Sengkang Rivervale 150 series (Chip Huat Construction)

freshie79

Vel,
So u tell them on the spot u want cement screeding? So long ah!they are going to take.

I also need to screed the whole floor except kitchen and toilets.. cos i will be doing parquet. So small right.. the flat.. sighz.. but we should be happy mah.. easier to clean up

Mine is next tueday... so excited... these few nights cant sleep well.. hahahaha

mosaic_fish

Hi Vel, u dun ask HDB do the cement screeding first. U check with your contractor first. Bcos the contractors I met, tell me to let them do the level marking first then let HDB do the screeding.. if let HDB do first, the contractor will have a hard time later when they do the laminate. I am also planning to do laminate for my 3 bedrooms

esp

hi vel, so the lift at our blk is working liao right ? very small ar. ya la expected liao. but never mind la.. can cosy cosy ma. did you found or highlight any defects to HDB? BTW, can i know how much cash we will be paying for all the fees? kindly advise thanks

tweetie

Hi Daisy,

I collected my keys already. Yes, I realised that metal piping that protudes out. Its very ugly. I asked my designer, she say can't take out coz its done by HDB. I m not sure how come yr contractor say can.

I will check with her again and let u know abt it.

Tweetie

eugvel

erica,
i emailed to sengkang hdb branch office 2day (put urgent) n straight away they call back n said fastest 2wks to do e screed..normal 3 to 4 wks..wakao..better inform them earliest possible..

dolphin,
lift working liao lah..if not how mi climb to e 15th storey??? not yet check for defects..2mr checking w mine contractor..
for e flat..evrything paid for using cpf..onli need to pay sc of $151.00 n pub open acc no need pay anything..deposit will be charged into ur first bill..
ya..also must pay $7.60 for 4rm insurance at e 2nd storey..(must buy b4 gg to collect ur key)
thats all..nothing else to pay..no worries..
e flat is really 2 small to be cosy...haizzZZ..

pauline12sg

Wow... seems like there are alot of stuffs to be paid for our new flat! Luckily most of them are deducted from our CPF a/c.

Nowadays, new flats are very small, I applied 4-rm unit with only 91sqm. But think think hoh, it's enough for a couple lah, 2 of us only. Even if we have kids, the time for them to grow up and hv their own rooms will be 8yrs later. By then, maybe we will move into a bigger house already. (Did some family planning already, hee...)

Mosaic_fish,
What kind of laminate wood are u using for ur rooms? I am doing laminate for all the rooms too. Heard from my contractor that there are different grades for it.

Daisy,
I have not yet decide on the heater matter, I will leave it to my bf to settle, anyway, we have not collect our keys, can only decide at a later stage. Must bring our contractor to our unit to see see then can...

tulipblue

hey gals!

got my letter from HDB liao..collecting my keys on 15/6..
DJ, when u collecting urs? coz seems like only 2 of us at blk 151

Glad to know that many of you have already collected or are going to collect your keys in the coming week.

tulipblue, I checked the SingPass and it just wrote that the flat is completed. No date yet.
It's okay though...remember to give me an account of your key collection and viewing!

Didn't know that there was so much to pay, even before collecting the keys. Oh well, I'm HDB will be clear in the letter they send to us.

BBNN, I now understand more about the water (heating) issue. Thanks!
So it's all instant. And ya, the one my parents have is probably a tank that contains water.

Have a great week ahead!

mosaic_fish

Hi Pauline, currently the contractors I met show me brands like Asia Dekor and Kronotex. Before that I heard of Pergo and their pricing is more exp.. but tink their quality is better. I heard some of other brands are made in Malaysia or Thailand and some claim made in Germany.. The contractors also tell me that there are new range tat come in thicker sizes. Wat is the brand did your contractor recommend?

http://www.kronotex.com.sg/
http://www.pergo.com.sg/

pauline12sg

Hi Morning,

Mosaic_fish, I am not so sure what brand my contractor is going to offer me, he said that he will give me those higher range, I will check with him again if I am meeting him this weekend. As I am not so knowledgable in this kind of issue, I wouldn't know if the material the contractor gonna give me is of good quality or not, so I believe that I have to trust him loh. :p

I went to Novena furniture shop yesterday, they are having great discounts. Any comments on it? I have set an eye for a TV console there but have not committed yet. Wanna find out more about the quality first. Hee...

piper

hi mosaic_fish,

i met an ID on saturday also. She quoted me Krono laminated wood. Is Krono & Kronotex the same?

