Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

esp

Hi Brambles,

Thanks for the update. I went down over the weekends too. Yes, they did not changed the date on the board.

yellow

The new construction firm Sim Lian had changed the contract period stated at the Site board to 23th April 2005.

brambles

hi yellow, u went down to have a look? i was there early Feb too but works seem to be progressing at snail-speed

nemo_sg2004

I am new to this tread. I am also one of those affected by the contractor issue in Rivervale. My unit is also in Blk 154, same as brambles. So nice to know our neighours.

I went to SK yesterday to look at the flats. Blk 153 and 154 are now at level 8. The few blocks around it are higher though.

I think they are rushing to complete the project before the dateline as I see workers working at the site.

I really hope that we can collect our keys by mid 2005.

brambles

hi nemo... welcome!

finally get to know someone staying in the same block as me!

really? r they rushing to meet the deadline? if yes, that's really good news!

when i was there early Feb, this doesn't seem to be the case. in fact, dun see many pple at work. if nt for the occasional knocking sounds here n there, one would hv think there no one's working there.

same here, i oso do hope that they can complete it soon. in fact, i'm hoping they can give us the keys by early 05. hehehe...

so nemo, r u married oredi?

nemo_sg2004

Hi brambles,
My customary is in Dec 04. I see you in the Dec 04 brides tread too.

I also have given up on HDB on this project. They are not responsive to our queries at all. What makes me really anrgy is that they do not even inform us when the contractors are into financial difficulties. We, the house owners, have to read it from the newspaper!

There are progress on the site, but the progress is very slow. Usually, there are no work done on sundays, but yesterday, I do see people working. Only 3 person are working on 154! Maybe it is a weekend and most workers are off.

piper

I've booked for a unit at block 155. I've not been to the site since last november.....

Does the website have an updated EDC?

brambles

hi nemo... yah... i'm a Dec04 bride. believe hv nt spoken to u b4?
so when's ur AD?

it's def good news to know that they r working on sunday as well
like u, i've given up on HDB liao. so where will u be staying after ur wedding? i'm prob gonna rent a unit. how bout u?

hi piper... nice to know another neighbour
nt sure if the website has any updated ECD but the updated ECD is indicated on the board at the construction site itself, which is 23Apr05...

yellow

I am also keeping my fingers cross that they will provide us some good news. I think we will be seeing progress for the next few months, usually construction work will be affected during year end (Rainy season) and New year period (Long holiday break).

brambles

hello yellow... yah, do hope wat u've said is true loh. hv been down to the site a couple of times but always went back v disappointed

piper

hiaz.....so long as we do not receive another letter from HDB to inform us of another delay, we should be thankful.

brambles

hi piper, sincerely hope that the nx letter that i receive frm HDB would be to inform us of key collection. hahaha *keep fingers crossed*

hi yellow... btw, which blk r u at?

do u all think that it's a little too early to go source for reno contractors?

piper

hello brambles....

I think it's a bit too early now. We don't even know how thick is the wall & wat kind of decor we want to put against which wall.

I tot I can wait until I've collected my keys before I start sourcing for designers & contractors.

elaine77

Im glad that this thread has revived again..
when i happened to saw this thread in the afternoon yesterday. I have also got a flat, blk 155 same as piper.. we are neighbours.. hehe.
My hubby has been monintoring the site since the started work, i think they have been working quite late after the CNY, my hubby friends staying right opposite complaint that its very noisy sometimes at night till 9pm.. but during the weekend, its extremely noisy. But noisy means they are working which means.. good to us.. hehhe..hopefully dun need to wait so long.

brambles, im having my AD on next yr Feb. You were saying that u might rent a flat but that will have extra cost, i know that HDB will rent to us a flat 40% cheaper then market price but subject to approval. Where do you intend to rent?

yellow, do not be worried,just pray hard that there will be no delay, if not i will go HDB to complain!

piper, theres a ECD date on the website stated is 2nd quarter of 2005. Den the HDB pple also funny,that malay guy attend to me sounds so unwillingly to answer my qns, i ask him will it delay again, he say 'not very sure', i ask why theres 2 ECD date.. he also say 'dun know'.. aiya.. den HDB employ them to solve our problem or just say 'dun know'

piper

Hello Elaine,

As least u managed to speak to someone. I can never find the officer that was assigned to us.

