Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

pauline12sg

Thanks Etnt & Trekker for ur comments!

I went to Gain City 2 weeks ago, the salesman actually recommends Toshiba non-invertor sys3 to us, after knowing that we won't be using air-con too often & for long hours. I am scare of cold, whenever I sleep in air-con room, I'll wake up in e middle of e night to switch it off. Hee...
Even when I went to cold countries, I wore extra thick clothings! Kekeke...

trekkerb

Did Gain City promised to come down twice for installation? One day for the trunking, another day to install the fancoil when most of the reno are done up?

I heard that we have to pay additional if the length of the trunking exceeds the "standard package" & additional cost for turning up twice for installation.

I got one of my friend who is in the air-con business to install it for me.

mosaic_fish

Yah... I wan to buy non-inventer initially.. then the constant temp had make both my hubby and I change our minds... bcos i experience suddenly wake up in the middle of the nite due to temp drop..

Then Pauline for your case inventer will not be useful to u.. as u scare of cold... hehee can save $$

pauline12sg

Not sure if they are coming down twice for installation. Have to chk with Gain City again. Haven't decide to buy from them yet, want to ask quotation from other shops as well.

brambles

hi trekker, i got model classic 2B. i got the one that measures 800mm width at $210. if i rem correctly, there's another bigger one which measures 860mm width

i'll most likely be goin for normal aircon. after some research, have decided to get a normal aircon as we're not heavy users and the inverter cost much more than a normal one

trekkerb

If you gals want to buy air-con, you may want to consider my friend.

BUT the price may be slightly higher than Gain City but the materials used are of good materials & workmanship is not slip-slop.

trekkerb

Pauline,

It's a small company, so I dun think you have heard abt it b4. If u are concerned abt the warranty, the warranty comes from the air-con company.

Brambles, it's better to mount the fancoil after most of ur stuff are done up.

pauline12sg

Haha... Mosaic_fish, realised that u have a sense of humour! Hee...
I almost laugh out when I read this part : "and also prevent the renov workers to on your aircon and use"

Quite true, who knows... maybe e workers will switch on e air-con n rest in ur hse. Hee...

piper

Hi my dear friends,

I know we haven’t been talking much, maybe it’s because I am facing some problems.

I hope you can be patient with me and help me along the way okay...

Share a bit with you first k. I have become scared, worried, happy and crazy at the same time. I don’t even dare go out alone nowadays and I can’t sleep well. I am worried that people may rob and kidnap me. I want to tell you a secret. I have become a billionaire now because one peanut cost $600,000 and I have 2 tins at home. Please don’t tell anybody.....

Signed
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

brambles

i see... so everything installed except the fancoil? interesting... din know bout this.

anyway... do u all know how much does Gain City charge if we ask them to come down for 2nd installation?

oh... at which stage of the reno process do u all install ur aircon?

trekkerb

Brambles,

Sorry, when i mean fancoil, I mean the aircon unit.

Basically it's to safeguard the dust & stuff.... imagine wrapping up ur aircon to do painting, ceiling works & stuff. Of course also with the workers using ur aircon. lol

I was advised to do installation after the last coating of painting. (it means towards the very end)

piper

hi pauline..

tot it's nice to lighten up amidst all ur reno woes.

I still waiting for my ID to finish his drawings....Paiseh to rush him coz we told him we are not in hurry to move in. Can't wait to see the transformation from 2D plan to 3D perspective drawings.

pauline12sg

Trekker,

Ur contribution is a nice wan too!

Hi Piper,

Yes, all of us here should have a good laugh! Hee...
Have u seen e short clips posted by Mosaic_fish? That's e best!

Hey Mosaic_fish,

That's very wonderful! Hahaha... I really laugh until buay ta han. Haha... Must thank you u for sharing this with us!

tweetie

Hi Piper,

If yr hubby is scared of hot, you should be buying system 4, system 2 and 3 is not enough if you intend to have air con in 3 bedrooms and 1 living room. I heard Toshiba is good but high maintenance cost coz of the cost of the gas. Mitsubishi will be more cost savings.

Mosaic_Fish, maybe you can consider system 3. I installed system 4 coz my hubby also scared of heat but I find it abit wasteful though its only a couple of hundred dollars difference. But I noticed most of neighbours install system 3. Very few or actually none went for System 4. I m so curious...how come?

As for cement screeding, they take one day to do but gotta take at least 5 days to let it dry before laminate or parquet can be done.

Tweetie

piper

hi tweetie,

we are getting a system 3 for the bedrooms & a system 2 for the living room. So altogether there are 2 compressors for the 5 air con units.

