Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

mosaic_fish

Hi Pauline,
yah.. I wan to start b4 Chinese 7th mth. I bought my aircon already.. Oven, hob and hood haven't buy.. tinking of going to mayer one of the weekend b4 GSS ends.. I also haven't buy fridge and washing machine yet.. How abt u??

pauline12sg

Mosaic_fish,

I have not shop for anythings yet. Intend to look around for air-con and oven 1st. Any recommendation on the model of Ariston oven?

Hob and hood wise, my contractor is giving to me FOC as a gift.

The rest can slowly slowly buy.

mosaic_fish

Pauline, wah.. so nice your contractor.. For Ariston Oven i saw one tat is without those new functions(self cleaning, Touch screen panel, digital display, etc..) is a basic conventional oven.. tink is good enuff for me.. as the price will be cheaper compare to those with the new functions.. tat time I saw is ard $700++. I haven't check the details on the functions yet.. The model I saw is not shown in Mayer homepage. Not sure izzit on sales for this GSS.. need to go down and check liao...

Pauline do u prefer to have new functions such as self-cleaning?

mosaic_fish

Pauline, tink water heater u can ask your contractor to get for u... Kitchen sink tink u need to get it.. then u can also check out the diff design and brands see which one u like.

Will u be engaging Fengshui Master to see your hse? If so then u better see fengshui first then buy kitchen sink. Measure the location tat the Master ask u to put your kitchen sink then buy the right one. Same for hob and hood

pauline12sg

Mosaic_fish,

I'm not looking for those self-cleaning function as it will be more expensive. For me, a basic convection oven that can be use for baking will be good enough. Will look out for the wan that u mentioned. Thks!

I didn't engage Fengshui Master, so it should be alright, regardless of the placing of kitchen sink. Hmm... ok thks, I'll go look ard for the sink, heard that Poh Joo is not bad.

orith

Mosaic fish hello

Yeah....the reno started fast. Hee...later i am goign down to take a look, hopefully everything is fine.

Which Ariston oven model are u interested at? Is it 5 or 7 cooking mode? I am also looking around for oven.

Where is Poh Joo?

mosaic_fish

Hi Orith, I can't remember the model and the cooking mode.. there is a few models when I was there. The salesperson briefly go thru each of them.. and this one is quite new model with basic functions..

Poh Joo is along Jalan Besar near to the food centre, they sell bathroom accessories, kitchen sink etc.. read from the forum tat their prices and services are good.

francisca

Orith, the guys have just completed the tiling. Was told that it will take about 2 days for it to dry. The kitchen should commence after that. I'm so excited to see how my kitchen will turn out. Especially with it's euaropean layout of built-in microwave oven at the top and convection oven at the bottom.

tarepiggy

Hi All!

I'm back ... was very bz starting last wk cos sch begins this week!
Anyway, i got my letter from HDB today! Yeahooooooo ...My appt is 8 July pm but i've changed it to 12 July am as i got class in the pm session.

Pauline, u got ur letter liao?

I'm really excited but guess i will take some time to discuss the reno plans with my fiance as we haven't started doing so yet ... but thanks gals for all the useful tips & sharings ... will surely come in handy for me! =D So my reno will only start after 7th month.

Can't wait to meet up with all of u real soon!

pauline12sg

Hi Orith,

I replied your mail yesterday already. Hee...

Hi Mudpie,

Congrats!
I have not receive any letter yet leh, hopefully I can get it tonite! Hehehe... :p

Hi Mosaic_fish,

Thanks! I will go in HDB website to check!
Hee...

daisylove

Orith,
thanks for the reminder, will try to remember to bring the necessary documents when I go to collect my key

DJ,
I think so far only that. But remember to get your family members to help you check for defects in the house when u authorise them to get the key for you. Cause can get HDB to rectify the defects if any. Yah, I will do 8 mm type of laminate and add another layer of rubber to make it as if it is 12 mm

Calbee,
good choice!

