Royal Plaza on Scotts Balmoral hall

huiling

hi is anyone considering this place?

really love Plaza on scotts (Balmoral Hall), but the coordinator was rude. she kept repeating that the hotel does not really do weddings anymore (more of coporate gathering) and so they cannot provide us with decor. they only have one design for the wedding invite and it looks quite bad. the coordinator is also disorganised, and throughout our meeting, she never smile at all.

sigh. we really love the balmoral hall at plaza on scotts, but i'm worried about the service. the hotel also gives me the impression that they are not interested in doing weddings.

katherine

who's the person u spoke to?? i talked to wennise before and she was very nice...and even emailed me the wedding package for balmoral hall

huiling

Hi katherine,

it was wennis too. Hmm...did you meet her personally? Maybe my expectations were too high because I met the coordinator of trader hotel before I met wennis. And trader's coordinator was very warm and friendly whereas Wennis was a stark contrast and her repeated comments about the hotel not doing weddings anymore, really worries me.

But i think i will try meeting her again. Will go with an open mind this time

BtW, read from another thread that you are having a cruise wedding? it sounds fun! i had the same idea too, but was afraid that it will be too ex. how much did it cost ya?

starz11

hi huiling

wondering if you have met with Wennis again from Royal Plaza on Scotts? I'm also considering the venue. how does the ballroom look like? the pix on the website looks good

i only hv abt 100 guests, and there aren't many good hotels that cater to such a small number

katherine

hi girl..sorry, didn't check this thread...

how's ur meeting with wennis?? i have met the coordinator for traders before, rosalind issit??

yah, i m having a cruise wedding, for frens, about 120 pax altogther....for us, we r chartering the boat and getting a caterer separately, about $80?? i think so..becos everythign we ala carte, so the exact price not known until we confirm caterer, which we haven't....but we r trying not to go beyond $80...hmm..we want something diff..from the usual ballrooms etc...also considered poolside, which is why we went around visiting several hotels' poolsides..

hi starz...r u looking for ballroom or poolside?? for tat no., most hotels will give a function room...

starz11

hi katherine

yar lor, my problem is i dun know which to choose. poolside is a change, but i read that the pool is not closed to hotel guests, so u may have pple gawking at u. plus if it is bad weather, there'll be too much water. also, it may be hot and humid.

act'y i dun mind a function room - as long as the decor is okay. like the royal plaza on scotts, description of balmoral hall is that it overlooks the pool, or lush greenery along Orchard Road (something like tt). but just that based on the package that was on the website, alot of things are not included eg flowers, chairs decor, wedding favours etc. my bargaining power not strong coz only 100 guests

of coz the other thing is budget. i am trying to keep within $8K for the banquet. i know it is doable, but must give up more things lor.

if you don't mind me asking, what boat did u charter and how much was it?? i think a boat is interesting idea, but out for me, coz i get seasick..haha..

katherine

hi starz..i m chartering falcon princess...for my no. of guests (100-120), they quoted me $5k for charter, but heard tat now, the price have gone up....

yah...pool not closed to guests one, they can't do tat...actually i was very keen on conrad poolside and raffles the plaza poolside....but too bad, since they dun close it off...but conrad still not bad, becos they have a bar in the middle to block off the pool from the side area..they have an aircon room also, next to the pool..but i dun know how comfy pple r with lookign at others swimming..hehhe...

let me see if i can brainstorm anythign for u...

how about goodwood park??

starz11

hi kat (hope u dun mind me calling u tt)

yar lor, also dun want my guests to focus their attention on the sexy (??) pple swimming rather than on me!! hahaa

thanks for helping me..

i considered goodwood park, just not sure whether it will fit my budget.

act'y, i know the best thing is to go and take a look at the hotels. just that i haven fixed my wedding date yet, prob in the first quarter next year. hope i still can make it

katherine

hi starz..of cos dun mind...

first quarter of next yr?? u mean as in jan-march 2005??? gosh...if so, u better act fast, fix the date, get the venue...cos many places are taken up by now....get the drift?? mine is march 2005 also...

goodwood park is a bit on the ex side, their buffet is like $75+++...but heard tat food is good...and they can cater to small groups...

