Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

my_gal

hi pauline,

my hubby feels that hdb installed the taps and shower heads for us because they want us to use Citygas. Since they giving the water heater free, so we see no harm applying... kekeke..

I've bought Teka hood, hob, sinks and tap.. Total spent around $1500

trekkerb

Pauline,

I have yet to use the oven. All our houses are still under renovation, remember? =D

But my friends are giving me pretty good reviews. The only bad point is it does not come with auto-timer off, that means you got to set your own alarm, dun want burnt pineapple tarts, ya....

I was told that the oven is currently out of stock, it will only be avail in Sept which I find it's fine for me.

Mosaic, I was told if the heater is not off, the hot water will be constantly avail & was assured that I pay whatever hot water i used (dun know if this's true.)

pauline12sg

Trekker,

Heehee... :p Alright, think I'll be going down one of these days to buy the oven & to measure the dimensions.

Mosaic_fish,

Are u going to get the same model too?

my_gal,

I would like to have the pricelist for sink & tap too. Can email me at [email protected] , thanks alot!

my_gal

pauline,

no prob.

trekker,
can i have ur email add as well so that i can email u too?

besides the price, they got pictures too, so u all can see which type of sink they have.

my_gal

I've gotten these electrical appliances as well. Hope that they r good.

TV: Toshiba
DVD Recorder : LG
Home theatre system: Yamaha
Fridge and washing machine: Hitachi
Air-con: Mitsubishi Easy Clean

Got any comments on Hitachi brands?

pauline12sg

Trekker,

My contractor required me to give him e dimensions of e oven. Maybe I'll let him know I'll be getting those standard oven and he will know the sizes already.

Seems like there are alot of things to be done, gonna be very busy this Sat already.

my_gal

I got my air-con at $1850, Sys3, non-inverter. My ID recommend me one.

Here's a picture of my fridge:

296837.jpg

Mine is 579AM (570litres). They have other models (539AM and 479AM) as well

mosaic_fish

Pauline, I am getting a Ariston oven also but is not this model.

I am tinking of getting Fisher & Paykel fridge but read from another forum tat if it need repair, it may be difficult to get its spare parts, Jap fridge will be easier to get repair service and parts

daisylove

Pauline,
we'll be given a brochure of the City Gas, we have to contact the sales person. Mosaic_fish and I will be counting down for u, feel excited for u
Oh ya, 4-rm also has, we saw as one contractor brought us to see one 4-rm unit before.

Mosaic_fish,
I still don't know the pros and cons of having a gas water heater, but thought since it's free, may most prob get it

My_gal,
I also want to see the price and pictures, can send to my email? Thanks

calbee

Read some comments on water heater tank. My ID told me that the heater given by HDB is gas heater. For gas heater, we could not boxed it up as it needed air to work. He said we must get electric ones (still heater tank, not those instant heater). Not sure if it is true. Anyone check this with their ID before?

daisylove

Calbee,
my ID told me if we get electrical heater, then we can install it in the bath room, so can save the space in the kitchen. If we install the gas heater, must be at the designated area in the kitchen and for safety purposes, it's not wise to box it up but he will try to think of an idea for us, still hasn't come back to us though

trekkerb

I was told we can only install next to the window. Spoke to the City gas personnal abt this. So It will be on the right side of the kitchen wall next to the window, for me. Yes, you cant box-up the gas heater.

btw, 4rm includes kitchen floor tiles where else 5rm dun.

mosaic_fish

Hi Calbee, yes SP is giving only the gas heater free... to promote using gas heater. The electrical heater have 2 kinds, storage and instant heaters. Storage one can store 15, 30ltr of water. Need to on the heater 5mins b4 use.

pauline12sg

Good Morning!

my_gal,

Thanks, I'll check my mail in a short while.

Mosaic_fish & Daisy,

I've told my bf abt the gas heater, he prefers the electrical type, looks nicer. Most likely, we will not be applying for the gas heater. Will read through the broucher anyway. Hee...

Yeah, tomo will be my turn to collect the key! Hehe... Counting down too....

daisylove

Pauline,
we are also still thinking which type to get
Hee... know how u feel now cause Mosaic_fish & I being through... Tell u, ur excitement will last days even after u collect ur keys tomorrow, I'm still happy and excited over mine

Yesterday my ID submitted the defects list and form for cement screeding. Then a HDB contractor called me, giving me a contact no. to contact a lady if I want to find out on the status of the cement screeding. Think they will start soon

piper

Hi daisy,

did u submit ur house keys to HDB or the padlock key?

i think we'll be submitting our defects & cement screeding forms next sat.....we finally decided on timber flooring for the bedrooms.

daisylove

Piper,
my ID will submit his padlock key and he'll be there to oversee their cement screeding. We won't be submitting the house keys as we would like to use HDB's door and gate. Timber flooring looks really nice, it's natural wood like parquet but a bit more expensive right? If I remember correctly, it's longer strip than parquet

pauline12sg

Mosaic_fish,

My appointment is in the late morning, will go for lunch before proceeding to our new flat!
Hee...

