Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

daisylove

Piper,
it's really nice to have a open concept. A pity that we can't as we need to leave the wall there. I think I will do without a door as I don't have the habit of opening and closing door of kitchen since mum & MIL's house do not have kitchen door

Mosaic,
I will do the sliding door outside the master toilet, so it will look like a big stretch
Really can't leave the wooden door there as it's too inconvenient to enter the shower area and the door almost touches the toilet bowl. Wonder how come HDB designers didn't think of that when they design our master toilet.

Vernon,
thank you. I went to my unit when there was a heavy rain before, seems alright

Mudpie,
hee... I was the one, glad that u asked for the doors and keys

Congrats on getting ur house keys! Hey, Sun I will be there but don't know what time yet. Do u want to email me ur hp no so that I can give u a msg when I know the time? My email is [email protected].

BB123,
to play safe, u may like to submit the defect list of the defects u have found on first check first. U can still submit another defect list if u see more
I'm doing it this way. After the first submission, I realise there are more defects after thorough checking, so I'm going to submit another one this weekend

mosaic_fish

Hi Mudpie, lucky u check your keys.. Sun I maybe coming down.. If I happen to be there during tat time, I go up to look for u.. hehehe..

pauline12sg

Mosaic_fish & Daisy,

Thanks for taking up some time to read the story.

Mudpie,

Heehee... If I'm there on Sunday, I'll take e lift up to say hello to u.
My real name is Pauline, same as the name i used here.

Piper,

I would love to have a open concept kitchen too,
but too bad, mine is not able to do it that way.

Hi Vernon,

Thanks for ur reminder!

etnt

no prob. I also went back to check after advice by ID. In the end found some seepages.

Already reported to HDB and took some pics as evidence as it might be hard to verify if it was fixed if suay suay next few weeks no rain.

mosaic_fish

BB123, I also didn't submit my defects list within a wk. I got my keys last wed. I am going to submit later. I took half day leave today and meeting one contractor also. U try to submit when u find a number of defects.. as they are quite slow also.

eugvel

anyone of u install e new Daikin system 3 invertor a/c??
wats e price range like..ve to use thicker insulation for the ducting due to condensation??
298432.gif

trekkerb

Actually, you can write in to request to "hand in the defect list" on a later date. I did that & submitted 3 weeks later.

They are still trying to remedy the defects. Waiting for them to complete before my ID starts the work.

tarepiggy

Hee ... Pauline, Mosaic_fish & Daisy.... hope to see u gals on Sun! Daisy, i just emailed u my hp no. ... dunno if u will check ur email in time to see it b4 u go to our estate tml?

pauline12sg

Hi Mudpie, Mosaic_fish & Daisy,

I went there yesterday already, so won't be going today. There is always a time for us to meet up.

I was surprised that my ceiling & electrical works are all nicely done up already! So fast...
Hee... Have to wait for HDB to come down to do cement screed for my bedrooms b4 my contractor can continue with the rest of renov works.

Have already chosen the tiles & laminate flooring yesterday.

orith

Hello Pauline

I do vanity top for master toilet. Erm...choose the black galaxy solid surface top with glass bowl. What abt ya?

orith

Hi Vel

I am doing Austscreen glass door for my kitchen, as well as sliding glass doors for both toilets.

How's your reno going? Btw, which level are u at?

mosaic_fish

Hi Mudpie, I didn't got your hp no.. I went up to your place ard 3.30pm.. but saw a padlock on your gate.. and guess u had left... But manage to meet Daisy.. Maybe see if we can meet again next weekend..

Daisy nice to know u... so nice to share with u my kitchen's headache.. hehehe...

Wow.. pauline.. so fast.. ceiling works all done already.. so u going to do floor tiles this wk?

mosaic_fish

Hi Orith, I haven't start yet.. now waiting for my kitchen design.. bcos i see fengshui and my kitchen design need to change totally.. I wan to start b4 7th month too.. Yours seem almost done already har? left capentry work? so envy so fast..

orith

Oh...you need to change your design or not? Mine only take away the mirror for the bomb shelter, so no mirror for bomb shelter also no customed made shoe rack. So we make use of the service closet, can have abt 4 levels.

Did you try asking your fengshui master is there anyway to "hua jie" without compromising your initial design?

orith

Mosaic_fish, yeah...left carpentry (kitchen, wardrobe and bombshelther feature wall) and sliding glass doors, and also vanity top for the kitchen. Most likely it will finish 1st week of August. YOu are welcome to go take a look

mosaic_fish

Thanks Orith... will really like to see your hse soon.. Yah.. need to change my kitchen design..He say cannot change the hob position as it is very impt.. so now let my contractor change the design..

For your kitchen top, wat are u using? solid top? which brand is your solid top?

tweetie

Seems like the thread is becoming v. hot nowadays. Too bad, I can't access during office hours. So every night, I always got problem knowing whaz gg on coz its too fast.

