Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

pauline12sg

Hi Daisy & Mosaic_fish,

I also have all praises for Singapore Lighting Mart! There was once when we found out that 1 of the bulbs in the dining light was not working. The boss came down personally to check for us. At the end, it was only because that the bulb was not installed properly. He even gave us extra light bulb which he brought there with him which he initially wanted to change for us in case the one up there was not working.
I recommended the shop to my colleague who wanted to get some lights and a new ceiling fan for her current house. She also agrees that they have a very good service!

rvc15x

Had a really bad experience on last saturday morning.

The HDB rep from the service centre was quite jia lat.

Here the story goes...
Had a seepage on the beam in the living room.
We've made appointment to check on the issue and this old uncle arrived late.
Then he told us he would check in a while's time n went off but did not update us anything.
Me n wifey waitied at least 20mins at our flat and no news from him.
We went down to service centre and guess wat we saw?
He was down there shake leg and talking to another contractor. (cos its 10am n he R&R? i really wonder?)
When me wifey questioned him, he could not provide us an answer (trying to find excuses) and still said
"he donno why like tat leh"
"the problem should hv been rectified"
"think should not be a problem" and lots more etc that when you hv heard it and saw his reactions, it would really make ur blood boil.
kao_frustrated.gif

Me wifey really fumed n give him a lashing.

1st time saw wifey so fed up.
In the end the rep for the main con came.
n follow us up to our unit to double check the issue n provided us with suggested resolutions.

Sigh...sometimes it really makes us wonder why they simply bo chap?
cos its a saturday they should relax n not work?
sorry for the complaints since its monday.
but it really spoiled my weekend bcos of the incident.

piper

hi snowman,
no problem as we can always visit each other when u r free. saw your relatives were around on sun, i was also with my auntie to show her my new place.

my aircon trunking was done yesterday and the condesnser and blower will be mounted later next month when the false ceiling and 1st coat painting is done. have to pay extra to gain city for additional trip due to my reno arrangement.

so far quite happy with gain city technicans as they clean up after they left and their handiwork quite alright. but there's a tear in the insulation material due to the sharp casing & they're coming these 1-2 days to fix.

i noticed that some of the units in our area have a aluminium foil material that wrap the insulation on their air-con ledge and i ask the GC guy abt it. He say if use Armaflex no need but other kind of insulation then need to wrap - not too sure if he's smoking me. ha

mosaic_fish

Hi snowman, i read your post also make me angry.. remind me of my cement screeding done by HDB.. My hubby also went down to svc centre to make noise then they came over to my hse to continue the unfinish work. Did u saw Belinda there? She is the incharge officer.

dorian

Has anyone conceled your hot & cold copper piping for HDB flat? If cannot conceled any good suggestion how to hide it?

rvc15x

Hi piper,

I totally agree with you on the visiting.
Btw those were my Mum n MIL, BIL who came to look at my abt to be finished reno.

But too bad I cant advise u on the air con thingy cos me air con was installed by a personal friend of mine.

So I very fang xin of the works he done for me and the material he used.

Basically, I was not there at all for the installation, juz only the site survey prior the installation.
Juz to indicate the position of the FCU n how the trunking i wanted it to run.

piper

hi dorian,
i think most of the flatowners conceal the piping by using the kitchen cabinet. Think the toilet water pipes is taken care by HDB(hidden in wall). In my kitchen, the hot+cold pipe is available in 2 places, sink & washing machine. my contractor have to lay the pipes and then the cabinet will be installed which will hide them liao.

my contractor also cut away the U-shape gas pipe that's sticking out on the wall and cement/flush the surface as I'm not using gas heater.

rvc15x

Hi Brambles and elaine77,

I would like to check with you ladies, what is needed or observed on the day of the "xie tu"?
Hope tat you can advise me. Or anyone knows abt any stuff would be greatly appreciated.

rvc15x

Has anyone chosen all curtains for the whole house (5rm)?
What is the price like?
If it is not convenient to reveal it here, you could also pm me.

g_apple

hmm... this thread is slowing down. Still can catch up after MIA a few days

Mudpie - My twins are 21 mths now.