wat r ur ideas for wedding?? outdoor, function room, young and old pple? must be hotels?? or would u consider fort canning as well etc...it's easier to work with if u know for sure, say, u only want hotels, then just look at hotels...not tat many hotels to choose from anyway....
so tat will cut short a lot of thinking....

starz11

hi kat

haha, fickle me..cant decide yet, whether to hv outdoor or function room.

maybe at this point, i am abit geared towards hotels, or those that come wif room stays, more convenient

most imptly, must fit my budget...

guess i willl spend the weekend thinking it thru, hope i am more enlightened on monday ..hahaha

hope u hv a great weekend!

huiling

HI, I have met Wennis again and my BF and I were very surprised by her pleasant disposition. guess she must be in a bad mood on the first meeting. she was quite accomodating on the second meeting. I have met Rosalind from Trader hotel too and she is very professional and warm.

so far I have been to see the hall in the day time. we are quite impressed by it. but will have to find time to look at it again at night. overall i think the hall is quite nice. but the downside is that they do not provide decor, and they only have one design for the invitation card. if you want to do up the decor it will cost quite a bit of money cuz it will look bare without decor. oh another thing, must pay for seat cover too. think it is $2 per seat or something.

do you like the colour purple? cuz the carpet of the ballroom is in plush purple and the chairs (without covers) are also purple in colour. we are fine with it and maybe come up with a warm tropical theme for the decor. when is your wedding date, Starz?

Hi katherine, I think Cruise wedding is fantastic!

huiling

oh another thing. about the greenery thingy along orchard road (description abt balmoral), well actually it only means the few rows of lush trees on one side of the hall. so no garden scenery ar, more like a forest-like ambience. on another side of the hall, you can see the small swimming pool.

i wanted an outdoor wedding, but singapore weather is so humid and hot, that it is not practical. so the best thing is to simulate an outdoor wedding and have it indoor! must spend abit on decor!

starz11

hi huiling

tat was really helpful. thanks!

how much do u reckon u hv to spend on decor?
i'm fine wif purple, and as for invitation cards, i am most prob gonna make my own, since i hv so few guests.

are u able to negotiate for anything? i notice from the package on their website that they also do not provide wedding favours.

but i do like your description of a forest ambience..haha, like lord of the rings movie.

my wedding date not set yet, but probably in march/april next year? my mum wants to wait for the tong shu to be out.

what's the number of guests u hv? is it abt 100, like mine? which other hotels hv you considered?

huiling

HI I have also considered trader hotel & regent hotel. regent is very ex. if you want a buffet.

as for negotiation, erm, it is abit hard. we don't have much bargaining power. they do not provide favors. but they will give you a day room for your helpers. wennis promised to let me have the room for more than 6 hours (was supposed to be only 6 hours) provided that the helpers do not stay overnight.

as for decor, I'm prepared to spend up to only $500 or less. going to do DIY. still not confirmed. you can look for Pinkapple in this forum. she does freelance wedding decor.

your wedding is going to be before mine. do share with me information about your gown, MUA, decor.

I'm not sure what to do with buffet! do pple just eat and go? dont want it to be like makan session

katherine

hi huiling and starz...

hehehee...one of the reason why we didnt choose balmoral hall was becos my hubby wasn't impressed with the tree tops.. :p anyway, so huiling, u r confirmed with balmoral hall??

r u doing solemnisation as well?? or just a wedding? if got solemnisation, then can drag a while...let pple sit down, do the march in, solemnisation, then walk out, go change, let them eat..come back, pop champagne, cut cake, yum seng...talk something, thank them for coming....dun change too long, so tat they dun have time to eat finish, so tat u still can mingle a bit after u yum seng...

have vines as decor?? i m thinking of tat for my cruise wedding..

huiling

Hey katherine! what is vine?

we are having the solemnisation in church. so not sure what to do during the buffet time.

read from another thread that you are having a grecian theme for your wedding? who is doing your gown? I'm thinking of DIYing. get a designer to do a gown for me. but it is very ex, though i prefer it this way.

starz11

looks like we are the only 3 in this thread

hmm, no wedding favours, so tat's extra cost. yep $500 more sounds like a reasonable amt to spend on decor.

yep, huiling, agree with you abt the buffet bit. what do pple do during a buffet time?? and won't there be alot of movement - ie pple walking up and down to get food..

