Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

etnt

vel, as mentioned, check out the display itself and compare against the competitors, both feature and image wise. I love CRTs but the local market appear to be obsessed with flat panels.

brambles, try ikea? they do have a pretty wide variety.

eugvel

etnt,

i've contacted all e shops for pricing & best price i managed to obtained is from HL @ $2.5k nett (pay cash), but was told made in indonesia & some told mi malaysia (no longer from japan, thats why so cheap..haizz)..all diff storys..

elaine77

Wahh.. so many postings today... i went over to RVC yesterday afternoon around 2plus and saw a couple having ROM solemnisation at the function hall with nice deco around..the place looks quite nice after the deco. After that we walk to our flat.. and we saw a wedding car at our block.. i think we will see more couples getting married... reminds me of my wedding ;)

green_apple, trekker..thanks for showing me your flat, very unique idea on the ceiling works.. too bad i did not get to see your twin boys.. hope to see them when we meet up again.

brambles, i bought my shower curtains at ikea they have many designs.. alot of colourfull ones also. Alternatively you can install glass panels shower screen but it will be costly, to save cost, we bought shower curtains from ikea.

Vel, korea, nice place and nice weather now.. not too hot and not too cold, i went there about 4 years ago.. missed the ginseng chicken stuff with glutinous rice.. yummy..
. According to my collueuges, LCD and plasma, LCD panel pixels are better and sharper comparing to plasma, LCD has better heat control den plasma.. but because plasma price are dropping rapidly, therefore comparing LCD and plasma.. consumer will still buy plasma, bigger and cheaper.

g_apple

Daisy

Forget to add.... I like your Masterbed room concept and that kitchen cabinet to put brooms... come to think of it, I duv hv any spare area to keep all these!! Must keep in store room!! Oh no! clipart{uhoh}

Oh yes, pls thanks your gal friend on my behalf for taking care of my twins... she must be so tired chasing after them

daisylove

etnt,
any reason why we can forgo the extended warranty?

Brambles,
hope u are feeling better now. I saw some nice ones at Ikea, may be can check out there. I did shower screens for both toilets, very costly, so will not advise u doing that. I had no choice as hubby wants wood laminate for living room & 3 bedrooms, very scared that if toilet is too wet and water gets to the wood laminate, may cause it to warp off

VeL,
what a coincidence! I also went to Korea for my honeymoon. That time was autumn and the trees and scenery are beautiful! Did u manage to go to Jeju? Had a horse ride there, very scary but exciting
Initially I prefer LCD but after much research by hubby, we settled for plasma. Not sure abt their life span though, think it all depends on how we maintain and the usuage of the tv.

elaine77,
agree with u, whenever I see weddings, mine just feels like yesterday

Green_apple,
My hubby was so happy when I told him u like the idea as they are designed by him. We got lotsa barang barang at my in-laws' house and always have storage problem, so to solve this problem, we try to have as much storage space as possible. Currently, my MIL finds it troublesome to bring the broom in and out of the store room, so just leaves at the laundry area which always gets in the way whenever one needs to access the common toilet. This is why a closet is constructed in the kitchen to put broom, mop, etc

Ha ha... my gal friend was enjoying herself playing with ur twins

etnt

daisy, it's like insurance lor, gotta think if the additional cost is worth it (base cost + additonal premium for extension), then calculate it against the depreciating cost of electronics and average lifespan.

eugvel

Hi daisy,

we went to a couple of places, including e venue where they filmed e "da zhang jiang", cant really recalled the names of e places..
mine in-law place is having e 42" plasma but die on them after abt close to 3yrs..i think got to replace e tube (not veri sure)..=(
we would like to go for e toshiba 32" LCD (price abt $2.5k) but was told made in indonesia & other stories, thus dont knoe whether worth to settle for that model or not (my hubby ve a toshiba 21" tv which serve him for over 20yrs but was made in japan then).
We was also looking @ e samsung 32" slimfit tv at first but was told not worth paying $1.7k for a normal crt tv..haizzZ.

brambles

hi daisy, thanks for ur concern. i'm alrite now. thanks... will find time to pop by IKEA, can 'shun bian' go see if there's anything i can get for my place

etnt, elaine... thanks. will go IKEA to see look. hehe

daisylove

etnt,
I see... thank u
Mine is only 1 yr warranty.

VeL,
wow, more and more places to go in Korea. That time when we went, also to those places they film those popular series, really miss Korea a lot but find the people there a bit impatient. For TV, I think choose the one both u and hubby like. Both hubby and I were so confused by the diff opinons the sales persons and our friends gave us that in the end we decided to get what we like and what we think is worth the money

Brambles,
I got quite a lot of face towels and bath towels from Ikea

bbnn

Hi, just a curious question.
If we want to remove the gas piping that is over the kitchen windows, is there any cost involved?