Pauline,

I've heard some negative reviews about Novena's quality. Not very good apparently.

daisylove

Hi Tweetie & Pauline,
thank you
I'll bring my ID to my house when I get my key too and from there, he can advise better.

Tulipblue,
congrats!! so excited for u ke ke ke
289738.gif

Anyone at Blk 152 has received letter to collect key yet? Think we are the last batch.... huh... long wait....
289739.gif

mosaic_fish

Hi Piper,
Hmmm... I tink Krono and Kronotex shd be the same brand.. u can check with your contractor to confirm. My contractor told me tat Kronotex is going to have a new range of thicker wood...

mosaic_fish

Daisy, I haven't received any letter yet and the HDB website still stating "2nd Qtr" haiz... really long wait.. how I wish can let fengshui master see my hse and I can confirm my design layout for my kitchen and master bedroom.

piper

hello mosaic_fish,

okie...i'll check with the ID then. Regarding your HDB website status, you'll have to go to "Change Appointment Date" to see if you've been assigned a date. I think the PCD page won't show your appt date.

pauline12sg

Hi Piper,

What are those bad reviews about Novena furniture? Can tell me more? Hmm... Novena, The White, Modern living, Castilla & Natural living are all under the same boss. Wondering are there any differences between the materials used.

Btw, do you have any furniture shop in mind? Which are those that you will recommend?

piper

hi pauline,

most of the bad reviews are bad quality & the finishing not very good.

I'm not too sure abt furniture's quality. I think those reputable one should be ok.

daisylove

Mosaic_fish,
thanks for replying. I've checked and it also still says '2nd quarter". Piper said check at "Change Appt Date", think I'm going to try that later, hopefully can at least see a date. Cause I heard we may get late Jun or even in Jul!

Piper,
why Novena furniture not good har?

pauline12sg

Has anyone of you been to the foodcourt at Rivervale Mall? I went up to take a look occasionally, but didn't dine in there ultimately. Any nice stall to recommend? As we all will be moving to the area soon, would like to find out more about the food there, cos there are no other coffee shop nearby within walking distance. I love Burger King, a pity that it has been replaced by Long John Silver!

Oooh...didn't know I need to check the "change appt" thing. Anyway, Tulipblue, I've just checked and my date is set on 16/06 at 3:10pm. Just fyi...but you all know we won't be going.
Once our family receive the letter, we'll call up again to delay it till next CNY. But I'm sure my husband will be happy to know that anyway.

I love LJS. I love BK too. Can't tell which I like more though. When I was in school, I'd eat LJS every single day for a whole year! Needless to say, I packed in the pounds too.

We visited the Pergo site yesterday...the international one, just www.pergo.com it's quite interesting. There's this section where you can pick the flooring and then the colour of the wall and the furnishing. I don't know why I find that so fascinating/fun. Maybe we're bored...haha.

I'm glad that many of us are getting our keys soon. Daisy and Mosaic_fish, hang in there...you turn will come soon, I'm sure.

Have a great week!

ixxy

Hihi...

My new flat is at blk 151 (same as DJ and tulipblue). My appt of collecting the keys is on 15/06. May I know if there is a way to defer the collection of keys say in a few months to a year? I heard must write letter. What do you write in the letter? Can share?

DJ, you are defering the collection of your keys?

daisylove

Pauline,
I hope so too
Have been so gan qiong and keep going to the HDB website to check the date ke ke ke

I haven't really eaten at the Rivervale Mall but very glad that there's KFC and my favourite fries at Mac Donald's!!
289892.gif
Furthermore, we have a clinic and 24-hr Cheers! Ha ha... even if we have no food and feel hungry in the middle of the night, we can still go to Cheers, cheers man!

Mosaic_fish,
I haven't been to our site lately. Hopefully can make a trip there this weekend and then update u
Actually, I secretly hope HDB will forget to install the metal grilles
, really don't understand the use of the metal grilles at the bottom half of the windows....
289893.gif

DJ,
so happy for u!! I'm sure ur hubby will be so happy to know the news
I'll take a look at the Pergo site later, thanks for the link! I will try to
289894.gif
ke ke ke.....

