Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

elaine77

Pauline, NTUC also sells, we bought another packet at NTUC.. ehehe.. maybe will bake again this weekend. Yesterday i tried grilling chicken wings.. its nice..

Brambles, i bought all my furnitures at OM furniture and Joo Seng, they have a package deal of $4388 which include sofa, dining set, bedroom set which i felt that its quite a good price.. good service also.

daisylove.. welcome into RVC>. hehee..i think im 1st few that move into the estate.

Do you all felt that the water is very dry.. after washing..or bathing, whole body like very dry.. hands also very dry.

mosaic_fish

Hi Brambles, I ask my contractor to custom made my tv console and my sofa is from Luxur Home.

Hi Elaine, wow so nice to have grill chicken wings.. hehe.. U must be enjoying cooking with your oven
.. the air is very dry at rvc har? hmmm..

pauline12sg

Hi Elaine, hee... then I might just as well cross the road to NTUC at Rivervale Mall on Sun morning to buy the packet of mixture.
So enjoying baking at our own house! Kekeke...

I didn't realise the dryness... Is it due to the cold weather these few days that made ur hands dry?

daisylove

Elaine77,
heh heh, thank u!
Yah, all the cleaning and washing makes my hands dry and painful too. Favourite is bathing time, I do enjoy the heat of the water from the gas heater.
The grilled chicken wings must be delicious. I bought some marinated chicken wings from Cold Storage yesterday but didn't figure out know how to use my oven yet, so pan-fried the chicken wings instead of grilling ke ke ke
Tonight will try something else...

Brambles,
my tv console also custom made like Trekker's and Mosaic_fish's but sofa bought from Modern Living (in Anchorpoint opp Ikea)

Pauline,
quite a lot of things are sold at NTUC in Rivervale Mall. But one thing is I realise the biscuits variety not much...

pauline12sg

Daisy,
u cook everyday after u moved in to RVC?
Ur hubby must be very "Xing Fu"! Keke... Home cook dinner can be more expensive than those mixed rice from hawker but the plus point is that it is healtier! And the ingredient "love" in it!

brambles

hi pauline... thanks! may know where is furniture club?

elaine... thanks too! actually, i too feel that the water is v dry but kept thinking that it's my shampoo. so bought an extremely moisturising conditioner

mosaic fish and trekker, thanks! perhaps will pop by Luxur Home one of these days

daisy... thanks too! i was at Anchor Point just the day before but can't seem to find something that gives us the 'this is it!' feel

i oso like to try out new stuff to cook once in a while. just really dun like the cleaning up part. hahaha

btw... do you all have pix to share how your tv console and sofa look like? we still have not found 'The One'...

Just managed to read this page of postings.

Wow! Daisy, you moved in! When you finish unpacking and all, remember to take some photos for me to drool over
Take care during this time of unpacking and have fun!

It must be very xiong to organise both a wedding and reno. I had friends who told me that reno takes up more time than the wedding prep. I don't know about the weather in Singapore, but I think drinking more water and keeping the body hydrated is always good advice!

I didn't know that there's another WIS. And now there's WIS for the Aspella project. We actually tried to apply for aspella when it first came out, but didn't even get picked to choose a flat. Now, we see what we had wanted available... I can only hope that it's all for the better.

Have a great week, y'all. Hope to see you during CNY.

piper

just went down to RVC this afternoon and saw quite a few ppl looking at flats - guess they must be from the Oct HDB WIS excercise. Anyone know about the selling price of our flats by hdb?

Dear neighbours,

Agreed with Piper, these few days (Sat & Sun), quite a lot of ppl are asking around and along with a green colour listing, stating the available flat in RVC from HDB, they are asking abt either where is the showflat or the empty unit, who are neighours !

BTW, i am new in this forum. stay with my parents and stay in Blk 156

trekkerb

Bad news..... Flat prices dropped. I had a look @ the list, we calculated of a loss of $6k average. (I'm comparing with last year Nov, WIS)

Nothing we can do.....

g_apple

Hi Trekker

You are lucky that is only a $6K loss.

