SEALY BEDS

zenith

went to try sealy & simmons beds after reading so many goood comments here in sb forum. personally i prefer the sealy one & is eyeing to buy the royal monarch king sized but the price is abt ex so still comtemplating. can those who hv bought & use sealy beds give comments?

jimmygo

hi zen,

my fiancee and i bought a sealy burlington from robinsons. its definitely worth every cent you're sleeping on. man, you dun wish to sit up-right after lying down on the bed at robinsons.

royal monarch is also a very very plush bed. even better than burlington. as you said, quite ex. personally, i find sealy bed are worth the investment.

regardless, of which bed you purchase, remember that it is one piece of furniture in your whole house that recuperates your body after a hard day's work. not the sofa or even a hydrotherapy bath. so if your budget allows, do go for the bed you find comfortable.

marble

i bought a sealy knightsbridge from the home store.
slept in it for 2 nights only but love it.
hubby is on the heavy side but when he moves next to me in bed, i hardly feel anything...
no regrets, absolutely pleased!

ritz

I bought backsaver which come with free bedframe. Backsaver is 'cheaper' ver compared to posturepedic, of coz spring also different. Try it.

zenith

not yet. but i heard frm the salesgirl at the imm home-store tat four season is using the royal mornach.

wendyg

hi...
Used Sealys for 9 months liao.. it's fantastic..
my hubby got back problm (danger of slipped disc) so we got Knightsbridge.. abt $2k but very worth it.
It's v comfortable.. dun feel like getting up in the mornings =)

jimmygo

hi zen,

come to think of it, a std tagline by sealy salesperson is always 'FS also using Sealy bed'.

hi wendyg,

glad to know tt yr hubby has found a gd bed to support his back. i bet if you on the aircon and its a rainy morning, u guys won't even consider getting out of bed for a second... its very comfortable.

zenith

i'm quite confused wif all the names of sealy beds..... seem like quite a few are using knightsbridge & burlington. did u gals bought it frm robinsons? cos i went to the home store but dun remember seeing all these names: burlington, knightsbridge...... pls advise...

bennysmurf

Hi Zen,
like Jimmy, we bought Sealy Bridlington as well. However we bought from the Sealy Sleep Gallery by Home Store from Harbourfront rather than Robinsons. Indeed it is a wonderful bed, worth the nearly 4K plonked down for it.
The bed model is printed on a label at the foot of the bed. There are many models sold by different retailers, so it can be very confusing. This is a tatic used by Sealy so that different retailers will not undercut one another for the same model, as well as defeating bargain-sniffers like us
. However I understand from the Home Store people that some of the models are actually the same. Check with the salespeople, maybe they can tell you which ones are similar.

jimmygo

hi zen,

does yr burlington comes with the bedframe? how much is your total cost?

my fiancee and i just went to robinson on last sunday to do a price revision for the bed. they had a better offer and we went to 'upgrade' our sales agreement to the new terms. got a savings of ard $400.

edna

hi all...i bought a queen size manchester plush ultra mattress in robinson sale. in total i paid abt $2,885 for the matress and a bed frame..which cost abt $549 before less. did i get a good deal?

bombee

I just bought the Sealy Ultra Plush Bridlington from Robinsons yesterday. Upper price was $6999, but after discounts it was abt $3300. Very good price... Salesgirl says it's the equivalent of the Sealy Majesty at Taka. We bought it cos when hubby and I tried lying on it yday, we din want to get up! Super comfy. It's the same mattress they use at Four Seasons suites...The slightly lower version which they use at Four Seasons deluxe rooms is the Sealy Manchester.

jimmygo

hi gina,

do go to robinson and see if your deal is now better off. they're having some promotions now.

hi bombee,

great to know that u've bought the same mattress also. its definitely worth the money. my fiancee and i were also nearly 'glued' when we tested it. haha...

demi

The Sealy at Robinsons are totally overpriced. The aunties there are very unhelpful also. Just imagine, where got any goods can discount almost $3000 just like that?! Almost 50%. Want to earn money also don't need to markup so much mar.

