Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

daisylove

etnt,
thank you.

Mosaic_fish,
HL didn't call to inform. I think it's the agent side that is delaying. I just called HL to help me chase the delivery men from the agent company.

Piper,
same here, I have also bought the Duro lock.

etnt

Juz for info, not all items will be delivered by the neighbourhood shops themselves. For eg. mits delivered the fridge seperate from the rest of the appliance, and they will arrange with you seperately on the day itself. So make a check with the shop.

rvc15x

Hi mosaic_fish,
Glad tat all is moving well for you.

My electrical appliance coming in this weekend.
So by then will know HL's delivery status.

Hi Piper,
was there on sunday to do cleaning n noticed tat ur contractors are also working, can hear e drilling here n there.
But at least our level most of e reno are in progress less dusty then.

piper

i was there sunday morning and afternoon to move things. weird that i didn't catch the workers....i transported my orginal hdb wc and sink to a shop in geylang that i bought my new wc and stuff to sell.heard that if we leave the wc and sink in the corridor it will 'disappear' veri fast.

esp

sure daisylove, been busy with the packing and unpacking of stuff. Was wondering where do we go for marketing near our area ? rivervale plaza ? anyone keen to join me to market on sat ? hehe
was thinking our area seems a good place for jogging too.. anyone keen as well ?

etnt

rivervale plaza is pretty small actually and comparatively, I think the ntuc at rivervale mall offers much of the same at a more convenient spot.

Favourite marketing place is now sheng siong at tekka mall, if you dun mind travelling. Very large variety at pretty good prices.

pauline12sg

I love jogging too!! Was thinking to go for a jog one of these days!

Currently, I do most of the marketing at NTUC in Rivervale Mall. Just cross the road will do, really very convenient.

rvc15x

short summary of whats available if u do not like to travel too far.

walking distance : rivervale mall - larger ntuc with foodcourt.

2 lrts away : rivervale plaza -
a small dry market and also small ntuc with 2 foodcourt on lvl 2.

next town aka punggol : punggol plaza (not sure free feeder bus 168 still avail or not)
got ntuc and foodcourt.

1 mrt stations away (hougang mrt)- hougang mall.

2 mrt stations away (kovan mrt)- wet market/hawker/cold storage

mosaic_fish

Hi Snowman, let me know abt the delivery experience u have with HL. Thanks..

Etnt, I went to sheng siong at tekka mall b4 and is really big ..hehehe.. but is a bit far

elaine77

Its been about 3 weeks since i have moved in, alot of families are having house-warming over the weekend, another couple got married on sat! So happy to see other pple getting married

I discovered that my neighbour downstairs is a young mum.. and a houswife with 2 kids.. so envy.. i felt like becoming a housewife too.

snowman, you can get the roman mop at carrefour at suntec, i bought mine there, its quite good. But i felt that if works fine with parquet but homegenous tiles will have some markings if you did pull back the dirt properlly

wahh.. thats a very detailed one on the shopping area around us.
After these 3 weeks, i have also compiled some of my findings.

1) Groceries- can buy at NTUC
2) Kitchen and those nitty gritty things for kitchen - buy from the hardware shop at rivervale plaza at 2nd floor, over $150 FOC delivery for sengkang residents
3) Fresh food & poultry, vegies- can buy from cold storage at compass point but price slightly higher den NTUC
3) Doctor & dentist- rivervale mall or compasspoint

rvc15x

Hi Elaine77,

Did not have time to come n visit you since we are in the same block.
Btw you are also not bad either in your findings too, quite a good breakdown.
Really shed some light in areas that I din touch on.

elaine77

Hi snowman,

no problem, we have plenty of time to visit me in future. I will be in during weekend morning and afternoon, sometimes evening we will go out. Do knock on my door if you want to pop by

hehee.. share share info mah..actually these are somethings that i find out during my weekend marketing.. and some of the info given by my gf that stays in sengkang.. she even better.. she knows which shops sells more cheaper things.. which store can bargain.. i always tell her that she is very auntie.

mosaic_fish

Good Morn!!

Last nite went back to rvc, my lights were up.. so happy... hehee. kitchen cabinets maybe coming on Sat.. very excited to see my cabinets ...

rvc15x

Hi Mosaic_fish,

Congrats! At least now u don need to see in the dark.
Btw HL called us up last nite, they are bringing my delivery forward from Sat to Friday nite.
As they are afraid that they would delay our delivery on sat as there are too many destinations.

esp

Hihi, Thanks for your contributions on the marketing stuff.. Think i just go NTUC or punggol plaza as one of the forum i went to suggested punggol plaza stuff is cheaper and fresher. I had almost all stuff in except for my Bedframe which i ordered from Bernini at lavendar sometime back. Keeping my fingers crossed as i heard some bad feedback abt bernini in this forum.. :X

tarepiggy

Allo!

Aiyoh.... so fast ... "xiao-qiang" find their way to our RVC liao ... Pauline, r u scared of them? I jus recently killed one at my hse, smacking it wif my dad's bathroom slipper, but after tat i dun dare to flip the slipper over, so my braver sis gotta do the clearing ...hahaaa .. hopefully i dun see them in my new hse .....arrggg

Snowman, i saw the Roman Mop man doing his promotion demo at Kovan area, outside Heartland Mall, the part tat leads to the hawker. Maybe u wanna call their office 62943251 to check out where their Roman Mop will be made available =)

bb123

Morning everyone,

We just bought a Roman mop yesterday at Carrefour. Now with promotion at $39.90 and comes with a free sponge worth $16.90.

