Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

mosaic_fish

Hi Daisy, your frien is right abt keep the laminate flooring dry.. I am also in a dilemma whether to have wood or tiles for my 3 bedrooms. But my hubby really like wood flooring and it will give your hse a different feeling rather than all do tiles. I email Kronotex to enquiry abt their showcase this weekend. They reply that they are featuring their 10mm and 12mm thickness laminate, according to them the new thickness will not have the hollow feeling.. however for water resistant I tink is still the same. There is a special price package if u sign up at their showcase.

Is at Suntec Level 4 Hall 401 Booth 46.

I will be going down to take a look.. since i am considering their flooring also. Anyone interested to go??

DJ, laminate is very much more easy to maintain compare to parquet.. just that must keep it dry.. must close windows to prevent rain water.. u can use any cleaning agents on laminate too and no need polishing every few yrs.

I will let the contractor do all the work, one of my shortlisted contractors have very good carpentary work, after I see his showflat.. His pricing for carpentary work including kitchen cabinets is cheaper than other contractors. I will be doing a lot of carpentary work so I might consider him. He is also the one tat propose Kronotex flooring. As for electrical work, if the contractor charges is exp then I might consider to get another one to do for my hse.

Mosaic_fish,

How much does the carpentary work cost? How do they cost it? psf? We're trying to see what's a feasible budget to start saving.

mosaic_fish

Hi DJ, yup.. they charge by psf.. I forget how much psf but the total amt is lesser than other contractors quote me. If your wardrobe is using sliding door they will charge a bit more too.

daisylove

Hi DJ,
hee my friend is married but they haven't got any child yet. Just that they feel they have to be super careful with everything they do cause they are afraid of scratches on their parquet.
Sure, I'll update if I know more about laminate wood

Hi Dolphin,
u must be overjoyed to have such a view. I'm also very excited cause the playground area is beautifully done. Next time when I visit our site, I'll see how the park on top of the multi-storey carpark is like. Hope it's beautiful as well

Hi Mosaic_fish,
thanks for the information on kronotex. I think I will just do parquet for the master bedroom and tiles for the other 2 bedrooms. I'm really afraid I don't know how to maintain lor

Hi Brambles,
my master bedroom is not adjacent to any of the 2 other bedrooms, so we can't hack to join. So, our walk-in wardrobe in our master bedroom will be rather small then

Pat,
have u called to find out if you can defer yours?

ixxy

Hi Daisy,
Yes I did. They said I can but I need to write in a letter. So now I'm waiting for them to reply.
kao_scared.gif

pauline12sg

Wow Dolphin, so there is a nice view like a country club!? Hmm... V good!!
I must convey the good news to my bf then!

Most likely I'll be getting "Supreme" for my laminate flooring, if I got the time, I shall go to the showcase of "Kronotex" to see see too!

Well, although my MB is adjacent to another room, but I'm not going to hack the wall. Wanna leave the room for my future kids as the other room will be used for study corner.

pauline12sg

Hi, have done some updates here :

blk 150 - tweetie (14th), tulip_76 , Pat
blk 151 - tulipblue(11th/5),DJ (14th/5)
blk 152 - yellow, venus, mosaic_fish (13th/5), Daisy (11th/5), BBNN (16th/5), Rivervale
blk 153 - Pauline (6th) , Mudpie
blk 154 - brambles (4), nemo
blk 155 - elaine77, piper (12th/5), Calbee (13th)
blk 156 - dolphin,orith,vel(15th),erica (5th/4), my_gal (13th/4)

tarepiggy

Thanks Pauline, there's a really great compilation u've done! Mine is a 13th floor 4-rm unit.

Think i won't be engaging any ID, most prob get the contractor who hv done up one of our relatives' place. Dunno when our turn to collect keys will come ... so right now, hv stopped getting excited about the hse... instead, i'm trying to lose weight b4 i approach a bridal studio for a wedding gown =)

esp

Brambles, yes mine is a four room. in fact, all units at blk 156 is four room. I will do hacking to make bigger MBR.

Dasiy, ya the roof top carpark is nice also.

daisylove

Hi Pat,
wish u good luck!

Pauline,
thanks for the update, u did a great job!

Mudpie,
yah... when is ur AD?

Dolphin,
hee... I'm so excited to see it too!

Check with u all hah...
are any of you intend to redo the wall tiles and floor tiles of the 2 toilets? After some thinking, I think the tiles do not suit my theme but hubby keeps saying it's alright, so now thinking whether to redo them or not but will cost near to $2K for that.....

