ROM @ Esplanade...V Tea Room?

tizaneh

Anyone havin ROM in any restaurants in Esplanade? tot it's somewhere different. any good reccomendations?? one of the forum mentioned V Tea Room yet. any comments? Help needed...thanks

freakyfriday

hi tizane,
nice name. hee...anyway i booked my rom in oct at V Tea Room at esplanade. very beautiful place and price wise quite reasonable. should go n take a look and enquire. need extra info can ask me.

freakyfriday

hi michy,
they have various packages, actually depends on ur budget. They are also very flexible and open to ideas so was quite happy with what they offered. If i did not remember wrongly, menu ranges from $40 t0 $200 per pax. can enquire on their website

michy_wong

oh... ok ok. i shall go ask them how big a group can they accomodate. Thanks!

~mimosa~

hihi...i juz went down to take a look today
a young lady called dawn served me
its really a nice place! but abit small though
im planning a ROM for bout 50-80 ppl...so if i plan to hold it there then it will b a standing reception
so i guess its out for me
can contact dawn @ 96821793
www.thevtearoom.com
hope the above info helps

freakyfriday

I am inviting 50 people too. Dawn told me it's just right for 50 and that's the maximum amount. Agree that the place is abit small but nonetheless booked it cos it's very different from other places. the cakes and omelette loaf are really good.

tizaneh

I Booked the V Tea Room already!! inviting about 50 people too...

Jan, does yours include wedding favours? I requested to have it and paying about $48+++ per pax. think quite worth it cos lotsa things i need included already. when's your ROM anyway?

nat_bleu

Hmm... How come u gals already got so much stuff done? I already paid the deposit & my solemnisation is in Jun but I haven get to decide on the theme, favours & everything leh. Do u haf to go after Dawn or she came to u with all the proposals or haf she forgotten abt me!!?

tizaneh

hi nattie, dont worry la, Dawn will most likely contact you when she is done. She must b damn busy cos alot of couples having ROM there. Went down last week then they were holding some corporate event so no chance to really speak to her.

tizaneh

hey natalie, so did dawn get back to u? spoke to her over the phone and mentioned ur name and she was so surprised i know u...hahaz=)

freakyfriday

hi tizane, sorry for super late reply. I am not having any wedding favours. might consider later. if i m not wrong they will have more wedding favours in time to come so just wait lor. what are you getting? my rom is in oct. still a long time later. gonna take studio pics next month. quite excited! trying my best not to pinch on junk food. hehe

tizaneh

helo jan, I just got 2 pairs of shoes. got one pair custom made and haven collected yet.

I got the pair of rose cookies in organze bag. very simple and the teaste pretty unique. too lazy to source ard anyway.

my cousin oso considering having her ROM there. haha...we went for tea together last week and she loves the place and service too. think we made the right choice

constance, are you booking the place?

nat_bleu

hi Tizane, actually my FH & I r the slackers here.(pai seh)Dawn has been waiting for me to reply her on the no. of guests & choice of cakes etc. Think I'll make a trip down soon.

We'll haf to pay extra for wedding favours right? I dun tink I'm having any liao bec now my guest list went up to 20 pax liao, it has exceeded my 1K budget. I think their invitation cards will be memorable enuff.

constancezee

I have booked the V tea room for my ROM. The best ambience after scouting so many other places. tried their baileys cake, really very very good! think my guests will b impressed with the presentation too...

will be getting wedding favours, dawn will get back to me on that since my ROM is at end of year.

did u guys sign up any wedding package?

nat_bleu

hi Constance! Good for u!
362165.gif

I met up wif Dawn few days back & settled on my menu & invitation cards. I'm having Baileys in my menu too. I haven tried but Dawn said its a popular choice.

