Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

g_apple

Hi piper

I hv not recevied your PM.... I email you on Sat nite pls chk if you received it. Think something wrong with Hotmail.

pauline12sg

Hi my_gal, thanks for ur list! I realised tat I've not give u my unit no. Opps!! :p

Hi my_gal, daisy, mosaic_fish, piper, BBNN & etnt, I have emailed all of u my unit no!

pauline12sg

Daisy, my_gal & etnt,

Nice to meet u on Sat! Heehee... Actually I was suppose to work in the morning, but I took urgent leave that day! Haha... Can't wait to view my hse at that moment! Hmm... Afterall, it's worthwhile! Cos I got to meet u guys!

daisylove

yah all lighting shops sales person said different things. Think business in that Balestier Road area is very competitive, so many shops selling lights. In the end, I purchase from the shop my ID recommended i.e. Singapore Lighting Mart. The price may be slightly more expensive but still reasonable. I find the sales person honest in his dealing and there are quite a variety of lightings to choose from. Hopefully everything goes on well when the lights are delivered

Hi Pauline, etnt & My_gal,
it's really a pleasure meeting you guys. My hubby is surprised that we know each other from the forum. Ha ha... we must really have a potluck session after all of us move in

My_gal & Pauline,
thank you for the list. I will check my email later

Mosaic_fish,
have u called Kelvin recommended by etnt regarding the curtain or roller blinds quotation? I find him an honest guy
Who did u talk to at Hong Ming? That time I spoke to Heng.

Piper,
if you are very particular about the quality of general lights (I assume you meant the ceiling lights), do ask properly. I heard that there are different types of bulbs and covers. Some covers may turn yellow or discolour over time and some bulbs are the energy saving types, some not and not bright enough. Usually for ceiling lights for bedrooms, the better quality ones are above $50, so I think the $50 that ur ID gave u is just an estimate as light in the bomb shelter can cost lesser than that if you choose the lower quality type (can actually get at $20+). Do do your homework before u purchase, when the sales person knows u do ur homework, he dare not anyhow quote, usually will try to give u good discount to clinch your deal

elaine77

Hi my-gal,

I have PM you my details..to update the list.. can you email the list to me too.. thanks!

daisylove, i have been to hong ming curtains for quotation, i find that their price is abit to the high-side, thier material is quite good but price abit high, the lady that serve us is quite impatient, we went to look for kelvin but he is not around.

etnt

elaine77, you mean you went down to the queensway shop to look for kevin? Juz give him a call on his mobile, it's easier to reach him that way.

brambles

hi mosaic fish, sorry din check the forum for the past few days.

hey pauline, din know u gals met up on Sat... i was there too

my gal, i sent u a pm last wk too. did u receive it?

etnt

brambles, guess the meetup was an impromptu thing.

We were there pretty early at 11, but din see anybody ard so went over to the mall and shop. On coming back, met daisy at the lift lobby, then from then on went to daisy's unit, then to pauline's where we met my_gal, then went over to my_gal's, then back to our unit, and finally to daisy's unit.

Interesting to see each other's layout and ideas.

brambles

hi etnt, i see

how were all ur aircon layouts? mine looks quite terrible actually. hehe... gotta ask my contractor to 'hide' it. did u all face the same problem?

etnt

i find it ok actually. but wifey and id finds it ugly, esp the hall piping. so will do some additional work to hide it lor.

brambles

yah... i find it v yucky too but my hubby thinks it's acceptable. perhaps i'm too used to the 'flawless' looking walls. hence then all the trunkings go up, it just seems so out of place

i'll get my contractor to hide it, so am asking around to see how other ids are doing it

btw, can we exchange numbers? perhaps can pm me?

etnt

brambles, you are not accepting pm.

Anyway our id gonna construct a false beam to hide the pipes in the hall.

daisylove

Hi Piper,

Green Apple asked me to post this address of Lite House for you as she's not in office now:

625 Balestier Rd - Albert Tel : 6258 6062

If you have any query, u can contact her. I'll sms u her hp later

trekkerb

I went on Sat, didn't see anyone around execpt Mosaic fish. Hope to see u guys/gals next week.