Trekker, U are welcome... Jus happen to read tt u are sick and may not be accessing so sms u etnt message.

ID had decided to change my Oval to Circle... cos the oval they did look like a giantic "wan wan sian bei" See liao dunno to cry or laugh clipart{kao_cry} clipart{kao_laugh}

snowman - Daisy and myself (Mosaic_Fish still hv not cfm) had engage a "freelance" to do. He was recommended by my brother. So far out of the 3 quotes I got, he is the cheapest. (cheaper by almost $300 based on the same material I choose).

If you wan the contact, pls call / sms me.
I underst e-curtain also offer very good price.
Pauline had 1 contact which offer quite good price too.

daisylove

Hi Snowman,
u can also contact Mr Woon who takes care of defect for our area. If you need his contact, I can pm u. Hee... I don't have to re-position the hob liao, seems ok although it does look like it's very near the edge
Regarding the "xie tu" day, I'm not very sure, will be letting the FS master to take care of it. However, my MIL reminded me to fill up the rice container and bring chopsticks on the day we move in....

Hi Dorian,
if you can't hide them with cabinets, u may like to paint them white to blend with the colour of the kitchen wall tiles.

pauline12sg

Hi Snowman,

I did whole house curtains for my 4-room unit at less than $700. I find that their workmanship very good, the curtain tracks are nicely done. It is actually recommended by my mother-in-law. If u want the contact, u can sms me.

g_apple

Hi snowman,

U dun accept PM. I had SMS u the contacts.
For John, u can tell him is recommended by Daisy and myself.. hope he can gv u a good price since he getting a few customers at RVC.

Pauline, I had SMS snowman your curtain contact also.

rvc15x

Hi Green_Apple,

sorry abt tat on the pm thingy, thot tat i had it turned on will check the settings again.
btw yes i hv recv ur sms. thanks.

Hi Pauline,
Although we hv not met but really appreciate ur help. Cheers!

g_apple

Snowman, Pauline
You are welcome

Anyone got "lobang" for movers?
I need one to shift bed frame and mattress and some personal belongings. Not much stuff but bulky.

elaine77

I have finally move in into my Home sweet home.. kekee
after long long wait of 2 years and 3 months of reno. Yesterday i was on leave to unpack... and tidy up the house, it was like a mess on sunday.. so many carton boxes laying in the 3 rooms. I only manage to unpack all mine and my hubby clothings, study room is still in a mess..

We are really lucky and blessed that we have friends and my uncle's help on sunday. My hubby friends are very pro.. and fast.. we started shifting from 9.30am and finish at 3pm.. from sengkang to RVC den from RVC to hillview and back to RVC again.

snowman, my fengshui master did everything for us, we bought the 5 elements, 'cai, mi, you, yan' means charcoal, rice, cooking oil and raw salt. 5 kinds of fruits, and 'fa gao'. So he did some rituals, open the door and my hubby held the stove with burning charcoal into the house. I realise that different FS master do different things.

rvc15x

Hi elaine77,

congrats to you after such a long wait.

I bet you muz be quite excited then but also tiring due to those unpacking i guess.
Btw thanks for the info.
so will you be in?
I might be popping over to my unit this evening.
convenient to visit u?
its ok if its not.

brambles

hi snowman, my 'xie tu' is quite similar to elaine's. must have the stove with burning charcoal in front of main door. then hubby and i must cross the stove to walk into the new house. then we have the 'fa gao' and some other stuff too (can't rem cuz my mum helped me buy), did some simply praying, then bring in the 'cai, mi, you, yan'. also need to have basic cutlery such as bowls, plates, spoons, forks and chopsticks. after that, my hubby and i brought the stove with burning charcoal around the house to 'heng heng' the place

esp

hi.. i am also shifting on friday .. hehe
BTW, how do you guys get the citygas people to come down to active the gas ar?

rvc15x

Hi Elaine77,
Pai seh din sms u cos forgot 2 bring e contact list.
And was rushing off after tat as time really flies before i know it.

Hi Brambles,
Really thanks for the info.

Juz curious where do u all get those stove from?

NTUC? cos seldom see these anymore since its not a common item that we would use.

Hi Dolphin,
Wah...so fast ah! Congrats!

