Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

trekkerb

Mosaic,

Is yours a 4rm or 5rm? Mine is a 5 rm. I took $2.80 for my living (600x600)& $2.50 for my kitchen & foyer. Leaving the bomb shelter bare (good enough, no one going to see
) Total Price is about 5k+ (haulage inclusive)

The workmanship price for different size/type of tiles will changed accordingly as well (eg, laying 600x600 is cheaper compared to 800x800)

You signed the contract already?? If yes, what was the initial quotation for the tiles??

mosaic_fish

Pauline, the prev posts BBNN calculated for me..the area.. must refer back to tat post.. i forget liao..

Trekker, mine is 5 rm too. We haven't sign the contract yet. I agreed with wat u said. We planning to have 600x600 and we didn't discuss the type of tiles yet... The initial quotation is $5k+ but now my contractor increase to $6k+ after he do a detail calculation. May I ask your 5k+ is nearer to $5k or $6k??

tweetie

Hi Mosaic_Fish,

I will be at my place tomorrow ard noon time...moving in on sun.

Mine is a 4-room, chose the S$3.40 psf range and parquet for the 3 bedrooms. Cost is ard S$5k also. Exp hor....

What is your total renovation costs like?

Tweetie

trekkerb

Mosaic,

It's close to $5.5k.

Which ID did you go to? The jump of 1k is pretty significant esp if we are on a tight budget.

At least you have not signed on the dotted line, so u still have the bargaining power.

IMHO, $2.50 psf tiles may not get u the ones that u like. So far, I have been to quite a number of tiles shop, $2.80 may be a more respectable range. (Most of them are this price)

bbnn

Hi, regarding calculating floor area, after briefing speaking with quite a few ID, they said they dun quote based on actual floor area.

I dunno how they actually arrive at the quote as I didn't engage in a indepth discussion with them.

Just bare in mind that we can use this method to ask ID who give a higher quote on flooring works to justify the amount they quote you.

Tell them, based on your own calculation on floor area, we have xxx sqf.
Based on $x.xx psf for floor tiles, we multiply $x.xx psf by our calculated xxx sqf and we should arrived at the cost for material alone.
Assuming wastage and odd corners of the flat where extra tiles is needed, multiply that by another 30-40%.
Assume skirting tiles and grout cost $500.
Add those figures and we should roughly have the total cost for material needed.

Subtract your flooring quotation with the material cost, that figure should be the labour cost + profit margin for ID.

I must stress that this info may not be an acurate method whereby ID based their quotes on, but based on logical assumption, this should be one of the ways we can use to calculate material, labour & profit margin for ID.

Feel free to use above info to "tekan" your ID or force them to bring cost down. LOL.
Just joking!!

Hope that helps and happy ID selection.

P.S. Here is the link to my post on calculating floor area.
http://www.singaporebrides.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=409&post=1261084#POST1261084
http://www.singaporebrides.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=409&post=1261859#POST1261859

mosaic_fish

Hi Tweetie, yours got parquet tink is quite ok at $5k..moreover your tile is at $3.40. Mine is only living, dining, kitchen and bomb shelter and is already $6k+.. all my bedroom is laminate and is not included in tat $6k. exp rite?

Trekker, mine is a contractor.. not really a ID.. tat why we feel is exp. We did bargin but he still dun wan to change the pricing

mosaic_fish

Hi BBNN, thanks again for your explanation. We did try to tok to him... but he insist his calculation is correct.. and got a profit margin to meet.

etnt

3 IDs quoted me differently for tiling, all using 60x60 homo, ranging from 6k to 7.5k. Having subsequently been to see the works of the 3, the workmanship also differs accordingly to the price.

So eventually, close one eye, bear with the temporarily pain in the pocket, and hope for the best.

Suggest that you source several IDs and see their works before deciding.

pauline12sg

Mosaic_fish,

U can try BBNN's method to do some calculation. Should be able to get a good answer.

