Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

tulip_76

Hi DJ

Thanks for the information. Will try to check it out with my ID

mosaic_fish

Hi everyone, I went to the showcase yesterday.. there are 3 laminate flooring companies there. Supreme, Kronotex and Pergo.

Pauline and Mudpie, both of u confirm taking Supreme? The sales person explain to us tat not all their ranges are having the 5 times water resistant hardwood fibreboard. He also mention is better to get the package with them then thru contractors bcos contractors may tell u all are water resistant. The contractor may mark up the prices too. Supreme have their own experienced installers, but contractors can ask their own workers to do your laminate flooring. Their laminate, the top material is from Germany, the middle part is made by them in Malaysia using Tropical Hardwood. Their warranty is Lifetime. He is giving me a special price at $4.50 psf and no hidden cost, this includes door trimming and skirting. His name is Shawn Lim. He is very helpful. The exhibition ends next sun 19 Jun. You may like to go down and take a look.

Just to share, I check out Kronotex new 10mm Engineering Floor. The laminate are beautiful.. look like natural wood and give me a feeling of European hse flooring..but only 4 designs and is very exp.. is ard $16 psf.. According to the Sales person.. the surface is tougher, but water resistant tink is the same as others. The 12mm is really thicker and some design come with the sound proof. There are 7 designs(there are new designs coming soon) and pricing is ard $6.80psf.. All their laminate is made in Germany. The warranty for 8mm is 10yrs, 12mm and 10mm is 15yrs... For Kronotex their package is not in term of psf.. is a package like Living rm + 3 bedrooms, 3 bedrooms, 2 bedrooms etc....

As for Pergo, I check with the sales person, are their flooring from Malaysia or China. They say they have a range from Malaysia at $4.50 psf... the rest are all made in Sweden... range $5.60-$8.10. They claim tat their wood are environmental friendly unlike other brands.. so is safer for children. Their top material have a few layers.. unlike other brands is having 2 layers, thus is more tougher.. Their 9 and 11mm are sound proof. Their warranty is 50 yrs.

calbee

Hi tulip_76,

Thanks. Managed to get my water

My ID says the metal could be removed. Alternatively, it can also be boxed up.

esp

orith, mine is 90sqm. I am also engaging a FS master. Becos of my frd contact the FS ask me to give him a red packet will do.

Calbee, the metal gas heater thing can be removed but the two hole cannot be remove but can be covered up with two "caps" BTW, has anyone of you manage to find defects such as empty tiles in the kitchen or floor ? My parents went over to view and say got abt 2pc like that. but my ID says its okay if its not a lot. if more than 50% then must ask hdb to hack and redo else if only one or two pc then hack will "punture" the whole strength of the tiles.

piper

hello everyone,

went to view the house on sat. We also have a hard time trying to locate the water switch. Then luckily, the PUB guy was there to take the readings...so we asked him to help us on the water as well

Found 2 defects so far - mr MBR window's lock is spoil & the one of the doors outside our house cannot be closed (not the electricity & gas door; can't remember the name of tat door). Maybe when we go up again next week, we'll peel our eyes open for more defects.

Hello DJ,

Sorry, I din read ur posting in time. So i did not take any pic tat u mentioned. I've take 2 pics of the rooftop garden though. Quite nice. I'll try to upload it later.

pauline12sg

Hi Mosaic_fish,

Thanks for ur detailed description! Yes, I'll be using "Supreme" laminate wood. Will try to go down to the exhibition this coming weekends! Erm... $4.50 psf is quite reasonable, but is it the highest range, middle range or lowest range?

piper

sorry ladies,

my card reader spoilt...so cannot upload the pics today.

Will try other means to upload the pics....hopefully before end of this week.

daisylove

just to update my neighbours at Blk 152... the metal grilles are up already
According to the renovators at Blk 150, HDB will send people to expect our blk soon and if it passes the check, think we hear news of receiving the key soon

One renovator brought me to a unit he was renovating and told me that the metal pipe thing in the kitchen can only be shortened and capped, not totally removed. He said we can actually write in to HDB to request for removal of the metal grilles. Have any of those who have gotten the key done so? I think I will give it a try

I also went to the Suntec exhibition. Wow, Mosaic_fish... there was this salesperson who was very cunning. At first he quoted the 12 mm laminate wood at $4.80 psf but then lower it to $4.50 psf and said esp for me but I can't tell others that he will be giving me this rate and I must definitely look for him in order to get this rate cause his other colleagues will not be able to sign off this rate for us. After I see ur post today, I have second thoughts abt going back to this salesperson if I want to do wood laminate. It's not the same salesperson as who you mentioned here.

