Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

mosaic_fish

Hi Pauline, thanks for checking against your quotation.
I am meeting the 2nd one tmr.. his initial quotation is reasonable. I will need to see his workmanship then decide.

pauline12sg

Hi Mosaic_fish & Daisy,

A pity that we are not able to meet yesterday. I managed to meet Mudpie. Hee... she told me she met the 2 of u already.
I went to our estate after shopping for lightings at Balestier Rd. If I had reached earlier, should be able to see u. Haiz... Hopefully we are able to meet next Sat.

Hi Mudpie,

It's really nice to know you!
My flooring should be ready by next Sat, u are welcome to come down to take a look again!
If u want my uncle's contacts, u can either email or sms me. Even though he has given me a very "special pricing", his quotation for other customers should be reasonable too.

pauline12sg

I've bought Ariston 30 ltr storage heater! Heard that it is highly recommended at most of the shops here.
For those who have intended to take up gas water heater, I've an advice for u, I have heard many complaints abt it, and most of them who have installed e gas water heater have eventually changed it to storage heater.

mosaic_fish

Hi Pauline, yup I manage to meet Mudpie very last min. heehee... Hope to meet u next wk.

Glad tat u use a storage heater.. as there are some disadv to use gas heater. I am planning to have one too.

daisylove

Hi Pauline,
yes, you'll need to pay for the debris removal and sand fees to your contractor but ask for the receipt so that you are not overcharged. The $200++ is for debris removal paid to Town Council. The remaining few hundred dollars is for purchasing of sand which will be handled by your contractor. Total is about $800.
Yah, didn't manage to see you, I saw Mudpie & Mosaic_fish. Saw Mudpie when I went back again after lunch to pass my padlock key to the service centre ke ke ke
Hope to see u next week!

daisylove

Hi Mosaic_fish,
glad that you have settled your kitchen design. So would you consider this 2nd ID?

Yah, regarding the sand charge and debris removal fee, u can refer to my post to Pauline above, total is around $800

daisylove

Mudpie,
nice knowing you! Hey, u have a nice view from your living room. Don't be too worried about your living room size, both my hubby and I find that it's very cozy

daisylove

Hello everyone,

I went back to check the cement screeding last Sat and was shocked to see that there is at least a little hump in every room including the living room. It's not very levelled. Was rather upset and called up the HDB contractor and he asked the workers to re-level the cement screeding in my house. I saw fingerprints and cement everywhere and the HDB contractor also asked the workers to clean up all my doors which are smudged with cement. It was really in bad shape compared to when I first saw my house when I got the keys. When I re-checked the status after lunch, was very glad that the cement screeding was nicely done. Imagine if I didn't call back the HDB contractor, I would have a lot of problem when the wood laminate is laid. Remember to check your cement screeding too

etnt

Talk about living room, the windows are in rather close proximity between units.

I was able to glance into quite abit of mosaic_fish's hall... guess curtains/blinds are definitely a must.

mosaic_fish

Hi Daisy, I had confirmed with my 2nd ID on sun.. finally settled already.. hehe..

There is a notice at the lift stating the Haulage contractor no. I called him yesterday to check the price.. he say for 5rm, if only doing living, dining and kitchen will be ard $600. If whole hse will be $800.

Do anyone here need to hack kitchen wall? I am planning to hack my kitchen wall and heard tat may need PE.. Do anyone noe if this is true?

daisylove

Etnt,
my unit which is facing the LRT may get afternoon sun, so will need the roller blinds too

Pauline,
I haven't chosen my laminate flooring yet but have asked the ID what he would suggest. I told him I prefer something not too dark and he suggested 8 mm Honey Maple. As for the entrance foyer, we will be using 12 mm timber strip, walnut colour (this will be quite dark in colour in case we wear our shoes in). I think I will stick to his suggestion. What about you, have u decided which colour to choose? I'll be doing wood laminate for the whole house except for kitchen and bomb shelter

piper

hi mosaic_fish,

i'll be bringing down 2 kitchen walls. But not too sure if we need a PE for that. Will only know after we submit the drawings to HDB for approval.

daisylove

Mosaic_fish,
that's really good, think u can start reno in time
By the way, I think my sand fee will be very little right since I only do tiles for kitchen and bomb shelter?
I won't be hacking any wall. What is PE? Is it permit? Yes, u will need to apply for permit to do hacking, this can be done by your ID. I think he will know where to apply. Personally, I'm not sure whether it is to apply from HDB office or the Town Council.

daisylove

Pauline,
in that case, ur sand fee will not be that expensive too right? How much have u paid for the sand? Actually I like walnut but scared it may not be suitable for the living room as we may get walnut dining table, therefore, thinking of using a lighter colour wood laminate so that there's a contrast

mosaic_fish

Hi Daisy, if the wall tat need to be hack have metal enforcement bars in between.. then need to engage a HDB Engineer(PE) to supervise the hacking and endorse after the hacking is done. To engage him to come down will need to pay another $400-500++ besides the hacking fee. Since there is metal bars .. your ID may also raise the hacking fee bcos it is more difficult to do this job.

daisylove

Pauline,
I notice that the colour 'Honey Maple' is not listed in the Supreme website. That's strange as my ID said it's under Supreme too
300180.gif

pauline12sg

Daisy,

My contractor didn't ask me to pay for the sand. Maybe he will ask me to pay after the flooring are all done up.

