Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

mosaic_fish

Dolphin, I am not very sure also.

BBNN, initially it stated $2.50psf.. for the $5k quote. I call to tell him his $5k quote for floor tiles is too exp.. and ask him izzit the max price i can choose is $2.50psf then I need to top up the extra if I choose tiles tat is >$2.50. Then he tell me ok he let me choose up to $3psf tile.. then if >$3 then I need to top up. I find his carpentary work is good and the cost is reasonable.. tat why my hubby and I would like him to do our hse.. didn't noe he charge so much for floor tiles.. Haiz.. really headache..

mosaic_fish

Thanks Pauline, I agreed with u.. other contractors may charge higher on other items.. I will try to tok to him again..

freshie79

My house has started cement screeding yesterday. I saw alot of SAND and cement in my unit.. i havent apply for any reno permit. Anyway my ID told me that as long as i'm not hacking any walls, i do not need to apply any permit. hmm..

Daisy - Mine aircon is non inverter.

Think the cement screeding has completed already.
Yaya.. but my uncle said that he will only start laying parquet 10 days later.. hmm..

Wow!

Things are moving quickly and it's exciting just reading about what you all are doing now.

BBNN, thank you for your detailed explanation on costs and calculation on flooring. I didn't know that google does calculations too!

Daisy, if laminate is cheaper than I think we'll do that! I asked my sis-in-law about her opinions on flooring and she told me that she didn't do laminate because she doesn't like the "fake-ness" of it. Hmm...I remember when laminate first came out in the mid-90s I thought it was great! I wonder what happened. Anyway, it's all personal opinion and I like things "cheaper". ;)

From what I read, I guess contractors don't quote based on "workmanship" and then "cost of materials". If they did that then it'll be easier for us to see what they are costing for and it'll give us more flexibility when it comes to variables like choosing tiles. I can't wait for my set of 'headache' when the time comes.

So if I do screeding in about 3 yrs time, would it still be FOC?

eugvel

wat we understand from the hdb staff when we collect our keys..as long u dont hack anything, especially e tiles in e kitchen (got waterproofing), dont ve to apply for reno permit..

hdb ve completed e screeding for us liao..will start our laying of homogenous tiles (cost abt $2k, include 600x600 tiles n skirting & labor) on monday..
thereafter will start e laminate floor to our bedrooms..need onli 2 days to complete..(will meet raymond on sat morning 25/6 @ our unit, anyone wan to meet??)..

tweetie

This thread is moving really fast and I really lost track abt it. I m also in the midst of renovation at the moment. Just cement screed yesterday for my 3 bedrooms.

There is something I must warn you. Please tell the HDB contractor not to use the toilet to do any washing or cleaning coz my whole house's toilet is in a mess now. The workers actually cleaned their cement filled pails and tools in the toilet which might eventually caused the piping to be clogged up when the cement solidies.

We are v unhappy with this and they actually spoil the sewerage lid in my kitchen toilets as well. The whole toilet is so messy now.....

mosaic_fish

Hi Vel, very nice of u to invite us all.. thanks.. this sat i got something..

Hi Tweetie, wah.. tat is bad.. thanks for sharing.. i must take note of tis..

daisylove

Erica,
oic...
By the way, ur uncle waits 10 days later because he needs to ensure the cement is dry before he lays the parquet or else the moisture (evaporation from cement) trapped inside after he lays the parquet will spoil the parquet and cause a lot of problem

DJ,
wood laminate is slightly cheaper but will be more difficult to maintain compared to tiles, so I'm still seriously considering whether it's a good idea to do wood laminate in the living room. In the 3 bedrooms is no issue but hubby loves wood laminate for living room as well, so hai.... still thinking now

By the way, I have helped u make enquiry whether it is still FOC if u do cement screeding in 3 yrs time. The HDB officer said she would find out and call me back after 2 pm today. When I know, I will post her reply here

VeL,
I would love to meet up but we just rejected offer from Raymond, so not nice to meet him in person. We've decided to let our ID do the job but he's also getting the wood laminate from Supreme
Hee.... may be after ur floor is done

Tweetie,
thanks for highlighting this. I will also take note
Did u ask them to wash for u? If really spoil, will they compensate? Think u should clarify this with them, cannot be us paying for the damage they do right?

pauline12sg

Hi Mosaic_fish, Daisy & Mudpie,

Don't know when will be our turn to collect keys... Can't wait already! Heehee...
293570.gif

Really hope that we are able to start e renov before chinese 7th mth.

daisylove

Hi VeL,
my ID is also able to negotiate to get that rate from Supreme, so in the end, Hubby decided that in that case, we let our ID do the job but the wood laminate will still be ordered from Supreme
By the way, does the $4.50 psf Raymond quoted u include GST? My ID says he will charge GST to $4.50 psf when he gives us the quotation.

eugvel

daisy,

nope..gst ve to be charged separately cos they r gst registered..so u getting 8mm or 12mm?? any underlay for 8mm??

daisylove

Pauline, Mosaic_fish & Mudpie,
I've just called HDB. Sad to know that we can only receive the letter to get our key in July and most probably get our key end of July. Then if we start the reno before 5 Aug (first day of Chinese 7th mth), we can continue the reno for the rest of the Chinese 7th mth. If can't, then have to delay reno for 1 mth even after we have our key....
293588.gif
But for my case I still have to ask Feng Shui Master to see the house and then ID may need time to adjust his design, don't know will have enough time to do the first knocking to start of the reno or not. Feeling a bit disappointed that ours take so long....