My_gal, sent u a PM, hope u can send me the list as well. Thanks.

brambles

etnt... i've just enabled my pm (i think)

okie. false beam... mine dun hv aircon in living room, oni the 3 rms. and till now, i still find it v unsightly. my contractor proposing to hide it by putting board over it. i can only imagine how it's gonna look till it's done... so am worried how it will eventually turn out. has anyone else done the same to conceal the trunkings?

my gal... will be sending u email

daisylove

elaine77,
actually the one that etnt recommended is cheaper than Hong Ming, so most probably I myself will contact Kevin to do mine too. It'll be better if u contact him via hp as he may not be at the shop all the time. I'm not sure abt the quality but he seems honest in his recommendation of roller blinds and does explain clearly too. Do u have his hp no? If not, I can send to u

Brambles,
I also haven't met up with u, as well as Tweetie & elaine77. Hopefully, we can meet soon
Most of my air con trunking will be hidden. However the drainage pipe in my master toilet is the one that bothers me a lot. Think my ID will build a cabinet beneath my vanity top to make it less obvious :p

daisylove

Brambles,
may be not all trunking can be concealed. For those that cannot be hidden, u can ask ur ID to paint it the same colour as ur wall, then it wouldn't be so obvious

etnt

daisy, kevin actually brought down the roller blind samples and materials for the blinds and curtains to let us choose when he was taking the actual measurements.

But since you dun need the measurements taking, you should be able to opt to choose the materials at his shops which should have a wider selection.

pauline12sg

Hi Brambles,

I didn't conceal my trunkings, just leave it like that, hee... :p
What time were u there on Sat? I reached my place at 10.45am. Thought of sms u when I was there but remember u posted in e forum tat u would be there in e afternoon.

Hi Elaine,

Hong Ming has a few branches in Singapore. I went to AMK branch last Fri evening with Mosaic_fish. The man who quoted us is Mr Hong.

etnt

brambles, pm-ed you.

Actually the trunkings may be more unsightly now as the house is empty and the color is different.

When it's painted to room color and you have more furnitures in, it might not be so glaring. Of cos, mileage varies.

pauline12sg

my_gal, I remember where I saw u already! In our carpark!! Hee...

Daisy, have u decided which oven to buy already? We must make full use of our oven then since we are going to have potluck session! Kekeke...

daisylove

etnt,
yah, I also thought of going down to his shop when I'm ready to have the roller blinds made unless I'm too lazy then :p

Pauline,
so was it Mr Hong Ming himself who attended to you and Mosaic_fish? Hee hee, the one who attended to me and hubby was Heng
I'm thinking of getting a microwave cum baking oven. There is such oven nowadays is it? I thought of getting the Sharps one. I know this type of oven may not function as well but think of getting a simple one to get started first :p

pauline12sg

Daisy, yes it was him who quoted us. It is over my budget even after the discounts. Going to ask for more quotations at a later stage.

From what I know, there is this type of oven in the market. Should be able to find a few models of such oven.

orith

Hello all
Haven't have chance to meet any one of you yet. Hee..can't wait to meet up

Anyway, we went to Sungei Kadut last Sat to choose marble top (Star Furniture). After that, we went to the nearby stores. Manage to get good deals for book cabinets, wardrobe (for guest room), side tables. The book cabinet is a good catch, besides the price is really attractive, the quality is good too. The sales manager todl us they are 1 of the 5 importers in Singapore. So maybe that explains the price is cheaper than bought at other places (we think).

