Savings for marriage...(couples with zero savings to start, pls join in)

Hi piyo,
Heee...juz managed to speak to my parents on staying together in future...hehhehe...later share with hubb see wat he say. :p

Hahhaaa...i also wan to strike toto!! :p

My AD is 11th Sept 05

As i been paying for the banquet deposit and first payment for my BS...sometimes i feel abit heartache cos really seems like my hubb marrying me like that....he so far, haven fork out anything yet....I been chalking my bonus for all that...and I din even buy anything for myself despite the hardwork at office.
I feel that I am no life now...cos of my wedding expenses, I did not enjoy myself anymore. No more cheonging, no more shopping...cos no money, no more gathering...cos scare spend too much...
At times i feel very lousy...wat shld I do?
Sigh...

piyopiyo23

Hi Gin,

Don't be upset. You can still meet up your friend for a feast but find a cheaper place la. Hee hee. Nowadays, I alway tell my buddy to go places that are more economical.
Or buy something you like but not so expensive one la

My case is abit different from your. My Hubby is paying for BS package/Banquet/dowry/Half of the Reno. While I will be paying half of my reno & other MISC cost. I know how you feel cos I also feel that I cannot enjoy myself. Now in my mind, I only think of how to save money for my new house.

Let encourage each other.

Hi Piyo,
Thanks alot for your encouragement! Im so glad...now so touched tears almost dropped down..

Anyway ur situation is much better than mine. As I was going thru my savings plan and also cost incurred for wedding, I guess alot of things I got to forgo. We do not have a house to support..as we will be staying with MIL first. Later then say cos he dun have a stable job...
Do you have msn? If yes, add me to [email protected]
Im glad to know you.... :D
Heee..saw u in most postings too....

Hi skywolf,
You also experiencing the same case as me? Gosh..we need to motivate each other to go on....add me to msn if u have!

Do take care...

satin

Hey ladies,

Me too. IMagine when I see something I like, I have to walk away. We used to go for dinner once a week in some better restuarants liked Cartel etc etc (Not those high end ones liked Lawry's). Now not more. Weekends we stay at home and watch VCDs.

This weekend, my hubby and I are going to East Coast to have some sun. While my hubby go jogging, I will go to Mcs with my laptop to do my work. Haha. I am looking forward to it ya. Inexpensive and fun......

Hi Satin,
If my hubb offer to do that..i dun mind...its so relaxing...but when will my hubb do that? I dunoe....sigh...

satin

Haha. Different couples treats their spouses differently. My house is done and I am staying in eh. Besides, I am only married for half a year. So I guess the honeymoon period is tnot over yet. I will give him a hug when I waked up. He will take the initiative to heat up food when we reached home. etc etc.

As for you, tell ur hubby that u appreciate that he do such little things ya.

Hi Satin,
I will try...Anyway i noe how to appreciate things..but will he be as appreciative as me?
:| I also dunoe....tonite gonna have a long tok...sigh..

satin

Good luck in your talk. Sometimes when I tell my hubby, I want to talk, we end up fighting because my temper can be quite bad. Heeee

Hi Satin,
Tis is wat im scare of...i hope he can view in terms of my situation rather than his. I do think abt his point of view too..I hate heated tok...but i hope he will change.... if he dun...i seriously dunoe wat is going to happen...

Gin,

Mine played CM3 (or was it CM4). Dunno what soccer game. Nice meh? Alamak... We are planning to get a resale after ROM. I might drag my feet, in the hope that he'll wake up.

I have msn, but then i do not have internet access in the office. So, couldnt really chat...

satin

Hey GIn,

Ya know my hubby and I used to quarrel every week when we are in the process of applying and renovating the flat. Now, we are okie. Its all about communication eh. I used to be very hot tempered. But after my hubby sat down with me to talk things through, I made my effort to change the way I treated my hubby.

levynn

hey gin...
wat happened, girl?? hmmm. money is the root of all evil. work out a plan n then discuss abt it wif ur hubby.

if u dun mind, i'll b adding u to my MSN???

Hi skywolf,
I dunoe leh..my ex used to play tat too..sigh guys game. Me and my hubb intend to get resale after customary...i tink u tok to ur hubb first lor...else when u got a flat, things might get worst? Anyway good luck.

Hey Satin,
Erm...tat's good..me and my hubb onli qurrel thru phone or msn...then tat day saw him...we din qurrel liaoz..
I hope he better control his temper. :S

Hi leyvnn,
Add me to MSN..no prob ah! :D Good...ya...discussing with him...very sensitive issue sia..sigh

Hi piyo,
me no yahoo messanger..onli msn. Sorry...

satin

Hi Gin,

I just bought a pair of diamond earrings for my mum. When I saw her smiling, I felt real happy but now I felt very heart pain.

Hi Satin,
You buy her diamond earrings for?
anyway to me, buying things for family wont heart pain..cos i indeed 'owe' them alot! :D If I can afford, I will..but I dun....sad....
I told my hubb to pay for the 1st deposit for our bridal shop....he agrees...kinda happy abt it...guess now I left with actual videography, wedding favors, emcee,bridal car only..the rest settled...

