ROM at Swissôtel Merchant Court

• Thread starter madwoman_in_the_attic
  • Start date

blissful_jas

Thanks Oink.

Wow. that's pretty costly... hopefully the deco included in the package is sufficient.

btw, did anyone hold their solemnisation by poolside and proceed to function room for reception? how much did that cost?

yukikodawasan

blissful, ya I noticed it was quite ex too. To me, I think the one in package is sufficient. Up to individuals' preferences. If you think it's insufficient, you can buy in rose petals and scatter some during march in and on your solemnisation table. That's what I did.

To me, it's only a 2 hrs' event, so spending that kind of money is unnecessary. After solemnisation, we proceeded to the Cafe for hi tea buffet. Did not try their catering though. You can check out the package with them.

raragal

What time did u BTBs do your ROM?

Lunch time at 11am or 1pm for High Tea??

yukikodawasan

Hi Rach,

I had added you in Multiply. I did mine at 2pm. But there were some hiccups on my ROM day. So the guests were made standing outside the Cafe after my ROM ceremony at 3pm. The cafe was closed for cleaning and preparation for high tea at 3.30pm and the coordinator did not inform me about this in advance.

raragal

Hi Joc...

Saw ur photos...
Nice!!

So you had your ROM at the poolside? And the hi tea at the cafe huh??
What was ur package?
But seems like ur signing of cert is somewhere indoor? Or is that a pavilion?

The seating arrangement is how?
Buffet style, sit anywhere? or is there fixed 10pax/table kind?
How much u spend in total for your ROM?
How many guests you had?

Sorry for so many questions!

blissful_jas

Hi Oink,

Yah I think it'll be a waste of money to spend too much on deco, since it'll only be like 30 min until the whole ceremony is over.

yukikodawasan

Hi Rach,

hehe thanks...oh my ROM was at the Pavilion near the poolside. Yup high tea buffet in the Ellenborough cafe after ROM ceremony. Package for booking the pavillion was $500+++, followed by a $19.90+++ per pax for the buffet. No extra charges after that. Signing of cert is at the pavillion.

SMC arranged the seats for us, think ard 40 seats. I arranged with my coordinator to reserve a small corner for me which fits 40+ ppl in that corner comfortably.I Paid for 46 ppl, including kids... ard $1500 ba.

Blissful - yup you are right. But you should go there and take a view. See what else you can add besides the extra flora stands...

guineapiggy

Hi Oink,

I will be holding my ROM in Feb 2008 at SMC. However, I am curious abt the enchanced decoration too, do u happen to know what is the difference if u opt for the decoration?

On that day, did you still designate seats for your friends/relatives to sit together or you shd let them chose themselves at the section SMC reserve for u?

Do you also add in the soft drinks top up for every guests?

Do you also bring your wine in? I heard there is a corkages fee of $25.

As for the march-up + music, u arrive there early to organize all those?

yukikodawasan

Hi Kailin,

Congrats to you. You must be feeling really excited now.

I can really rem much about the enhanced decor by their designated florist. Think they should be including like table decor for the solemnisation table and there will be floral stands etc. You can check with your coordinator. Think she can send you the package for the enhanced decor. Personally I think it's very pricey and unnecessary.

At the pavilion, I did not limit the guests seating as I have oni 40+ guests. The guests are free to take the seating. I do not have a reception counter too, as I would like it a little casual and a comfortable setting for my guests. As for the section that SMC reserve for us, I meant the Ellenborough Cafe. I asked them to reserve a corner that can fit 40+ ppl and that area will be block for my ROM event.

I did not add in any soft drinks. All were serve in plain water and there were coffee or tea served in the cafe. As there were some hiccups, all the guests were compensated with a glass of soft drinks that day.

Nope, no wine. My ROM event was supposed to take place at 2.30pm and i informed my guests to come at 2pm. I reached SMC with hubby at 11+am, and waited for my MUA. Before that, I went to the pavilion to take a look, but they were still arranging the chairs and decor. So nothing was done much, so I proceeded to meet my MUA. We did not have a rehearsal as it's like a 1-2 mins march in...as for the music, we had our own CD, so I passed to my hubby to play it before the guests arrived at 1.30pm.

guineapiggy

Hi Oink,

Thanks for the information. It definately helps.
As for the enchanced decoration, I do feel is a bit x for a few mins thing. However, I am also thinking of bring my own rose petals to scatter them on the table.