Anybody remove that before?

daisylove

BBNN,
u mean the gas piping sticking out of the wall? If u are not using gas heater, can actually get ur ID to shorten and cap it to make it less obvious. I think it depends on whether ur ID is charging u for this.

pauline12sg

Finally managed to squeeze in some time to post a msg here, had been busy with my work.

I love to go IKEA, esp to their cafe for a slice of cake with a cup of coffee!
Would like to go there this weekend if there isn't any other important task awaiting me & hubby to do.

Apart from Hong Liang and Sweetson, Tong Seng can offer good bargains too! Can try to call them up for pricing.

I've not decided where to go for my honeymoon next year but me already excited now... :p Korea is one of my choices, if hubby and I have decided to go there, will surely ask Vel, Daisy or Elaine for some advices! Kekeke...

Hope e SCV cable will be ready asap... Can't wait already leh!! :p

etnt

I think BBNN meant the pipes at the top of the wall. Probably can check with citigas's or give them a call, but why not leave them there? At least keep the option of using gas heater in the future open.

rvc15x

Hi BBNN,

Yes, if wat u r refering to is wat etnt mentioned.
The pipe on top of the wall.
That one need to get citigas to do that.
The cost I cant remember fully but was charged in the utilities bill.
Need to go back and check my bill.

bbnn

Hi all, thanks for the info.
My ID told me Citigas will charge me $40 billed to my PUB bill.
Not sure if what he said is true so just thot of asking neighbours here if anyone shorten the gas pipe before and whether it is chargable.

Now i know, nothing is free. :cool:

Think I will leave it there just in case.

Thanks to snowman, etnt and Daisy.
Appreciate your info.

eugvel

hi daisy,

thanks for ur advise & we will go take alook @ e 32" samsung LCD tv later cos there is a promo (minus $400 w trade-in, spoilt one also can..)gg on now..
u r rite, realli too much "good advice" from sale pple & fres got us veri confuse @ which model to get..just go w ur heart, u wont be wrong, rite?? =)

tarepiggy

So exciting to hear that more of u hv met up! So far, i've only seen Mosiac_fish, Daisy, Pauline, Tweetie & Elaine, hope to mit up wif more soon =D

Green_Apple, how old r ur boys? They must be very cute! I teach in a boys' sch, boys r simply so full of energy ... but i like them cos they r very spontaneous & more forgiving too ... u can scold them tis moment, the next moment they seem to forget the whole saga & come snuggling up to u wif their never-ending stories ... hee

I jus came back from mtg my contractor, finally settled the list of reno items ... think my reno will start soon early next month! Sorry to ask again, think some of u hv discussed the haulage issue b4 ... is there a fixed charge for haulage? my contractor is charging me $600 for my 4-rm whole hse homo tiles. tks!

bbnn

Hi Mudpie, the figure is ok.
Mine was 5 rm and I do whole house homo tile.
I was charged $800.

Your ID will most probably collect $ from u and pay the haulage contracter.
The contracter will issue a receipt to your ID.
Just make sure u get the original receipt issued by the hualage contractor from your ID.

Hope that helps.

rvc15x

Went to new house last nite 2 meet up with my ID, 4 e final phase of discussion 4 touch up, b4 hand over.
Was doing QC all over the new house and scrutinising every single spot for defects, really consume eye power. lucky not much issue

Hi Piper,
Saw ur dismantled vanity top along e corridor.

Btw anybody still need it? Cant remember who? cos I got bad memory.

rvc15x

Hi BBNN,

don mention it.
Yeah u can say it again basically there's No free lunch! when it comes to things that needs to be done by contractors.

piper

hi snowman,

think daisy was the one who wanted it...but in the end, she says she dun need it anymore. Guess the corridor is in a huge mess now rite?

this friday, the air con guy will be going down to my unit to fix the trunking...so keep ur windows shut if u dun wan ur new house to collect dust.

Think I'll be at the flat on sat to see the progress. will u be there as well?

rvc15x

Hi Piper,

Not really lah. Also got the debris from my flat also.