I saw the price of the highest floor of the same unit as mine was almost $30K lesser than the time I paid!

bb123

Hi Daisy and Green apple,

Nice to meet you last weekend.

In case you dun know who, we are BBNN and BB123 that visit your house.

daisylove

Pauline,
ha ha... this is the first time hubby tried my cooking. He was happy although they were all very simple dishes

Hi Brambles,
don't worry about that, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder

Hi DJ,
thank you. All my things are in the 2 other bedrooms, ha ha... think will take me some time to unpack and keep them in place. I will be going Thailand from eve to 3rd day of CNY, so can invite u to my house on 4th day onwards

Piper,
2 females came to my house in the afternoon yesterday. The prices dropped even more than last year. If I remember correctly, think about $193K for either the 11th or 12th floor unit, my eyes opened so big when I heard that! This time round, still have quite a number of higher level units available!

Hi Jennifer,
welcome here, I'm from blk 152

BB123,
I knew it was u ke ke ke... nice chatting with you and BBNN

pauline12sg

Hi Brambles, I bought my stuffs from furniture club at an exhibition in expo. They have an outlet named D&B at Furniture mall, can't remember which level.

g_apple

Hi BB123 / BBNN, nice meeting u too!

My hubby love yr WIW... We can't do as we need the space for my kids' playpen / mattress.

bb123

Hi Green Apple and Daisy,

Toady I be meeting my ID to highlight a number of defects. My Hubby very unhappy so he does not want to do the talking. sigh.... So i got to take over.

I guess it is always a headache on renovation.
Hopefully it goes on well as we are almost in the final stage of the reno.

g_apple

Hi BB123

I think is better u get yr hubby to go also and talk nicely to yr ID. Unity is strength.

Last stage shd be happy and not angry... cos all will be rectify and hand over in good condition.

bb123

Hi Green Apple,

Yes he will go. But he says he will let me do the talking and only add on if things that I miss out. Although our reno process is not smooth (guess this is normal), I still believe that my house will be in good condition during handover.

So when everything is done, we shall open our house for visiting.
Right now is still very messy and got lots to clean up.

g_apple

Hi BB123

Glad to kn he will be there
I will say 99% of us do not hv smooth reno to some extend. There bound to hv some headache here & there.

Yr place is much better than mine... mine really a warzone!!
Pai Seh... when u visit me.. it was so messy and dirty :p

bb123

Hi Green Apple,

I think your house is done up very well. No lah, not messy at all. I cant imagine mine when I move my things in. keke....

rvc15x

Hi Daisy,
Wah!!! drop by almost 10k for a level 11th or 12th. (Jaws dropped)

Sigh...Think better not know too much else "xin1 tong4".

Hi Green_apple,
Understand the pain of the price drop.
Got friends living in SK and their 5rm same as mine and was abt 30~50k more than mine.
So when they heard abt RVC cheaper than theirs during last yrs WIS n somemore so convenient.(cos got NTUC)
their jaws dropped too.

Conclusion don compare be satisfied with wat we have now. hahaha...

Btw me will be doing a "symbolic" moving in this coming sunday with bare necessities.
The rest of the stuff will come in here n there during next week long holiday.

Hi mosaic_fish,
Any updates from you?

Elaine,
Yet to visit u...

rvc15x

Hi Brambles,
Sorry for the delayed reply.
My TV console is custom made by ID, simple design nothing fanciful.

My sofa got it from this shop Rxxx Rxxxx in Furniture Mall.
So far heard not good reviews in the forums n they delayed my friend's delivery.
Keeping my fingers crossed.

rvc15x

Hi BB123,
Think its part n parcel of life lor.
Mayb certain of us guys r abit more "pek chek" when things don turn out the way we wanted.
So we'll try to remain silent to keep our cool n let wifey do the talking first.
Wat Green_apple said is correct, united we stand.
So b4 meet ID better agree on the points that we wanna "bombard" the ID on.
Else "divided" we'll fall.

g_apple

Hi Snowman..