Hi Piyo,
Gosh..web base msn also cannot ah? :p Opps..better dun teach u bad things. :p My BS dun have car..car rental is $400 leh..dunoe wu hua or not..wat u tink?

dubdub

i and my hubby will save a portion of our salary into our joint a/c. our AD will be in 2007. As mine will be a grand event, so we need to save ard 100k for the whole wedding

Hi dubdub,
WOW! $100K! Can do alot of things! By that time, please share with me your wedding details..cos I would be interested to noe...

dubdub

Gin,
Tanyoong Wedding gown and evening gown(AD)
2 extra WG for oversea shooting
Oversea photo shooting (Bali and Bintan)
MTM parents and parents in law, bro-in law cheongsum and Suit
Makeup Artiste on AD and oversea shooting
60-70 Tables at Ritz/Pan Pacific (location not yet decided)
Mtm Bridemaids dress
Buy Xiong Di top and Tie
Bridal Car
Mtm Kua
Honeymoon (Hong kong, Hawaii and Japan)

I and hubby just bought a executive flat at yew tee, just renovate and move in

piyopiyo23

wow...Dub Dub...100K to me also alot leh.
We don't even use 100K for our house reno & wedding.

Hi Gin,

I think $400 still sound reasonable for bridal car. Try to neg. to $350. If you go outside to rent is about the same. To me, I rather liase with the same BS to save the coordination trouble.
Hope it help.

Hi Dubdub,
WAH!!!! Your wedding indeed is GRAND! If I can attend your wedding..hehehee..juz joking... :p I dun have that much money to 'bao' for u also..hehehee....

Hi piyo,
Erm....I will be going to my BS tis mth end, then ask her lor..else really troublesome... Erm...

hi dubdub,
I calculated, you and ur hubb one month need to save at least 3-4k rite? Gosh..both of you earn alot?

dubdub

piyo, gin,

yup, can gain some ang bao back but I still got other stuffs not yet including in, the spare cash is for the additional stuffs.

we both dun really earn a lot, but we saved it long ago. long before we know each other

Hi dubdub,
Long b4 u knew each other! WOW!
Tat's good to have a grand wedding...I hope I can have one too..but I oso dunoe is my guests sincere in celebrating or not? Sometimes ppl juz come for the sake of coming! :S

Hi dubdub,
WOW...me and my hubb also knew each other less than a year then ROM last DEC.
Heehehe...but you guys got more commitments than me...
Anyway y u guys decided to tie a knot so soon?

dubdub

Gin,

My hubby proposed to me, so I agree lor, dun wan to drag till so old then rom. Wan to be pretty

Hi dubdub,
Oh..how old r u? Me 25 tis year..my hubb too..hehehe...we still abit young la...initially we wanted to move out and live on our own..but now plans changed.

Hi dubdub,
Aiyoh..where got old? Life juz started wor...hehehee....muz enjoy..somemore your wedding so grand! Oh..meaning two years time is your wedding and both of you are 30 already? I guess both of you are high fliers tats y marry so late.
My cousin oso marry when she is 31 yrs old.

dubdub

gin,

not high flyer lah, we both r taking our degree now. he will be graduating this yr, while i still got 2 more yrs. I his first gf, he been searching for very long. and me very playful and dun wan to settle down, had a lot of bfs. and I meet quite a lot of wrong guys so in the end delay my marriage.

Hi dubdub,
WOW....your hubb is so err...chi qing...devoted? Heee...I mean...it's good! Heehehee..so by the time u finished ur studies, juz nice married liaoz! Hehehehee...

You seems to be online very often...got msn to add me?

ysilveer

Hello, i'm new around here. Received a proposal 2 months ago and just started savings. Feel very burderned with all the upcoming expenditure.
sigh

caspergal

just pop by coz now feeling very confused.. having quarrels with my FH again...i just don't know when will this stop. we always dun see each other point of view n i'm really very tired of this relationship. we have yet to ROM but have gotten our flat. he used to promised me that whenever we quarrel, we will not argue abt $$ coz his parents used to do that. now it just makes me feel very sad that he's not keeping to his promise.
i wonder how am i to survive feeling so lousy again n again...
pls help

icebaby0

Cashwee,

It's not easy esp you both are currently having the pressure of a new flat, plus ROM issues, and future wedding issues.

I guess, maybe u might wanna sit down with him. Start drawing up an expenses and savings sheet to figure out where all you guys expenses going to. And maybe have a joint a/c to save for the future? Maybe that will help?

airex

Hi cashwee,

I think it's quite common to have squabbles abt this and that while preparing for wedding. I had quite a few arguments so far, but we always try to resolve the issue before the day ends. We never like to carry unhappiness till the nxt day.
I would suggest that you choose a time whereby u n ur FH are in a gd mood, out somewhere, a more relaxed environment.. And you juz bring the issue of $$ in very tactfully. $$ issue is indeed a problem that u have to settle b4 wedding. For us, we talked abt $$$ issue b4 heading for the planning. As what icebaby suggested, open a joint a/c where both of u put in an amt duitifully every mth.

nurse

when me and my bf were still single, we alreadi started to have force savings. either 10%-15% and whole mth of bonus went to s saving account which dun have access of atm card.

we also romed less than 1 yr and our ad abt 10 mths after rom.

we paid our ad, hse 10$% downpayment, reno and europe hm, my solitare ring and all my 'si dian chuan' all thru cash.

the morale is not to be tied down by too many loans and installments. and must be discipline.

jgal

for those who want to open joint acct.. why not consider the standard chartered acct.

This is my plan, 1) we got a credit card from dbs(everyday card) to pay for our new house expenses together. 2) we intended to open a joint acct with standard chartered because the interest is high and we dont need a atm card anyway.
And we will pay our credit card bill using that acct.

Like that , i no need to dispute with my FH who pays more for the expense...hee hee..