Heard from the sales lady that the sponge can last for 2 years and no need to use any floor cleaning liquid. For those who use it before, is it true??

pauline12sg

Hi Mudpie!

Nice to see u here again!
How's everything for u? School holiday is coming soon, and u can have a long break already...

Well, I'm not afraid of cockroach but I dare not catch it with my bare hand so I'll leave the job for hubby , kekeke... :p If he is not ard, then I'll have to use newspaper to catch it already!

rvc15x

Hi mudpie,
Thanks for the info. Will check it out lor.

Hi BB123,
Thanks for the info on the price also and the promotional free gift item.

pauline12sg

Anyone here have bought bamboo poles? Do u know what is the best length for our RVC? Understand that there are different lengths for bamboo poles, duno which ones to buy...

etnt

For the 5room (taking blk 152 as reference) the internal is 100inch, the external is about 86inch.

The shop at rivervale plaza can cut to size.

rvc15x

Hi etnt,

Am interested in the aluminium extensible version though.
Off hand, do u have any idea how much does it cost?

esp

hihi, for the extensible aluminum version its abt 6.90-7.90 range. You can buy your bamboo from the shop at Rivervale mall the shorter one at 8ft, its $1.50 per bamboo.

rvc15x

Hi etnt & dolphin
Thanks for the info.
I bought 3 aluminium extensible pole to try out @ a shop opp Hougang Interchange next 2 Cheers for 6.90 per pc.

rvc15x

Hi Piper,
saw u n ur hubby @ new house this morning.
pai seh din say hi to u guys, cos we were there 2 dump our stuff n rushing off to another destination.
Noticed that u did alot of carpentry hor?!

rvc15x

Hi Pauline,
The curtain guys were @ my place 2 install curtain tracks on sat.
they came early as we hv other stuff 2 attend 2.
btw they were quite fast n pro, chop chop get things done in 45mins so tat we hv more time 2 attend 2 other stuff.
they also tried their best 2 minimize e dust during drilling also.
I'm quite satisfied till now hope everything is done by next sat when e curtains come.

mosaic_fish

Hi snowman,

I was at rvc on sat early morn and left early to rush to settle some wedding stuffs.. so didnt stay to see if my contractor put in the cabinets or not. I guess he haven't bring in the cabinets yet.. bcos he didn't update me on sat.. as he said he will.. later I call him to check with him again. hehee..

Yah Daisy.. sun was raining whole day.. how is your moving?

piper

hi snowman,
yup, we noticed that u were quite busy on sun, came in & quickly left. as our reno is nearing completion, we have to be more 'on' and check on the works. ya, i sensed that the place look smaller with all the carpentry in. hope it turn out allright. i would love to see your place when you have the time.

pauline12sg

I've bought the bamboo poles from NTUC at Rivervale Mall, $1.50 each.

Snowman,
So u have engaged Alex as well? Why didn't u install the tracks and curtain on the same day?

Piper,
Have u found someone to install the window grilles already? Did u call my uncle?

Daisy,
Was raining so heavily yesterday that I'm not able to visit u... Hope things turn out fine for ur moving.

rvc15x

Hi Piper,
Sure of cos maybe when I have shifted in lor.
Cos currently, most of the time I'm popping in and out to dump stuff.

rvc15x

Hi Pauline,
Yup, I'm using Alex for e curtains.
Cos he mentioned he had too many orders and needs abt 2weeks to get the curtains done.

And initially we thot that after the installation of the tracks there would be alot of dust so need to clean clean lor.

Therefore, I was ok with the idea when they suggested to seprate it into 2 sessions.

piper

hi pauline,
yup, i called your uncle and a few others for quote. tks for the contact. But we decided to postphone installing window grills - 'ai sui'

pauline12sg

Hi Snowman,
I see, hee... hope ur curtains will be up soon!

Hi Piper,
U are welcome. It's true that without the window grill, it will look much nicer.
I remember that u have ordered Ariston oven too, I've tried using it yesterday, very pleased with it!

g_apple

Long time no post liao...so busy !

Can't imagine how I will look like after all the cleaning up and packing.

On behalf of Daisy... She wants to thanks all of you for your concern over her moving in on a rainy day. She very touched!
They did it smoothly by wrapping up all the boxes with plastic bag.
She had no time and resources to log in the forum as she is at RVC busy apcking and cleaning.

pauline12sg

Glad to know that Daisy's moving in was smoothly done!

Very happy that the SCV cable will be ready soon! Looking forward for them to do the activation and testing.

There is free dvd player / digital camera if we sign up for the digital cable now.

elaine77

Yesterday rain was very heavy, my clothes were drenced as we forget to bring in before we went out for breakfast. But we feel so relaxed and cosy at home. I saw a graffiti at my block at the 1st level saying 'O$P$' with wrong unit no. not sure if its a prank or really someone owing money, i felt like calling up town council to ask them remove it, its so unsightly. New flats leh... so fast got pple owe $.

pauline, alex came last weekend to install the curtains, his workmanship and services is not bad. We only did curtains for living room and MBR. the 2 rooms will buy blinds from ikea. I also tried my INDESIT oven to bake.. not bad leh.. we bake potatos and pork ribs. You mean SCV will be ready soon? you called them?