kat - vines as in those vines that entwined around poles with little flowers? tat's nice
so it's like a garden theme as well.

huling - i haven't decided on a bridal studio yet, although I would most prob go for Seletar Broadway. They offered me quite a good deal, as my budget is only abt $3K. (hopefully, when i go back and sign today or tomorrow, they will stick to what they offered me!)

my good friend oso went to Seletar Broadway, and she was very pleased with the MUA, gowns and photography. hence her recommendation to me.

getting ur own designer will cost. act'y in a way, MTM gowns are like getting a designer to design. if you sign wif a bridal studio, at least other stuff like photography, wedding car, etc area taken care of.

of coz if you have the time, and money is of no concern, then DIY will be great
me prefer fuss free..haha

katherine

hi...

yup..vines as in those leafy things tat curls...gardeny hor..hehee..i find them quite grecian also...hahah....dun know if in the end, can achieve the grecian look, cos may have budget for deco...flowers quite ex leh...tat's why i thot vines, may be cheaper...

my gown, made by my bridal studio lor..but i didn't tell them i got 2 weddings, cos i scared they will charge me extra, wat ull think?? oh girl, if u want, i can ask my fren for contacts...one of her colleague also got this seamstress to make her gown for her...

i feel buffet is generally for the couple to mingle with the guests..so if u dun have to do solemnisation, then can just do a march in, cut cake or pour champagne, if want, have a short speech..then can start eating!!! yippee...then walk around, mingle with pple while eating etc...personal contact mah..better than those where others only see u on stage, can't even say hi to u.....

nicatan

i am thinking of using balmoral hall for high tea after church wedding... do they cater for hi-tea? i oni hve 100 guests too...

not sure shd i hold reception at church or at hotel?? wat do u gals tink?

huiling

Hi Starz11, seletar broadway...hmm, will check it out, who is your friend's MUA? I'm looking for one now.

hey Katherine, yes yes yes! I want the seamstress's contact! thank QQQQQQ
btw, where can I get a vine? where is your wedding katherine? maybe we can share the decor? *idea*

we must brainstorm what to do for buffet!

hi Syt, Balmoral do cater for high tea, sd not be a problem
where is your wedding? hmm, which is your church? if I'm having my solemnisation in church, then i rather have my reception in church, save the hassle. my opinion only

starz11

hi huiling

my friend's MUA is for Seletar Broadway. Her name is Mavis. If you visit the bridal boutiques thread and search under Seletar Broadway, you will see alot of discussion on the bridal studio and mention of Mavis (who is highly sought after)

me going to sign with Seletar Broadway later after work (yes, me work on a Sat..

quite excited..

yes, kat, where are you going to get the vines? i think if you entwined the vines wif small
flowers, it will be nice!

are you gonna DIY? or would u get someone to help you decorate?

hi syt, agree wif huiling. mebbe u can consider having your reception at the church. so that your guests don't hv to make their way to another venue for high tea

huiling

oh forget to answer Katherine's question on whether it is wise to tell BS if you have two weddings. so far the BS i went to said that they will give me a certain period for the gown and I can wear it as many times I like during that period. think EmanuelB couture said that if i have a wedding overseas, i can also bring the gown with me at no extra charge. how about your BS?

so starz11? decided on Balmoral yet?

starz11

hi huiling
not really, rethinking of balmoral since it is buffet. we may want a sitdown dinner instead, for the traditional old folks.

i read in the other thread that u were considering grand hyatt but gave up the idea coz u only hv 10 tables. i tot grand hyatt does some rooftop garden theme wedding for small groups?

i haven't checked it out thou...

huiling

hmm, yeah I think Grand Hyatt does rooftop, but my fiance does not want an outdoor wedding because of the weather. & i think grand Hyatt is alot more ex? I don't know, actually I have not confirmed anything yet, have not paid desposit for anything
But right now, I'm so in love with Margaret's bride gown.