Wedding packages? U mean with V Tea?

jess_lee

Hi ladies...hopefully I'm not too late in joining the discussion. I'm having my ROM this Dec and just sent Dawn an email to check on the prices or packages. Anyone done a ROM there before? Any pictures to share? My fiance is in overseas working, so I'm on my own in scouting. Stress! :p

nat_bleu

hi Jesl, the min spending is $800 to book the place. I took the cheapest pkg $40++ per pax. Incl invitation cards, Lovers' Brownies, Baileys' Liquer & Norwegian Salmon Fried Rice per pax. Free flow of Nutty Macademia tea, Pink Rose Marigold tea, "Sunrise with you" Mocktail & Americano.
As for pics, I'll update them after my ROM in June then.
The photographer.. my dad.. haha
370203.gif

constancezee

Hi Jess lee and Jesl,
think you girls shd go down and take a look at the place. Very hard to visualize the setting from pictures. The setting is european-style and very pretty. Just call and make appt with the event planner, Dawn. She is really efficient but she seems quite busy with alot of functions these days and her response abit slower but still fast. dunno what I am saying=)

Hi Nat,
i signed up wedding package with White Link....
mothers' day package at the v tea room was good. my mum loved the place and the people there too. glad i found the right place! must show me your pictures in june!

gocheryl

Hi Nattie, i would like to see your photos too!!!

Thank you girls for the excellent recommendation!
Chanced upon this thread about a month ago and finally went down to take a look last week. I made a booking already!! Will be paying the deposit this week. My future mum-in-law likes the omelette salmon there. Not too sure if can have it for my big day.

anyway, I haven't decided on what to have bcos Dawn mentioned that their new menu will be out and my ROM is in Jan...oops...think I am super KS!

tizaneh

hi people, wanted to go for tea with my clients on tuesday but the place was closed. Aiyo... didn't know 060606 is really so popular.

Nattie, you were having your ROM then? I was there at around 5.

kamy

Hi Nattie,
Your pictures are so nice and the place is cozy and sweet. May I know how much you pay for the whole ceremony?

nat_bleu

hi Kamy, Thks! I spend ard $1,100++ for 21 pax. I took the $40++ per pax pkg but some frens ordered alcoholic drinks so got to pay abit more.
379693.gif

blanqq

I'm getting ROM on 31 Dec 2006. i approached Dawn sometme 2 weeks ago. Only inviting abt 20 pax. She says she will email me some photos and the food menu, till now didn't hear from her.. Guess she must be busy.

Nattie, can email me some photos and your food menu? Might consider booking t

constancezee

Hello Blanqq,
perhaps you would like to call her instead. I just called her 2 days ago with regards to my invites and she was very busy but thankfully I managed to speak to her. the Tea room's number is 6333 1965.

Wow...you have a reason to celebrate on the 31st dec every year!

Anyway, my friend has decided to book the V tea room for her ROM next year too...hee...my great recommendation!

blanqq

Ya. We actually choose that cos' we know each other on New Year's eve countdown.

I've actually went down to V Tea room myself and met Dawn too. Very friendly gal. talk to her close to 2 hours. I'm quite impressed with the place but my FH complained too far for his family.

merribell

Hi all, I am new to this forum. Need your help urgently on this... My ROM date is on 29 Sep and the venue is also at V Tea Room. To all those who have already ROM at V Tea Room, could I check what you wore on that day? Long or short dress? I am asking as I have just chosen a white long (until feet) halter neck dress and I realise that I may look 'weird' in esplanade. So I will just like to check if a short dress is more appropriate for a location like the V Tea Room. Thanks for your help!

ahfatz

haven had the rom but so far dawn's been great. the only reason i regretted booking the place is becoz we din count on buying a new place so soon and now we're hoping to hv it at the function room at our new place.

tizaneh

Ahfatz,
so u bot ur new place already? good idea to hav it at function room but think quite alot of hassle unless caterer doing everything for u. Attended my galfren's ROM at her condo and it was quite chaotic. Think your function room must b reasonably big to cater to ur crowd.