I've confirmed with my ID liao... the metal thing that sticks out from the kitchen can be removed as long as we are not using gas heater. Electrical heater can be installed in our common toilet or if u find that not necessary... u can actually just install a normal instant heater for shower

tarepiggy

Hi Daisy & Mosaic_fish,

My AD is next yr Dec, but my fiance & i hope to catch this yr Summer in Dec to do our wedding photo-shoot in Tasmania, cos i can only go on hols in Jun or Dec, so the only summer left is this Dec.

Btw, u mean our std flats come furnished with wall & floor tiles in the 2 toilets? Is the kitchen done as well?

pauline12sg

Hi Mudpie, urs is 13th floor, so gd... when it was my turn to chose the unit during the WIS last year, there were only low units left for selection! Despite that, my bf & I are contended to get a unit at that time! Hee...
290549.gif

blk 150 - tweetie (14th), tulip_76 , Pat
blk 151 - tulipblue(11th/5),DJ (14th/5)
blk 152 - yellow, venus, mosaic_fish (13th/5), Daisy (11th/5), BBNN (16th/5), Rivervale
blk 153 - Pauline (6th) , Mudpie (13th)
blk 154 - brambles (4), nemo
blk 155 - elaine77, piper (12th/5), Calbee (13th)
blk 156 - dolphin,orith,vel(15th),erica (5th/4), my_gal (13th/4)

calbee

Collected my keys yesterday. I don't know how to on my water supply leh. Instruction says to turn on the water supply valve (found in the apartment). Me and my hubby search high and low also cannot find (only found the meter outside my main door)!! Anyone can enlighten me?

pauline12sg

Hi Daisy,

If I'm not wrong, we are not allowed to hack the existing tiles done by HDB. Think have to wait 4 or 5 years later...

Mudpie,

Yes, our std flat do come with tiles for the 2 bathrooms & kitchen!

mosaic_fish

Hi Mudpie,

Are u a teacher? Have u seen the photos Daisy posted on her webpage?? U can see the pictures of the toliet..the colour of the toliet tiles. U look into the archive for this forum to get the link..

tarepiggy

Pauline, my Q-no. last yr was 637, wat's yours? Ya, was really lucky to get a high-floor unit? is ur unit like mine, wif a lots of corners one.. facing the road?

Oh yup... i'm a Lao Shi... hee

Hey thanx, Mosaic_fish... i saw Daisy's pix liao... wow... so gd... toilet & kitchen comes with tiles... tho' not really fantastic, but not bad too... at least can save $$..hee

pauline12sg

Mudpie,

I can't remember my queue number. Yes, mine is facing the road too! But I don't understand what u mean by "wif a lots of corners one"... My MB has an odd shape. Maybe our layout is the same!

tarepiggy

Ya Pauline, my MB got an odd shape too, there's a triangular corner at where the air-con window is. Is ur bomb shelter along the walkway leading to the living room too? most likely we get the same unit-no.! =)

piper

hello everyone,

I collected my keys yesterdy. Tml will go & open the door. Will bring my camera to take some shots of the house as well. Maybe can take pics of the roof top garden & the surroundings if it's not too yucky

Any special requests for any pictures? I'll try to take them if I can remember & access

pauline12sg

Yes Mudpie, the bomb shelter is along the walkway leading to the living room! The triangular corner is just beside the air-con window!
Bedrooms are on the right while living room is on the left from the view of the main door right? Kekeke...

Piper, million thanks to u 1st!! Hehe.. looking forward to see the photos!!

orith

Hello all
So sorry, haven't been logon for so long. Been very busy at work..sigh

Anyway, i just collected and have been to the new place on Monday afternoon. Yippee

I remember some of you need my quotation as reference? Can you pls tell me your email address again?

Btw, any one of you engaging FengShui master?

esp

i will hack the study to combine with my MBR. one area will be converted to WIW, the other area as study. The other room will be guest room.

orith

Calbee, the water supply is in the "door" next to the electricity "door". Outside your units, u shoudl see 2 doors.

orith

I agree with Mosaic that laminated floring/parquet will get you a hot feeling in Singapore weather. Reason being is wood trap heat. That's why houses in Western countries, those houses that's without carpet, they will have wooden flooring.

Both me and my fiance are very scared of hot, so wil have homo tiles for the entire unit, except kitchen and bathroom.

orith

Hi Dolphin

I am in block 156 too. Are yours 91 or 90sqm? Mine is 91, 7th floor.