Do you have pics of your big day at SMC that I can view too? Thank u...

Becos I will be going straight there after my changing dress and makeup at the BS and my event is at 6pm. Thus, should I be there around 5pm or later? Sorry, got lots of questions for u. Hope you dun mind.

blissful_jas

Hi Oink,

Do you have pictures to share? I wish to have a look at the set-up. =)

I'll be going down to SMC during the weekend to have a look. Hopefully I can decide which hotel by then.

yukikodawasan

Hi Kailin & Blissful,

I would love to share my ROM photos with you in Multiply. My ID is bluejoy12. You both can add me there.

Kailin, yes. Please bring some rose petals for decoration purposes. That's what I did too. Helps to beautify the area too. No problem in sharing. I had my ROM last year and found that not many ppl shared their experience in SMC too. Felt kind of lost. Now that everything's over and preparing for my AD now. I would suggest that you go SMC earlier and make sure everything is in good order. Frankly speaking I do not have good experience at SMC. But the venue really left a great impression in our minds. Or maybe get someone you trust to view the area first. Do not trust that your coordinator will do everything for you. You can go earlier and mingle with friends who arrive earlier too. Personally I like mingling with friends and you can take pics with them while waiting for the guests. It's always good that the host and hostess are there earlier. Hope this helps.

Blissful - Happy sourcing. Most importantly you must be comfortable with the coordinator and the solemnnization area.

guineapiggy

Hi Oink,

Thank you. Actually, before I joined this forum, I had seen the story about your experience with them. I was quite worried though. Becos it seems that they are really bad on the co-ordination, there not much perks given, and hidden costs on the whole thing.
I met Priscilia to check things out before I sign the package and indeed it seems that the poolside and the buffet side is 2 different event to them as different ppl take charge of different things.

However, after looking through the various hotels and their menus. Only SMC poolside attract us and I prefer their buffet food compare to the usual ten food items menu in other hotels. That's y i have chosen them. But for the co-ordination side, i think i would have to find my friends to help in co-ordination to prevent any hipcups from SMC.

I saw that u r having ur AD at Swissotel The Stamford? Its a great place..my bro used to work there for the banquets..hence, i must say is a good choice.

yukikodawasan

Hey Kailin,

Ya really bad experience. But I should feel being an event coordinator, you should have experience and be able to do all coordination despite being in different areas. Well I had ironed my issues with her before that, but still I got the same treatment. Perhaps that's why no one shared their experiences with me during my time.

Not much perks and everything needs to pay. Yes SMC pavilion is the oni attraction. The rest of their service is really terrible. Not sure about now. Perhaps they have recruited more coordinators now.

I was fearful of having my AD at SMC, but I still prefer Swissotel the Stamford. So my ROM and AD will be at Swissotel. hehe

Thanks... hopefully everything goes well. STS is famous for their personalised wedding services. Really looking forward to my AD.

blissful_jas

Hi Oink and Kailin,
Oink: Thanks for your advice and I've added you on Multiply. I've seen SMC pavilion pictures somewhere and I thought it's really lovely. I'm concerned about service and unseen last-minute additional costs.

Kailin: I've shortlisted Carlton, Amara and SMC. I've seen Carlton, not too bad. Will be visiting Amara and SMC this weekend. Hopefully I can decide soon.

yukikodawasan

Blissful,

No problem. It's always good to share and look at other ppl's comments too. But ultimately you and your HTB make the final decision.

I have shortlisted Carlton, SMC, Amara and Furama Riverfront for my ROM too. Hehe in the end I chose SMC cos of the beautiful pavilion. It's really romantic to have your ROM there. As for their service, I hope they could improve more on it. For Carlton, they are really flexible and no hidden costs.

Rennae, I had approved it. May I know which is you?

blissful_jas

Hi Oink,

Yup i agree Carlton's package is really transparent. Hehe, I guess I'll just shortlist those ultimate venues and leave it to HTB to make the final decision. =P

blissful_jas

hey Oink,

I've just seen your pictures. You're so pretty and lovely! The whole solemnisation area is so nicely done up. Did you request for enhanced deco? If not, it's more than sufficient to me.

Btw, may I ask where did you buy the bears? I've been looking for such bears with a ring holder.

yukikodawasan

Hi blissful,

ya explore more and compare before deciding..happy searching...