Pauline and Mosaic_fish,
I've received the letter from HDB!
You should be able to receive urs within these few days

Mudpie,
very happy for you too
You know hah... when I saw the appt date, I screamed in my office and had to ask my colleagues to pardon me ke ke ke Luckily they understand and share the joy

BBNN,
quick! Go check your letter box tonight, may be u will receive the letter soon too

Ask you all hah... Have you seen a type of kitchen sink which is made of granite (looks like plastic but it's not plastic) instead of metal? Heard that it is more lasting than metal, can withstand heat, ressist scratches and indentation. It costs slightly more but I will really consider that
You can source for reasonable price toilet and kitchen items from Xing(1) Xiang(2) Jun(4). I know one which is very near to KK Hospital. Went there recently, it's very big and recommended by my ID to source for items at reasonable price

mosaic_fish

Daisy.. wah u so excited and scream.. hehehe.. wat time is your appt on 6 July?

The sink u mention izzit look like those Corian solid top sink?? I heard those sinks cannot pour hot boiling water in it leh.

daisylove

Hi Mosaic_fish,
yah lor and then my colleagues shared my joy ha ha ha...
Mine is at 9.10 am, yours leh?

No leh... not those sink which looks like marble top one, corian solid top looks like marble top right? This granite looks like plastic type but it's granite lor, can pour hot boiling water into it, no problem one. I'm thinking of buying that, it's sold at Xing(1) Xiang(2) Jun(4) (next to KK Hospital, have a lot of designs to choose from) and Hoe Kee (one outlet at Plaza Singapura). The sales assistants and my ID all said metal gets scratches and dented over time but granite is very lasting but cost a bit more. Can have a variety of colours to choose from too

Pauline,
wow, congratulations
so fast ah.... ke ke ke
. I went to a feng shui master to get the good time to open my door on 6 July, he said it's good at 2 pm

Hello Daisy,

Hmm...I don't know about plastic-looking-granite-sinks. The current sink I have in the kitchen is the white porcelain type. One thing about it though...it stains. So if any of you are considering that, think again. Must be real careful in cleaning it every night before you sleep, with Jif/Cif or something. Otherwise, there'll be some blackish stain (I don't know from what or where) or mould would grow. I can pour hot water into it though...

Thank you for the info. We didn't authorize our family to collect the keys for us, so we'd have to do it personally and will go check out for defects then. Maybe at that time, I'll ask you all again what defects to look out for.

Have a great weekend!

daisylove

DJ,

good morning

Ok, think have to be careful if I really buy granite sink... not sure yet, have to bring ID there to take a look too

Have u received the letter from HDB yet? I heard we can get a checklist from HDB to check for defects, not sure if this is true. I'll ask during my appt next Wed and update u then. If not, after I check defects on next Wed, I'll let u know what to look out for. Enjoy your weekend too!

pauline12sg

Hi Morning !

Daisy,

Yes... hehehe... quite fast huh, so happy when my bf called to tell me the good news yesterday! I didn't get a fengshui master for a good timing to open the door, think I'll just go to my new house aft collecting the key on next sat. Hee...

mosaic_fish

Daisy.. mine is at 2pm.. wow u must be excited.. after get keys can go to your new hse .. I will then go ask my door opening date after I get my keys on Wed.. hehe.... 5 days more..

Pauline.. Congrats!.. finally your appt date is out.. hehee.. so nice is on Sat..

pauline12sg

Thanks Mosaic_fish!
I still need to take leave cos I am suppose to work on sat morning. Hee...

Anyone of u here is interested in watching badmination tournament? Final is on this coming Sunday. A pity that our S'pore representive, Susilo, has lose to Lin Dan from China yesterday.

daisylove

Pauline,
ha ha...