Anyway, my house is ready....yeahoooo.... moving in this sun. Feel free to pop over if anyone wants to.

Orith, would be interested to view yr flat too. Will u be there tonight? I will be gg there tonight to inspect before the designer h/o on wed.

pauline12sg

Hi Orith,

I've decided not to do vanity top for my bathrooms.
Would like to view ur flat too when it's ready.

Hi Mosaic_fish,

I'm not able to do the tiles n laminate flooring 1st leh, as HDB has not come to do cement screed for e bedrooms. Are u going to ur flat next weekend too?

Hi Tweetie,

Congrats! That's fast, can go to ur hse see see next time? Hee...

daisylove

Hi Pauline,
wow, very fast!
So when's HDB going to come down to do the cement screeding for you? Have they rectified your defect list? I haven't started a thing. Missed Mudpie yesterday but managed to meet up Mosaic_fish. Hee u wanna exchange no so that we can contact each other to see if we can meet if we happen to be there?

Mosaic_fish,
hee... nice to know you too. My hubby said ur hubby was very friendly and we enjoyed the chat with you both
Oh ya, remember to inform HDB about the crack lines. You are having headache with ur kitchen, I'm having headache with my dining area and master bedroom... haiz... will leave to ID to settle too

Hi Orith,
I haven't started a thing. Yours is fast, can move in 1st week of Aug, must be before Chinese 7th mth right? I really hope to start reno before the 7th mth but seems like a lot of things still not settled. Hey, I like the idea of ur vanity top, umm... black galaxy solid surface top with glass bowl, must be very nice! Hee... I'm interested to visit ur home when it's done too. Keep us updated!

Hi Tweetie,
yah... you haven't been here for some time, how are you?
Will be interested to visit you!

piper

hi hi.....

i was there on saturday...my ID came to take actual measurement for the house. After tat, we went to submit the defects list & the cement screeding form. My ID requested that they do up the living room flooring first before letting HDB do the screeding. Dunno is tat possible.

Anyway, we've asked the lady at HDB counter to get the officer to call us before they start screeding. Hopefully they can arrange to let us finish our living room flooring first.

Hi Tweetie,
Congrats....moving in so early...so u'll have to endure the dust & noise first while we are renovating
. Next time can drop by ur house to take a look.

pauline12sg

Hi Daisy,

Sure, let's exchange our contact no!
I'll email u my h/p no in a short while. Most likely, they are coming down next wk to do e cement screed. They have not rectify e defect yet, but luckily, e defect doesn't affect the renov proccess. How abt u? When are they going to do cement screed & rectify e defects for u?

Hi Mosaic_fish & Mudpie,

Shall we exchange contact no as well? My email is [email protected]

mosaic_fish

Ok sure
Pauline I email u tonite.. bcos I can't access my yahoo mail from my company network.

Daisy.. tink your ID can help u with a good design

Hi Tweetie, I would like to visit your hse too.

daisylove

Hi Piper,
I wasn't there on Sat but will msg u when I will be going again, see if we can meet up

Are u going to lay homogeneous tiles in the living room? I saw Mosaic_fish's neighbour had their curb at the door hacked away, don't know if it's the procedure so that the contractors move the cement into the house. You may like to ask ur ID to lay a protective layer on your flooring if it will be done before the cement screeding for your rooms

Pauline,
ok, I will then msg u when I receive urs
I have taken some pictures of the defects and the red and blue stickers for piping in the kitchen and 2 toilets. Haven't started anything, meeting up ID this Wed and hopefully can finalise our design and start work soon. I have to bring down our key this week so that the contractors can come to do cement screeding for us. Haven't started anything yet

pauline12sg

Daisy,

It only takes few days to do up the ceiling & electrical works, so I believe u can complete ur renov by end of next mth too if u can finalise ur design tis wk.

daisylove

Ke ke ke... Pauline, u are making me excited. I can't blame the ID cause we keep changing our mind. Think I must be firm with my decision, no time to be fickle minded if I want to start reno by this mth

trekkerb

Finally decided on my design & tiles. ID said it will start this week.

Orith & Tweetie, would love to come over & have a look.

piper

hi daisy,

i believe my ID will lay protective covers. If not, they'll need to replace all the tiles tat HDB had damage during screeding.

I also can't wait for reno to start. We "yi si yi si" hammer the 4 corners of the house on saturday so tat we can start the reno anytime.

trekkerb

Piper,

Judging from the way my screeding was done, I suggest u better wait until the screeding is completed before sending in the ID's tilers.

You spoken to your ID on who will bear the cost should the tiles be damaged?