When I enquire about the other models that they don't sell, they try to shoo me away by asking me to go to Taka. They don't even want to answer my questions. It's like they're afraid the other customers browsing there will hear and don't buy from them like that. Coz I know the Taka range is higher and the customers there all thought that Robinsons carry a high range.

The Taka salesman is nicer when I enquire about the IMM ones that they don't have, he's also more knowledgeable. He says he can order the IMM model that I want for me too if I buy from him, hehe.

The one at Taka/Robinsons is from Sealy themselves, while the IMM is a dealer.

I'm scared buy from IMM the dealer may close down... heh, but I really like the service provided by one of the sales, a lady named Giovann. She gives very good service. She also says they'll give us price protection if there are further discounts.

We're eyeing the Crown Jewel series model which is about $6k... see already a bit heart pain so take very long to decide to plonk down the money or not! After 10% discount is $5400.

We had tried the Simmons bed, but all feel very hard to us, so didn't consider at all. Prefer the bouncy feeling.

jimmygo

hi demi,

i'm sorry to hear tt u did not hv a gd experience at robinsons. i did hv quite a nice time there. they were friendly and helpful.

nevertheless, i would rather u purchase from taka. as what u mentioned, they're the actual Sealy's folks, thus safer.

zenith

i went to robinsons to check out the sealy mattresses & this guy called sim gives veri good service. he even explains to us the cross section of the mattress. i agree tat giovann at imm provides veri good service too! dun worry abt buying frm imm cos the other time when i went there, giovann told me tat they r the sealy gallery. so won't suddenly close down one. most prob i'll get from imm cos the price is lower there. another abt the diff names for the various sealy models. the guy, sim, told me tat its true tat diff stores carry diff models. & its not tat they change name for the same models. its actually the padding on the mattress tat is diff. for example, a lot of ppl say tat the mayfair & san marino is the same but its not. the royal mornach & manchester is the same but its not. i tried it myself at the home-store at IMM & robinsons & can really feel the diiference bet all these models.

demi

Yah, the Taka guy from Sealy says the models are all different too, not they change names. There are some models that are similar thou, like the Tiara I'm eyeing @ IMM feels quite the same as Marquis @ Taka.

Oo what to do, what to do?

We are splurging as my hubby has a fractured disc, even worse. So die die must find a bed he's comfortable in. Currently using King Koil, but too firm for him.

bennysmurf

Hi bombee, you bought yours at $3300?!!
I bought mine for nearly $3800 from the Harbourfront homestore in Dec 2003, though it came with a "free" Beverly bedframe. On top of this, the lady there told me she gave me another 3% off the best price Robinson's could offer at that time.
When I got my bed delivered early this month, the salesperson told me mine was the lowest price ever. Now I feel a little cheated!

bennysmurf

Hi Demi,
actually we can still get a better price if there is a better offer after we have purchased a Sealy, as long as the bed is not delivered. This price guarantee is offered by Sealy, no matter if it is at Taka, Robinsons or the Home Store. This is the reason why jimmygo was able to save $400 on his purchase.
Having said this, I have checked and found that I got my bed delivered to my house the week before a better offer appeared for Sealys at Robinsons. Too bad for me

bennysmurf

Hi Jimmygo,
I got the bedframe of course. The boxspring for Bridlington cost at least $2k more if I remember correctly.

demi

Oh Smurf,

I apologise for missing the part where you only got it delivered recently. Wow they can keep for you so long huh? Almost 12 months.

Wonder if I should place a deposit now since got some offer. I was considering whether to wait for the GSS in June, but the sales person told me not to wait since they may raise price. Very very tempted.

bennysmurf

Hehehe,
think we hold the record for the longest time between ordering and delivery. So long in fact, that the saleslady we ordered from, had left the company by then!
Woah! I see that you are eyeing the Crown Jewel series. If not for the steep prices, we would have got one.
If you are set on getting one, my advice is to get it now if there is a good offer and not wait for GSS. The reason is this: It true that the bed prices have gone up cos I have compared the prices then and now. The discount for Crown Jewel was 10% in Dec 2003, and is still the same now. Seems like the price control is much more stringent for Crown Jewel series compared to the other models, so I don't think the discount will change at all.