Yes.. that was the phrase I cracking my brain "untied we stand"

Me sick.. coughing away and too tired fm the reno plus looking after my sick-yet-superb active boys!

tarepiggy

Hi Pauline, i went to my hse at 1.45pm last Sat to settle a few things - the gas man came to install the gas pipes; bathroom & kitchen accessories man came to deliver our stuff & mtg my carpentry man to take final measurement & finalise designs & layout .... very tiring! Sorry din sms u cos was in a rush to go another place.

Oh yes, my flooring is done! =D
My fiance will do the painting next 2 wks b4 carpentry comes in .... guess another month to go b4 reno is completed! But should be just nice, the sch hols is coming in 4 wks time .... Yeah!!!! By then i shld be able to spend more time at RVC ... so far, haven't even visited my hse 10 times yet ... really miss it & looking fwd to spend time there on furnishing.

Wow! Prices dropped again?
I wonder how much the 9th flr, 5-rm unit at blk 151 cost now.

Thanks for your invite, Daisy. I'll be in SG until Feb 4th. So I guess we can meet up some time from 1st - 4th Feb. Haha. Let me know when's convenient for you. Just drop by see-see-look-look...won't take up too much of your time.
It usually takes us about 2 weeks to set up a home (move-in condition). I usually only start cooking after the first week. I hope you settle down fast and find your routine.

I don't even want to think about reno right now...though some times, reading all your postings...I kind of dread it. But I'm sure when my time comes, I can count on you to tell me what to do.
So what's step 1? Finding and ID or screeding? Or will the ID tell me all that?

Anyways, see y'all soon! And have fun during this holiday season.

piper

guess it's better not to know too much on the new hdb price in case heart more pain. anyway, today i had my aircon blower and condenser installed (2nd trip). quite pleased with gain city's work so far. My ID has also been quite professional with the work/progress and able to solve most of my queries, reasonable/miminal change request although he always have to charge whenever i ask for more extra requeest like box-up etc. Went down this evening to my place to test the lightnings and i must say lightning really make the place very different from day! Snowman : noticed you were also there in your place when i reach. how was the scv testing? Mine was scheduled today but i postphoned it.

rvc15x

Hi Piper,
Yup, was there to do some cleaning.
Funny though. I called up n postpone the SCV testing to another date but yet they still left me a "I missed you" card.

Looks like I need to call them up again today, to double confirm on my re-scheduled appt.
Btw I noticed u hv the "I missed you" card also, did u noticed it?

rvc15x

Hi Pauline,
Btw forgot to thank you on recommending me Alex on the curtains. Got my curtains installed last Sat.
My wife was satisfied with their service.
So far they are the few contractors that would call up a day prior to the installation to double confirmed on the timing.
And they would "chop chop" finished the job.

rvc15x

Hi green_apple,
You better take care then.
Btw its good to know that the boys are still hyper active.
It goes to show that they are on the verge of recovering soon.

rvc15x

Hi Piper,
Btw noticed that you have put a base coat of white paint for your main door.
You going to paint other colors?

rvc15x

Hi Mudpie,
Wah... Your fiance going to paint the whole house by himself?
Sounds siong leh!
Me lazy man
got me ID to do the job instead.

bb123

Good Morning all,

We had quite a good session with my ID yesterday. So my hubby sounds ok now.

Btw, just to check, I dropped by Rivervale Mall yesterday night and saw a stall having curtain promotion but forgotten the name. Anyone use them before?

piper

hi snowman,
yup, i saw the card from scv as well. I also postphoned the appt to sometime in nov. the paint on the main door is just a base coat. I've not really decided which color to paint the door and gate. was toying with black door with grey grill or vice versa. I';ve left it to my ID to decide which color combi is most suitable as his color sense is better. ha, hopefully by this week the reno can be finished and handover sometime next week.

pauline12sg

Hi Mudpie,
It's ok, I understand there are alot of things to do during renov and gotta rush here and there. Even I've finished my hse renov, I'm still busy tidying and cleaning up my hse, cooking for hubby and watching TV, kekeke... :p Duno why ever since I've stayed in RVC over the weekends, I don't feel like going out leh... Feel that staying at home is such a wonderful thing!