Then 1 day, I got so mad that when the person who picked up the phone wanted to transfer me to the assigned officer, I told her off - saying that the officer don't "cho gang". Leave him voicemail - no reply. Called him on weekday, he's either not at his desk or on the line. Call him on weekend, it's his day off. Very sickening attitude!

I've more or less given up hope. Now just wait when they want to hand over the keys over to us lor....earlier or later also makes no diff to me liao coz I'm oredi staying with my in-laws.

brambles

hi elaine, i'm oso v glad that this thread is revived. nice to know u girls cuz we're all in the same boat... n we can all keep each other updated on the construction status. better still, nx time can all meet to go for breakfast together. hahaha... how nice!

it's definitely good news to know that it's noisy @ the site. juz hope n pray that no more delays.

gals... if i'm nt wrong, the legally binding completion date is nov/dec 2005. so no matter wat, we shld be able to get our keys b4 that. otherwise, we can demand compensation frm HDB...

elaine, yah. i will most prob take up the transitional housing that HDB is offering. i hv already made some enquiries. currently, the rental units that are available r located at hougang. but surprisingly, it is nt offered to us at 40% discount. the rental rate is the same as wat they r offering to others. i might hv to go find all the newspaper reports that mention the 40% discount n go down to HDB to show it to them.

so if based on the current ECD, where will u be staying after ur wedding?

i've also given up on HDB. they r simply v inefficient.

bugs

hi brambles ,
i didn't know that u r getting a flat near my place after came into this thread. my place just near the temple . u recieved my email?

bugs

dear brambles i just send u another email. my place is at 158. completed 2 yrs ago, i bought it during last yrs during WIS. most of the flat already taken up .

brambles

alamak... bugs, dun hv leh. how? big file rite? ermm... try this instead? [email protected]

sorry to trouble u and thanks again

bugs, how do u find the place so far? convenient? rivervale mall seems to be going thru a huge 'makeover'. lotsa shops nt there anymore...

bugs

brambles 1 try 2 times but just can't get through ur mail box. i will try again.... busy with my tests coming next week.
hai.... rivervale mall only NTUC and food court are making $$$,but the food there not nice. and the shops there doesn't seems to interest me at all, maybe Sakae sushi which is opening soon may bring more customer. i find that LRT and MRT is the only transport becos only 1 bus travel along that road.

brambles

bugs... it's okie. juz realised that i've ur email in my inbox. kept checking my hotmail a/c n din realise that i've ur email in the yahoo a/c. pai seh

yah... this rivervale mall is quite boring. is the LRT n MRT v packed in the mornings?

bugs

Er... MRT in the morning sure have seats towards town . LRT no problem, compare to MRT from ang mo kio to town r always packed. by the way where r u staying now?

esp

This is dolphin here dropping by to say hi..
Kinda very sian abt the whole issue.. so not intending to mention much abt it. Friends and relatives kept asking us if our flat is here .. So sian until i told them that HDB does not wana burden us. It is really a sad thing not having a place of your own, especially if you not on good terms with your with ils and when you had a fight with fh not knowing where he has gone to... Things are fine for me except that rather grumpy abt the long wait.

brambles

hi dolphin, u're staying wif ur ILs now? hope u're feeling better now?
cheer up. little conflicts wif ILs may be inevitable when staying together. juz give n take a little loh. juz hope n pray that we can get the keys end this yr or early nx yr? btw, which blk hv u selected?

me oso v xian bout this thing. v demoralising to hear my parents or my hubby's parents tell us that our flat doesn't seem to be 'growing taller' (they drive by sometimes). sigh!

hey bugs... hows the progress there now? v heavy rain these few days. suppose it's moving v slow again?