Have you decided on your layout plan yet?

orith

I think the tiles in the kitchen and bathroom are quite good, that's what my HDB friend said. The colors are quite nice too...at least not some weird colors like green...:p

As for the service closet, it has the wooden door. We like it, it's much nicer than i thought.

pauline12sg

Hi Orith,

I am not going to engage FengShui Master, but seems like there are quite a no of gals here are engaging one. Maybe they can give you some advices.

How much did ur contractor quote for ur house? Mine quoted me 25k for my 4-rm unit with alot of custom made items, but I would like to take out some of the items, and make some changes.

calbee

Hi Orith,

Thanks for the advice.

But I only found the water meter and gas switch inside. Your water switch found inside there? Is it hidden with any plastic cover? Haiz...me sound beri stupid. All my colleagues laugh at me when I told them I cannot find the switch for water supply :p

piper

that means tomorrow when we go open the door, i must also look for the water switch. Wondering who's going down to view the flat tomorrow?

mosaic_fish

Hi Piper, Thanks... I will be waiting to see more pictures.. hehee..

Hi Orith, I will be engaging a Fengshui Master, introduced by my frien. My hse is not ready yet so haven't book with him. How abt u??

orith

calbee
actually its my fiancee that turn on those electricity and water on Monday. I know where they are only. If you need our help tmr, we can try to help

orith

Pauline
My ID quote me abt 25k too. Can we xchange quotation? Pls email me yours at [email protected]

When are you thinking to start your renovation?

Heee..i hope to be ASAP so that can move in faster...haha

pauline12sg

Hi Orith,

I don't have a scanner, it's a bit difficult to email to u. My quotation is v long, 3 or 4 pages, if I got e time , I'll type it out nicely.

I have not collect the keys yet, I will bring my contractor to view my unit once i got e key, so I hope to start the reno by end of July! So that I can hold my house warming on the same date as my ROM which is on Sept.
Heheh...

mosaic_fish

Hi Orith, the master I am going to engage do not charge u a fixed amt.. he accept hongbaos.. He stay in Hougang, U need to fetch him from his hse to your new hse.. He see fengshui only on Sunday... My friend get him to see her hse also.

I just wan a simple and general fengshui consultation on my hse.. like where to put bed, hob, sink, living room and colours to use..

orith

Hi Pauline
Oh...ic. Have you confirmed with this ID yet? U want to see my quotation?

My AD is in Dec, together with the ROM on the same nite.

orith

Hi Mosaic

Ic ic...what is the acceptable hongbao money range? I am just scared the fengshui will clash with our design layout...still thinking.

mosaic_fish

Hi Orith, i am tinking to give $188 hongbao.. Yup.. it may clash with your design.. so maybe u can change a bit here and there.. That why now I can't confirm my layout design for kitchen and MBR must see Fengshui liao then confirm....

pauline12sg

Hi Orith,

I have not confirmed with him yet, but most likely I will take him. There are many changes that need to discuss and quotation to negotiate. You can email me at [email protected]

So, have u confirmed with urs?

My AD is not so early, so my bf & I might be staying at our new flat during wkends only.

pauline12sg

I heard from my colleague that we must not put any sharp objects/items in the MB (Scissors, needles can put in the drawers lah), so as to reduce couple's arguements. Hope it helps!

calbee

Hi Orith,

Thank you so much

We'll be going our place with our ID tomorrow. will try to find the switch again. Will get our ID's help if still can't find. 1 more person to laugh at us...hahaha...

Wah...so many people view their apts already
Sounds so exciting!

Piper, if you read this in time, could you take a photo of the "view" of the units facing inside? Mine faces the opposite blk of flats in our estate and I'm just wondering how far we are from our neighbour's windows! haha.

From our layout, we'll not be able to knock down any walls to combine any rooms. Anyway, I think we wouldn't also since we like to have 3 bedrooms.

Looks like 25K is the mean amount for reno. Is it cheaper to do homogeneous tiles or laminate? I'm beginning to have second thoughts about laminate now that everyone is saying that it's "warmer". I don't like warm at all.

Look forward to reading all your updates on the apt and reno. Hope to learn from all of you

Have a great weekend!

tulip_76

Calbee

There is a helping kit in your mail box from Power Supply which can help you to turn on the water supply. Have you opened your letter box so far? Try if this can help you.

tulip_76

For anyone who have viewed your new flat, do you realise that there is some metal bars or rods just beside the kitchen bathroom. I heard that they are for gas heater but if I am not using the gas heater, can I remove them (or it's the HDB's rule that they cannot be removed) and if not, can I box them up? Pls advise and thanks in advance

Hello tulip_76

Daisy mentioned that she checked with her ID and he told her that they can take it out if they're not using it. Perhaps you could check with your ID or contractor.