Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

nichiyobi

Service yard power point plastic cover can't close. There is a distorted corner preventing closing.
1205184.jpg

nichiyobi

My study room door can't close as easy as the rest of the room. Think the door is a little warp. so when closing must push hard slam to close or pull harder to close. I can see a gap between the door and door frame.

My gate lock is shaking!!! sad.. must change.
Then one of the top window panel in the living room seem to be having difficulty closing must use more strength. I inspected but can't seem to know why its difficult to close.

The wooden skirting i notice some they use wood filing to fill up probably imperfect skirt. like a piece of wood there's hole then you use wood paste to fill it up when dry they blend in but still can see the color difference.

I noted there is this small pipe sticking out of the wall in service yard and toilet. I am confused what this pipe is for? Its tiny sticking out damn ugly at bottom of the wall. Does all of you also have it?

raynard

nichiyobi,r u referring to the drainage pipe at the service yard? If so,Tat's for draining the used water from yr washing machine..the contractor can easily conceal it together with a base..

nichiyobi

raynard, no no i think you refer to the standing pipe with a cap on the horizontal service yard floor??? i am talking about a protruding small pipe at the bottom of the vertical wall in the service yard.. strangely this small ugly protruding pipe also can be found in the bathroom. I was thinking for what purpose?

khet13

i heard my air con guy told me tt is for IF the concealed pipes leak water, the water will flow out of the pipe otherwise it will get stuck inside the and damage the walls.
correct me if im wrong

xuan_ting

Hi, need some advice here on the following issue:

1) Plasma TV & LCD TV, which one is better? Which one more energy saver?

2) How to apply the TV license?

xuan_ting

Cherylkjh, ya, last time my flat is resale type, I remember we din apply at all and bill come during year end lor. This round is totally new flat, so I not sure about it. U din apply it, but still can watch TV, right?

xuan_ting

Cherylkjh, I just checked thru IRAS website, no need to apply at all, by end of year we should receive a bill which combine of Property Tax & TV Licence fee. FYI, TV licence fee is S$110.00 per year.

Btw, plasma TV or LCD TV, which one is better & energy saver?

heman

You can apply/pay your TV licence at any Post Office by giving your address to them. By right, you got to have a valid TV licence when you own a TV in your house. You can still watch your TV without the licence but don't get caught.

Xuan Ting: LCD TV is more energy saver. In fact, there is LED TV which is more energy saver but of course more ex in price.

xuan_ting

Heman, hmm, I thought they will automatic send the bill to us by year end for property tax & TV licence fee. Ok, I will check with Singpost when I make my mobile phone bill then.

LCD TV, which brand better? Thanks

xuan_ting

Hi, need to get some advice on curtain too. For those units face roadside, how much you get for the quotation price on just a standard curtain (full length) for living room & 3 bedrooms? Thanks

princesspig84

HI Xuan Ting (xuan_ting) , depends what material u choose. I think u can compare price only if u choose the same material etc.

Mine is from Hock Seng Curtain @ 1026 Upper Serangoon Road Singapore 534764 - 6387 1533.

They will come and measure for you and quote u.
My salesperson is alan,quite young that noes the trend now..

cherinet

my current parent's hse did not apply for tv licence for more than 10 yrs already, we still able to watch tv. my husband also not planning to apply tv licence for this sembawang hse too. anyway it's your choice whether to apply. unless u dare to risk it..

hi Xuan Ting,
we also deciding whether to get Plasma or LCD TV, but in the end we decided on LCD. We will be getting LG LCD TV (Model: LH50, 42") which is quite a latest model and is Super Energy Saving as advertised. Both my husband & I has surveryed through Harvey Norman, Best & the recent IT show, seems this model looks good. You may consider abt it. Samsung also not bad. You can try asking.

I have engaged H.M. Decor to do our curtains. Total price is $1440 (depending on the materials you chose). This is what we will be doing:
Living Room - Japanese Sliding Blinds
MBR - Day & Night curtains.
Rm 2 & 3 - Night curtains.

xuan_ting

Hi Princesspig84

Thanks for the information, I will call them
Budget too tight, so will just go for standard type of curtain

Hi Cherinet

I have checked with my friends and also from my previous flat experience, I dun think we need to apply it. By end of the year, IRAS will automatic bill us the property tax & the TV licence fee.