Dun think you want to get into this dispute. My 2 cents.

piper

hi trekker,

wat happened to ur screeding. Care to share? The reason why my ID requested to do the living room flooring first is bcoz he had came across HDB screeding tat are either too high or too low. So he said the best solution is to let them (ID) finish the tiling before HDB do the screeding.

I notice on the HDB form that they'll do a standard 40mm screed. So hopefully, they'll stick to wat's stated on the form.

Thanks for pointing the cost issue out. I'll ask my ID during our next meeting.

trekkerb

Piper,

It's basically more of the cost issue if the tiles are damaged. My ID suggested that we get all the screeding & defects are done cos if there's any disputes, it's usually the owner to bear the cost. No point having the ID & the HDB main con pointing fingers at each other.

Basically, I requested the screeding for my 3 bedrooms. Some of "left-over" screedings were left around the living room after the job was done.

Seems that the screeding is not 40mm, my master bedroom was of the correct height but not the other 2 bedrooms. My ID told me that they will do the required touch-up.

daisylove

Piper,
yah think Trekker is right, better discuss this properly with ur ID in case if any tiles damaged, who to be responsible.... I will also ask my ID to help us "hammer" the house

piper

hi trekker,

my house dun have any major defects. Only the master bedroom window lock is spoilt. HDB says they'll rectify tat one first.

Then the HDB officer just called me as well. She gave me her contractor's contacts....say i can call them direct to ask them to come do the screeding when my living room's done.

I've given the contacts to my ID...think he'll liaise with HDB from there.

Cross my fingers that there won't be any disputes between HDB's & our ID's contractors....

elaine77

Looks like most of us have got our keys and start reno, it has been awhile since the last time i posted msg here, nowadays quite hard to post an msg.. i have a new 'mo gui lao ban'.. so irritating..that day i took 1 day leave to do some stuffs for new flat.. he also ask short.. ask long..

I have started reno during the 3rd week of june.. so now the flooring in living room.. bedrooms and kitchen are done up.. quite nicely done..false ceiling.. and the lightnings are up...my ID will start to do the carpentary this wed.. so exciting to see progress.. every week go up will see new things.. hehe

daisy.. i was there on sun around 3plus also..i just went up to take measurement for bathroom accesorries.. we went to HO KEE at jalan besar to get all the the mirror.. and accessories.. im so tempted to get the stainless steel things for the kitchen but its not cheap..

piper.. sometimes i do go up to your unit to see see if you are there.. hehee..

do anyone has intro for curtains.. good and cheap?

daisylove

Hi Elaine,
previously every time I took leave, I would explain to my boss why until one point she told me I could keep it personal, don't have to keep updating her. Since then, I never do it anymore. As long as I never take leave on important dates, she will approve it. Hmm... may be next time u can tell ur boss you have personal things to attend to and don't have to describe so much to him if u dun feel comfortable doing that
I went to HOE KEE before, also realise some items are quite costly. Then found another place, big and many items to choose from. They also sell stainless steel items at reasonable price
Here's the website http://www.simsiangchoon.com.sg/ Have a look! I only reached at around 5 pm yesterday. Hey, which blk are u?
I'm intending to do roller blinds, curtains are nice but I'm lazy to wash them :p

piper

Hi elaine,

I've only been to my place twice.....so dun think u'll catch me there. Went to open letterbox to check the utilities bill...overdue liao

Which floor r u on? I wanted to go round my blk to "peep" at other pple's house but my hubby stopped me. I only saw the one opposite my unit & the one directly underneath my floor. They've done up the floor tiles oredi.....think my unit is one of the latest to start reno.

daisylove

Trekker,
no worry, males are welcome too! Does ur wife know abt this forum? Get her to join us too. BB123, wife of BBNN also joins us liao

pauline12sg

Hi Daisy,

Sorry for not replying ur msg this afternoon, I was actually shopping at Suntect City, kekeke... I might not be going down this weekends too, most likely will be on next Sat evening time.
I'll go shopping for lightings and bathroom accessories this Sat.

orith

Hello Mosaic Fish
I am using solid surface top. It's a brand called Neutra, from Europe. But they mould it in Msia, so the price isn't steep.

I am choosing dotted with white surface.

orith

Tweetie
So sorry abt the late reply. I will not be going tonight, but will be going to check on the progress tmr afternoon.

Anyone going tomrorow afternoon?

orith

Hi Daisy, actually we think the renovation shoudl complete end of the month if not early next month. So we can move in early Sept.

Sure, you are welcome to come take a look whenever u want

orith

Some of the stuff in Hoe Kee are quite reasonable. I bought a Blanco sink there, when they are having promotion, only $299. It's a one piece, 18/10 grade. I also bought a mixer tap there. Bought bathroom accessories set there too.

I realised their glass "salad" bowl is expensive. So i bought it at Universal Union, at GEylang.

BOught all the lightings and fans from Designer Lightings at Balestier.