Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

Hello...

just to add my two cents

I remember paying about 200pa for my parents' flat for fire protection. I forgot how much it insures for but I think it's about 200K? It's from AXA... I think...so there are other fire insurance available that covers more. But I guess, $9 is so small an amount that could buy that on top of others...

bbnn

Good morning everyone,

Ever wonder why we must buy insurance like HPS and fire insurance?
Reason being singaporean is inadequately protected against unforeseen circumstances like fire and death.
Even a $9 fire insurance also got pple "kaobeh".
Said very troublesome lah, no money lah, etc...

Ask ourself, if HDB dun force us to buy fire insurance, how many of us will actually buy one?
That's why the fire insurance is made very affordable at $9 and it protect the minmium.
Only covers structral damage to the flat.

In event of fire, at least the flat is restored to the condition when the owner brought it.
After that, it's owner's problem to reno the house again.
If they buy additional insurance, good for them.
If not, good luck to them.
To HDB, they have done their job by restoring to newly built condition.
They have cover their responsiblity to owner.

Same goes for HPS. It helps owners cover their loan amount when death of one owner occurs.

Good thing about both insurance is, it covers the most basic functions of the needed protection and at a very affordable price.
Even so, that covers the basic and we should look for additional protection on top of that.

This is not a sale talk but sharing of info.
Do correct me if there are error.

daisylove

Hi BBNN, Pauline, Trekker and DJ,
thanks for the information
My hubby's an agent and I think that's why he suggested that for our case, we buy from insurance company bah... but I'm not trying to promote the policy to u all, just sharing that it covers more

Trekker,
oic... thanks so much. I have confirmed my ID liao but don't know when he will start reno... most prob this month, so that means we have to activate liao right?

Mosaic_fish,
where are you? Are you excited? We are getting our keys tomorrow! Ke ke ke ke

pauline12sg

Hi Daisy & Mosaic_fish,

Are both of u going to ask HDB tomo to do cement screeding for ur bedrooms?

Let me know the procedures ok! HEhehe...

trekkerb

Daisy,

Yes, I guess u have to if not the workers have to work in the dark. lol

Pauline,

I think it's best that you ask for cement screed upon getting your keys (if confirmed you are doing laminate flooring). I submitted mine 2 weeks back, spoke to the HDB guy, told me they may do it only next week. You need to go to HDB SengKang personnally to submit the form. (same goes for the defect list) You would need to give them the door/gates keys (unless you are using number lock)

Anyone getting furniture, electrical appliances & lighting? Maybe we shd group together & do the purchase, can get more discount. =D

mosaic_fish

Hi Daisy, been busy with work the whole morning.. hehehe. I am very excited.. tomorrow we will be signing documents until our hand tired..

Trekker, a 'L' shape sofa i saw at the showroom cause ard $1k.. and is very big.. tink u can email them to ask certain design cost how much. The other time when i email them, they send me a lot of pictures of their sofa and coffee table designs. All are very nice and modern.

Trekker can I check with u, when u apply for cement screeding, when will u need to give them your gate and door keys?

Pauline, yup, i am doing cement screeding for my 3 bedrooms...we will update u how is the procedure like

daisylove

Pauline,
yes, I will do so
Will update u after tomorrow ke ke ke

Trekker,
thank you, yah lor didn't think of that

Mosaic_fish,
and worse still, my signature very complicated one, I already gana during the first appt, sign non stop ha ha...

Think I will not hand my door and gate keys cause I will still want to use them in future, not thinking of changing. Most prob will buy a lock and pass the key of the lock to ID, or to those people who come to do cement screeding

daisylove

Trekker,
need to ask you... for those documents that we need to bring there, do we need to make a photocopy for each, such as our IC, bank acc book, CPF 12 mths' statement, marriage cert, etc?

trekkerb

Mosaic,

You have bring the form personally to SengKang HDB branch office. (dun know if your ID can help) You have to hand over a set of key there unless you changed it to number lock. (so that the ppl wont duplicate your keys)

Daisy,

Did you provide your payslip, marriage cert, photos in your 1st appointment? If yes, then you dun have to provide anymore. The CPF statments is for CPF-board employees (if I'm not wrong)

I juz provide a copy of my marriage cert due to our martial status change. Their system is linked to the CPF database so they know how much we have. (cannot run away, they "wiped" every single cent in CPF & incurred debts overnight.)

