SAVE THE DATE Cards

Do Singapore practise this? And if we do send out does it matter it doesnt match with Invites from Hotel? (hotels do not have Save the Date cards as usu they just provde the Invites for actual dinner only rite?)

marnie

I know this is a month late....but esentially, you're right, hotels don't practice Save the date cards. It would be better is the save the date cards have a common element with your actual invites to keep the same wedding theme going. Hope that helps!

coyote

I did my Save The Date card as an electronic version via email. Wat I did was to design the card the attach to my email message ;)

It will of course b very nice if can link up wif the theme of your actual invitation card but wat happened to mine was after sending my Save The Date card, sth unpleasant thingy happened to my AD venue n I had to changed venue 1mth b4 my wedding. But in the end my invitation card din really match my Save The Date card but I love both cards, coz r our babies...our creation ;)

Most imptly, do wat u love to do and happy abt it ;)

coyote

jioupz, save the card is a simple card (actual or electronic version) to b send way b4 the actual invitation to alert ur invitees tat when u r getting married. The card is so simple tat only these info were mentioned:

XXX & YYY are tying the knot on 05 Dec 2005
Please Save the Date
Invitation card to follow

queenie30

Hi everybody,
how much in advance must we send out the wedding invitation cards if we didnt do Save The date.And if we do,can we send out later?

marnie

Hi Queenie,

Save-The-Dates should go out ideally 4-6 months ahead as they need to give overseas guests ample time to plan ahead for the trip. It'll be good that prior to sending those Save-The-Dates you suss them out and just let them in on it.

The invites can go out like 6-8 weeks weeks in advance for RSVP to come in a month later. Give about 3-4 weeks for you to give final headcount to the hotel/caterer.

hi highness,

u have to create it yourself and send to your friends. websites have samples of designs..u can use ppt to do, or if u have photoshop, you can create something on your own and save it as a jpeg and send to your frds.. (not sure if coyote uses this method)

hi highness,

just a sharing lah.. i also wanna do actually! then i just went to websites and type 'save the date' and manage to see some samples.... for myself, i aint too sure whether i will put me & my FH's photo but i will come out with something simple and send as a jpeg.

highness

hi minssy,
o, search for "save the date" can ar? ok, then i gonna try that, haha..
u intend how many months before ur AD send the save-the-date e-card?

hi highness,

of cos can. we are talking abt the power of internet! woohoo!

i am already 6 mths before my AD so i think i will send in july.... anytime before 4 - 6 mths is fine

highness

Hi minssy,i tried searching n saw some samples too.. think i'll send 6 months in advance which is next month..

Wow.. Snippy Snappy, i'll pm u, thanks..

hey snippy,

your save the date card is so cool! and your moxie is cute! ops sorry.. i went to see your website :p. thanx for sharing! so, what program did you use to create this card?

snipsnap

hi minssy..thanks! its actually quite easy to make. i managed to use photoshop even tho I am not very good at it
... when is your AD? are you planning to use Photoshop too? ... mabbe I can help hehe *kaypoh*

yuki_ko

Hi Snippy & Minssy

I sent out mine via email... electronic version too... I used Ulead Photo to edit the pics... think it's easier to use then photoshop...

Hope this help...

hi snippy,

yah i plan to but my PC is full of crap now so i have to free more space before i can install a new program. i shall bug you when i had installed yah? no prob.. i dun mind you being 'kay poh' ;)

hi yuki,

ulead photo? will this prog take up a lot of space in the pc? cos i know photoshop does....

yuki_ko

Hi Minssy

Eeeerrr... not too sure leh... When i installed it, it seems okie... I have both Photoshop & Ulead running on my PC now...

ahcapp

I made a jpg "save the date card" and send it out to my close friends and colleagues. Not all appreciate this gesture considering that this is very western culture. The gals love the file, but the guys just read and forget about it.

Anyway, I send it out 3 months in advance. Not too early in my opinion. I just can't wait to share my joy around that's all =P

ahcapp

Hi Astrogirl,

Most of the people who recieved my "save the date card" I sent by email just read and forget about it. Only my close friends and a few close colleagues replied saying they'll save the date for me.

Actually, I don't really expect any replies from them considering it's still early. My purpose of sending it out is more like sharing my joy because I am really looking forward to my wedding =)

huiz

I guess Singaporeans do not really understand what a 'save the date' is. I did an electronic version for my friends and real cards for the closer ones and some of them actually replied saying saying that I am so kiasu to inform them early! And some of them even took it to be the invitaition card itself! They didn't seem to notice the line "invitation to follow". But I am glad that most of them did reply that they will come.

However, I did not send any to my relatives. I guess I would lose my voice explaining to all of them.

But I do agree with D.O.G (coyote) to do what I love and be happy about it. I am a very 'crafty' person and love to get my hands all occupied with doing my own wedding crafts. Like AhCapp, I also can't wait to share my joy around :)

I am very pleased with my creations. Even though I do not have a specific theme, I am a flower lover so both my electronic and real card designs sticks to a floral theme. Here's the pics to share with u....

381862.jpg

381863.jpg

wilest

another option for save-the-date card which can be create to a magnet.. my gf just did hers, kinda unique
basically she printed out her DIY S-T-D(ard 7x4 cm) on a A4 size paper, then stick on a thinner pcs of magnetic sheet and cut them out individually... can give out to close friends & colleague
.. oh i just did a Will-You-Be-My Jiemei ecard in powerpoint slide hee

everafter

Hi eSthericiious,

Hw to DIY?? I'm nuts abt those photoshop kinda software, and i oso dun hv such software too. PLs help..thanks

wilest

im those powerpoint people... down to basic one haa.. once done save as powerpoint slideshow.. u will be able to get the effect

rubee

Hi eSthericiious and huiz,
would be so great if you could send me your card just to get an impression on how to DIY.
My wedding is in less than 3 months..so a bit too late. but still...would love to send out one save the date e-card quickly.
much thanks,
wendy, [email protected]