Tweetie,

How I wish I can view ur hse too! Can I drop by ur place next Sat?

pauline12sg

Tiles (600 x 600mm) at $2.80 psf will be good. But remember, as the tiles are bigger in size, e workmanship plays an important role. If e workmanship is not good, there will be 1 end high, 1 end low aft laying of all tiles. It requires extra good workmanship for bigger size tiles.

etnt

daisy, maybe next week bah.

tomorrow looks like a busy day with dong tu ritual, verifying defects, meeting ID to settle paperwork, meeting aircon guy to discuss trunking, and hopefully meeting downstairs neighbour.

mosaic_fish

Pauline.. you are right.. few mths back we went to a few tile shops to get some knowledge on floor tiles...there is a staff at one of the tile shop advise me to get 600x600.. bcos 800x800 warp easily unless get really good skilled master to do..

pauline12sg

Mosaic_fish,

Why don't u buy the tiles urself? Then u can just ask ur contractor to do the laying for u. But of course, this requires more work from ur part, as u need to shop ard for tiles.

mosaic_fish

Pauline, I calculated b4 using BBNN's method.. bigger part of the cost is not from the tiles.. so even i buy on my own will not save much and is troublesome to coordinate and also bcos contractor buy tiles from the tile shop can return the tile tat is not used after the job is done..

Etnt.. then is quite reasonable bcos your flooring cost cover the 3 bedrooms too.. except kitchen and bomb shelter. The area cover by 3 bedrooms is much bigger than kitchen and bomb shelter.

trekkerb

Mosaic,

If you are mean enough, withdraw nego with the contractor, tell him that you are looking @ other IDs. That might draw him into a frenzy & do a price reduction.

If not, We have enough IDs around here to recommend, I'm sure there's bound to have some IDs on our end that will meet ur expectations.

=P

daisylove

Dear Mosaic_fish,
I think he overquotes u a bit. My 2nd quotation is at home, haven't typed out and now waiting for the 3rd quotation. I have in my pc my first quotation, I send u an email later. Based on the first quotation, my ID planned to do homogeneous 600x600 tiles for my most part of my living room (except for entrance foyer), dining area and bomb shelter and quotation for these is $2890. At most plus kitchen also about $4K+. My ID said that time he proposed China homogeneous tiles, then it's either the $2.50 psf or $2.90 psf type. But I have now decided to do wood laminate for whole house except for kitchen and bomb shelter. Don't worry, Mosaic_fish, have another discussion with him. If he refuses to explain in more details why it's so expensive, choose another ID who can give u a better quotation and whom u feel comfortable with. Check your email later

Trekker,
thank you!

etnt,
it's alright, another time then

daisylove

Mosaic_fish,
just to add, u need to prepare around $600 to $800 for sand and removal of debris charge separately from your tiles. May be find out is it because ur ID adds in this charge to your quotation. If yes, he may jerk up the price as I called the HDB before, they say usually if ID puts this charge into quotation, they will increase the price which is not supposed to be so as the Town Council doing the removal of debris and the contractor company which supplies the sand will issue receipt. If ur ID puts this into ur quotation, ask him to take it out and ask him to produce u the receipt and u pay the exact amount

brambles

but take care that if the ID/contractor reduces his quote by a lot, he may secretly resort to using inferior materials. just be careful. just make sure that you have seen and are satisfied with their workmanship b4 u sign the contract.

alternatively, u can ask ur ID/contractor to throw in some FOC stuff for u. like maybe the kitchen sink+tap or the hob & hood?

etnt

Agree with trekker, if not happy with the current contractor then juz change ID lor, since nothing signed yet

You are not spending a small sum here, so at least be comfortable with the ID you are signing with.

etnt

daisy, so far the IDs I've asked all excluded the haulage from the quotation as they say it varies, so it's best to leave it outside and just pay according to the issued receipt. hmm, or maybe I've been lucky

mosaic_fish

Trekker and Daisy.. thank you.. I meeting the 2nd contractor tat I had shortlisted tmr... might be getting him instead. but must see his workmanship tmr then can decide. Hope can solve tis soon and start work b4 Chinese 7th mth.. haiz..

