ROM Lunch @ Zhou Kitchen''

tan_ann

Hi thomas,

i planning to have my lunch there... my ROM is next yr Mar..

So yours is solemation and lunch or just lunch at there..

I see...just lunch only, ROM at Fort Canning itself =)

Go have a look at their dimsum buffet, quite a spread and also value for $$$ ($16.80 per pax)

You?

tan_ann

Me same as you.. but i hv't book the date yet..
btw can we choose the timing?.. As i thinking of having the lunch at penny jade or zhou kitchen.

tan_ann

thomas, when we apply the dates through ROM website.. we will know the result on the spot or have to wait...

peony jade is good too but rather expensive to me

yes, if that slot is available and u have taken it, u will have that timing to urself. Do take note though, try to fill up the form ard 11.45pm the night before ur actual ROM date (the form is 5 pages), once u have filled in everything then u can wait for the clock to strike 12am, then u click 'submit'. =) This is to make sure u get ur choice time slot, cos there are many many others who are as kiasu as u too haha.

p.s. rem to fill up until page 2 first, page 3 is the choosing of time slot, dun click 'submit' first on page 2 until clock strikes 12. Have some practice first, I also practised many times before the actual night hahahahaaha

forgot to mention u can book up to 3mths' ahead in advance, so let's say if u intend to ROM on 12 March 2009, u can start filling up the form on 11 Dec 2009 at 11.45pm liao ;) Good luck!

sleepy47

Their private room quite small lor...
If the no of people attending is quite small, then can consider this place lor...

But hor, the venue on your rom cert wont be so nice leh... 'Zhou Kitchen'
Erm...

erm, my solemnisation will be done at ROM itself, not at Zhou Kitchen. We are going there after our solemnisation to eat only

sleepy47

I personally find it quite nice...
I had been there quite a few times lor & tasted almost all food on the hi-tea menu...
Kekeke, do rem to save some stomach for the dessert lor espically the gui ling gao...
I like the herbal taste alot & not to forget the small cute egg tarts...

jotanjotan

Hi, i had hold my Rom + lunch at Zhou's Kitchen too on 3mths ago. I personally like the mini garden tht the restaurant setup for me to hold my soleminize there. :)

phuayling

hi jotanjotan, did you have to add extra charge to use their mini garden? can share the contact of the person in charge with mi? i am interested to have my ROM there as well. Thanks in advance!

jotanjotan

Hi ling, came to jst realise tht zhou kitchen do have a few outlets, mine is at Alexandra(opp ikea). Yes, for using their mini(balcony) garden, there is charges and is jst a simple setup done by them and i kinda like the simple setup. On top of tht, i also do like the restaurant building structure as it is stood by itslef. :)

http://www.zhouskitchen.com/gallery.php

oic jotan...haha I like the Anchorpoint's branch too, quite unique...

Other branches are at Novena Square 2, Far East Square, Jurong Point etc.

jotanjotan

hi Ling,

You can look for Irene @ 64731123, she is the restaurant manager. She very friendly and can mke arrangement for yr request. For mine is, the restaurant open at 11.30am and she can arrange me to solimnise at 11am instead, to avoid the crowd. :)

jotanjotan

Having my solemnisation at Zhou Kitchen is vy private althought i am nt having private room as we are the 1st group customers, heehee. They also do the setup wth dummy tier-cake and glass champagne for photo-taking.

phuayling

Hi jotanjotan,

Thanks so much for sharing!

How much is the charge for the mini garden, and which is the outlet u booked?

Another question, will our ROM venue be on the marriage certificate? If we take up Zhou Kitchen, will the address or the name of the restaurant be printed? Or both? Are we able to choose which to print? Thanks!

jotanjotan

Ling,

I hold my solemnisation at Zhou's Kitchen at Anchorpt, Alexandra(opp ikea). They charge me $50 for the solimnise venue. Yes... our ROM venue will b printed on the cert. If i am not wrong, the cert venue will be printed exactly the same way as the tme when we filed the notice of marriage on the venue.

phuayling

Oh, $50 is a reasonable charge! And thanks for the pic..the venue looks really nice and simple

If only I have stumbled across your reply earlier.. have already booked the boon lay raja restaurant at jurong east today..and when i file the venue, i only keyed in the address of the place -.-"

Imagine my venue on the cert being Blk xxx...looks ugly right

jotanjotan

Ling,

So whn u roming? Hw is the charges for yr venue? Hw is the place at the Raja restaurant? I feel it does not have to feel sad abt the venue printed on the cert and it jst a mermory tht the couple hold it there. Cheers Up!!! :)

hamrachleia

Hi JotanJotan,

How many tables did you book at Zhou Kitchen?
is there any min requirement before they do the ROM table set up for you?

jotanjotan

Hi Rach,

I only book 2 tables at the Zhou Kitchen. No, you just need to tell them you intend to hold yr solemnisation at their restaurant and they will discuss with you the prices on the venue of the solimnise and you can also do your own decoration on the mini garden if you like. :)

phuayling

Hihi! I am ROM-ing on the 6th Feb 2009 ( my birthday!~) and using their private room as the venue.. have to book tables from $428+ and above in order to get their private room.

Their room is quite nice and can accomodate to quite a few tables, but i only booked 2 tables.. but since my ROM date is still within the first 15 days of CNY so the price of the table went up by alot! And it's a New Year menu which includes yusheng..Usually it's only $308..but i have to pay $428.. alot of the other places only entertain New Year menu as well only..and strange that i have to lao yusheng on my ROM right..haha..

jotanjotan, thanks for being so nice abt everything

hamrachleia

Hi Jotanjotan,

Thanks for your reply!

My ROM is fixed on the 9th Feb 2009, on the last day of CNY.. So I will be in the same plight as you if I'm taking the private room...

danlee

Hi, any comment/feedback on the food, place, service for Zhou's Kitchen. I am thinking of having my wedding dinner there. But still going around to view places & yet to confirm.

Hi danlee,

Food - good
place - depends on which outlet u looking at, personally I find the one at Anchorpoint is the place in terms of ambience cos it's a building by itself.

Service - not bad

shiqing

Hi all, any extra charges for the dummy tier-cake & glass champagne for photo-taking?
Do u guys noe the rough charges per table?

Just had my post-ROM hi-tea buffet there last week, had to say food was good and service not bad too. Only blemish on that day was they overcharged me for one more pax share which I overlooked when signing on the bill. Called Irene after when I discovered the discrepancy and she promised to credit back the amt to me.

The egg tarts are good! like the HK ones with crust and best of all, warm too!

michantz

Hihi jotanjotan, was your ROM during lunch or dinner? My partner and I are worried abt the weather (in case rain). Also, we are contemplating between lunch and dinner coz afraid it'll be too hot. Any advice?

michantz,

u can actually sit inside, there are 2 storeys at the Anchorpoint branch so I do not see any issues. The mini garden is just a small area outside only for u to do solemnization.

ev3

besides Zhou's kitchen & peony jade, any other recommendations for solemnisation + lunch to be held?

tsuifei

Ev3, mayb u can consider Furama Riverfront too. :)

Headache to find a venue for my outdoor ROM Solemnization with tight budget. I've abt 40 guests, been surfing around.. try to find the best deal.. But it seems like a bit diff..:-(

fionie

can i check on the mini garden is able to hold up to how many pax? if i m looking at 15-20, will it be very pack?