Anyone going down tonight, say around 7.30PM?

brambles

hi daisy, pauline and etnt... thanks. just that it's quite 'traumatic' (hehe) to see the trunkings running all over the place. we actually have 2 trunkings, 1 for gas... so it's double the unsight-liness. haha...

almost contemplated taking half day leave and go down wif my contractor to discuss how best to hide it. hehe... ok lah. maybe it's not that bad after the painting works. they're doing the painting now. hope it will look less obvious after that

orith

Brambles...don't worry too much. The initial stage of the renovation is like that, very unsightly. Just like initially when the floor tiles were just laid, i feel so disapointed coz the gap were so wide. But after they filled in the gap,it's not so obvious.

trekkerb

Brambles,

I did a "box-up" to hide the trunking. I wont see any trunking running around. It depends how the trunkings are run.

I'm now running out of ideas on how to hide those ugly gas pipes for my gas heaters. 2 ugly copper pipes popping out..... ewwwww.....

brambles

trekker, which blk r u at? may i pop by to see how ur box-up is done? my contractor suggested the same too. juz that... can't visualise, feel v handicapped. hahaha! can email me?

gas heaters? the one for the toilets? urs is 2 indiv ones or 1 big big one?

hey pauline, forgot to reply to ur earlier post. i was there on sat as early as bout 10am. thot since din receive ur sms, din msg u too cuz u said u mite not be there mah. nvm, this wkend then

etnt

brambles, gas heater is about the size of an electric heater, located in your kitchen, installed by citigas.

You can refer to earlier post on this thread, I've posted a pic on it.

brambles

oic... etnt, i recall seeing that. actually, if it's installed in a more 'secluded' area in the kitchen, it's not that bad. like my friend (also staying in sengkang) had that in her kitchen too but it was in one corner, so it's really hardly noticeable unless u walk to that corner

mine is two indiv heaters in the toilet itself. yet to install. hope won't be unsightly too...

etnt

It depends on where the piping is and there really isn't much of a choice since citygas dictates the installation.

daisylove

etnt,
that seems to be a good one. I saw Sharp R888F but not sure whether it can be used for baking. Did u compare the price with Hong Liang or Sweetson?

Pauline,
yah, it's good to do more comparison. I'll have to source for the right oven to get started hee hee

Orith,
my ID also suggested Star Furniture at Sungei Kadut but I didn't go. Managed to find a table I like in the East. Did u see any glass table top with metal legs? Think Snowman was looking for such table

Brambles,
I remember the trunking man box up the pipes. If you are around this weekend, may be we can show u ours but we don't have ur contact yet. Have u updated My_gal? We can call u when we are there then

Trekker,
you mean we can cover up the gas heater?

mosaic_fish

Hi everyone, I am having fever and sore throat today. I was slping the whole day.. hehee..

Hi Trekker, nice meeting you and your wife. Thanks for showing us your hse... saw tat u got special design false ceiling and lights...would like to see the final finish soon..

mosaic_fish

So nice tat some of u meet up and visited each other hse. Hope can meet u all this coming sat.

Daisy, yup the guy tat quote Pauline and me is Joseph Hong.. he recommended us to take up a roller blind from korea. I ask him the brand name.. He said this one no brand name.. just call roller blind and I request to see the mechanism.. he dun have a sample in his shop for this korea brand. I tink Hong Ming is good if we do curtains with them.. but for roller blinds I dun really trust wat he said..

I haven't tok to kevin yet. Now HDB just completed my cement screeding.. Got to settle other design and stuffs with my contractor first so tat he can continue..

etnt

mosaic_fish, agree that it sounds fishy (no pun intended), the few shops that I've been to all had their blinds on display.

brambles

trekker, i shld most likely be there this sat too. hope to see u. have emailed my contacts to my_gal, not sure if she's received it?

daisy, thanks! would love to pop by to have a look. can't wait... hehe

btw, who here will be shifting in immediately after reno is completed?

eugvel

hi daisy,

i've actually got my id contractor to do up a cabinet to hide e whole heater & e ugly copper pipings w some opening at e top for e heater to breath..haha..now u see it, now u dont..
we cant decide on e position of e heater cos hdb ve oredi decided for us when they installed e pts o/s e toilet, so there is nothing much citygas can do also.
if u wan, i will take a snap shot of e cabinet to show when i make a trip down..