Daisy,

Heehee...
Yes, all of us are feeling happy and exicted over our flat, hmm... actually doing renov is a fun thing, let's enjoy!

piper

hi Daisy,

ya...it's expensive $7 psf and we are not doing skirting around the house. According to my ID...without skirting requires more skills. So i can't wait to see the final results.

daisylove

Pauline,
u must reach there earlier than ur appt time to buy fire insurance at level 2 first, then proceed to level 1 to scan ur appt letter (bring along ur change appt date letter if u did just to show) and get a queue no. If u r early, u will be served earlier as well. The rest will be advised by the officer serving u. You will need to apply for electricity/water/gas and collect the blue print for ur house after that
Oh yes, let's enjoy the reno process. We will have a sense of satisfaction when we move in later

Piper,
it will definitely look very good! Soon, a few mths later, u will be able to move in

mosaic_fish

Pauline, I am going to open my door this sat... me also feeling excited..

Yes..we will enjoy the renov process... I had a frien she is doing renov now.. see the process of nothing to have false ceiling, lights all up.. is interesting and exciting.. each time we visit our hse and will get surprises.. hehee..

I will be also handing in my defect list and cement screeding next sat I hope..

pauline12sg

Thanks Daisy!!
I'll definitely be there earlier, kekeke...

You are right, e sense of satisfaction will be there. Heheh...

Whenever I think of our flat, I'll feel proud of it, cos LRT is right in front of our flat, Rivervale Mall is aft the cross junction, Pri Sch is on our right side while bustop is on our left. Wow... it's sooooo convenient!
Don't you all feel the same? Kekeke...

daisylove

Mosaic_fish,
ur feng shui master see a good date for u on Sat?
My feng shui master said our unit not bad

Pauline,
yes, in fact, my mum, MIL, ID & feng shui master all said our house at very good location and this makes us so proud ke ke ke

daisylove

My_gal,
thank u for the email. Ive seen the pictures of the Teka sinks. Do u also have pictures of Teka ceramic and gas hobs? If have, could u send to me too? Sorry for the trouble, thank you

trekkerb

Got some minor bumps on my renovation. My ID juz told me that the perpective drawings will only avail next thursday.

There goes my dream on getting the things started next monday. Sighhhhhh.......

calbee

Yah...never never pass your main door & gate key to contractor. Now i'm a bit worried. Out of ignorance, i passed the keys to HDB for defects and cement screeding. Any insurance plan against robbery?!

mosaic_fish

Hi Orith,
I would like to ask u, after u submit your defect list.. how long did HDB came to do the repairs and how long did they take to finish?

orith

Hello Mosaic fish

After I submitted to the Sengkang branch office, they will give it to the service office (the one located beside the car park). They called us 1 week later and said it's done. We checked, none of the stuff is done!! Then i told the officer at the service office, then we arrange for appt on Sat morning. So on that sat morning, we met up with them, going tru the stuff that need to be done. THey said they wil do it wihtin 2 weeks. 2 weeks later, only some of the stuff done.

I was really fed up, i complaint to the HDB Technical officer (TO). U should know who is yours, it should be stated at your form. THe TO is very nice, she says she will get those stuff done for us. And true enough, the next day those ppl start working.

And by now, i think most of the stuff shoudl be done now. So since the day we gave the defect list to sengkang office til now, it's almost 1 month!!! So, rem to have the list of defects u submit.

And also, we detected few hollow tiles at the kitchen. Initially those contractors said the hollowness is only at some areas within the tiles, so can't change. BUt when i told this to the TO, she says no such thing. She says if theres hollowness for one quarter of the tile, it can be change already. So you know those contractors are really lazy!

orith

Hello all
I bought the sofa from HTL Intl. The leather is really good. It's a good buy coz on special offer...heee.

Go check them out...but it's far (11 Gul Circle, Tuas).

For sink, we bought the Blanco (18/10, 316 grade) from Hoe Kee. We were advised to get one piece of sink and to get 18/10 grade. And also, 18/10 has 2 grades, one is 316 (better one), another is 304 (i think, this one is thinner). So we get the 316 grade.

Bed - Sealy Manchester
TV - LCD Phillips
Fridge - LG 2 sided doors
HOd, hoob and oven - Electrolux
Aircon - System 4 Mitsubishi Easy Clean

still got more things to buy....sigh...$$$$

daisylove

Orith,
he is from Lourve, find him very responsible
Didn't know will meet so many problems even for doing cement screeding and rectifying the defects. Looks like we need to ask our ID to monitor closely while we go check more frequently. Thanks for sharing with us

mosaic_fish

Hi Orith, thanks.. wah.. really alot of problem.. tat mean if we submit the defects list must wait abt 1 mth for them to finish all. Haiz.. Dunno can start b4 chinese 7th mth or not.

orith

Mosaic Fish, its my pleasure.

I started my renovation even before those contractor start doing my unit. As my defects are not affecting the initial stage of the renovation (electrical, ceiling work, and floring), so it's ok to start the renovation.

According to the fengshui master, u just need to knock on the door (as in purposely create a hole or crack), which means u have already started "knocking, ie renovation". So long u do this before the 7th month, it's still no prob

You really need to monitor the progress of the contractors and also your own ID too. Keep track what have they done, and what have not.

orith

Hello Trekker

Mitsubishi - Starmex Inverter System 4 - Easy Clean. It costs me $3412, bought it at All Best @ IMM.

orith

Daisy, yah...really need to monitor them closely. Need to take note what have they not done, then tell them abt it. If work still not down 2 weeks later, better complain to your Technical officer (from HDB).