ROM at Swissôtel Merchant Court

• Thread starter madwoman_in_the_attic
  • Start date

yukikodawasan

Im getting ROM on 14 Oct.. Then booked Swissotel Merchant Court poolside... went to view the place and really mesmerized by the place... haha...hope will have nice experience over there..

Anyone care to share their ROM pics at MC? Who do you all liaise with? Im currently liaising with Priscilia..

My email:[email protected]

yukikodawasan

Hi CutieMui,

My contact person for MC is Priscilia.Seemed like MC doesn't offer as many perks as other hotels.
Currently they are charging us $500+++ for the poolside solemnisation.

HappyTea - Mind sharing your ROM photos with me? I'm having my solemnisation at MC on 14 Oct.
Email:[email protected]

fel_fel

Hi OinkOink,

Would like to know if MC offers buffet dinner at their restuarants? I tried to find some info on MC restuarants, n their menus and costs, cant seem to find.

Thanks for your info

yukikodawasan

Hi Felicia,

MC does offer buffet dinner, but I'm not sure of their Dinner buffet items and prices. Cos I opt for the Hi Tea. However you can contact Priscilia at 62391767. Just mention I recommended you. She's a nice and friendly lady.

yukikodawasan

Could the brides who had held their ROM with Swissotel pls share their experience with me?

I'm really disappointed with Swissotel. My coordinator seemed to be very inexperienced and reluctant to offer perks. I understand all other hotels does decorate the place for ROM esp Amara hotel. Even other hotels also offer free stay but not Swissotel.

Swissotel is providing a CD player. However, anyone can share if it can play MP3? Cos I thought of burning a CD of MP3. My coordinator was saying that it shld be able to play MP3 as the previous couple also did that. But I felt so unassured.

I know I'm grumbling too much even before my ROM. But I am still hoping that the day will be a wonderful one.

sleepydopeey

i was pretty interested in getting my rom done at mc too, and have talked to one lady abt the rom package, and is pretty ex...no perks at all, unlike other hotels. when i asked got complimentary hotel stay at least...the reply is no and we got to pay if we want to stay for one nite and this does not even include breakfast!!! we got to pay extra! when me and my partner caculate the whole thing the word ex jus come to our mind...
reali seriously considering whether to hold it there or not coz quite like the ambience though...=>

violetmelody

hi sleepy, i just signed up mc last mth. really like the venue although we oso find that it's more ex than other venues like amara. furthermore, the venue will only come with a basic setup and if you want to have flowers, you need to engage their florist which price will start from $250. We are still considering whether to get the florist as the place is pretty empty except for the solemnisation table and 40 chairs with covers and some "curtains" at the back..

sleepydopeey

hi violet,
Haha same sentiment here, after talking to the mc personeel you will realise that they don't provide you alots of things,,but the ambience reali nice and romantic esp in the evening..me still sourcing for places...but congrault on ur upcoming rom...by the way when is it?...=)

violetmelody

Hi sleepy.. it's gonna to be on 3rd march.. having a hi-tea so will be at 3pm.. just saw the quotes from the florist so still thinking if wanna take the package..

eloi

could you please comment on the food for the hi-tea? As i have booked MC for my solemisation.

coachlover

Hi eloi,

Heard that Ellenborough is one of the popular high tea place in sgp..heard also from my frens that the food is good and worth the money. Have shortlised it as one of my ROM too, can I know how much is ur ROM package? Indoor or poolside? Any idea whether we can engage with external caterer to MC during ROM?

eloi

Hi Jlee,

Enclosed is the package i have. I have it at the poolside for the solemisation and then we will proceed to Ellenborough for hi-tea. You may look for Priscilla - Phone: (65) 6239 1767. But i must said that their perks are not that attractive.

ROM PACKAGE A
- Set-up fee = $700.00+++
- No meals involved

* ROM PACKAGE B
- Set-up fee = $500.00+++ with a minimum guaranteed attendance of 30
persons.
- Thereafter, you may proceed to our Ellenborough Market Cafe for the
buffet. Charges for the buffet are as follows:-
* Lunch - $26.90+++ per person
* High Tea (Sat, Sun & PH only) - $22.90+++ per person
* Dinner (Weekday) - $32.90+++ per person
* Dinner (Weekend) - $33.90+++ per person
( Prices are subject to change without prior notice and not inclusive
on promotion period)

Package A & B is included of the followings:
- Use of poolarea( Upper deck) for solemnization
- Existing Buffet menu according to package at the Ellenborough Market Cafe
- 1 X Oblong Table for ROM
- 1 X Standard Decorations
- 40 X Chairs with Seatcovers
- 1 X PA System with 1 table mike
- 2 X Carpasses
(Back-up room at Blue Potato Terrace for high tea & lunch session)

* ROM PACKAGE C
- We would be able to work out a special buffet to have your meals in the
same function room.
- Subject a minimum of 30 persons and above
- Prices for the buffet in the function room are as follows:
* Lunch - $55.00+++ per person
* High Tea - $45.00+++ per person
* Dinner - $65.00+++ per person
- Use of function room
- Buffet menu according to package
- 1 X Oblong Table for ROM
- 1 X Standard Decorations
- 40 X Chairs with Seatcovers
- 1 X PA System with 1 table mike
- 2 X Carpasses

violetmelody

got the same package.. but as my rom will be this coming sat still within cny period so the hi tea price is almost $6 more per head.. so better confirm with your coordinator if your rom date is during popular season.. will share my rom photos after this sat... looking forward to it..

eloi

Hi Violet,

Congrats to you!