Bring:
- Husband/Wife or whoever is the co owner of the flat
- NRIC/Passport (foreigner, work permit as well.)
- Copy of marriage cert (if there's a change in martial status)
- CPF statements (if CPF employees)
- Bank A/C book (If you are paying via bankloan or you want to fill upthose GIRO application)

Remember to:

- Pay fire insurance 1st.
- Take Q number. (Scan the appointment letter thru' the machine)
- Take electric/water blueprint after you got the purchase order.
- Apply electricity/water @ lvl 2 (if you cant wait or you do it online.)

I dun think I missed anything else.

daisylove

Pauline,
u r welcome
I think Trekker also very detailed

Trekker,
thanks so much for the detailed explanation, I have a clearer pic now

mosaic_fish

Trekker, thanks for the list.. I copied and printed it out liao... can go thru it again tomorrow.. if not when i kan cheong i will forget this and tat .. hehe

Daisy u tomorrow will go your new hse to open door.. pls update me how is it and any areas need to look carefully for defects.. Thank you..

orith

Hello all
For all getting new keys, let me share some of my experience in checking the defects.

To check hollow tiles at kitchen and bathroom, take a 50cent coin, and tap at few places within the tiles to see there's any hollow sound. Once there is any, just mark it (i use tape).

Check all the windows, to make sure the closing and opening is smooth. Ensure the rubber seal is intact. 2 of my window's rubber seal came off. So pls take note of that.

Check the wall and ceiling for any crack, or water marks. I have one area of water mark in front of the master toilet.

Check all the doors to make sure all can open, close and lock. My common bathroom door cant be locked.

Make sure you can flush in both toilets, check the sink taps too. Also very importantly, is to pour water at the toilet. This is to check the gound level, to check for waterpounding. Say for eg, my guess bathroom (at the bathing area), the water doens't flow to the hole. So if you dun rectify the prob, the water will get "stuck" at the other end, unless u sweep those water towards the hole.

And lastly, check every single keys to ensure they works.

Hope i am not too lenghty...hehee..happy checking

orith

I just bought my oven (7 cooking functions), hob and hood from Harvey Norman. The usual price is $1900 plus. After less, it's $1500 plus only. Its really worth it. All 3 items are Electrolux brand, oven and hood are from Germany.

freshie79

Hello all..

How's the key collection and renovation progress?

Mine has just completed the electrical works+ false ceiling.. also with the aircon trunking. this week will start laying parquet..

Orith,
I only got a TEKA hob for my kitchen.

Did anyone of you go to the BIG sale at Harbourfront? I got some cheapo household stuffs.. haha.. but i guess it should be okay.. cos can use can already mah...

haha.. Anyway.... hope to see you gals soon

Trekker and Orith,

Thank you for your detailed and simple explanation on "what to do"
Definitely helpful for first timers like us

I think HPS is very important for us personally. My husband is the sole breadwinner in our family. If anything happens, at least the home is one thing I don't have to worry about!

mosaic_fish

Hi Orith, thank you for listing down the area we need to take note... these are very helpful to me..

Do u all noe how long does HDB finish all the defects work?

Hi Erica, I getting keys later at 2pm.. hehehe.. feeling very excited

pauline12sg

Hi Orith,

Thanks for sharing with us, it is very useful.

Hi Erica,

I went to the BIG on last Sunday, saw many cheap items too!
The queue at the cashier counter was really long! Hahah...

Hi Mosaic_fish,

Heehee...
Wah.. u are feeling excited now hoh... Aren't you going to your new house aft collecting the key later in the afternoon?

mosaic_fish

Hi Pauline, later no... going down to ask a master for my door opening date.. hope can open door within this wk... so excited.. will u go open door on sat after u get your keys?

pauline12sg

Yes, gonna open the door this sat aft collecting my key. Hehe... Me oso very excited!
I asked my contractor to meet me at my new hse this sat to help me chk e defects.

mosaic_fish

Hi Pauline, wow.. good.. your contractor is an expert for checking defects.. hehehe.. Can't wait to meet u and Daisy at our new hse soon..

bb123

Dear Neighbours,
My hubbi (BBNN) had been posting this thread. Cant resist the temptation to post something when you all mention baking. I do love baking too.

