessary items while the renovation work is going on.... hope to get some advice here

P/S: I heard my ID say our master toilet comes with vanity top but I'm not sure if this is true...

piper

hello daisy,

We also learning from each other thru-out this reno phase.

i think u'll need to get those tat needs the workers to install & those fixtures that are to be built into the overall design.

So things like hood, hob, sink, taps need to be bot as the reno starts. other stuff like fridge & oven, u may want to source for it first, get the dimensions, then let ur designer know & incorporate them into the space planning & design.

this is wat I've done so far also

pauline12sg

Hi Daisy,

Seems like you are really having an exciting experience trying to get into the site and even attempted to climb up the stairs to your unit! Heehee.. sounds adventurous!

My quotation and drawings are on the way too, I am planning to buy my furniture slowly as we are not going to move in so soon. I heard that even though we are not moving in after we collected our keys, we still have to pay for the conservancy charges to the town council.

I am still waiting for the acknowledgement letter for the hdb loan. Hope we can get the keys real soon!! Cheers!!

daisylove

Hi Piper,

I'm so glad to have found this thread.

From what you say, I think I'm on the right track, so what I need now is the quotation and drawing from the ID & get to meet him again to discuss, right?
Thanks for your advice, really valuable to me!!

Your name 'Piper' sounds so familiar to me. Were you the one I met when I gathered with the gals Naturally, Juliann, Hopeful, etc? I remember one new gal I met also will be living in the same area

daisylove

Hi Pauline,

oh yes... ke ke ke... it was very exciting and we got scared too when we thought the gate was locked when we planned to leave... ha ha ha... How I wish we can get the key this month, can't help but really wish to move in asap!!
284708.gif

Me too, buying furniture slowly but will try to do reno asap once I get the key as I hope to move in before December 05. Hope to celebrate Christmas Eve (my anniversary with hubby) and place a Christmas tree by the full length windows in the living room

You're right, we still have to pay for the conservancy charges even if we are not living there after collecting the key, that's why I thought of moving in once reno is done and slowly buy in the furniture. Since it's only 2 of us, hubby & me, I think still not so bad lor...

I have received the acknowledgement letter for the HDB loan, now waiting for approval.

By the way, are you getting reno loan from bank? If yes, which bank is better? I heard my brother-in-law say must get from 2 banks but I don't know why. I haven't discuss payment with my ID yet, still finding out...

daisylove

Hi Tulip_76,

thanks for directing me here. It's really nice that you're living opposite your parents, how I wish I can too

Ke ke ke... we are so lucky as you are so familiar with Sengkang and can give updates on our flat. I have been going almost every week to see the progress of the flats. According to a reno contractor who roams that area to get couples to sign ID package with him, he mentioned my flat will be the last to get key. Is this true that every block will get key at different period? I've always thought that since we are in the same area, we are getting the keys during the same period too.

tulip_76

Hi Daisy

You're most welcome to join all of us in this thread
. My hubby and I have already received letter from HDB for our loan approval and now, what we can do is just to wait patiently for collection of key. Which block are u staying? How did that reno contractor know that yours will be the last batch to collect the keys? For me, I am staying in Blk 150. From what I see, Blk 150 and 156 have completed and not sure if HDB will release them first or release all together.

tulipblue

tulip_76
haha, i think all of us wish the borders will come down anytime soon!..thanks for keeping us informed abt the progress..

DJ,
haha that will be my FIL who is the daring one
ok so i guess ur parents/HB's parents will keep a lookout for you then abt home applicances sales huh...sometimes even those shops in HDB areas also sell pretty good and cheap household applicances..its up to your preferences tho'

Piper,
thanks for the info..looks like everyone is getting excited sourcing for IDs..

Mosaic_fish,
oh good you also received the acknowledgement form..so i guess some of us here will received keys earlier..checking out floor tiles? any particular type u are looking for?

Daisy,
haha u too have a daring experience at the new site! scary rite, trying not to let the workers find you..i guess when the borders are down we can all go down and check out each other's units huh!

mosaic_fish

DJ not sure if you are aware, our estate was one of the estate which the HDB contractor had gone bankrupted. I heard alot of ppl cancel their flat or change to get new flats from other estate. I selected mine during a WIS in 2003. Imagine those first batch couples that get to choose their unit, could be 1-2 yrs earlier than me. They really waited for so long.

daisylove

Hi Tulip_76,

thank you for welcoming me, I'm pretty excited to know that we are living in the same area. Every time when hubby and I go to view the building progress, we are always wondering whether we are the only ones who are so gan qiong... ke ke ke

I haven't received the approval letter, hope HDB approves and nothing goes wrong.... Seems like collection of key for different block is really different period then. I'm staying in Block 152

Oh that reno contractor has been going to our area very often and think he may have communicated to the workers there to know the progress. By the look of it, what he said seem true. He mentioned blk 150 and 155 / 156 will be first to be ready. Mine last cos I think there are still some painting to be done...

I notice there is a certain blk where metal grills are installed half length of the windows in the living room for the lower levels or just the 2nd storey. Did u notice?

mosaic_fish

Tulip_76, thanks for the food recommendation. I initally tink food at sengkang will be boring.. hehehe... you had change my concept and happy to know tat there are good food nearby.