Hi Pat,
289895.gif
here! My blk is 152, just next to yours! Also congratulating u for getting ur key soon

I'm not sure on the procedure to defer the collection of key, may be u can call this HDB sales hotline 1800-8663066 to find out. DJ, u may like to see the below too. I've gone to copy and paste from the HDB website http://www.hdb.gov.sg/hdbvsf/eampu100.nsf/0/e-Transactions.html?open&doc=Change_Appointment.htm about 'Enquiry on & Change of Scheduled Sales Appointments':

If you have submitted an application to buy a new flat from HDB, you can use this facility to request a change in your scheduled Sales Appointment.
For further assistance :
Call us at our Sales/Resale Customer Service Line 1800-866 3066 during office hours (8:30 am - 5:00 pm) or e-mail us at [email protected]

May be u can call up or write an email to enquire on the procedure for deferring. Good luck!

pauline12sg

Hi Daisy,

You are right!! We have 24 hours Cheers! Can go there buy some tibits & drinks in the midddle of the night! kekeke....
289918.gif

My bf & I love the fries at MacDonald too! Yummy!! Out of a sudden, feel like having the fries now... :p

Hi Mosaic_fish,

Yes, Burger King has been replaced by Long John Silver, haiz...

pauline12sg

Hi Mosaic_fish,

I have checked my quotation, it states that we will be using "Supreme" brand for wood laminate.

www.supremefloor.com.sg

I went to the website to browse through, feel that this brand is not bad! But it is not cheap too, as compared to most of the brands in the market!

tarepiggy

Hi All future neighbours!

I haven't received letter to get my key yet, mine is Blk 153, heard from the security guard there that mine will be the last blk to get key =(

Hey Pauline, "Supreme" is good! My bf's fren highly recommends. I went to the reno fair at expo last mth, saw their booth & range there too.

Oh yes, i've been to the foodcourt. Not bad & in fact quite cheap... my parents said it's under NTUC, thus cheaper ... dunno true or not...hee

pauline12sg

Hi Mudpie,

Welcome!!
289970.gif

Mine is blk 153 too! As expected, Blk 153 will be the last to collect keys as it is positioned in the centre.

Yes, "Supreme" will be a good choice! So are you doing laminate flooring for your bedrooms too?

Glad to know from u that the food is not bad & quite cheap.

mosaic_fish

Welcome Mudpie!!

hmmm... i went to Supreme website.. not bad.. it stated 5 times water resistant than other brands.. I heard their laminate is from malaysia...

tarepiggy

Allo Pauline & Mosaic_fish!!!

Yup i intend to do laminate flooring for the 3 bedrooms, may consider living room too.

Btw, which ID/Contractor did u gals engage? I haven't gotten any yet. I wanna ask for comments on a ID of name starting with "V" but when i typed the full-name, my msg can't be sent as the word is banned fr this site. R certain words not allowed in this site?

calbee

Mudpie,

You try using * to replace certain alphabets. E.g. Plaza Singapura --> Pl*z* Sing*pur* (* denotes "a")

Then we can tell which ID you are refering to.

tulipblue

hey gals!

thanks...me counting down the days to collecting the keys liao...prob nt getting a ID but just gonna keep it simple =)

tulipblue,

if you're not getting ID, let us know how it goes. Some times we wonder if we'd get an ID too. We kind of know what we want to do for the apt already. (And after we view all of your's we'll get an even better idea! hahahah

Pat,

I think the most important reason in deferrment is "why" you want to defer. Our family just called us this morning to tell us they've received the letter from HDB and we've asked them to courier the docs to us. Tonight, we'll be calling up HDB to defer. That's what we were told to do when we had to delay the deadline for loan application as well. It's all probably on a case-by-case basis and the Customer Service Manager we spoke to was very reasonable and was even concerned about us making an expensive overseas call! Haha
I can update you on our situation tomorrow. Is your reason for deferment the same as our's?

calbee,

We'll probably go with laminate flooring because we've lived with parquet most of my life until now! We need a change, that's all
Also, it seems nicer and some times for parquet, some of the wooden strips might pop out. But that depends on the quality lah. In Singapore I never had that problem.

How much is the quote for laminate flooring (psf)? We're actually thinking of doing it in the whole apt except the toilet and kitchen. I wonder if anyone is thinking of doing that and why or why not. Issit the price? Would it be ugly?

mosaic_fish

Hi Calbee, laminate flooring have a lot of adv such as scratch resistant, easy maintainance, cheaper also.. etc. Parquet is nice.. pricing is more exp and need to do polish every few yrs. Laminate also have disadv, it is not really water resistance.. if u spill water on to the floor you must wipe asap, if the water seep into the gap and the HDF board absorb in the water it will start to expand..

I saw on Kronotex website that they are having a showcase at Suntec from 11 to 19 June. They are also featuring their 10mm thickness laminate. Maybe u wan to go down to take a look to see if u like laminate flooring? Then u can also find out the adv and disadv.