Shall we go for the baking lesson together?

pauline12sg

Hi BB123,

Glad to know there is another kakis here! Welcome!!

Hi Mosaic_fish,

U are going to knock off soon, gonna collect ur key v v soon already, hehehe... very excited hoh.. hahah...

mosaic_fish

Hello BB123, welcome.. sure sure.. we can go baking classes together..

Pauline.. yup i am very excited.. 10 more mins to go.. hehee.. update u after i get my keys..

bb123

Think all of us as first time owner are also excited of the key collection especially after so long of wait. Keep us updated.

tarepiggy

Hearing all of u getting excited with the key-collection, renovation & shopping makes me real high too....hee...

I hope the key-collection process is not too long cos i actually changed my collection date from 8Jul to 12Jul cos my 1st appt was in pm & i teach in the pm session, but on 12Jul only left not much time-slot for am, mine is 1110am, hopefully can finis by 12pm, then can rush back sch.

Er.... besides HDB, we still need to go Sengkang Town Council huh? Can go other day right? Must both co-owners go or one goes will do?

Mosaic, how's ur new hse? Guess u must be very happy to get ur keys!

Pauline, so lucky for u to get the Sat slot, i went online to change date but no Sat slot for this week. I gotta wait 5 days after collecting my keys on 12 Jul to open door & view my hse, cos my bf & i only free on Sun.... if only i can get my keys this Sat, then can go this Sun already ... anyway nvr mind lah... =)

Orith, thanks for sharing the list of defects to look out for! It's really comprehensive & look into areas which i will really overlook.

Counting down to 12 Jul for my case... kekeeeee

trekkerb

Mudpie,

You dun have to go Sengkang Town Council immediately. You juz need to submit within 7 days for both the cement screening & defect list. Anyone can go, dun have to be the owner.

Anyone got any electrical appliance or furnishing? Care to share, I'm having a headache on what to get.

pauline12sg

Good Morning!

Hi Mudpie,

Indeed I was very happy when i know HDB has given me the Sat slot to collect key, heehee...
Can't wait for the day to come too! Kekeke...

Hi Trekker,

Think I am going to join u on the "headache thing" already... Gotta plan soon!

bb123

Good Morning!!

Hi Pauline, You are indeed very lucky to get Sat slot. BBNN and me wanted sat too but all fully taken.

We are counting down to our turn next week.

mosaic_fish

Hi everyone... I am back...
I am still feeling happy and excited... hehee...
Pauline I ask the officer abt the cement screeding, she give me a form and ask me to submit to Sengkang HDB Branch office(not Town Council) with our door keys or padlock key if we have. So u remember to get a form from your officer this coming sat when u get your keys..

The officer say after we get our keys, our records will be pass on to Sengkang HDB Branch office.. if there is any issues we need to go Sengkang HDB Branch office.

We also went to apply for our water and electricity.. the lady tell us the technician will go down anytime today to take the meter reading.

Yesterday after collecting keys... very excited and went to our new hse.. but didnt open the door.. there are a lot of contractors downstairs.. we sneak from the side to take the lift.. one of them follow up.. but tell them we got contractor already and he left.. we also take the meter reading also..

Daisy.. how is yours? Did u open door after tat? wat time u left? I was there 5pm++

daisylove

Hi Mosaic_fish, Pauline & all,
I've gotten my key and Feng Shui master went with me to open the door yesterday! The feeling was great, I didn't do much of the defects checking as it was done by my ID who came later. He went around the whole house checking and knocking. You may use what Orith has listed and in addition, check all the doors, some may have cracks. Any advice given by ID, after u have gone into the house, leave top part of the windows opned even when u leave so that the room is not too heated by sunlight that may shine in. At this moment, we do not have curtains or blinds, so that heat trapped in the house may crack our wooden doors. I have already noticed some cracks and ID will be listing these in the defects list.