brambles

nemo... nt yet. but mite be popping by this wkend. itching to see how 'tall' they've 'grown'. will update u gals when i return frm my visit

but... dun hold too high hopes, in case u get really disappointed! any specific blks u gals want me to check on?

esp

Hi Brambles,

I am fine. Thanx for your concern. I pop by on sat. The warning lights (on the crane) for the air traffic is still on. I was there ard 9.30pm. Grown taller by a few cm lor. I think the last time i saw was Level 10 half completed. On sat, it was covered up with netting, guess it was completed. I am at Blk 156.

brambles

dolphin, glad to know that u're ok
so i supposed u've oredi gone thru ur customary? my wedding is end of this year. so v xian bout the whole thing when i got to know bout the delay

lvl 10? really? which blk is that? the last time i saw, most of the blks were only on avge at lvl 8

nemo_sg2004

Hi brambles,

It seems like those blocks in the centre (153, 154)is growing at a slower speed. Those by the side at much taller.

piper

hello brambles,

Can help me check out my blk 155? My SIL says it's only abt 7 or 8 storey high last week

brambles

nemo... yah. i think so too. the last time i went, i 'surveyed' the blks behind (same row as the multi-storey carpark) and they were already like at lvl 9 while my blk is forever stuck at lvl 7.5

think when u gals get ur keys, i'll still be waiting

piper, no prob! i'll check n let u know!

bugs

hey girls u all r back to this thread, ya those blk facing the road had reach level 8 when i drove pass last week. i would rather the contractors take their time and do a good job, if not when u move in than problem starts to come up such as cracks on the wall etc. then big problem liao.

brambles

hi bugs... thanks for the update!

wow, lvl 8? means it grew only 0.5 lvl in a month? hehe... but i agree wif u. it's better that they take their time n do a better job. but still 'gan cheong' leh. hehehehe

piper

hi brambles,

did u check out the flat last nite? if now it's lvl 8, tat means it got abt another 50% to go leh.....seems like a long wait hor....

but like wat u all have said, better do a good job. I dun wan to appear in the papers due to shabby works.....

brambles

hey gals, was there last wkend, here's the status...

blk 152 - lvl 9.5
blk 153 - lvl 8
blk 154 - lvl 9.5
blk 155 - lvl 9.5
blk 156 - lvl 11.5

pls note that i'm taking the highest pt of the blk to gauge the level. therefore, other areas of each blk mite be slightly lower

when i was there on saturday night, can still c pple working at blk 153 and 154

hi bugs... thanks for the update!

piper

brambles,

thanks for the detailed update

Now we gotta monitor the progress & see how fast they are constructing.....

nemo_sg2004

hi brambles,

Thanks for the update. They still have another 50% to build.

My level is still not built yet... How about yours?

jc_makeup

Hi all to-be neighbours. Glad that the constuction work has resumed but that also means that it's bringing more dirt to my home hahhaha.
By the way, juz curious, what are the altnatives given to you ppl when the original ECD was not fulfilled?

brambles

hi piper, yeah. am crossing my fingers. they really do seem to be speeding up

nemo, mine oso nt built yet. hehe...

shall we compile a list of who stays in which blk? hehe... nx time, we can all meet n go for kopi together
i'll start first

blk 154 - brambles

hi jc, where r u staying?
the alternatives offered to us was transitional housing n if u dun wanna wait, u can do a re-selection

brambles

hiya, now den hv the time to really sit down to 'talk' n look thru the archive to see who stays in which blk...

here goes...

blk 152 - yellow
blk 154 - brambles, nemo
blk 155 - elaine77
blk 156 - dolphin

if i've missed out anyone, pls feel free to add urself in

nemo, which lvl r u at? mine lvl has 2 digits

piper

here's my input

blk 152 - yellow
blk 154 - brambles, nemo
blk 155 - elaine77, piper
blk 156 - dolphin

we are 2 people shy of setting 2 mj tables

brambles

hi piper, oops, missed out ur blk!

hahaha... u're rite! 2 more n we can set up 2 mahjong tables liao! but i can't really play, v lousy. hehehe