DJ, the pricing could be from $3 up to $10++ depend on the brand and range. For example, my 3 bedrooms will cost ard $2k. Some are smooth surface and there are also texture surface.... My frien advise me tat wood flooring will cause the room to be warmer.. so tat why i tink i will have laminate for the bedrooms...

Hello Mosaic_fish,

thank you for the costings
What do you/your friend mean by "warmer"? As in it'll look "warmer" or it'll literally be "warmer" (temp)? I don't think I like the room(s) to be warm/hot. I don't like the heat very much. Also, I think the facing of my apt is NE and would probably get the morning sun.

Have you all been there at different hours of the day? Does the sun shine directly into the apts? That's actually what I'm most 'afraid' of.

tarepiggy

Hey Calbee! Thanks for the suggestion!

I went to the Reno Fair @Expo last mth, & was quite impressed with the design consultation by Veg*s(* denotes a) ID. Thot of engaging them, but dunno if their actual work & service as gd as the sales staff portrayed?

Anyone heard of Veg*s or has engaged them b4?

mosaic_fish

Hi DJ, warmer in terms of temp. Especially Spore weather is so hot... so having the wood flooring will make the room even warmer. Also due to it is not very water resistant so for living room I will use tiles

mosaic_fish

Tuilpblue, I am not getting an ID also.. After seeing the design done by an ID for my hse... I dun really like it at all.. We told her wat we dun like, she try to convince us the design is very different and new.. We feel we wan to have a cosy place, simple and not complicated.. easy to maintain also.... Since we noe wat wan.. so I getting a experience contractor that have good workmanship. Currently I shortlisted 2 and will choose one of them.

ixxy

Thanks Daisy and DJ! I have faxed a letter to them to ask for deferment. Well Dj, I don't think the reason we want to defer is the same as yours. For my case, we are not married yet and we prefer to delay it till the end of the year due to some personal reasons. Well, hopefully they approve my appeal.

esp

hi, just some updates for my future neighbours. I have collected my keys and went to see the unit yesterday. Very small but the feeling is great. The contractors downstairs see us like bees to honey leh. just open the windows at my unit they saw you open window from downstairs they will take lift to your unit wor. so scary right ? the palm trees outside our hse area is soo nice. like country club i keep telling my hubby. Its confirm that its rather windy. Hippeee

daisylove

Pauline,
I think I will put on weight when I move into our new unit cos I may eat KFC so often!! Ha ha ha...

Mudpie,
290259.gif
You can actually request the ID to bring u to see the unit(s) he has done to view the worksmanship before deciding whether u like to engage him

Pat,
u r welcome! Hope ur deferment will be approved!

Dolpin,
wow... which side ur unit facing?
I don't think I will get this kind of resort view as my unit faces the road and beneath is the LRT!!

I don't know if this is true.... I went to a friend's house. She did laminated floor for all her 3 bedrooms and she kept telling me she regretted it cause got the hollow feeling after some time and difficult to maintain because must try to keep them dry. Hopefully, the new kind of laminate can reduce such problem. Gals, keep us updated if u do go to Suntec to see the exhibition ok?

Another friend who did parquet also said he regretted because can get scratch easily. He said parquet really is warmer to your feet touch because it is wood, good for women esp when u r pregnant. However, he regretted because it's very difficult to maintain it scratch free.

So ah... which one should I go for? Seems like both got disadvs but I don't like whole house to be tiled. I prefer at least the 3 bedrooms to have wood flooring..... I so confused liao
290260.gif

Pat, I hope you can get your collection deferred. We called yesterday and were told that it can be deferred but only until end of the year, they have to clear it by 31st Dec and not Jan as we have requested. Better than nothing I guess, but that means we'll probably miss CNY again this year
So many years no reunion dinner liao...
But the guy quite nice lah, said when we decide on the date, just email him direct, don't need to keep calling. At least he's concerned about our pockets!

Hmm...Daisy, did you ask your friend why his parquet floor gets so many scratches? Maybe it's the way he "treats" the floor or his child? Haha! But over my many years with parquet, I don't think "scratches" has been one of the issues. But we're not the sort who drag things about and all that either.

As for laminate, ya, please continue to update on your findings
I always just thought it was easy to maintain. Guess I'm wrong. haiz...

Mosaic_fish, the contractor you have, are you just asking them to handle everything (electrical, waterworks, carpentary, etc) or are you going to deal with each contractor individually? Let me know if they are good.
I guess short of getting an ID, a general contractor is the next best thing.

esp

oh daisy, not my unit la... its the block downstairs area. heheh.. alway like pal trees thats why so happy to see that.