DJ,
HDB officer replied and said that we need to do the cement screeding within a few weeks after our key collection. For your case of doing cement screeding in 3 yrs' time, it will no longer be FOC then. I asked her what is the exact period we must do cement screeding, she was not sure, just repeated only a few weeks. I'm thinking u may need to try to appeal and see if they will allow exception for your case

VeL,
yah, mine same here, also will count GST separately. ID is my hubby's friend and he keeps lowering the price to get us use his service, so we decided to let him do since his rate will be same as Raymond's. I'll be getting 8 mm with 2 rubber layers. How abt u?

mosaic_fish

Hi Pauline, Daisy and Mudpie.. yah sian to keep waiting.. tink another wk more then the keys will be hand over to HDB(if tat guy at the site is telling me the truth)... I have alot of things to do but all on hold bcos haven't got my keys.. Need to see fengshui also ... haiz.. headache..

Have u all went to see lights for your hse? Any good tips and findings to share?

pauline12sg

Mosaic_fish,

I went to Balestier Rd 2 weeks ago, didn't commit myself to anything yet, just did some window shopping for some lightings ideas. There are alot of shops, most of them are very friendly & helpful. Do go there for a nice window shopping 1st! Can learn alot of things from them too!

Btw, wanna recommend the cinema at Shaw Plaza at Balestier Rd. Nice place, cosy, looks new, not crowded (cos not many ppl go there for movies) Kekeke... My bf & I watched Mr & Mrs Smith that day when we went shopping for lights. We enjoyed it!
But movie tickets are exp now, $9.50 for wkends. Tuesday went to watch Batman also need $7 leh. Aiyoyo...

mosaic_fish

Pauline, thanks! Are the lights there nice? Maybe this weekend I will go down to Balestier Rd to do window shopping and take note of the cinema u mention.

eugvel

daisy,

ours will be 8mm (like e smooth surface one n not e 12mm w grooveline, diff to maintain), plus underlay to make up to 12mm inorder to overcome e hollow feeling...

daisylove

Pauline, Mosaic_fish & Mudpie,
the estimated period to get key i.e. end of July is given for Blk 152, not sure if Blk 153 is the same.....

daisylove

I haven't really sourced for any lightings yet... also not sure where is a good place to start with but will go to Balestier as what Pauline suggested

VeL,
hee... think ours will be the same. Our ID said add another layer of rubber to make it like 12 mm type to reduce the hollow feeling too

pauline12sg

Hi Mosaic_fish & Daisy,

Balestier Rd is famous for lightings shop, u can find all sorts of lights down there. Trust me, u can actually spend a whole afternoon there just to see the lights! Chan Huat is good, they have many branches at Balestier Rd, but their pricing is slightly more exp than some of the shops there. I planned to buy my lightings & ceiling fan from Chan Huat. Reason is I can trust their quality! I can tell u that, once I saw XXX lighting shop (Don't want to name it) using spray paint for their lights! What does it mean?? XXX lighting shop is not honest!! From that day onwards, I don't have good impression of them. So gals, pls be careful of some of the lighting shops.

pauline12sg

Hi Mosaic_fish,

Maybe I'll be getting those 3-blades wan for my living room. 3-blades ceiling fan has 4 control speed, since all our new flat doesn't come with high ceiling, it should be quite windy enough. Somemore, our living room is facing the road, more windy. U planning to buy ceiling fan for ur room or living room?

daisylove

Trekker,
u must have gotten ur key!
Which blk are u at?

Pauline,
thanks for the recommendation, this weekend very busy, got a birthday celebration to attend on Sat and a wedding to attend on Sun, so have to schedule next weekend to go and take a look then

mosaic_fish

Pauline, r u doing any false ceiling in your living rm? I ask a shop b4.. The owner say is better to mount the fan on the real ceiling bcos more stable.. and HDB ceiling is not very high like u say.. But if not doing false ceiling.. then will have problem deciding where to put the living rm lights.

daisylove

Hi neighbours at Blk 152,
one HDB officer just called me, she said she had received the keys for our blk and now processing letters. We should be receiving the letter soon and most probably can collect our keys early next mth, yeah so excited!
Wonder why the other HDB officer who called me yesterday said end of Jul.... Anyway, watch out for letter this week or next week! :D

daisylove

Mosaic_fish & Pauline,
I'm also doing false ceiling and also heard that ceiling fan will not be suitable, so have put that thought away. I'll be getting standing fan. Nowadays, the design of the standing fan is rather presentable, I don't mean those big bulky ones, I mean those cylindrical and slim type. I'll be getting this type, think easier to wash too

pauline12sg

Hi Daisy,

So coincidence... I am attending a wedding dinner this coming Sun too!
There is another wan on next Wed.

