Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

pauline12sg

Hi Mosaic_fish,

Are u going to check for defects tomo? Below is a checklist for defects. (I happened to come across this checklist in another forum, hee...)

1 Main Door
1.1 No cracks
1.2 Can closed properly
1.3 Keys and lock for the maindoor is working
1.4 Magnet for the door can stick
1.5 Knobs is not rusty and old

2 Living Room
2.1 No cracks on the wall and ceiling
2.2 No cracks and scratches on windows
2.3 Windows can closed and open with no problems, windows can be locked
2.4 No rust on the screws of windows and doors
2.5 SCV points are not old and moudly

3 Kitchen and Balcony
3.1 Wall tiles are not hollow and in even
3.2 Wall tiles are not cracked
3.3 Pipes are not leaking/mouldy
3.4 Water pressure is ok
3.5 Water does not contain dust/rust
3.6 Balcony door is working, no rusty bolt, door knobs, screws
3.7 Water can be drained properly (Water test)
3.8 No cracks on the wall and ceiling
3.9 No cracks and scratches on windows
3.10 Windows can closed and open with no problems, windows can be locked

4 Bedrooms
4.1 No cracks on the wall and ceiling
4.2 No cracks and scratches on windows
4.3 Windows can closed and open with no problems, windows can be locked
4.4 Keys and lock for the maindoor is working

5 Toilets
5.1 No cracks on the wall and ceiling
5.2 No cracks and scratches on windows
5.3 Bathroom tiles no cracks and even
5.4 No chokages in toilet bowls
5.5 No cracks at the basin
5.6 Water is clean and clear
5.7 Water can be drained properly (Water test)
5.8 Door can be open, closed and locked

tarepiggy

Hey Congrats Daisy & Mosaic_fish on collection of your keys! Congrats to Pauline too, ur turn is later (now already 1.13am ...hee)!

Hmmm..... tho' i've sneaked in our hse to see last mth, nonetheless i'm still very excited when i think of my turn to officially use the key and open the door for the first time! My fiance & i will be doing blessing of our hse the first time we r gg there, after reno then invite our priest to bless again.

Hey Pauline, if u gg ur hse again on 17 Jul, then maybe we will meet, i'll be there 1+pm. Is ur unit on the left or right the moment u step out of the lift? Mine is on the left!

So envy of all of u ... getting ur keys already! Okie, i shall count down to mine on 12 Jul ... 3 more days! =D

daisylove

Hi Pauline,
thanks for the list, it's really useful!

BB123,
ur appt is next Sat, right? Can start to count down already

Mudpie,
hee... thank you
Very soon it will be ur turn, let's help u count down. Today is day 3, tomorrow day 2 and then Monday!!

daisylove

I went to my unit just now. Realise that there are a lot of stuff in our letter box, remember to open to take them out. Quite a lot of things to read and understand

mosaic_fish

Hi Pauline.. just now went to my new hse.. OPEN DOOR already!! hehee.. did the open door procedure then open door.. I haven't check for defects yet.. bcos it is getting dark and we are tired after go thru the open door procedure.. so will be going again tomolo to do defect checking. Pauline will u be coming on sun?

Daisy.. can I ask u.. your master bedroom toliet got glass shower screen? I not sure did I remember wrongly tat someone mention there is .. bcos today I check and there is no glass shower screen.

The shower head and toliet bowl look really good.. is even cover with clear plastic bag..

But the living rm is really small... from Daisy's photos it look longer.. but it is not..

orith

Mosaic Fish....congrats

Is yours a 4 room or 5 room? 4 room doenst' have a shower screen.

Tmr we will be going to our new place to check the floor tiles which is done by this week.

mosaic_fish

Hi Orith, wow.. floor tiles done already... mine is 5rm, I tink there shd not have shower screen.. tink i remember wrongly... I haven't buy my sofa and coffee table yet.. planning to get from Luxur Home.

orith

Yeah....can't wait to see the tiles tmr morning.

We hav been to Luxur home, but didn't see anything there. Then we proceed to HTL and bought a sofa at $688 for 3 seater, which is really a good buy.

ARe u going to tmr morning too?

trekkerb

No shower screen for both 4rm & 5rm, owners have to install.

There's ths promo going on. Go to the website & see (www.luxurhome.com) I had a hard time looking for the place. It's at the T-junction between the condo & hospital. Anyway, u can do customisation, bring ur own pics, design along, they might be able to help. I saw a philip stark design sofa as well.

Now eyeing at that dining table set but the price is kinda steep. ($1200)

Orith, thanks... I think that's cheap. I checked & was told it's abt close to 4k. Maybe I shd go & check it out.

daisylove

Mosaic_fish,
wow, finally got to see ur house
I think one contractor gave me the wrong info, no shower screen for 4-rm or 5-rm but we have the shower head and taps. The photo of the living room is the 5-rm one, it will be slightly smaller for 4-rm

Orith,
so fast! Hee... mine not even started in anything yet

Trekker,
I'll go check Luxurhome if free this afternoon

mosaic_fish

Hi I went down today... see my hse fengshui too..there is quite big change in the kitchen.. a bit werid arrangement also.. headache..