(actually, I don't even rem posting a message on grand Hyatt!
))

starz11

just heard from my fren tat to hv a dinner at Hyatt rooftop garden, gotta pay $5K for the venue

tat's on top of the banquet, so i guess it is out for me liao

yes, margaret brides' gowns are gorgeous. but i emailed her abt her packages, and she said that they don't do rental of gowns - all their gowns are for sale. for me, i dun wanna keep the gowns, so it was out for me. but if you wanna keep them, then u can consider.
i saw their gowns in bridal mags and it is beautiful

katherine

how about asking your studio to do the design of the gowns tat u saw in the mag?? tat's wat i m doing...
saw this nice halter neck gown in an ang moh bridal mag and asked my designer to make soemthing like tat for me...

hyatt quite expensive...i asked them before about garden wedding and they said need to pay extra for a back up room...arghh..

i intend to get a florist to do the deco, all those vines and all..of cos if the caterer can do them, maybe will ask them to do also...

nicatan

hi startz and girl ren yu,

thks for the advice... i was also tinking bout holding it in church but not sure if the church allows... gota source arnd.. sigh..

huiling

Hi Katherine, what is the name of your BS? any recommendation? actually I'm also considering Amanda lee, The bridal wardrobe and Emanuel B couture. just get them to do a gown for me
my budget is $1K for the gown.

which florist are you thinking of?

yeah, Hyatt is expensive. not sure about the information that the rooftop garden cost $5K, abit unreasonable right? maybe will give them a call and clarify

hey SYT, which church are you with?

katherine

hi girl, my BS is universal, at toa payoh, not a designer studio but it's quite good...

florist, i dun know...looking at secret gardens, there's one called spellbounds also not bad...hmm..see how....

for hyatt, the price is becos they will do up a backup function room for u..in case it rains or watever...so for that backup room, it will be done up exactly the same table clothes etc etc for wedding...tat's why so ex..but wasted money if tat day no rain...

huiling

yep, I called Hyatt up. it is really 5K for the rooftop. quite ex. went to visit M hotel recently. very chic and classy! my fiance likes it very much

huiling

actually i don't know which venue to take. don't think we are taking up M hotel already. thinking of Regent hotel, i like the whole feel of the hotel but not the function room. so in a dilemma, can't seem to find the one venue thati really like. those that seems very ncie like four seasons is too ex.

Cruise idea sounds great but just worried I'd get sea sick. Was toying with idea of chartering boat to one of the isle as a bridal getaway thing before but also canned that idea bec I am so prone to getting sea sick *hai*

zierella

hi all...i love the pic i saw on royal plaza's website, plus im thinking of doing a cosy small dinner with really close frens rather than a big one where i cant really mix ard with the guests, but sigh dunno still undecided...

Any other hotels can cater to small no of guests say 12 tables?

ptbear

Contacted them recently about their wedding package thru email. They din reply me at all. Then I called them to check if they can send me their package, they told me theirs is buffet style only.

So rude lor, buffet style only not banquet can still reply me and inform me about it what. How can they just toss my email aside without replying? Dun even have some basic courtesy. And when I said I wanted sit-down banquet, she say no have, then wanna quickly put down the phone liao.

Left a lousy impression on me definitely. What kind of 5* hotel is that? even 4* hotels can do better than that!!

blizzie

hi ptbear,

which is the lousy hotel that you're talking about? woah.. i am also considering buffet style for just my ROM, is yrs AD or only ROM?

hv u shortlisted other hotels?

june2bfree

Anyone had a ROM/ banquet there in 2009? I emailed the hotel but it's been a week and no reply.

The waiters there seem more friendly than their coordinators lor. No news at all. One week is really too long!

If you have their F&B menus/ pictures, please PM me. Arigato!

freisha

any brides doing their banquet at royal plaza on scotts? or have you attended any of their wedding function before? please share..

shazpezzazz

Same here for me please - do let me know how the buffet's like.

Honestly, my experience with the coordinators have been great. Hooi Ching is very prompt and I hope this could be the venue for our wedding lunch.

souler

Hi Freisha,

I actually had my wedding lunch at Royal Plaza On Scotts 3 years ago. Mine is a simple affair of 11 tables but everybody who attended actually like the atmosphere alot.

princesstina86

Hi Freisha,

I have book RPS for my ROM (Dinner) on Jan 2011. I booked the wedding package as i found it more worthy of my money.

I have checked out the place, ballroom and feel that it is really good. I have checked out so many others, but in the end, this place was my choice.

Best Regards
Tina