Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

hipposheep

hope you can understand.
1130922.jpg

kwoni

The way this is done is obviously the aircon people trying to save cost on piping. If you see the illustration, the same blue line can be drawn inside the toilet and go thru to the room after the beam (ie on top of the door).

2nd option is for the MBR blower unit to be placed on top of the aircon ledge window to save on pipe length

xiaofeizhu83

Hipposheep - Thanks, I think I understood from your illustration... meaning cannot cut through the corner... I will be placing the blower in the MBR on top of the aircon ledge window as per KWoNi's 2nd option...

winnie_gal

Hi Chamer: i already install the ceiling fan liao... i'm moving in this weekend...

the fanco fan is nice.. not bad tot...

Hi Jes: count me in... i work in CBD.. hehehe....

look like this weekend our hse there will be so crowded..and happening... netx time we shld organized a bbq at our park downstair...

young_jes

Okok, noted for all working in CBD.

did some mini research, and realised that average price for 19-seater bus cost us about $50/mth for 1 way. sounds reasonable? If we can gather enough people to cater for 40 seater bus, the fee will be about $40/mth (excl GST). Bus will arrive at the pick-up point between 7.30am - 8am.

Hope we will get enough residents to take up 40 seater bus!

hipposheep

Hi KWoNi (kwoni) , cutting thru there is not really saving much piping but it will make your room nicer. the shorter the piping runs around the room, the nicer your room will be.

for the 2nd option, is actually what is shown inside my first picture which i took from other people house. the whitish is the toilet and the dark brown thing is the air con ledge window.

no matter where did you put your master bedroom aircon unit, your bedroom 3 air con unit piping need to go thru master bed room then thru your aircon ledge.

this picture shows the posible option that you can run your piping.

for the 3rd option, you cant go thru the wall just below the beam as you might hit the electrical wiring.

all electrical wiring (HDB hidden wiring) comes down from the ceiling - which i had clarify from
the service centre room (blk 488 level1).

we had a hard time doing the laying plainning as this way cant that way cant. sigh.....

1131327.jpg

kwoni

For my case I did my piping thru the toilet and kept my rooms free of piping as far as possible...This actually allow my room to look nicer too...I dun even have hte piping which was shown in the photo as the piping went thru above the window

kwoni

This may not be the shortest piping plan..but it definitely minimise your piping exposed.

The piping above the sink is hidden under the boxup given by HDB...MBR practically no piping.. The pipe to the bedroom and living rm can run along the beam but not thru it...no holes drilled...

kwoni

Hippo dun worry...HDB gives u a electrical wiring plan in the unit..if not u can find it in your letterbox if not in your unit when u open your door...

study it and plan your piping the way u tink is best...

i have to disclaim my posts... that different space planning for your flats may need different piping plans...watever i shown fits my flat layout nicely...so u have to look at how u wana plan ur house arrangements...

raynard

Hi Jes, I'm in for it! if the bus is at 7.30am, that will be great!

Yayap, we can have a BBQ really soon! But that will still have to wait til after hungry ghost after most of us have moved in...

young_jes

okok noted! Think the bus will reach CBD by 8.50am. But details to be confirmed.. cos gotta plan the route and stuff.. Will start detailed planning once we move in.

I love the BBQ pits at the park, gd for gathering! We can have pot luck BBQ there! will be so much fun!

hipposheep

hi kwoni,
your piping looks perfect. me too busy to study the laying. now know that must study the laying if not will regret for the life living in this house.

hipposheep

hi kwoni,
wanna PM you but you cant rec PM.
hmm... we are in the same block. just wonder which floor are you in? my reno has finished and u?

dustystar

Morning All!!

Anyone has any ideas or can share how to lay the piping for Blk 487. My unit is facing the road.

Anything I shld look out for?

edwin_teoh

hi jessie, i have the same design(if not mirror image) as u. practically i have seen air con installer lay the pipe from the ledge into the toilet. if u going to use that recess area as wardrobe, then this design will obstruct ur idea. however u cant hack beams. and this go under and around the beams look awefully ugly.

1131856.jpg

dustystar

Edwin, thanks for ur advice. Yup, I am using the recess area as wardrobe.. Sigh.. so many things to be taken into consideration.

rangerabc

Hi all, do we need to call starhub to activate the starhub point?If yes, anyone know how much is the activation fees? How long it will take?

young_jes

no leh.. They sent to the address as stated in my IC (which is my mum's place)..

So surprised to see it when i'm looking thru my old unopened letters just now..

Didn't know that we have to pay property tax so soon!

khet13

hey guys,
did anybody went to your door and told you that the hinges for the gates are not secure? he told us some other blocks had their gates hacked open while doing reno n their stuff were stolen.
n he demo on our gate today.... u just need a chisel n a hammer

hipposheep

me did the door hinges. he got two type, hexegon ($15 each) and round ($20) type. round one is more x. but got do some bugaining with the uncle. dont know really helps or not but just do it loh cos not much money involved. me did all, as 3 not strong enough, 6 (not 3 not 4) then we decided to do all 9 hinges.

1133745.jpg

devilboy

I did mine too (3 only)... hahahaha... but the original HDB one really cannot make... I got the round type like Hippo for $50.00... bargain until he gives in. That Uncle quite talkative, just keep talking and the price will go down...

After I install it, I happen to notice that if the thief/robber really knock off your door grill, it's really loud.. unless your whole family is away (*holiday) or got hearing impairment, else you should be awake... next, those doors are not aluminium, its more of hollow cast metal, even if the burgler/thief got to steal it and got it off... it hardly worth any money as the paint is already burn in, recycling warehouse doesn't really consider it as good material.

However, HDB does have it's reason for the simple hinge lock. It will make it easier for you if you want to change your doors the next time round....

nichiyobi

hi hipposheep,

How come the round type got screw thread? Meaning if someone take a tool and unscrew the hinges, the gate can be taken down?

If someone stole the gate meaning they still must break the door to go into the house right?

devilboy

Hi Nichiyobi

The Uncle will weld the nut... its very much more secured than the original ones. But... I personally believe, with the correct clamp force... you can still unscrew it... but of course I am not refering to human strength

hipposheep

it's really noisy to knock the orginal. but keep in mind that alot of us are working people and young couple so most of the time is not at home during working hours. so depends on luck.

hipposheep

btw, anyone install the metal gate lock? me measure my gate, found the the dimension is 55mm by 34mm. and the market lock can only accomdate 61mm by 32mm. so meaning i cant buy as our is 34mm.

any one bought any metal gate lock? pls. help.

khet13

Vernon'sMummy - yup im staying in 487 :D
from wat i heard from the uncle, they wont steal your gate but prob the things inside your house n he mention tt they will knock the wooden door down.
but its up to each individual whether they want to take up the offer. i found that my parents house actually did the same thing to their gates some years back :p
came across this while searching on the topic.
http://forum.punggol.org/index.php/topic,4641.0.html

ottermum

Hi all...think 2 uncles approached our unit pestering us to "enhance" our gate hinges but my hubby told them no...no...no...they were quite pissed with us ha ha...

hubby says if they wanna break into your flat they'd do anything to take off the gate...with or without the extra re-welding done or not...so no point doing that...

sigh...actually i also dunno...just keep my fingers crossed nothing bad happens to us!!!!

maybe fix extra locking brackets on the wooden door???

anyway managed to meet our neighbours!! 1 couple staying next to us n another on the 18th floor...so happy we had a good chat over renovation n stuff...