ROM @ Equinox

snakey77

i'm new here. Fren recommended me to join n read to prepare for THE DAY!! I'm thinking of going toequinox for ROM. Anyone have been there before?

supergal

I've checked out Equinox's ROM dinner buffet package and per head is about 85++ and there is a minimum of 30 or 40 pax.

It's really an experience of a lifetime if you are willing to spend that much on your ROM

snakey77

Hiya,

yes, i checked it out too. But they quoted me a min. of $3500 spending to use the room for ROM and 4-course dinner. To rent the room alone will also cost $3500. really cut-throat pricey!!

Am considering Swissotel Merchant Court Poolside. Any recommendation?

supergal

Hi Mich,

I've seen SMC poolside also, quite a nice place and the view is good as the area actually looks down to the pool area and not exactly by the poolside, since the place where they are going to do the table and chairs set-up is kind of 'elevated'.

However, as I'm not too keen in having an outdoor solemnization, I've decided to give it a miss. I guess I'm too concern about the unpredictable weather and even though hotels always say they have back-up plans, I've heard couples saying that these back-up plans can never match up to their original ideas.

I don't want my solemnization to be a disppointing event as afterall, it is a once in a lifetime thing.

snakey77

hi supergal,

yes, agree.. no wedding couple would not want to have a "perfect" wedding! ;)

where will you hold your solemnization?

supergal

Hi Mich,

I will be taking the solemnization package from Hotel Rendezvous. It will be a theatre style solemnization ceremony, after which will be a sit-down dinner buffet.

Have you decided when and where to hold yours?

snakey77

ohh... sounds nice n cosy too!! we have not decided yet on venue but most likely SMC cos he grew up living along clarke quay area... indirectly revealing his age!! haa..

as for the date, most likely in Sept or Oct cos date has been "calculated", u know what i mean?

supergal

Yeah..of course I know what you mean! Initially, I wanted to have my ROM on 08/08/08 but my parents strongly object to it as it is during the lunar 7th month! So disappointed...thought they aren't so ban dang! But well...

So we decided to do it on our anniversary date instead!

snakey77

cool..!! yah, beta not do it during 7th month lah.. respect ur parents. Doing it on your anniverary is oso a good idea... dun go and "squeeze" with so many pple on 08-08-08.

bearyhip

Also have the intention of having my ROM at Equinox cos my hb proposed to me at Equinox....but but...the price is so steep.... rather save the money for house renovation...so in the end, we had our ROM ceremony at Peony Jade....Nice place with great food!!

nlimm

hey ger
u can opt for hi-tea at equinox restaurant, if u dun mind daytime.
I will be holding mine on the 28Mar2008 there, i be inviting ard 25guests,estimated cost ard $1200

snakey77

hi annette, the sales person who replied to me said there is minimum speanding S$3000 to use their room for ROM. Is there diff if do it in the afternoon??

nlimm

mich: u intend to hold it in wat room? Me is in teh restaurant itself coz i like to high ceiling n wooden pillar. I think the saleperson u talkt o refer to one of teh conference room isit?

chionh

latest info on Equinox.
contact person : Jane Leong
Private Room: small room for 30 pax(min)
Per pax : $85++ for lunch buffet
Additional free flow soft drink: $20++ per pax
Additional Soleminsation table set up: $30++ per pax (Foral setup)

Total = $85 + $20 + $30 + 17% = $157.95
30 pax = 30 x $157.95 = $4738.50/=

chrs....

snakey77

hi Annette : no ar.. think it's the same room u r using.. cos i mentioned i will hold ROM ceremony followed by reception.... then told me min $3K soending.

The calculation from Marcus came up to $4K plus.. so.. still wondering if i should do it there. Would you be ok to share some pics arfter your ROM there?

nlimm

mich: mine is not in the private function room,coz the function low ceiling i dun really like. mine is to be held in the restaurant itself where my htb proposed to me hehe and i really like the wooden deco(shown in pic,find it really nice
.Solemnisation in the restaurant and in private room are taken care by diff gp of ppl.

Lets have some clarification here b4 i continue:

Firstly: The price im told is based on hi-tea NOT lunch

Secondly:Hi-tea in Restaurant itself is a 1 time charge of $250++ for the solemnisation table(+flowercentre-piece) and $35++per pax(no minimum nos of pax reqd)

Thirdly:Hi-tea in private room is based on $35++, minimum 30pax, dun need pay extra for the solemnisation table.

My rom will be held on 28march2008,by the time my PG got all my slide and pics ready shd be mid april,if tts not too late for u,i could share the pics with u
623785.jpg

milktea20

hi Annette,

can you share with me your package, your contact? I am considering hightea as well.
Also also, your photos when it's ready, i like the high ceiling and the woodem deco very much!!