Orith how is your floor tiles?

orith

Daisy....yeah, very fast right? We also never expect to be that fast. Will start doing painting today, takes approx 3 days acc to my ID.

Mosaic_fish, the floor tiles we are quite happy with it. So far only notice 2 tiles that has warping prob. Will get them rectified.

orith

Mosaic_Fish

Initially i also need to make changes in order to follow fengshui. But later i asked the fengshui master is there anyway, things can be rectified without changing the kitchen layout? He says yes. Maybe u dun need to change layout

daisylove

Mosaic_fish,
may be u can find out from ur feng shui master if there is anything else u can do instead of changing the kitchen layout?

Orith,
hee mine nothing starts yet. My neighbour's house is already doing the false ceiling and L-Box. I saw sand outside their house, may be cement screeding too, wow, super fast!

Is urs homogeneous tiles?

My_gal,
thank u so much!
How's ur house coming along?

Trekker,
I went to Luxurhome yesterday but don't intend to purchase sofa in the end :p

The other day I was telling someone here that Fisher & Paykel washing machine is good. A sales person tells me that Electrolux washing machine is also as good. He said it's better to purchase washing machine with side loading instead of top loading. Fisher & Paykel only has top loading. Anyone has heard that side loading is better? Any advice?

pauline12sg

Hi Mudpie,

Hee... Think we have e same unit no, different storey.
I might be going down on 17 July too, but not so early, maybe in the late afternoon. It's gonna be ur turn to collect keys soon! Cheers!
297331.gif

Hi Mosaic_fish,

I was there on Sunday too, for a short while only, to test all the keys.
Going to submit the form for cement screeding today.

Hi Daisy,

Have u decided whether to use e gas or electrical water heater? I've set my mind on e electrical wan. I went to a relative's hse to view their gas water heater, don't like it.

pauline12sg

Daisy,

I was told by many friends & colleagues that top loading will be a much better choice. I think it depends on individual's liking.
Yet to find out the pros & cons for top / front loading. But I have decided to use the top loading wan, I don't like to bend my body in order to dump all the clothes inside e washing machine. (I'm a lazy pig) Hehehe... :p

daisylove

Pauline,
u mean ur relative also got the gas water heater for free? Actually I have been thinking about this too. Thinking that free heater may not be very nice looking ha ha... and really dislike the idea of fixing it in the kitchen unless there's a way to hide. May also consider electrical heater but would like to compare the pros and cons between these 2 types of heaters first. How come diff sales persons say diff things. Now I really dunno top or side is better liao. I like Fisher & Paykel because mum has been highly recommending it to me. Now really puzzled, need to look at mum's washing machine again to decide

So are u happy with ur house after seeing it?

pauline12sg

Daisy,

Yes, they got the gas water heater for free, they just moved into their new hse 2 mths ago. Really not nice loh... If u see it with ur own eyes, i think u will agree with me. Hahaha...

YEs!! Very happy after viewing my flat! Hee...
Nicer than wat we have expected, except that the kitchen is too small. Overall, we are quite pleased with our flat!

daisylove

Pauline,
no need to see, can already imagine. Haiz... may as well get a nice electrical type and fix it in the toilet. Do u know the pros and cons betw electrical water heater and gas water heater?

Hee I agree with u too but surprisingly, both my mum & MIL feel that the kitchen size is alright. Initially I wanted to replace the toilet bowls but after they clean it before passing us the keys, the toilet bowls actually look nice. Hee... can save the money to buy a bathtub, are u getting one?

pauline12sg

Daisy,

The monthly bill will be cheaper for gas water heater than the electrical type. I didn't really bother to find out the pros & cons for the 2 types since i have decided to use the electrical water heater, hee...

I rem u said b4 that our toilet bowls are of good quality, my contractor said that as well leh! Heheh...

Not intending to get a bathtub, thou it can be quite romantic... hee... :p
Depends on ur usage lah, for us, we feel that we can use the one in the hotel when we go travelling. Hmm... having a bathtub for showering will be v relaxing, make good/full use of it ba Daisy! Kekeke...

daisylove

Pauline,
oic... thank u

Actually hubby not very keen in getting bath tub, only I keen cause he says will not be big enough for 2 persons. See how, if cost a lot, will forgo it. If not, will be quite nice to have one to enjoy during the weekends

Yah, Mosaic_fish, busy Monday?

pauline12sg

My bf has submitted e defects list & form for cement screeding this morning. Hopefully,HDB can rectify the problem asap.
Luckily not much defects for my unit, only 1 of the windows' lock is spoilt.