Hi Mosaic_fish,

I am not doing false ceiling in the living room where I will be placing my ceiling fan. I am doing L-Box. Have ur contractor proposed to u the lightings design layout? U are right, we can't mount e ceiling fan on false ceiling, v dangerous, not stable wan.

daisylove

Pauline,
I called HDB yesterday to ask how come my blk so late no news, not even any letter regarding the mortgage loan and told them I hope to renovate my house before Chinese 7th mth. Hence, the lady whom I spoke to said she would get the relevant HDB officer to reply me

My mortgage loan is already approved, now have to wait for the letter to come. HDB only received our keys yesterday and rectifications to any defects are already completed

Hee.... really a coincidence!

mosaic_fish

Daisy I just go login to HDB to check.. the status is COMPLETED!!

Pauline u wan to login to check?? see if yours also completed already?

trekkerb

Hi Pauline & Daisy,

Not really new here, juz did not posted b4.

I'm @ blk 151. Got my keys last Friday. Yet to decide on the ID but in the final stages already. Having a big headache on deciding.

pauline12sg

Hi Mosaic_fish,

Thanks! I will go chk later!
Hopefully I can see the same message as u did!

Hi Trekker,

Think I will be having headache soon, tomo gonna meet up with my contractor.

Hi Erica,

Heehee... Maybe like what u have said, it might be the same wedding couple!
If not, most likely 26th June 2005 is a good date for marriage.

daisylove

Hi Pauline & Erica,
mine is at a Chinese Restaurant at Orchid Country Club, same?

Mosaic_fish,
thank you! I'm so excited now, must go and check mine later

Trekker,
welcome, our new neighbour!

Remember not to just focus on the quotation, u must also see whether u feel comfortable with the ID and whether the ID is reliable and honest, these are important factors in deciding on the ID as well. Good luck!

Hello Daisy,

Thank you for finding out about the Cement Screeding for me!
So nice of you to do that.
We'll be collecting our keys end of the year, hopefully when the officer said "a few weeks from key collection", it's a relative thing! HAha...that means we'll just have to do the cement screeding a few weeks from OUR key collection... and we'll probably do it early Jan.

I'm glad that you are collecting your keys soon. FINALLY! Ya, Balestiar is a good place to look for lights. I used to work with a company called Light Craft. I think it's in the Lavender/Beach Road area. Here's the website: http://www.lightcraft.com.sg/ I dealth with them on a "corporate" basis, but from their website, it seems that they deal with end-users as well. Have a look and see. Also, around that area is a whole row of lighting shops. I can't remember if that's considered the Balastiar area... but it's that general direction.

Daisy, I might just go for laminate for the whole apt. I've been living with parquet for most of my life and I don't think it's difficult to maintain. And I think the impression I get here is that parquet and laminate is considered equally difficult to maintain? I like the fact that laminate doesn't have grooves/grout. Easier on the magicmop. ;)

Enjoy reading all your updates
Learning as I read along. Thank you!

pauline12sg

Hi Morning!

Daisy, mine is at Qian Xi restaurant near Farrer Park MRT Station, not the same wedding couple.

DJ, thanks for the link, will go and chk it out in a short while.

pauline12sg

Hi Mudpie,

I just chk e status of our blk from HDB website, it stated that our flat is completed! Hurray!!

Hi Mosaic_fish & Daisy,

My contractor told me that the lift for blk 152 will be activate on either this coming Monday or Tuesday! Happy for u too!

mosaic_fish

Pauline, so glad your block is completed too.. so we are all getting our keys soon.. I had checked my appt date... so far no date is being assign to me yet.. Tink from Mon onwards need to constantly check the change appt webpage.. hehehe..

I haven't went to Balestier yet.. last min something pop up.

DJ thanks for the Lightcraft website... will check up later..

esp

for taps and accessories can check out jalan besar.. just went furniture shopping with my ID. seems like good deals ard. BTW, anyone of you went for harvey norman removal sale at raffles city? went for lorenzo to see their bedframes and sofa. really nice but a little over budget for me.

calbee

Hi Daisy,

You mentioned before Fisher & Paykel washing machine is good, right? You've been using F&P washing machine? In what way is it good?

I'm considering buying one too. F&P has 2 models (Smart Drive-GWM12 & Intuitive Eco-IWM12). Anyone can advise which model is better?

btw, yesterday i saw some workers bringing down the blockings outside blk 152 (along main road).

g_apple

Hi all Neighbour at 152.
Log on to HDB Info web and check your appt date.. is out. My is Early Jul.. Yippee!

I hv been following this thread but unable to post any thing due to restriction by office network.

Welcome to Rivervale Crescent!!