There's another company which sell Excel or Poliface wood laminate and they claim that theirs are anti-water wood laminate and have been scientifically proven and they got certificate from PSB. However, Supreme salesperson said how could any wood laminate be anti-water and dismissed whatever that company mentioned. Aiyo.... listen until I blur liao, each claiming they are the best. However, I find that Supreme gives the most reasonable price lor. Never buy $2+ psf as these wood laminate come from China and some of my friends who did that really regret it. May be it's of a lower quality and creates more hollow sound.

mosaic_fish

Hi Pauline, the $4.50 is the Hardwood Fibreboard tat is 5 times water resistant range which only available in 8mm. They have other ranges like the normal range, swiss floor and 12mm range..I forget their pricing.. the 12mm is not using the 5 times water resistant Hardwood Fibreboard.. He say tat is imported from Germany..

Daisy.. THANK YOU... tat is good news.. hope they do the inspection asap.. then we can get our keys..

The $4.50 I mention is 8mm.. i can't remember the pricing for the 12mm one.. But did he show u a list of prices? Shawn show us a price list for this exhibition.. and it is written $4.50. The other 2 companies u mention I didn't notice at the exhibition.. I was there quite late tat day.. then go directly to these 3 companies..

calbee

Hi Piper,

One of my bedrooms window lock also spoilt. The window frame got scratches some more!

You said your gas and water door cannot close right? I encountered the same problem. But you just need to press the small little metal thingy underneath the door lock to solve the problem. Try and see if it works?

piper

hi calbee...

I din even notice got scratch or not....I just made sure that all the locks are working etc. Maybe the 2nd visit....I'll look out for more defects. I'll also go & try to close tat door...if not, we'll call the HDB guy over & ask them to close

daisylove

Thanks, Mosaic_fish,

so which is better hah, the 8 mm or 12 mm?

how come there are still defects after HDB has inspected before we get the keys? Is it because they only do random checks?

mosaic_fish

Daisy, for Supreme the 8mm is better bcos of the water resistant. But it does have the hollow feeling. Did u see the Kronotex 12mm?? U interested in tat one?? They quote me abt $6.80psf. There is 2 colours with the sound proof and the feeling of walking on it is better than 8mm.. My hubby say Kronotex 12mm is not bad.. So will u prefer a thicker laminate or u feel the water resistant is more impt?

piper

hello ladies,

managed to get my card reader to work.

Here's some pictures to share with u all.

This is the roof top garden

291025.jpg

this is the view from my living room
291026.jpg

this is the view from my bedroom
291027.jpg

mosaic_fish

Hi Piper, thanks... wah so good that your views can see far.. nothing blocking ... I thout the grills are cross types... so only vertical.. dun really look nice..

daisylove

Hi Mosaic_fish,

both seem important leh... hai... really dunno which one to choose liao
291049.gif
The salesperson at Supreme told me that the "timber strip" laminate only has the 12 mm but soft wood, so resistant not as good as 8 mm with hard wood but my hubby likes the "timber strip" kind. He said if we use 8 mm, there is a foam below which is around 1 mm and he will add 3 mm rubber, so all in all about 12 mm too which can also reduce the hollow feeling almost equivalent to the 12 mm type. Both got pros and cons...
I find the Kronotex one too exp! It's abt $2 price diff psf! :p

Piper,

wow.... ur view is beautiful! Thanks for the pictures, esp the view on the roof top of the carpark. I haven't seen it personally but from your pic, I can see that it's beautiful as well!
Actually my hubby said next time we can go to the field to fly kites
Are u going to try to request HDB to remove the metal grilles in the living room windows? I will try to do it, hopefully HDB will approve

piper

hello mosaic fish & daisy,

the field is actually a reserved site for school. So gotta enjoy this fantastic view before the construction starts.

Daisy, u mean we can request to remove the grills? I thot it can't be done....so din even bother to ask HDB. U find out liao, then let us know okie?

daisylove

Piper,
I don't know but one renovator at Blk 150 said we could actually request from HDB to have them remove and should be approved. My own ID said can't but I'm going to get him to help me with the procedures to request when I get my key, this is for sure as I really dislike the metal grilles! Will let u all know again if I get a confirmed answer

daisylove

Piper,

yippee! Got a sch nearby then our children don't have to travel far liao unless we enrol them to reputable schools :p

mosaic_fish

Piper.. actually there is 2 schools nearby our estate.. I am wondering HDB will still build another school there ... maybe in another few yrs time... if so then u can enjoy the open spaces for many yrs.. hehee..

freshie79

Hello all.. so glad that we are so happy and excited over our new houses.
Has anyone started renovation? Anyone submitted the defects list and apply for cement screeding?

Wow, I didn't know that there are so many defects to find! Very soon I'll have to start compiling what you've written so that I can go to my apt with a list in hand.

Piper, your view is very nice....so open. Mine will be a view of my neighbour's apt!