etnt

mosaic_fish, or juz do that dong tu ritual tomorrow first lor. Then you can take your time to find the contractor that you like.

mosaic_fish

I will like to ask does anyone here has engaged a different ID or contractor to do the kitchen cabinets only? care to share the experience? so far any problem encountered?

daisylove

etnt,
yah, mine also does that. In fact, they are actually not allowed to put into the quotation if I'm not wrong

Mosaic_fish,
I've sent you liao

pauline12sg

Daisy,

Does it mean that I'll have to pay for those bags of sand which my contractor bought? If this is e case, think I'll receive e receipt from my contractor tomo, he has bought the sand and cement already. Haiz... have to pay some more $$ again. Already prepared a cheque of 20% of my renov amt for him.

etnt

pauline, I think it includes the sand and debris removal during the whole reno period. There should be notices pasted at the lift lobby about the contractor who is engaged.

From what I understand, the ID/contractor will pay them first, then get the receipt and claim from you.

trekkerb

The haulage fees is 800 (inclusive of clearing debris). That's what I'm told. It's not in my contract as I'm paying it directly. Yet to pay but shd be that cost.

Pauline, is the haulage stated in ur contract? It's one of the hidden charges that ID firms like to charge. Make sure it's in the contract should ID said it's included.

Mosaic, At the end of the day, cost factor is one issue but you must be comfortable with the ID. If you dun connect with him/her, issues will arise during the course of renovation.

If u really need help on ID, I can recommend one to you.

pauline12sg

Thanks etnt!

Mosaic_fish,

My quotation didn't mention haulage charges. My contractor passed me a print-out copy of renov permit which he applied through internet last week, it stated that I need to pay $200+++ (can't rem e actual amt) to Town Council. Duno isit e sand and debris removal fees.

pauline12sg

Don't think the haulage fees is included in my quotation. I got a very good price actually. (Contractor is my uncle)

Think I've to prepare to pay $800 to HDB/Town Council already.

trekkerb

Reno permit is free. It's stated in the renovation guide given by HDB.

The total amt is $800. (The debris removal fees should be 200++, refer to the previous archive, think someone posted this b4)

etnt

mosaic_fish, the ID that I'm confirming with will be there tomorrow also. If you are interested, juz come up and meet her lor.

Not the cheapest, but the one my wife and I feel most comfortable with.

pauline12sg

Trekker,

I see... then I know already, the $200++ stated in the renov permit is actally the debris removal fees, on top of that i still need to pay for e other fees.

mosaic_fish

yup.. price is not the main factor.. need to feel comfortable with the contractor too. Actually I am not looking for the cheapest .. but the reasonable price, no inferior material and good workmanship. hehee..

Etnt, thanks.. maybe can try to meet your contractor but dun let her noe I am looking for one.. I will try to ask some qns to see if i am comfortable with her first.

Pauline.. tink for 5 rm the contractor will quote $800.. for 4 rm is lesser and since your contractor show u receipt.. tink shd not be so much.

etnt

haha, let's list the timings for mosaic_fish so she can plan where and when to go.

my id will be there ard 12, you know my unit already

pauline12sg

I just checked my renovation permit acknowledgement, there is no charges on that. But we have to pay $263.55 to Town Council for haulage & debris fees.

mosaic_fish

Hi Brambles, 2 of the contractor quote me $200 HDB permit fee. But he tell me if HDB required then will charge me and show me the receipt from HDB. if not he will minus off.

mosaic_fish

Hi Trekker, I got your msg.. thanks.. After meeting my 2nd contractor tmr, if I decide not to take him too then I will contact the ID tat you recommend ok? Thanks again.

pauline12sg

Hi Mosaic_fish,

After looking through my quotation, ur contractor has really overquotes u by alot leh. Mine is a 4-rm unit, tiling for living, dining & household shelter is only abt $2.5k (Including skirting; tiles @ $2.80psf)

It doesn't make sense that a small kitchen area plus some extra area in ur living room (cos urs is 5-rm unit) can add up to $6k+

Hope u can solve the problems with ur contractor soon!