And thanks for the lovely comments. I did not request for enhanced decor, mine is the basic package stated in the agreement. I just brought in some rose petals as decoration and scattered onto the floor and to decorate my side table for my gifts. I think the pink drapes may differ cos I understand they have another color which is not peach(Mine is peach color). Some commented that the table cloth for the solemnisation table is dirty too (I thought mine was ok). You can check it out with the coordinator.

As for the ring bearer bears, they are the free gift that comes along with the purchase of my wedding bands from Lee Hwa. They are lovely and I thought it would be different from the normal ring pillow. Perhaps you can check it out at the jewellery stores when you purchase your wedding bands.

yukikodawasan

blissful,
You can buy the wedded couple bears outside. think takashimaya, florists and even kalms have them. Alternatively you can wait for your friends to buy for you...hehe

bjwedding

Can anyone email me the ROM package for 2008 for SMC?

Really feel glad to have so much info frm this forum ... me pretty nervous & stress over my ROM nxt yr =(

Still sourcing my venue ... =p

blissful_jas

I've visited SMC and we simply love the pavilion! I guess SMC will be our choice, but we're also worried about hiccups. Any advice on what to pre-empt? I'm concerned about guests finding the allocated seats at the cafe after the solemnisation. I'll have to check out with Priscilia on that later.

Oh, for BTBs who are still sourcing for venues: FYI, we've extremely bad experiences with Amara during our appointment to visit the site though the venue is lovely too.

guineapiggy

Hi Blissful, whens ur ROM going to be held?

Mine is in Feb 2008. Priscilia told me that on that day, there will be someone co-ordinating from the pool to the cafe, however, on the safe side, I will be asking my frenzs to help co-ordinating...as I have reservations on their (SMC)service and co-ordination.

I am surprise to hear that you have bad experience with Amara during ur visit as my frenz also held her ROM there and she is ok with their service.

blissful_jas

Hi Kailin,

I'm booking way in advance. Mine will be in June 2008. I won't have time to do co-ordination next year due to work commitments. That's why I'm so kiasu.

I heard of both positive and negative comments about Amara. My friend had extremely bad experiences too. I believe it's due to the different co-ordinators.

guineapiggy

Hi Blissful,

Congrats to you. You are not consider Kiasu lah..

However, must take note that SMC got some extra charges for free flow drinks, wine and x-tra decorations if u wan.

Actually, what happen during your visit at Amara? Care to share?

blissful_jas

Hi Kailin,

Thanks! Congrats to you too! =)
Yup, I've checked the extra charges for free flow drinks. I think the standard decorations seem sufficient.

As for Amara, my appointment was at 6pm. We called the co-ordinator twice when we reached the lobby, but she didn't inform us that she'll be late. We were made to wait for half an hour wondering when she'll come. When she came, she wasn't apologetic and just walked into a lift, leaving us to wonder what's happening & which level we'll be going to. Throughout the whole visit, she didn't converse with us and wasn't really friendly. What surprised me was that she wasn't professional at all, she didn't bring her name card for me when I asked for one. And finally when we were about to leave, she just left and walked into a room without a proper farewell to us. I was wondering if she wanted to show me another room or something... =(

guineapiggy

Hi Blissful,

Wah seems like it is really a bad experience you have with the co-ordinator at Amara. So have you confirm with the venue at SMC?

blissful_jas

Hmm.. I just got to know that another coordinator will be taking over Priscilia's portfolio... I'm extremely anxious now... Hope everything will be alright.

bjwedding

Nice to hear so much from you guys esp those who have the experience to share.

Just popped by SMC ytd w my hubby-to-be and we love the venue and idea of having our ROM and even our AD there.

But unfortunately the coordinator is not available =(

Anyone can share the package for 2008/2009? Any pics to share? The staff said they have no pics and ROM except for the packages for banquet =(

Thanks in advance =)

guineapiggy

Hi Blissful_jas,

How did you come to know someone else is taking over? Priscilia is leaving?

In fact, I wanted to contact her to confirm on the number of guests.

blissful_jas

Hi Kailin,

I'm not sure why Priscilia's portfolio is passed to another coordinator. She didn't tell me why. I only got to know about it when I emailed Priscilia on the progress of the agreement which had been delayed for 2 weeks.

I'll be meeting the new coordinator this weekend to ensure everything is okay.