If I'm not wrong u need to call power gas 3days in advance 2 make appointment to come down to activate the gas.(this is according to my ID)
But this is provided that everything is not connected up yet. Is ur hob connected already?
Anybody out there, Correct me if I'm wrong.

Hi Mosaic_fish,
Me and wifey was suprised to meet u n ur hubby 2nite. We really you yuan hor?

rvc15x

Hi dolphin,
By right i think its your ID job leh!
Cos all the while my ID do it for me but she got update me wat is it for/abt lah.

etnt

Saw last nite that they are constructing exits to the mainroad pavement at the stretch outside 151 and 150.

rvc15x

Yup, Yup.
So now it'll be more convenient for 150 and 151 residents since they don need to walk all the way to the "central" exit when they wanna go over to rivervale mall.

esp

just called citygas and they are coming down on saturday to do the gas stuff.. going to jimmy textiles to do my curtains and they say they are able to rush for me within one week instead of the usual two weeks.

mosaic_fish

I was busy this morn to finish up some work for my boss..

Hi Snowman,

I didn't expect to see u leh. I was quite tired after a long tok with my contractor. I didn't notice is u.. is my hubby tat notice u and ask me if is u.. hehehe.. really you yuan

etnt

Appears that most renovations are well on the way and/or completing liao. Guess by end oct, the whole neighbourhood would be pretty lively

brambles

hi snowman, you're welcome. hehe, i dunno where to get the stove. my mum helped to get it for me :p

etnt, can pass me the contacts for the person who did the steel racks for ur storeroom? u have a picture of how it looks like?

etnt

brambles, the contact is in the above post for vigoal. No pics, but it's those kinda steel chrome ones, boltless.

brambles

hi etnt, thanks! sorry, forgot that you had earlier posted the contacts above. if it's convenient, may we pop by over the wkend to hv a look? it's ok if you're not free. many thanks

etnt

snowman, it's not wooden board, each layer is a metal platform.

brambles, besides sunday morning, should be at home during the weekend. welcome to drop by.

rvc15x

Hi etnt,

Got it! no wonder you have mentioned there is no bolts. I was wondering if it was the metal platform.
Wat is the weight that each layer can substain?
How many layers is your rack?
Do you have special coating to prevent the metal from rusting?
Do you have the dimensions of your rack?
Lastly, if possible would like to pop over to take a look. shall sms to check if u r around.

Sorry for so many questions, thanks in advance.

etnt

snowman,
1) dunno, but so far no signs of sagging with all the rubbish thrown on it
2) 4 layers
3) it's chrome, but they say if prolong contact with water still can rust, guess it's juz a coating.
4) err, gotta go dig it out again
5) same as brambles, anytime besides sun morning.

rvc15x

Hi Daisy,

Do you still have the dimensions of the storeroom racks from etnt in the earlier post?
If yes can forward to me, then etnt don need to go dig it out liao!

Sorry for the trouble.

rvc15x

Hi Daisy,
Thanks for the info.
You are a great help.

Hi etnt,
Thanks to you also.

now u don need 2 dig out the quote liao!

esp

Who's going up this saturday?? I will be there after 11am.

1) Trekker (After 11am)
2) Dolphin (to 2.30pm)

mosaic_fish

Good Morn Everyone!!

I am not going to RVC this sat.. will be meeting my contractor to confirm design of my cabinets and choose paint colours. Afternoon got something on.

daisylove

Hi Snowman,
happens that I wrote down in my note book, so easy to trace. Thanks to etnt

Mosaic_fish,
glad that the reno is moving already. This is an exciting stage

Hi Trekker and Dolphin,
I may not be able to meet u as I'm reaching only around 3 pm:
1) Trekker (After 11am)
2) Dolphin (to 2.30pm)
3) Daisy (around 3 pm)

rvc15x

Hi Morning to All,

I will not be free to go down to RVC this coming sat.
But will be there this afternoon for my ID to handover. Yaye!!!
Most likely would be there this sunday though but will be doing the washing up and cleaning up lor!
So if you guys happen to pop over and caught me in the midst of cleaning.
I like to say pai seh first. hehehe...
Think gonna be siong liao!