Going to start the renov this Wed! Hee...

pauline12sg

Daisy,

Think u should be able to start before chinese 7th mth as chinese 7th mth starts on 5/8/05.
Still have few wks for u to discuss the details!

tarepiggy

Yo Pauline! Must be very happy getting ur key & opening the door ya! U right, our kitchen really a bit too small! My mum didn't believe when i told her after i sneaked in last mth ... wait till she sees it this Sun ... hee

Daisy, for side loading washing machine,
- Pros is that u can stack things on top of it, for instance, a tumble-dryer machine, so can save space, but
- Cons is that since it's side-loading, if u realise u forget to put in some garments, u can't open it & add in the extra garments once the machine is in operation cos the water will spill out. If i'm not wrong, my fren who's using side-loading machine oso said that can't adjust water level, so water usage is higher.

For top-loading washing machine,
-Pros is can save water cos can choose diff water level + can stop the machine anytime & throw in some more garments if u hv forgotten to do so, while
- Cons is u can't stack things on top of the washing machine, so it actually take up a space of its own.

Oh .... just another 13+hrs & i'll get my keys!!!! YEAHHHHHHHH!!! =D

mosaic_fish

Good morning everyone... I was taking my wedding photos yesterday.. very tiring..

Wow.. Pauline u start renov this wed.. very fast.. hehee.. happy for u.. me still haven't confirm my contractor yet..

As for the kitchen design.. i did ask him if my hob can face other direction..the fengshui master say is better to face tat direction.. as it will affect our income.. so tink better listen.. I am trying to tink of a design to place my hod to face tat direction ...

pauline12sg

Hi Mosaic_fish,

Wow... u took ur wedding photos yesterday ar, hehe... must be v fun although it's tiring.

My contractor told me he will either starts on Wed or Thurs. Hee...

Since u have engaged a fengshui master, it's better to heed his advice, maybe u can ask those contractors u have shortlisted to help u think think.

mosaic_fish

Hi Pauline, is quite fun but I am very stiff.. could not relax myself even near to the end of the photoshoot.. kekeke..

yah i tink is better to listen.. if not I feel uneasy..

Mudpie is collecting keys today... happy for her.. hope she enjoy the process..

daisylove

Pauline,
hee... think I have to speed things up in order to get it done before 5 Aug

Mudpie,
thanks for the pros and cons, I still like top loading washing machine, may be just stick to Fisher & Paykel that my mum highly recommends
Heh gal, u r getting ur keys today!! Excited for u! Update us later ke ke ke

Mosaic_fish,
hee, happy things come in a row, first u got ur keys, next u r taking wedding photos to prepare for ur big day!
My Feng Shui master asks me not to place the hob facing the entrance of the kitchen and I have to face the wall which I was gonna hack to replace with glass. Now that wall cannot be hacked as it's our cai(2) wei(4) in the living room. We are also heeding his advice and will do the amendments of drawings with our ID. U can discuss with ur ID once u have confirmed one

pauline12sg

Hee... bride is always e most beautiful. I believe ur photos will turn out v nicely taken!

Yes, it is Mudpie's turn to collect keys today! Hehe... Must be feeling v happy & excited now hoh Mudpie? Hee...

mosaic_fish

Daisy, wah.. your kitchen layout also weird.. tat mean your hob will be next to your kitchen entrance? I notice our kitchen is also design in a way tat the hob shd be near to tat wall.. bcos the gas pipes is lay all the way to tat wall and there is a socket point on tat wall.

Pauline, thanks
hope the photos will be nice.. hehee..

daisylove

Mosaic_fish,
yah it's somewhere near. No choice leh, can't face the windows as need to hang clothes there, only got 2 walls, 1 wall facing the entrance cannot be used for hob, so left the other wall. Our kitchen is rather squarish, the longish one may be better

I saw one 4-rm has a longish kitchen, pretty easy to arrange things

Pauline,
is it 4-rm doesn't have vanity top in master toilet cause I saw one in my master toilet? So I may ask ID to build a cabinet below to hide the pipe. Although mine is ready made, I can't choose the material, it feels very plastic. If yours don't have and u intend to do one, at least can choose a material u like

mosaic_fish

Daisy, that mean u cannot use the long kitchen wall next to the bomb shelter to put your hob? then if u put your hob there... wat do u plan to do on the long kitchen wall tat is next to your bomb shelter?

pauline12sg

Daisy,

My master bathroom doesn't come with vanity top, that's why I am still pondering should I get it done & if it is really necessary to have 1 or not. Erm... Have to go back and think carefully already.

pauline12sg

Realised that there are many ppl who have not been posting here for quite some time. Hello gals, where are you?
Come join us & keep us updated!

blk 150 - tweetie (14th), tulip_76 , Pat
blk 151 - tulipblue(11th/5),DJ (14th/5)
blk 152 - yellow, venus, mosaic_fish (13th/5), Daisy (11th/5), BBNN (16th/5), Rivervale
blk 153 - Pauline (6th) , Mudpie (13th)
blk 154 - brambles (4), nemo
blk 155 - elaine77, piper (12th/5), Calbee (13th)
blk 156 - dolphin,orith,vel(15th),erica (5th/4), my_gal (13th/4)