You must submit defects list and form to apply for cement screeding within 7 days. Do not give HDB contractors the keys to ur gate and door, just a key to a padlock will do. You can get ur ID to submit these forms and liase with the HDB contractors. I remember someone mentioning abt the contractors washing the cement and choking the sinks and toilet bowls, u can ask ur ID to coordinate and oversee the whole procedure to make sure the contractors do not misuse our items and waste water as we are the one paying it.

Wow, we have 8 different types of keys and 3 for each type, all in all 24 keys, I was shocked!

It was really a nice experience, Mosaic_fish, how abt urs? Pauline, when are u going to collect?

BB123,
welcome here!
I also will learn baking from the gals here, let's go for baking lesson in future together

Erica,
I have also planned to get Teka gas and ceramic hobs. What type of hob did u get and for how much?

Trekker,
I intend to get Tekka gas and ceramic hobs, Fisher & Paykel washing machine and may be fridge. Have already gotten a LG plasma TV and a Seahorse King Size mattress. The rest not bought or sourced yet

mosaic_fish

Hi Trekker, I am waiting for Philips sale which is ard sept at their factory in Braddell to get my appliances. Every yr they will have this warehouse sales.

Have u been to Furniture Mall to see the furniture there? I am planning to go down to see.. heard tat not bad.. a lot of shops there can go see see..

daisylove

Mosaic_fish,

hee hee... I'm also still happy and excited!
I did open the door yesterday. As soon as I got the appt date last week, I went to my Feng Shui master and he said it was a good day to open the door, so he met us there to open yesterday. ID came later too to check defects

I was there till late afternoon but left before 5 pm, so wouldn't have met u. But soon we are going to be neighbours

Can't remember already, which floor is urs? Mine is 11

Pauline, is ur blk also 152? Just notice that u r getting ur keys on Sat! That's very fast, start the count down

Oh ya, we didn't get any fruit basket as we applied for the unit only last year, so didn't wait long. The fruit basket is from HDB as an apology for those who waited many years since BTO. However, we are given a very nice key pouch enough for all our 24 keys ke ke ke

pauline12sg

Wow... It's exciting & interesting aft reading what Mosaic_fish & Daisy have written! Hee...

Hi BB123,

It will be ur turn soon, hold on to it!
Kekeke...

Hi Mosaic_fish,

Thanks for ur reminder, I'll rem to ask e officer for the form. Hee...
Wah... Up till now, there are still so many contractors at our new estate, hahah... so funny, they are really hardworking.

Hi Daisy,

Thks for telling us to leave the top part of the windows opened, it is certainly useful to us!
My turn is on this coming Sat at 11 plus. Feeling excited!! *Wink Wink*

trekkerb

Daisy,

Here's the items I got:

Hood & Hob: Deliza
Oven: Ariston
Bed: Picket & Rail Queen Size

Thinking to get:

Fridge: Bady Folio
Washing Machine: LG
TV: Sharp
Dining Table: ???
Sofa & Coffee Table: LuxurHome
Aircon: Starmex Sys3
Kitchen Sink: ???
Lighting: ???
Water Heater: Citygas (free water heater)

Any comments or any items you are using & feel that is a good recommendation?

daisylove

Pauline,
hee just next to us!
U will be very impressed by what HDB has done (minus away any defects which u may find). Do u know that all the taps and shower heads in both toilets are already installed for us? My ID came and was shocked to see that! He said the toilet bowls and windows installed are from good company and of good quality, our units are one of the best deal he has ever seen for HDB standard flats. We even have T-lines so next time we can transform our house into an office (if u like) and the Cable Vision pts are there already. By the way, I have decided to use City Gas water heater since it's free

Trekker,
I heard Ariston brand for oven is good, how much is urs?

LG washing machine has nice design, so far heard feedback from friends who have used Sharps brand also good

The rest I haven't really come across. How much is Luxurhome sofa, can pay by credit card instalment?