We decided against a system 4 is becoz the compressor won't be able to cool down the house efficiently if there are 2 or more air-cons on at the same time.

etnt

Toshiba, Mits and LG use the new gas now for their new compressors. With the increased adoption, the price should gradually drop and be reasonable by the time you need to top-up.

Personally I cannot take heat. So going to install a ceiling fan at the hall (those 325rpm ones), and have a hall aircon unit as standby. Hopefully this will be sufficient.

daisylove

Mudpie & Brambles,
I also called Belinda yesterday, find that although she's stern, she is actually quite nice
May be the first time I called her, she was very busy....

Pauline,
I'm also afraid of the cold but my hubby likes to sleep in air con room, so I always wrap myself like a cocoon when I sleep

Brambles,
I have a contact for affordable mover company but do you mind as these are prisoners moving the items? My company engages their service before, their charge is low and you can tell the in charge how u want them to move. I've been personally with them, find that they are actually nice people

Mosaic_fish & Piper,
thanks for the peanuts story. Actually I was still unaware of this news :p Find the short clips funny

Mosaic_fish,
the cement screeding at my house is done, so I'm planning to go and check. Belinda also asked me to try to paste masking tape on the areas of defects by this week so that she can arrange the contractor to rectify after that. I think I will squeeze in time to do that tomorrow morning, will be there around 9 am as I need to go to aunt's house at 11 am

What about you, Pauline & Mudpie?

trekkerb

I'm going down tomorrow. My guys will finished up the ceiling & electrical point this weekend. My air-con trunking is going up today & tomorrow.

Tiling works shd start next monday. The detail drawings of the carpentary will also be confirmed tomorrow. So much to do, so little time.

pauline12sg

Heehee... My contractor just sms me, told me that the HDB workers are now at my house doing cement screeding. Gotta wait until next Tues for tiling and laminate works.

Daisy & Mosaic_fish,

Have your design problems solved?

mosaic_fish

Pauline... wah.. so fast.. then mine could be beginning of next wk liao..

My hubby and I have come out with a design for the kitchen.. but now is we have some issues with the contractor.. Haiz..

etnt

Juz got a call from HDB that the defects are done.

Will be there tomorrow to dong tu and verify the defects are fixed.

pauline12sg

Mosaic_fish,

Ya, think urs will be scheduled at early next week.
Heard that it is one man show, e contractor is in charge for e cement screeding for e whole of our estate.

So sorry to know that there are some issues with ur contractor. Hope ur problems can be solved soon! Cheer up!

brambles

daisy... hvn't called belinda yet. perhaps slightly later... hope i'll be able to catch her in a good mood. it's friday today!
you can email me the contacts of the mover... thanks!

etnt... congrats! can i just ask when did u submit ur defects list?

anyone has feedback re Sharp aircons?

etnt

submitted on 7th, with some additions on 11th. So it took about 2 weeks before they fixed everything (hopefully)

daisylove

Trekker,
what time u be at ur place tomorrow and at which level? Can I and my hubby come and see see? If you feel comfortable, then can email me your unit and time u would be there? My email add is [email protected]. Would like to see how your air con trunking is like
I have not decided which air con to buy but I'm thinking of one of these 3: Daikin, LG or Mitsubishi.

Pauline,
most of my designs solved except that I wanted my ID to build a cabinet in the kitchen for storing brooms and mops but he forgot to add in and he is cracking his head on designing to hide my master toilet door, so need to wait for the design again

etnt,
wanna meet up?

Mosaic_fish,
u mean ur ID not happy with what the feng shui master wants? Hey, u and ur hubby are so efficient! Can design ur own kitchen

trekkerb

Daisy,

U got mail.

Juz to let u know my place is still bare, noting on the floor, juz metal strips & wires running at the ceiling. Confirm with my friend that he's doing the trunking today.

mosaic_fish

Daisy, not bcos of the fengshui design.. not sure if u read my posts on the floor tiling.. He increase the floor tiling price and is really too exp.

trekkerb

Mosaic,

Did you choose an expensive tiles for ur living room? The prices will increased if u chose some expensive tiles, cos the ID will budget ur tiles @ a price (say $3 psf), if u go over, u have to top the difference.

What tiles are u going for (brand/type)& how much psf?

mosaic_fish

Hi Trekker, we are only getting homogenous tiles and we haven't choose the tiles yet.. the quotation is $6k+ in total for living, dining, bomb shelter and kitchen(inclusive of haulage fee). The price of the tile is at max $2.50. exp rite?

mosaic_fish

Daisy do u have your quotation with u? Could u add up all these areas and let me know roughly how much is yours? Your sq area is the same as mine. Thanks.

pauline12sg

Mosaic_fish,

Tiles are quoted at $2.50 psf, then e $6k+ actually includes e sand & haulage charges & workmanship. Should be quite alright... How big is ur area to be tiled?