Thanks!! My email: [email protected]

nlimm

chris: basically if u r to hold at equinox restaurant itself like me, it will be #250++ for teh solemnisation table with 1 table centrepiece, afterwhich will be per pax36++ or 38++ cant rem.Cant play music coz its open to public too. My rom will be on 28th mar,will share with u my pic once my PG get everything ready,he will come out with a slideshow for me too

nlimm

Chris: Welcome, u can look for Glory to check out more.Shes a very nice lady, i feel safe to let her arrange my day for me.
And when u call, rem to state u wan the cust service to dircet u to Equinox Restaurant coz they rest, function room, banquet all under diff group. I actually called ard 10 times before they direct me to the right pax(so angry then), their cust service can even direct me to IT dept goodness.

snakey77

hi Annette, thanks for sharing. THink they quoted me based on private room, not the restaurant.

but am still not decided on venue... and now not in SG, make things worse as i can't go see the actual venue...

will really appreciate if you could share your pics after the ceremony. [email protected]

Thanks again and congrats... ceremony coming up soon!! hehe..

nlimm

mich: i shall try take some pic of the private room if u wanna, the private room share the same view as the restaurant ,the only diff is its a room(enclosed) hehe and also the height is of tt of a normal room at home while the restaurant ht is double n triple as whats shown above
. will only get my slideshow in april fr my PG, shall post back

snakey77

hi annette,

Thanks!! appreciate your help... i'm late in replies... been working overseas, really wonder how i'm going to get my wedding planned!!!

how's ur ceremony? really hope you've enjoyed it! looking forward to see your pics.

sleepyhello

Hi nlimm!

Can you share with me your package, your contact as well. So how much did you spend? So do you have a small area to seperate for your solemnization table & your guests? Sorry for asking so many question. Thanks!

My email: [email protected]

sleepyhello

Hi Annette,

Manage to talk to Glory and she was nice to book the slot for me!!! But Glory is going to leave the company in July...... Thanks Annette for your recommendation & info. Will be going down by this week.

nlimm

Sleepyhello: oh shes leaving,who will be taking over ur booking?When is ur solemnisation?Booked ur solemniser aldy?

sleepyhello

Annette: From our conversation she will handle till 19th July. I will have to talk with her regarding this issue(like what you said who is taking over...). Mine is on 11th Aug. Solemniser cant confirm with me on my ROM date so awaiting his reply.

suezzen

Hi Spacy,

I had my solemnisation at equinox last year August. Let me know if you want to view the pictures. I send you the link. =)

spacy

Hi Suez,
Nice to hear that u had ur ROM at Equinox too...
Yupz, thanks pls forward me the link.

spacy

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif

tea.doc (33.8 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi Rachel,

I attached the high-tea list for u, if u can't view , let me know

suezzen

Hi Spacy,
You do not accept PM. But I email you the link already ya
Welcome to comment~ Kekee

Just for your information, I am having dinner there. =)

chelrac_cantu

Hi Suez, are u having ur solemnisation at Equinox or Equinox Private Dining Room coz they are both different. For Spacy I guess urs is at the private dining room coz of the word doc u attached =)

spacy

hi Chelrac,

Yupz..my ROM will be held in private room 1, as they won't accept any more for Equinox le..

chelrac_cantu

Hi Spacy, oh really? I dunno tat. Thanks for the update. I will be having mine at private room 1 too. The solemnisation will be at the Salon area. When will ur big day be?

chelrac_cantu

oh salon area is juz beside private room 1 separated by partition door. It has curtains to block off the view of Equinox restaurant itself. To be eligible for Swissotel to block the Salon area for ur solemnisation, u have to spend at least $3K.

Mine is in Oct 09. Wow it's less than 1 mth away from your ROM. Are u excited? Remem to share with me ur beautiful pics =)

spacy

Mine is at level 69, i think it's diff from equinox restaurant

As i signed up long ago, my min spend is 2500 gst not included

chelrac_cantu

Mine is at level 69 too. The Salon area is part of the private room =) We want the solemnisation to be at the Salon area so that the table won't eat up our guests space at the private room proper. Ooh that is a good price. I guess they charge me rental for the Salon area by giving me a minimum spending of $3K ba. The maximum pax they allow is 40, so to spend more than $3K is quite easily achieved.

Will u be reserving the hotel suite on that day too?

spacy

hi Chelrac,

Nope, I will be having Lunch set meal for ard less than 200ppl, just my parent, ah ma and sibling:p after the ROM, which will end ard 3p.m, we will go for outdoor photoshoot and videographing...at the s'pore flyer~~
BTW, do u have videographer to recommend for my actual wedding dinner? cos my current videographer was taken up by other ppl for my AD which falls oct 09

chelrac_cantu

Hi Spacy, u kinda scare me with ur 200pax hahaha (such a big family). Mine will be a lunch buffet from 10am to 2pm and after that will be rest &amp; relax time, where we will go back to the Stamford Crest Suite to rest. The photographer we engaged will only be there from 10am till 1pm plus or minus. We have engaged a BS to take pre-wedding shoots for us so we will not have any photoshoot/videography on that day itself other than the actual ROM photoshoot confined within the time frame.

Im sorrie i do not have any videographer to recommend coz we have not reached that planning stage yet. Our traditional dinner date is still not set as we are waiting for our house and we are not engaging any videographer for our ROM.

But you might want to check this out:
http://ptechnix.livejournal.com/88848.html
Photography by Kelvin Koh from LightedPixels and Videography (proposal) by Yang from Substance Films. I chanced upon this while sourcing for a photographer for my ROM day itself. Hope this helps.