Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

cherinet

Hihi.. Been away for a week for holiday and seems i have missed out the chats here..
Hmm.. Seems like almost everybody has started their reno for their house already. But for me not yet, cos ghost month coming.. Just found a Feng Shui master to go to my place to see see also. Hope can adjust bit of my luck.
Hopefully i can start my reno in late Sept or early Oct which is after the ghost month..

cherinet

Btw Finn, are you opening your hse for our viewing? cos i have been asking around whether is there any show flat around the area, but seems like no response in that.. if possible, i hope i can join in the gathering of the viewing too.

devilboy

Hi Cheri

Not anytime soon, busy with my baby full month thingy over the weekend... and should not be around due to Chinese 7th Month. I will check with Hipposheep, hoping can arrange a visit for her before her delivery.... hehehehe

hipposheep

hi finn,
guess i will not be going to new house as now is my 36wks plus and can deliver any time. so will go over after my confinement which will be around Oct liao.

cherinet

Hi Finn,not to worry.. take your time. I just wanna to understand more abt the floorig you have done. bcos my hubby wanted to do the same flooring as yours (called Enginnered Wood) am i right? Heehee.. My worry is will it be difficult to take care?
HippoSheep, do take good care of yourself.

devilboy

Hi Cheri

Wood is difficult to maintain. No doubt about it. Think twice about engineering wood, it's still in an experimental stage in Singapore. The properties of engineering wood is still unknown.

hipposheep

Hi Finn, Jascmy, princesspig84 and cherinet,

Thank you very much for your concerns. Enjoy your new house/renovation/cleaning up.

7th month coming, so dont stay too late at night loh.

edwin_teoh

wow, long time didnt come in chat...seem like most of u guys are having a lot of discussion. where are my 487 neighbours?? so who have moved in already???

cherinet

hihi edwin, i'm your Blk 487 8th floor neighbour. Haven start the reno yet, but will be meeting my ID this Sunday to view the house. Then next Sat will meet my Feng Shui master to see the house. Hopefully can start the reno after the ghost month festival..

xiaofeizhu83

I'm also from 487, already shifted in... but temp not staying there everyday yet but soon once we finish shifting in all ur belongings...

kwoni

Can get it from the supplier...u get the contacts from the building svc ctr..i got some of my wall tiles from the supplier...located somewhere at senoko ind area...not sure if they r the one supplying floor tiles too...

Anyway..halfway thru the reno we decided to chg the floor tiles to match our black/white theme...hehe

edwin_teoh

hi raynard, i started mine. but after just few days stop le. cause i send in cement screeding form late. must wait long. so now no work at the moment....

Hence if u r doing cement screeding...rem..send in application at least 3 wks earlier...

Cheri, i from 16th level. anyway..any 16th level neighbours here? haha...

yukifire

Hi Xiaofeizhu83
You are really fast! I just started my reno this week.

Hi Bigfish
You started your reno already?

Hi Edwin
When did HDB say they will do the cement screed for you? Mine just done on Monday. Cos the HDB contractor told me if miss this batch got to wait one month for the materials to come in.

bigfish

yukifire, nope.. havent started reno yet.. now am at the stage of finalising design and also choosing of materials...

hope i can get started in 1st wek of sept.. so that i can move in everything by nov...

you?

xiaofeizhu83

yukifire - Long time no chat hehe...yeah completed my reno in 1 month's time... lucky thing is my contractor help us alot by arranging for his workers to come do our house quick quick... but the cleaning can really kill, my bones nearly break.... me haven finsh all the cleaning lor... have you taken your PS pics? When taken rem to show me k...

devilboy

Hi guys

I went to my neighbour's place and saw his walk-in wardrobe liao... His walk-in wardrobe is built via the masterbedroom toilet door.

Pros:
1) It's does looks neat.
2) Toilet is hidden, neat and nice.

Cons:
1) Aircon position is shifted to a position whereby it did not cool the room effectively.
2) Once the bed is in, the walking area is very tight.
3) The wardrobe cannot put in much clothes, the wife clothing alone will fill up all the hangars.

kumpong

Anyone have done up their aircon trunking for units facing the road (3 bedrooms togehter)? Can share how you run the piping ?

Anyone having 2 condenser units for your hse?

yukifire

Bigfish >> I started my reno this Monday. Target to finish by end Sept.

Xiaofeizhu >> Yeah..have done my PS end June. Now waiting to see first layout..should be ready end Sept.

Finn >> I'm also doing WIW at the same area. Already prepared that the passage way will be tight. So will use string curtain instead of door.

devilboy

Hi Yukifire

It really looks neat and it covers off alot of dead spaces, but the color cordination between the wardrobe laminates and the wall of rooms must be match very nicely... else like my neighbour's case, the wardrobe is glossy and shiny to the effect it makes the focus on the wardrode and the rest of the area dull.

bigfish

hmmm.. those who buy aircon from gain city, they only do installation within a day, if need more than that, requires $80 labour charges... but my contractor says 2 days wld be better lei...
any views on that??

cherinet

yoz edwin.. you are 8th floor higher than me.. haha.. i went to my flat that day. saw someone already moved in.. from the lift come out. the unit opposite. anyone here staying there? so far, i dun even know who are my neighbours of 8th floor yet. haha..

devilboy

Hi Big Fish

I was not charged extra by BestTech.
And yes, 2 days is better.

1) Once your aircon contractor setup everything... and your renovation work is still in place, the dust and ashes will stick to your aircon blower.

2) You probably dun want your contractor to turn on aircon and enjoy their afternoon nap.

Common and best practice, trunking to be performed first. after the first coat of painting, install the rest. The reason is: The bare wall is powder coating... if no paint is being applied, it will keep dropping via vibration/scratches and etc. I heard that extra fee from Gain City can be waived, you should bargain and bargain... hehehehe... $80 leh...

yukifire

Finn >> For my WIW, we use partition wall instead so will paint the same color as the room. And partition wall definitely much cheaper than the laminates.

Angell >> Which level are you staying at?

Bigfish >> My ID strongly advised us to go for 2 time installation. All Best charging us another $40 for second installation.

cherinet

Haha.. Raynard.. Nice meeting both of you too. Today is a tired day for us, cos we actually met up two IDs today to visit our hse. Actually we both find the 2 of your familiar, but just can't remember where we met you before.. Anyway it's ok.. We are now neighbours.. Haha..

devilboy

Hi Guys

Finally tested on my CityGas heater system. Here is my view:
1) It can go very hot if you set it to the highest.
2) Compared to electrical/watertank heater, it is consider slow when you heat up the water. However, I am refering to less than 5 secs slower.
3) Convenient, you can simply adjust the temperature of your heater just by turning left or right of your tap, like hotel or resorts.

SO for 487ers who have yet to install their heaters, I think City Gas one is pretty awesome.. hehehe

cherinet

Hi Finn,
My husband and I have met up with Raynard yesterday and we have saw that they have installed the water tank heater system. However, we are still deciding whether to install Instant Heater or the Water Tank Heater. Cos' we are worried that water tank heater is difficult to control the temperature by turning left or right of your tap (it will be either too hot or too cold) not like the instant heater's temperature.
So when you will be arranging to visit your house? Heehee..

cherinet

Hi! Blk 487's neighbours, can someone advise how much will be the Haulage and removal od debris cost (paid to HDB haulage contractor)?