jimmygo

hi demi and smurf,

i'm also having a 12mths booking for my bed. just secured the deposit recently.

demi, i agree with smurf. if the deal is gd, do get it now... esp christmas sales... i find that the deals during christmas are better than GSS...

melodyfloss

my husband and i recently went down to the sealy gallery ( The home store) to purchase the sealy royal monarch mattress. we got it from esther. she is a very friendly gal to talk to. in fact, my hubby and i went to the gallery 2 months back and she explained the technology to us in detail ( backsaverx VS posturepedic VS crown jewel VS poclet spring). She did not hard sell us the mattress even though we told her that we only need the mattress in 2months time. she said it is alright even if we dont buy from her at least she can impart some of knowledge to us and at the same we can leave the options open while we can take some time to consider . that's is very nice of her as she understands that we need to do some market research before making any commitments.thumbs up for her!just a few days ago, takashimya is having some sales. my husband and i went down hoping that we can pick up some bargains ( at this point of time, my husband and i knew that esther has convinced us to be sealy converts). we are just trying to compare the difference between various models. we were served by a guy( forget his name) but in the end, my husband and i made a detour to IMM and look for Esther. she stills remembers my husband and me and best of all she even gives me discount. this is what i say GOOD SERVICE!!

joyous_gal

I bought a backsaver from IMM at $1399 including a nice bed frame.We bought it from Esther as well. She's very nice and made us feel comfortable by answering our questions and encouraging us to try on the bed that we like. She dont push for high range models but ask us to think which mattress we are comfortable with cos each has its good pts. We bought it immediately. Of cos with the price guarantee and storage for us till we got our new house reno done!

We went to Taka recently and the lady who served us is not sincere. She doesnt really know how to explain the difference in model and does stereotype ppl somehow....

Hi Cath,
IMM carries more of the Crown Jewel series. They have rather limited selection on the lower series. The shop at IMM is definitely a better place to shop for Sealy mattresses. And at a better price too!

rachelcheng

May I know which shop sell sealy at cheapest price? IMM or Robinson or Taka? YOu mean in singapore onli 3 shops selling sealing matress?
Thks

Hi Rachel,
Marina Square and Harvey norman also carries Sealy beds. Many other stores only carry the lower ranges of Sealy mattresses like the Gold and Silver award. We went down to MattressesSpecialist and MegaMattress, both only carry the lower end ones and their mattresses are still wrapped with plastic. How to test this way?

Harvey Norman sales attitude sucks and their pricing cannot match robinsons, Taka and IMM either.

demi

I just went to Harvey Norman at Milenia Walk, the prices are about $1k more than IMM, for the model I'm looking at.

My problem is that the more we shop, then we want the more expensive one after trying... From $4.8k now eyeing the $6.8k one. Die liao.

rachelcheng

I am eyeing on a celeste queen posturepedic sealy mattress yesterday at IMM from Ester! Yup she is a very nice lady and they offer price guarantee. Now they are having promotion at 40% less 10% plus cash discount so it seems quite worth it. She offered $1519 paying on 12 months 0% credit instalments. Any advise if this is a good buy? Or should I wait cos I am not in a hurry to buy a bed yet..Need some advise b4 I commit. Thks!

icy

hi, i am considering Mayfair.. but the sale person not very helpful.. it is a very old model already?>

tambourina

Anyone of you got the head board and divan too?

FH and i placed a deposit for knightsbridge as well as the above with esther. She still remembered us when we went back to home store after a couple of months. We were impressed!

FH wanted queen size and i wanted king. haha in the end we settled for king size.

we wend looking ard for platform bed but they don't come cheap. Plus we were also afraid of termites problem and apparently there are so many grades of teak, and dunno what MBF and what nots. Cheaper and on the safe side, we took the sealy divan and headboard.

After placing the sealy deposit, we walked into the Serta shop. There's this particular mattress with aloe vera that is very comfy. But costs abt 3k. but think the lady was not very honest with us....

bibien

Hi..

Seems like most of ladies went shopping for Sealy mattress at Taka/Robinson/IMM??