Interesting discussion on the laminate flooring. I don't really know what to think about it right now. Guess have to wait till we get back then think about it again. Let us Bai Fang (visit) you, okay?

esp

i will be starting on the 23 jun. defects is quite minor and we did not report any. Have a few hollow wall tiles but as advised by my ID that a few its okay dun change in case it punture the strength of the other tiles. We are planning to overlay the kitchen tiles.

BTW, i had received fruit basket from HDB on sunday anyone of you guys received that also ?
The fruit basket items you can use for door opening. I received after i open door.

tarepiggy

Hi Mosaic_fish, ya, most likely i'll be getting Supreme for our laminate flooring, hv frens who got them & gave good review.

Hey Piper, thanks for the pix ... hmm...i dun like the metal grille either =( But most likely i'll keep it lor ...since i hv intention to install metal grilles to the windows (advised by parents ... in case next time got children lah bla bla)... hee

Pauline, when's our turn to get our key huh? Was hoping that it'll be this Jun hols while i'm not so bz ... so disappointed!

Dolphin, u mean HDB so nice, send fruit basket? was it sent to ur new flat or ur current mailing addy?

orith

Hello all
Just to let u know that, my contractor will be starting work today...hehee...so excited

Let's share with each other ok?

piper

Hello Dolphin,

U really received the fruit basket from HDB? I tot my hubby was pulling my leg when he told me HDB will be sending us a fruit basket. They shud have presented us with the fruit basket when we went to collect the keys...

Hello mudpie....I also dun like the grills. Maybe when we have a kid then we'll think of installing grills. For the time being...gotta live with the ugly bottom grills then.

orith

Hello Dolphine and Mosaic

We just seen the Fengshui master yesterday (someone recommended in this forum). He seems quite good.

So gotta make some changes to my initial layout design.

pauline12sg

Hi Orith,

Thks!!

Hi Mudpie,

Erm... How I wish I can get the keys by end of this month! Heard that we might get it next month leh...
I am intending to install the metal grilles now too, cos planning to have BB after my AD. Kekeke...

mosaic_fish

Hi, wow... fruit basket from HDB... hehehe.. quite surprise to know tat..

Orith.. is there any weird layout tat your fengshui master required u to have?? Very fast u started your renov.. dunno when will be my turn.. haiz...

daisylove

Mudpie,
do u know whether ur friend has the 8 mm or 12 mm wood laminate?

Orith,
I'm interested to get a Feng Shui master too. Do you mind sending me the particulars and rate (for 5 rm if u have) of the Feng Shui master you engage to my email add? Thank u

Wow, didn't know abt the fruit basket at all but it's really a pleasant surprise! Really looking forward to getting the key

orith

Hello Piper
Thanks so much for those pictures. The roof top garden looks nice

Are you at block 156? Which floor?

esp

ORITH, STARTING TODAY.. WAH. THATS FAST. (sorry for the caps). So you ask your ID to do a good job then can showroom for others mah. hehe
Which geomancer you seeing from this forum ? is it Master Chen at Balestier? i also search this forum for FS but in the end i took my frd FS.

I am seeing him on the 23rd for advises and made changes for my hse design if necessary.

orith

Hello Mosaic
Have you gotten your keys yet?

Mm...design wise, i want to have mirror for my bomb shelter, but the fengshui master said it's no good, coz it will reflect a bad spot. So now gonna have laminated and glass design for my bomb shelter.

Besides that, the sofa is placed at a different place. But not much of an issue la.

orith

Hello Dolphin & Daisy
I contacted Chen SiFu too. But i choose not to engage him. I ask him do i need to tell him my birth time? He says no need, just name will do. My fiance said that like that won't accurate lo.

Then i contacted another fengshui master that's recommended here. I find him quite good. I am really amazed that he can tell abt my character tho i didn't even meet him up yest morning, coz i was working then. Only my fiance and his mum met him.

orith

Hehehe..dolphin, i also never expected to be that fast. I collected my keys on last Monday, and submitted the defect list to HDB yesterday. And today start renovating. They will do the electrical wiring first.

Do you still need the fengshui master contact?

pauline12sg

Hi Calbee,

Thanks for the website!

I feel that IKEA is very innovative. Enjoying going there to see their furniture showrooms! Gives us some ideas too!
291340.gif

I love the food there too! Yummy!!

esp

orith, can send the contact to [email protected] for my info .. cos i dun remember much geomancer mention here. Femalebridesonline got quite a no though. The fruit basket is send the same week after you collect your keys. The HDB officer will ask you whose plc to send to and ask you to fill up a form with your contact no. I was surprised as the fruit basket is send without any notice. Fortunately my family is at home. Orith, you started renovation before the HDB officer come to retify the defects ? can meh ? thought you can only start reno after that since the HDB can always say its your contractors and not them who cause the defects ?

mosaic_fish

Hi Pauline, I am planning to buy an oven .. I saw Ariston oven quite nice... heard that their ovens are quite good.

Wat is the diff between a built-in oven and a conventional type?