Angela,
I haven gotten my dress yet but I tink shouldn't be a problem la. Don't worry, you will look great! I had my outdoor photoshoot in Esplanade area. did feel weird but heck it. haha... not many people there anyway so quite ok.

blanqq,
esplanade far from ur FH's home? very central to me and they have lotsa parking lots. i always hang out in that area since my office is just across the road. Shouldn't b a problem. what other places are u looking at? I might b revising my menu at no extra charge. Dawn just informed me a few days ago. The new reception menus are out.

merribell

Tizaneh,
Thanks for your encouragement ah... but I am a worry wart now... and I dun think I will look very 'me' in a long gown loh. Anyhow, I have made an appointment with my bridal studio to re-choose another gown for the ROM...maybe knee length, in cream or champagne. Anyhow, dunnoe if you know it yet but Dawn says that there will more food choices for selection under the $40+++ menu (not sure if this applies for menus of other costs as well but should be lah) and that they will be vamping up V Tea Room with new Venetian masks so the look of the place will be better, maybe you ladies can go and check it out? Think she mention by end of the month... I am not very sure. =P

twinky83

HI,

Can i know roughly what are the charges for renting an ROM gown fr bridal shop??

I haven start sourcing for my ROM gown & haf really no idea hw to go abt with it?? Afraid that the bridal shop may nt haf my size as i am rather plump.

Any advice??
395436.gif

merribell

Hi tWinKy,
I have just gotten my ROM dress from Bridal Concept cos we had signed up for the wedding package. The ROM package is sorta 'FOC' cos the deposit for the wedding package is regarded as 'payment' for the ROM. Maybe you can call the shop to ask? Hope this helps.

twinky83

Hi Angela,

My AD will onli b in end'07. And i will ROM in Nov'06. Do they do juz ROM package??

How r the charges like?? Do u roughly noe?

blanqq

Hi, just the new menu from Dawn last week. Not so much choice to choose from. I might sign up with one of the hotels instead cos' my FH is keen on the free 1 nite stay and the price is almost the same.

For those who are short-listing V Tea Room as one of their ROM venue. Pls email me so i can forward the menu.. Pls note that attachment is under zip, u need to have the software in order to unpack. Thks!

merribell

Hi twinky83,
My apologies for this late reply. I am not sure if they only do ROM, cos my ROM package is sorta 'free' since they count the deposite for my AD (which is prob in 2008) as 'payment' for the ROM. So they will be doing my ROM and AD loh. Think they are not bad so far lah.. Managed to find another ROM dress there, this time its a yellow (like the sun!) knee length tube dress... I quite like it. Maybe you can call them to ask? The number I have is 63339411. My 'complementary' ROM package includes the ROM dress, jacket for the groom, make up on ROM day and bouquet too. My advice is if you find out that Bridal Concept can do just ROM only, maybe you may like to compare the price and package with a few others before deciding.

twinky83

Hi Angela,

Its ok..In fact i haf oredi sign up a full package with Fame Bridal & they gave me a free ROM package..

SO my things r setled..Tks for ur reply..

nat_bleu

hi Gals! Haven log in for sometime. Here's some pics of the food I had on my solemnisation day. They all look so pretty! As for dress, mine was quite a simple one, the length is slightly over the knees. I think the couple who had their solemnisation before mine wore a wedding gown. Its your big day! There's bound to be stares from public & tourists esp.
404345.jpg

xinyi_reiko

Hey gals.. i went down and look for dawn on friday nite.. she is nice.. the food presentations are very pretty.. now still deciding whether to hold at this place or not.. becoz i got some concerns.. i not sure of the oriental food are nice or not... have requested her to let me try out.. another thing is.. i realise they using 2 different type of chairs during the actual day.. flowery type and the wooden type.. i wonder will it look weird? Hope to get some advice from you gals.. =)

merribell

Hi xinyi,
I will be able to advise u after next Fri cos my ROM will be held then! My personal view is that the place itself is gorgeous and the chairs wun matter lah. Will try to upload some pictures as well. cheers!

fel_fel

would like to know if teahouse do provide buffet dinner? Or it is those set dinner?

How much would it cost? Emailed to them but then no reply...