Actually the best date for me and hubby to open the door is the initial appt date to get key on 07-07-2005 but I changed to 06-07-2005 as my mum is off that day. Still good lah cos the Feng Shui master said it is zhen(4) yue(4) chu(1) yi(1), just happens to be a good day too, so I will open the door on 06-07-2005

I like to play badminton (not playing with the game rules lah :p) but have never really sat down to watch a badminton tournament. Hey, may be next time we can all go play badminton together

Mosaic_fish,
Yah, very excited
I read that we must buy the fire insurance and get the certificate at 2nd storey before we register ourselves at 1st storey and we cannot be more than 30 mins late right? Now I stress liao... don't know if I can reach there and do all these things in time. If my appt is at 9.10 am, then I must go earlier to buy the fire insurance and register before 9.10 am right? Don't know if HDB opens that early or not, I will go check later

mosaic_fish

Daisy, I heard abt that we need to buy the fire insurance first.. but I dunno izzit must get it done b4 our appt time or not. hmmm.. But tink HDB is open early bcos there is a timeslot at 8.10am.

pauline12sg

Daisy & Mosaic_fish,

Think I know why already... (I just chk e HDB website). For the sales customer service, it is open at 8am. Some depts open at 8.30am.

brambles

hey ladies, does any one of u have the list of defects that we shld look out for at our new unit?

for those who's gone into ur unit to take a look, did u girls notice any defects?

any specific places or things that we shld be looking out for when checking for defects?

mosaic fish, yes need to buy fire insurance 1st b4 taking a queue no to get ur keys. fire insurance on 2nd floor. shld be quite fast

bbnn

Fire insurance is $9 for 5 room.
Cover only structural damage and things installed by HDB.
For coverage on personal items and renovation, you have to buy your own fire insurance.

bbnn

Things to pay when collect keys.
Fire Insurance : $9 (By Cash)
SCC Fees : $63.5 x 3mths = $190.50 (By Cash/NETS)

Balance 10% down payment for flat by CPF for fiance/finacee scheme.
1st month down payment for flat if using CPF loan.
HPS premium if using CPF loan.(A kind of insurance)

daisylove

Hi Mosaic_fish & Pauline,
thanks for checking, yah I will be there earlier to buy the fire insurance first

Brambles,
I also dunno what to look out for yet but I will be able to update u after my appt next Wed

BBNN,
thanks for the summary of things to bring on appt day. The letter is so thick and I haven't really looked through in details yet, only know that fire insurance must buy before registering

I'm thinking of buying home insurance from insurance company instead of the HPS from HDB. Think the home insurance bought from insurance company covers more, have u all thought about this?

I'm just going to buy whatever HDB ask me to buy. I believe HPS is for the event of death of one of the owners? E.g. if my husband passes away suddenly the cost of the flat will be borne by the insurance?

Anyway, anyone here plays basketball or follows the NBA? We do.
We've stopped playing for a while now though. My husband enjoys watching soccer and playing it when he can. I don't think he can play badminton due to a bad shoulder and I just can't play racquet games.

So exciting, everyone's gonna see their flats soon!

trekkerb

Sorry, been busy at work.

I got the following:

Hob - Delizia LC 934 AV (comes in white or black)
Hood - Delizia Aqua 90
Oven - Ariston FB 51.2

Anyone got the sofa from Luxurhome??
http://www.luxurhome.com
would like to know the price. Looking for a 3+2 fabric sofa.

bbnn

The HPS insurance is a must buy if we are taking loan from HDB.
The Home Protection Scheme is a mortgage reducing insurance that protects you and your family against losing your home should you become physically/mentally incapacitated or pass away before your housing loans are paid up.(Text lift from CPF website)

This is the website to calculate the HPS premium.
http://www.cpf.gov.sg/cpfhsg/hsggoto.asp?page=https://www.cpf.gov.sg/cpf_trans/ssl/bo/hps_inp.asp

HPS Information
http://www.cpf.gov.sg/cpf_info/goto.asp?page=/cpf_info/publication/hprotection.asp

How much must I be insured under HPS? (point 2)
CPF recommends the coverage should match the proportion you are paying for your monthly housing instalments (including CPF savings and/or cash).