Sure! thanks 4 e info.

not certain if i would b free enuf 2 pop over or not, cos got errands to run over this weekend.

anyway, we'll hv lots of chance 2 meet since we're juz opp each other.

daisylove

Pauline,
hee hee.... can show u some of our photos and videos taken in Korea when we move in ke ke ke

etnt,
opps... I gave the wrong info to BBNN :p

BBNN,
sorry abt it, no need to thank me lah... I so pai seh... :p

VeL,
I think Audio house also has such a promotion for Samsung LCD TV, may be can go check it out. Also check out with those neighbourhood dealer stores like Hong Liang, Sweetson or Tong Seng (as Pauline has suggested) and compare the prices

Snowman & piper,
yah, I was the one who wanted it but think my ID got his man to polish mine and the stains are not so obvious now, so can avoid the hassle of changing liao. Thanks

etnt

trekker, I dun find them that cheap actually, more like an in-between major stores and HL, SS. Also, noticed that their models are pretty old during their sales, not sure of non-sale period.

daisylove

Trekker,
my_gal & I also get Yamaha HTS. Looking forward to playing it while watching action-pact movies ke ke ke
Get well soon, take care.

Jovie,
I will be there on both Sat & Sun most probably, ok, will sms u

Mudpie,
u coming this weekend?

trekkerb

Thanks etnt & Green apple for informing me. I got my Brother-in-law to take care of it. Pretty angry that this happens, hopefully the electricty bills will not be high. *Sigh*

Thanks for concern, getting better but still drowsy from the med. Need to prepare, furniture coming in this sat.

tarepiggy

Hi Daisy, most prob i wont be there tis wkend cos sat got wedding dinner, then sun gg to select tiles, then gg to Barang barang to order a lounge chair which i fancy, 26Sept is the last day of the promotions. How's ur reno coming along? completed soon? =D

daisylove

Hi Mudpie,
wow, u are full of activities this weekend!
I have some problem with the position of my hobs, may get ID to rectify, not sure yet but will decide tonight when we are at RVC. If need to shift position, will not only cost a lot but will delay the reno.... Haiz....

leybit

I'm new to this thread...
Can anyone advice me how is the installation of piping for gas heater as compared to instant electric heater?

mosaic_fish

I had been busy last wk, didn't have time to post any msg. I just got all my lights on sat from Spore Lighting Mart.. hehe.. I went to buy my storage heater also.. I bought the new model for Ariston heater. For those going to buy pls check if u are getting the newer model one, price is even cheaper by a few dollars then the old model.

etnt

leybit, for instant electric, you'd have to modify the connection for the current mixers and install the heater in the bathroom. For gas, it'll be installed in the kitchen and piping will be done by citigas, and your bathrooms will be left alone.

daisylove

Mosaic_fish,
u are fast! Oh yah, remember to be around when SG Lighting Mart delivers your lights and check that they deliver the right ones to you as they deliver the wrong ones to me and my friend, Cass.

etnt,
I'm rather interested in the racks in your household shelter. Could you email or sms me the company, person to contact and contact no., the no. of ft you did and the quotation given? Initially hubby says DIY but I find it too troublesome, then saw yours look very good! Thank you

mosaic_fish

Hi Snowman, I dunno wat is the model no. The lady tell me this is the only model and is the new one. The old model is not longer avail. The one I bought is the square one, 15ltr. This square one come in 15ltr and 30ltr only. There is another model which is a cylinder tank and start from 25ltr onwards.

Daisy, they delivered wrong ones to u. So did change for u or did they push the wrong ones to u? Did u have a lot of problems with them?

etnt

daisy, paiseh, forgotten about it. The company name is called vigoal (67412513). Mine was 195, will send your the dimensions tonite from the actual invoice.

daisylove

Mosaic_fish,
they sent the ceiling lights in my two common bedrooms wrongly when we weren't around and my ID received them in my house. He didn't know and fixed them up already but these two ceiling lights are the more expensive ones which initially we wanted. I called the company but they said if I don't mind, we can keep instead of exchanging for the right ones. Of course, we didn't mind hee hee :p However, for my friend, Cass' case, they delivered a cheaper dining lights for her and she demanded an exchange for the right one. It was done already. My ID said because SG Lighting Mart has very good business recently and that's why the mistakes occur, so do check your lights properly.

For those who haven't bought lights and intend to do so in the near future, do take pictures of the lights you have chosen. My friend took some time to realise that the lighting co has sent her the wrong one as she couldn't remember the design she chose but she had a feeling that it was wrong. Luckily her receipt indicated the model no. and so she could change for the right one

mosaic_fish

Hi Daisy, thanks for telling me wat happen.. hehee.. so nice to get the ceiling lights tat u actually wan at cheaper prices.. I will take note and make sure I am there when collection.

rvc15x

Hi Piper,

Was in a rush on last saturday, so did not managed to let you see my house. Pai seh, pai seh.
Although I was there on sunday but was only for a short while. :p

Mayb, we shall meet again.

Btw saw ur aircon trunkin is done I believed but noticed that the compressor is not installed yet.
You doing it on a separate day?