How much that cost? I mean that LG LCD TV.

Your MBR & 2 other rooms, the curtain is run thru wooden rod or rail type? Can leave their contact number here? Many thanks

cherinet

Hi Xuan Ting,
If i'm not wrong it should be $1200+ or $1500+ at some of the stores, but we saw this on the Sept IT show, it selling at $1099 (i forgot which store selling at this price at the IT show). However, both of us are waiting for the Dec IT show to grap this LCD TV. It should be at a bargained price. Checked with a few electronics store at some HDB, the uncles also said if we see any preferred LCD TV at the IT show, must grap it already, cos their price is reali super cut down price compared to theirs & dept stores, which we find it is true lor.

For the MBR & 2 other rooms, we are not doing the wooden rod, it should be those standard railing one. I will PM you that guy's contact later when i'm home. He's quite a nice patient guy who actually served us very well, he gave us alot of discounts also as the materials i chose is not tat cheap. Just tell him what you need to do for your hse he will try to recommend to you. He has done quite a number of curtain's jobs at our this Admiralty Link, so i think should be ok.

raynard

Phew, finally had our wedding ytd and it was so tiring! We are stayin here for the 1st night onwards, but it will be a short night as we flying off early in the morning!

yukifire

Anyone got their window grilles from "New Harvest Aluminium Works"? I saw it in the pamphlet in the lift. Got HDB licence no but then the name is not the same as the one listed on HDB website.

jascmy

My HTB went to new hse yesterday nite at around 8pm+. He told me he saw an Indian Couple intending to do someact at the corner of unit near the staircase (the other end of the corridor, not at the lift lobby). They stop immediately after seeing my HTB.

Scary leh. Luckly I'm not staying at the corner unit. Those bad guys can easily put any gal into the staircase without anyone knowing.

Those staying at the corner unit must be careful

jascmy

Long time ago,when our hse is still building, we went up to the carpark to have a better view of our hse. We saw lots of empty condom packets there at the carpark staircase loh. meaning they already doing it there liao.

Now, this couples even come up to our new hse to do their act.

Scary!

faz_inc

hi jascmy.. i believe that was the same couple i saw few days back.. They were sitting under my block near to the staircase too..

nichiyobi

Maybe both are foreign worker? If they are just having hanky panky times still ok at least when they see you they must run from you. If burgler or robber then.. oh no!!!

nichiyobi

I just realised that my main door top door suspension is very tight. I tried to adjust it like the one i used to have but don't seem to loosen it.

Did anyone managed to loosen it and how to loosen the suspension?

jascmy

Hmm.... thats y I have mentioned before in this thread that do not use the lock provided by your contractor especially those number lock cos the contractor used the same password numders for all his contracts as easier for them to remember. Imaging how many ppl know the password.

Hope the place will be safer after when more of us moved in.

faz_inc

A month back, My hubby bike voltmeter was stolen too. He parked his bike at the 2nd level of multi storey carpark.. He got a new one fixed and fixed an alarm/sensor thingy..

nichiyobi

Actually I don't quite understand on the Sem Green break it issue cuz the owner say no sign of break in right?

1. Gate using number lock can decode i agree.
2. Main door not lock?

nichiyobi

The red box i highlighted is the protruding pipe... do u all have it too? what does black line stand for? red for hot, blue for cold i think

1209696.jpg

cherinet

The main door will not be locked if the contractor is using the number lock at the gate already, cos if you lock the main door, how the contractors and workers going to go in?
I believe not all ppl will wan to pass your main door key to the contractor and the workers even though you have great trust with them.

The most impt is that when your contractor and the workers opened the number lock, quickly lock it back and turn the numbers away without anyone seeing it. so that even got ppl pass-by, they will not able to know.
And also it is better to let your contractor know that to change the numbers everytime he finished one task for your hse. Cos my contractor do that for us. It will be troublesome but have no choice as it is his responsible to make sure everything is ok.

jascmy

Best to buy or use your own old lock. I use my old lock and pass the key for the lock to the contractors. After the renovation, we throw the lock away and buy a brand new one.

bigfish

There is a new HDB sales exercise and apparently ther eare still some leftover units from sembawang green... ...

a 16th floor unit cost $258K !! the prices has increased by quite a bit...