IMHO, if possible, the cover for both spouse should be 100% each, making the coverage to be 200% in total.
This is becos in the event of a spouse pass away, the other party will not need to pay anymore as both are insured for 100% coverage for the loan amount.

The HPS premium payable is determined by age & sex of the person to be insured. This means guys pay more than gals and the older you are, the more you have to pay.

Base on a guy age 32, loan amt $123k for 12 yrs loan, the HPS Premium Payable(Annual) is $107++ for 9 yrs.

As you can see, it is acutally quite affordable.

trekkerb

BBNN,

I did mine in abt 40 mins including queueing to pay for the town council fees. (excluding Fire insurance, getting the blueprint from another office in lvl2 & application for electricity/water.)

Just do some warm-up for your hand, got to sign tons of documents.

mosaic_fish

Hi Trekker, I am planning to order my sofa from luxurhome.. but I dunno the pricing yet... bcos depend on the leather/fabric u choose...

Hi BBNN, when is your appt? Me counting down .. 2days to go.. hehehe...

pauline12sg

Hi Morning!

There is a newly open electrical shop, BIG, at Harbour Front, Level 3. Many cheap electrical appliances out for grab now! I went there yesterday evening after watching the badminton tournament (Aviva Open) at indoor stadium. Hehe...
Do go there to take a look, the sales ends today.

bbnn

The shop is actually Safe Superstore.
The items sold there is actually more of those unheard or lesser known brands in SG.

If you are not brand conscious, can actually pick up good bargains.

They sell household items also.

daisylove

DJ & BBNN,
I heard if we buy the home insurance from insurance company, it is exactly same as HDB's and more as it will insure us, so if *touch wood*, one of the spouses pass away, not only the other does not have to pay, he or she will be insured with a sum of money. Let me find out more and update u but of course, such policy takes time to process and I'll buy HPS in the meantime when waiting for it to be ready. I've called HDB and the staff say can do so
However, fire insurance is a must but we can buy another one to cover more

Trekker,
is it a must that we must apply for gas/water/electricity during our appt day? What is the pros and cons? Thank you

Pauline,
think I can't go tonight leh.... hai... will miss the sales....

Anyone knows where I can get sofa that is of more Jap design? I have been searching around but haven't found one which is suitable for my house theme: Jap.

bbnn

Hi Daisy,

Yes, you are right. We can buy those policy from insurance company, but at what price?
Of cos, the insurance covers more than HPS but surely the premium paid will not be same as those paid on HPS.
Somemore have to pay in CASH, whereas HPS can be paid by CPF.

The purpose of HPS is to protect us in case one of our spouse met with unfortunate incident so that we do not need to worry housing loan. That's all it does, nothing more.

Of cos, we should also be adequately protected by buying life insurance if we can afford it and we should buy it when we are young as the premium is lesser.

pauline12sg

Hi Daisy,

I actually agreed with what BBNN has commented. My insurance agent asked me to buy the home insurance from him too, but I feel that the one HDB offers is good enough already.

bbnn

Hi pauline,

An additional comment to add on your point, HPS is designed to cover our housing loan only.

For other type of coverage, we should also look at whole life insurance.

For fire insurance, the $9 insurance brought from HDB covers only structural damage and items installed to the flat provided by HDB in event of fire.
For more comprehensive coverage, we should look into additional fire insurance provided by insurance company that covers our renovation items and electrical appliances.

For all info, I do not sell insurance so please dun think I am an insurance agent. :cool:

trekkerb

Daisy,

Actually, you dun have to apply on the same day. You can wait you have confirmed your ID & before the day you start renovation then activate. (Once you activate, you got to pay for the sewage fees, activate together with water.)

But on the day of the activation, you need someone to be there. The technican will come into the house to check some stuff, also to confirm the readings with you.

Mosaic,

You know the price range for LuxurHome? I saw the products online, seems good, yet to have gone down to have a proper look.

As for the insurance, I think you can buy comprehensive fire insurance @ less than $100 a year, insured up to $80,000 with the same company. (free gift is a fire extinguisher) need to dig out that phamplet.