Hubby and I just got a Sealy Posturepedic mattress (imperial award) at Metro Tampines last week @ $2699 (king size). It came with free 2 pillows, 2 free mattress protector and a Beverly Design bedframe.

Maybe those interested can try Metro for price comparison too..

godzillaoh

Aloha!

hahahaha.. guess i will be going to IMM to look for Esther!so many great comments on her superb impromptu service!

Does anyone know if there are new models coming out or i shld aim for the ones that are mentioned above? I just gotton my Anchorvale flat and I am researchin which beds to get. I heard a pretty amount of good review and dcd to get Sealy beds as well.
cos we are have jus started to look ard for id doing our hse. Thot meanwhile, i could look in the household stuff.

Usually there are sale through out the year? I tink i gonna give this year's GSS a miss. We plan to move in after CNY next year. wonder if there will be sales...

Comments appreciated.

demi

Apparently the price goes with the range, cheap price for the lower range and so on.

Don't just look at the price when buying, if in the end you buy this just for the brand but not comfortable then might as well save the money and buy a mattress from pasar malam downstairs. People say Sealy is good, but not everyone buy the cheapest one. I myself tried all the ranges at 4 different stores and settled on what I felt most comfortable with which is quite ex to me.

Set a realistic budget and try out all in the budget range, if all you don't like, then look at other brands with the same budget. Don't force!

The shops which carry the lowest range would be Aero, iirc. IMM carry the mid range. Robinsons carry the mid-high range but no Crown Jewel. Taka carry the highest range including the new ones which just launched, those that cost $12k. 8O They renamed the Crown Jewel to something else. Don't remember.

beagle

I just like to know if anyone got the latest pricing of offers for sealy beds? i'm especially interested in royal mornach. i feel it is firm but comfortable enough for me.

thks in advance..

beetlez

Jus visited IMM. Yup, met Esther, she is good at the knowledge of different mattress and the spring technologies. (I not really into all these) But she does makes the shopping experience good.

For those who are interested, the price for Mayfair is $2500 with bedframe. The latest model Onyx is $2558 with bedframe too. Both King size.

I did not check the more expensive models as my budget is around there.

Sim from Robinson is also another good person to look out for when trying mattress, he even show me which bed sheets are good match for the 13inch thick mattress that I was eyeing on. Think the model is San Marino.

Are Mayfair and San Marino the same or is one better than another? A Robinsons saleslady claims that San Marino is a higher range than Mayfair.

zoeanne27

I also heard it is a higher range. Personally tried Mayfair and San Marino.. I like San Marino more as i felt its plushier...

scobido

the robinson plump lady also claimed that onxy model is worse than those that she is selling...i wonder how true that is...

i like manchester

think i will be buying from sealy...yeah!

peanuttz

does anyone headr of this brand called "GETHA" i saw it at the recent home living fair at suntec. The lady told me its made of 100% latex.

I was considering to buy Sealy, but find it too ex. I treid GETHA and its comfy as well. But just that have not heard of this brand before.

Anyone has experience with this brand, can share ?

many thanks,

melodyfloss

demi> i am quite gobsmacked of the information that you have gathered. from the info that igather, imm carries the mid high range and robinson carry the lower range ( that's why they dont display the crown jewel at all). i dont think sealy gallery will carry lower range after all sealy asia has shares in the gallery. i do not understand why robinson gal say that to moo. this is my second purchase for sealy mattress oh by the way i bought onyx king mattress. it was very comfortable and i heard from the sa that it was currently out of stock. ultimately, you must really lie down to test it so far my experience with sealy gallery was good.

ahmei

hi zoeanne, agree. feel that San Marino is more "shiok" than Mayfair..i can't rem San Marino's pricing already..

hi peanuttz, i have not heard of Getha before...but not sure if 100% latex is good too. Cos understand that for Singapore, our weather is so warm, latex may make us feel warmer..

yup melodyfloss, the IMM lady did mention onyx is very popular with her customers...

zoeanne27

Hi Geberra
I just bought San Marino weeks ago.. $2200nett with bedframe for queen..bought at robinson then with 5% rebate too..