Mosaic_fish,

Wow... Didn't know that there are so much cost incurred for hacking of wall. Is it a must for u to hack down the wall?

g_apple

Hi hi

I am from 152 too.
Mosaic_Fish. I am yr neighbour dn stairs. went up to yr fl on Sat late morning and saw u and 2 other guy (shd be yr bf and contractor). Din managed to say hello cos I saw u busy and my family are waiting in the car for me.

Piper, yr ID can sumbit to HDB for approval of hacking the wall. HDB will then advise whtr need PE or not. PE price is abt $500 - $600! Too expensive. I wanted to hack my wall but too expensive. So jus leave with it.

Neighbour in 152, I can't post msg in office. So I would like to get in touch with your gals thru SMS or email. Pls PM me yr contacts.

daisylove

Mosaic_fish,
I thought we cannot hack those walls with metal enforcement? So if really need to hack, no wonder it's so expensive to get these experts down. Are you hacking the kitchen wall to expand the entrance? From the house layout, I don't think this wall has metal enforcement....

pauline12sg

Daisy,

There are many ranges for Supreme laminate. Initially, my contractor showed me the samples that are not under the color list that is shown in e website. After that, he mangaged to offer me a better grade & showed me those samples which are the same as the ones in e website. But I don't know that falls under which wan leh... 8mm or 12mm

daisylove

Hi Green Apple,
300184.gif
glad to know another neighbour from Blk 152, I'm at 11th floor, ur downstairs but opp side as mine is facing LRT instead

I will pm u my contacts later

daisylove

Pauline,
u mean better grade as in it is hard core wood is it? Hmm... I know 8 mm is hard core wood but may have hollow sound and 12 mm is thicker but it's using soft core wood. Hence, my ID proposes the same as what Raymond from Supreme proposed, use the 8 mm wood but put in extra layer of insulation (rubber) to reduce the hollow sound
I only use the 12 mm timber strips laminate for my entrance foyer, these will have groove lines which actually look like natural wood

mosaic_fish

Hi Green_Apple, are u the lady wearing red?? My hubby tell me got a lady standing outside and ask me am I meeting any frien from the forum on sat... I tell him no.. and i went outside to see.. not very sure who u are so dun dare to approach u...hehe... izzit u??

Which wall u wan to hack and need PE? izzit kitchen entrance wall?? I dun feel like paying so much to hack a wall leh.. haiz..

Daisy.. yes.. wan to hack the wall at the kitchen entrance.. the haulage contractor was tell me he do provide hacking service.. he tell me tat wall may have metal bars.. tat make me worry..

piper

hi green apple,

i'll leave it to my ID to do the paper works. But according to him, we may not need a PE coz he dun think our blk is tall enough to need steel enforcement.

My husband knows a few PEs...so we may just get his friend to help us oversee the hacking if need be.

mosaic_fish

Hi Daisy and Pauline, I remember tat time when i tok to the Supreme salesperson, he tell me some contractors tat offer their brand to customers and may show us other laminates and claim tat is Supreme.. if u choose other colour not in the colour list in Supreme website.. I feel is better to call Supreme directly to check if tat colour is from their range. He also mention their strong water-resistant laminate only come in 8mm thickness

daisylove

Mosaic_fish,
from what I know, don't think that wall has metal bars leh... Did u receive my email of my first quotation to you? My ID quotes $180 for hacking half the kitchen wall but now I'm not planning to hack since the feng shui master said it's cai(2) wei(4) there
I think hacking of full wall costs up to $400, may be u should ask ur 2nd ID to quote u, then u do the comparison

pauline12sg

I just called Supreme. The color list in their website is actually 8mm tropical hardwood. 12mm is the latest products which is not shown in their website. So mine is actually 8mm wan.

g_apple

I had noticed that some of my lighting switchs are too tight to switch on /off and some of the power points / lighting switch are not fix properly to the wall.

Anyone tried the magnet door stopper... seem weak leh!!
And I found some red dust on the bottom of my bedroom doors... could it be something wrong with the doors?

piper

hi etnt,

we intend to air-condition the entire house. We will cook also...but i think quite seldom....we'll just get a more powerful hood & no deep frying etc.

pauline12sg

Mosaic_fish,

Have u call up to check on ur cement screeding date? Hehe... Think it will be ur turn soon!
Takes 5 days for it to dry b4 laying of laminate wood can be done.

Daisy,

Have u call Supreme to check? Make sure it is the 8mm wood as what ur contractor has promised.

mosaic_fish

Daisy and Pauline, u are welcome

Hi Etnt, up to 16flr, BBNN stay in the 16flr. hehe wah.. really every flr leh..

I am planning to hack the kitchen wall and have 2 panels of sliding wooden glass doors.. My living rm has no aircon... only install in my 3 bedrooms.

Green_Apple, if is too tight, u can report as defects and they will change the switch for u. There is 2 of the electrical points in my kitchen.. the casing is loose.. and they change the whole thing for me.

mosaic_fish

I called Mr Woon, he say he schedule mine this thurs or fri.. I get the contractor no from him and ask my ID to arrange with him liao.. Thanks Pauline.

U can check the extraction capacity.. the higher it is.. the more powerful. U can check mayer website to see.. from 650 to 1000m3

etnt

Guess I'm on the conventional school of thought. Rather than hacking, install a wooden bi-fold door to close the kitchen up.

For that matter, not even getting a hood, dun find it effective at all.