Tulipblue, I was looking at granite bcos it is the most easy to maintain tiles, but the IDs that i went to consult, they told me granite are not nice. I see their samples and was disappointed. So I am looking at homongenous tiles now. My frien tell me that homongenous tiles are mostly from China now. Some of them are poor quality, some are good. Need to know how to choose. So this weekend going down to check out and if possible learn from the tiles experts at the shops.. hehehe .. Do you have any kind of tiles in mind?

daisylove

Tulipblue,

ha ha... yah, we can do house visiting then

Mosaic_fish,

I heard the same thing too.. and that's why the delay. I got mine through WIS in Jul/Aug 2004. A bit fortunate for me as I only wait for a yr if it really is ready by Jun/Jul 05

mosaic_fish

Hi Daisy,

Welcome, I am also staying in 152.. we are neigbours ...hehehe... the metal grills u mention izzit at our block?? Have you selected your floor tiles?

pauline12sg

Hi daisy,

I'll not be getting any bank loan for the renovation, so i didnt really go and check out the rates from the banks. As for what your brother-in-law has said, I was rather confused. My colleague is taking the loan from 1 bank only.

I wish to get the keys soon, but annoyed by the fact that I am not able to move in totally cos I am yet to be married. (You know, old ppl's thinking right? Must go through chinese customry 1st)

pauline12sg

Hi Mosaic_fish,

From what i have known, granite looks great if you have a bigger house. If not, it will make a 4 room flat looks smaller. Homogenous tile is good enough. It is true that homogenous tiles are mostly from China. You can get your contractor to recommend some good ones for you. You can actually try to bargain with them for a good price too. (They are earning big bucks from the tiles)

mosaic_fish

Hi Pauline,

The pattern is like small black dots all over the tiles and colours are quite dark.. see from far the design quite complicated. The IDs mention one point which i agreed, the living room is the first place u see everyday u come home from work. If the tiles's design are complicated, it would not give u a cosy home feeling.

Tink this weekend i go check out the tiles shop and see if there are other ranges of granite tat have simpler design

piper

hello daisy,

Yes...I'm the one whom u met at Fish & Co with naturally, sandy & gang....nice to "meet" u here too

Hello everyone....

i'm one of those who were being selected for the pioneer BTO project. Tat was way back in 2001 before Osama bombed the twin towers. I remember clearly that i went to select for my flat on 10 Sep & the next day....the tragedy happened. I've been waiting for this flat since then, so u can imagine my roller coaster ride from selection till now. But all is well now, the wait is finally over.....we'll be collecting our keys soon

Regarding the bank loan thing, i've done some homework. So far, most of the banks are offering reno loans for 6 times your salary or $30,000 whichever is lower. So i believe if you want to spend more on your renovation, you'll need to go to more than 1 bank for approval. If not, it can be due to borrowing from 1 bank for the renovation & another for furnishings. (Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.)

So far, the one that is offering the lowest interest rate now is SCB. But i think RHB's rate is also quite low as well. However SCB will approve up to 8 times your salary. So I think that will save u the hassle of going to 2 banks for approval.

Seems like a very lor soh post this rainy morn. Hope u gals haven't
kao_yawn.gif
yet. kekekekekeke

daisylove

Hi Mosaic_fish,

wow, we're neighbours!
284800.gif
Mine is level 11, yours? I didn't see the metal grills at our block. It's either not fixed up yet or not for our block. Anyway, the one I saw is either block 155 or 156 but only level 2, if I'm not wrong. I really hope the workers aren't going to fix it, I hope to have a good view and if I have children next time, then only I will install
284801.gif

I haven't selected floor tiles yet, still waiting for quotation and drawing from my ID. I feel comfortable with him, so after my hubby communicated with him on our home concept, we leave to the ID to plan
I would like to have either homogeneous tiles or parkel (sorry, don't know how to spell).

daisylove

Hi Pauline,

oh really? Hmm... think I must go and do some research. I also don't understand why must borrow from 2 banks... It's really fortunate for you, borrowing from bank have to bear with their high interest rate!

Hey, a lot of my friends also move into their new house before their customary but they are forbidded by their parents to sleep on their new bed. Heard it's not good as the night before the customary, the elders will help us "an(1) chuang(2)" and they may get a little boy to jump on our bed. This will give a good start to the married couple. Since your parents/in-laws disallow both of you to move in first, you can go during weekends to spend time together there, still as cozy
When's ur customary?
284804.gif

daisylove

Hi Piper,

so nice to meet u here!
284810.gif

You have really waited long but finally going to move into your love nest soon
284811.gif

So now I understand why we may need to borrow from 2 banks, thank u for explaining
I know SCB stands for Standard Chartered Bank, what about RHB?

pauline12sg

Hi Mosaic_fish,

Hope you can find the design that you want for the granite! Hee...
In the 1st place, I was also thinking of having granite for my living room, but I was persuaded by my ID to take homogenous tiles instead. I trust his taste. Hehe.. hope he don't disappoint me.