Hi Snowman,
U are welcome!

etnt

For those of you facing the LRT, do you find it noisy?

For the last couple of weeks I thought how come every morning got drilling/grinding sound at 7am till I mentioned it to wifey and she said it's the LRT. True enough, when the LRT is gone, it's quiet again.

pauline12sg

Hi Etnt, I can hear the noise from my bedroom, esp in the morning where the noise is louder. I'm actually fine with it cause I've been living near to MRT at my parents' hse for so many years already. I can say the noise is bearable after u have live in for quite some time. Don't worry, u will get used to it sooner or later.

elaine77

Snowman and piper.. very nice to hear that you all are completing your reno & moving into our block soon.. to add on more noise and ren qi into our block.. if not quite quiet compare to other blks..

snowman.. anytime man.. just knock on my door if you wanna come visit me..

BB123, alot of small small nitty gritty things to handle during reno but most of the time.. my hubby will liase with my ID.. man and man talk easier.. they tok hokkien.. i cant.. kekee.. so he handle.. keke.. DUn worry.. slowly settle 1 thing at 1 time.. cant rush to do things.

pauline.. i also have the same sentimentals.. weekend dun feel like going out.. the most i go compasspoint or rivervale mall.. or go to my mum place for dinner.. feel so comfy at home

etnt

pauline, I dun hear it actually as our unit is facing inwards. Juz that was shock of the noise level of LRT since I was trying to figure out how come got such hardworking contractor everyday do renovation at 7am.

pauline12sg

Do u know if we can get mahjong table at Rivervale Mall? If not, where is the nearest place that we can buy? How abt Rivervale Plaza or Punggol Plaza?

bb123

Did anyone of you engage Grand Art Contract & Furnishing? Like to know how is their workmanship and services?

mosaic_fish

Sorry this wk I am busy again.. and doing wedding preps recently.. even no time to go down rvc on sat.. My kitchen cabinets are up... half done.. hehee quite excited when I saw it. Tink by end of this wk can finish..

Dear neighbours,

can i check with you, if any sales man from ADT came to your house ? They claim that there was a robbery in Blk 153 abt 2 weeks ago, dunno if it is true ?

However, he was here to sell their security system. He claimed that the installation is FOC. Anyone encounter such saleperson ?

tarepiggy

Hi Snowman!
Yup, my fiance is gonna paint the whole hse ... maybe i'll help if he allows ... heee .... he prefers to do it on his own leh ... Anyway he said he's gonna do something different on the wall & it's meant to be a surprise for me .... hopefully it won't turn into a shock when i see it .... hahaaaaaaa

pauline12sg

Hi Mudpie, hee... then u better don't see it till it's ready! Hmm... it's always sweet to give surprise to each other.

Hi Elaine, so coincidence to see u at RVC carpark yesterday! It was raining very heavily last night, can't see the road clearly when on the way to my hubby's bro hse.

esp

hi pauline, its a bliss to stay at home but somehow feels bored and sad cos parents and siblings not ard. Over the past weekends, my sister will visit and cook with me. today maybe bring my dog over my plc for his hoildays. Miss him so much. Ya, last night rain is horrible and many places flood. I realised our area always rain but last night's rain is whole singapore i think, the thunder really scary especially when you are on the road.

Elaine,
How you adapting in your new place? do you guys hear the rubbish car come every moring ? my unit can heard and its like 7am every morning. The rubbish car noise is like my alarm clock.

BTW, does anyone of you guys here like to cycle ? i am thinking of going to get bicycles later.. if anyone of you interested can go together and explore sengkang. hehe have you guys went to the Suplture park near our plc?

Jennifer, no leh.. no sales person from ADT.

BTW, the scv ppl came down yesterday afternoon, seems like its only for those who wants to subscribe SCV.