I have decided to use granite kitchen sink, may be get ID to customise dining table to our theme and will also get Citygas since free heater and planning to use bath tub

I heard Daikin is a reliable brand for air con but dunno whether it's very expensive but heard the latest design not bad, will have to look for it and check out the price
ID will bring me to buy lightings suitable for theme, so haven't bought yet

I am currently using LG air con. Going to be 2 yrs coming Sept and it's already showing signs of breaking down, not sure if it's because we didn't maintain well or because it's not very good by itself, so some of u who are considering LG air cons, may be u can find out more and compare with other brands

piper

been quite a while since i last posted. Seems like lotsa activities around here.

I've more or less confirmed my ID. But we'll still be starting our reno after 7th mth. He still need to come up with the detail drawings etc before submission to HDB. We'll be bring down 2 walls in the kitchen....cross my fingers that it'll be approved.

Things tat i've bot so far :-
1) sofa/coffee table - Melandas
2) Fridge - Samsung
3) oven/hob - Ariston
4) bed - King size Simmons with bedframe (actually it's my existing bed...only 1 yr old
5) Dining table - OM (but my designer is proposing a long dining table for us....so we may ask them to exchange tat for something else)

Things planning to buy
1) Hood - Bellari or Teka
2) Washer & Dryer - Electrolux or Brandt or F&P
3) Air Con - Toshiba

Think this sat i'll be going down to our flat to check for more defects & then submit the form for cement screeding for our rooms. Need to open the letter box as well.....think the power supply bill shud be in....gotta start paying bills....

pauline12sg

Daisy,

Oh really?
Heehee... HDB installed taps & shower heads in both toilets? Wow.. that's nice! Erm.. mine is a 4-rm unit, wonder if it will be the same as 5-rm unit leh. Nevertheless, I will be hoping that I will get to see the same things as u did, with the taps & shower heads all there!
Pleased to know that toilet bowls and windows installed are from good company and of good quality, hehee...

Btw, how to apply the FOC City Gas heater?

bb123

Oh Daisy,

That is really good to hear that the taps and shower heads are already installed. So we can save a bit for other things. Hehe.

trekkerb

Daisy,

I got the following from Mayer:
Hob - Delizia LC 934 AV (comes in white or black)
Hood - Delizia Aqua 90
Oven - Ariston FB 51.2

Total price: $1400++

It's the cheapest oven in Ariston range, I think it's 599.

I'm not sure of the price of LuxurHome (havent decided on which model to get) but it's cheaper than OM. 3+2 is 1k+.

Piper, any problems with Melandas, heard pretty bad comments in this forum, did not take the risk.

I went to check out the price of AirCon, Toshiba's more expensive than Starmex (I think due to the size/watts of the aircon. Sys3 Starmex Ezclean(3x9)is about 3k. (Toshiba is 1x12, 2x10)

Pauline,
Go to www.citygas.com.sg for more details.

I got the solid surface top (not Corian) due to budget constraints. Granite is more $100psf, double the price.

piper

hi trekker,

so far no problems yet....coz we only placed the order...hopefully there won't be any hiccups during delivery or watever.

mosaic_fish

Pauline, when u get your keys and apply to activate your water and electricity. They will give u a brochure to tell u the details how to apply for CityGas.

mosaic_fish

Pauline and Daisy, for citygas... we need to let the water run for abt a few mins in order to get hot water.. will it be ok for both of u? I find it troublesome and waste of water also..

my_gal

how's everyone? sorry for mia for quite some time. been busy with work lately.

Congrats to those who gotten theirs keys. So glad to hear that.
296787.gif

Pauline,
all the taps and shower heads are installed nicely. Mine is 4-room too.

Mine only have one defect, the plastic covering the electrical point was too tight, cannot open.. the HDB ask their man to loosen it.. now can open.. heehee...

pauline12sg

Trekker,

Thanks for the link!
I am considering to get the Ariston FB 51.2 too, how do u find it?

Mosaic_fish,

Thanks for counting down for me! Heheheh
As for the City Gas heater, I need to discuss with my bf 1st, see which one he prefers. I am fine with that.

my_gal,

Hurray! Our taps & shower heads are installed too! Good news!!