Oooh... i didnt know that there will be an additional $6 per head if the day fall on popular season....

Do show us the pics when you have finished your ROM. Thanks

chiligoyo

Hi there!

Me and my fiance are currently shortlisting a few places for our ROM cum big day (we decided to just have a solemnisation and not a wedding dinner) so hopefully we are able to get a nice place! I've heard a few comments about MC and am really interested to know the 'feel' of how it is like holding it there.

Please share your pics with me at [email protected]! Appreciate all help!

whiz_girl

Hey wil really appreciate pics of ur ROM at MC cuz i am super interested in holding mine there too.. i am soo lost now.. i dont know what to do to prepare for ROM so any help will be greatly appreciated!! thanks!!
pls email to [email protected] your pics when u are free?? thanks!!

evena

Im getting ROM on this coming 17th Nov.. Then booked Swissotel Merchant Court poolside... and my hubby and I really liked the poolside view.. exactly the same as what we saw on MC website.

Im currently liaising with Priscilia and she is really helpful and attentive to our needs. We signed up for lunch buffet.

Anyone care to share their ROM pics at MC? Thanks a million!

My email:[email protected]

eloi

HI All,

I just had my ROM yesterday. It was not a very pleasant day for us yesterday. It was an bad experience for us. Maybe they need to improve their coordination between staffs.

Everything we have to inform them to set up this and that. MY guest were not able to get into the cafe after our solemisation and the person in charge said it was because that our area was wet as they were mopping our area. MY guests were waiting outside the cafe and could not get in to get seats. Once my guests were able to get into the cafe, they were not even directed by the staffs at which area they were supposed to sit. Naturally my guests were sat at somewhere else and as a bride on that day, i have to go look for my guests and asked them to shift their place. it was really an embarrasing moment for us! i am really dissappointed in them.

They did not even seggrate the area something with an signage that this area is booked for certain function or whatever. Extremely dissappointed.

Moreover the room they gave us was not properly clean, have water bottle that was drunk leftover, with lizard in the room, bathgel that was used by previous person also did not get clear and the television was super not clear even though they gave us a good view from the room.

I have been very sad by their services and how could they treat our big day like that. It really spoil our big day. I nearly broken down and cry!

Well this is only my experience - maybe you guys are lucky. Sorry for the long winded of me. I just find that it is ridiculous to treat us like that.

yukikodawasan

Hi Eloi,

Sorry to hear this. But I did have a bad experience on my ROM last Oct too.. Well, I did caution some of the BTBs here.. looks like Im not the only bride who wanna break down and cry on the special day....Ladies, such things happened despite continuous reminding even before the Actual ROM day.. good luck.

ebearz

hi eloi & oinkoink,

sorry to hear about your bad experiences with MC..

eloi, we went to MC last sat around 12pm plus, wanted to see how the actual setup for the solemnization ceremony.. we saw an couple whose solemnization ceremony @ the poolside was already over and taking photos with family and friends, was that you?

mrs_tan_to_be

Hi eloi & oinkoink,
sorry to hear abt your bad experiences.. It actually freak me out as I am having ROM on 17th Nov. May I know who is your cordinator?

Did you feedback to her abt your unhappiness?

chocolatier

Eloi
U also held ur rom at MC?
I just met up with Priscilia last week from MC. Planning to hold mine there as well. I wasn't impressed by the dirty and torn white sash at the pavilion...all for $580+ (excl floral pcs)
After seeing your experience, it really doesn't seem worth the price...Priscilia had promised signages to direct guests and a hotel room at excl price...but err...nothing seemed so sure now...

chocolatier

Hui Ling
The coordinator won't be around on the day itself..
That's what Priscilia told us. She's the catering coordinator. So should there be any queries on that day, we gotta ask the frontline people...

eloi
do you have any pix to share? Or can you spare me some details on your ROM? Have you shifted into your house? [email protected]

yukikodawasan

Hi Huiling,

I saw this kind of negative feedback in this forum before my rom...even way 3 mths before. So I did highlighted to Priscilia, but she assured me that such things will not happened. In the end, I encountered it. And my hubby, being a kind and patient person also blew his top. Priscilia will be around but not all the time. I remembered her being outside the hotel, meeting some customers during my ROM. And when I called her, she said she couldn't get back in time.

Hermit crab - You are truly right. It's not worth the money. But the solemnisation area wins all. Last year I booked the solemnisation poolside at $500+++ and I find it real ex already. If I known such things will happen, I would prefer to go for Good wood Park poolside. The price is much cheaper too.. including the high tea buffet.

chocolatier

Hi OinkOink
Can you share your pix with me as well? Thanks alot! "P [email protected]

Had also emailed goodwoodpark to check. The hi-tea buffet is $50+++ per pax (nonya menu-cheapest)...$20 more than MC's lunch buffet...

Btw, does anyone know when Govt is scrapping the 3rd '+' (CESS)?

yukikodawasan

Hi Hermit crab,

What I meant was to just booked the poolside solemnisation area and then go to their cafe for their high tea.. think it's cheaper than having buffet at the solemnisation area. Cos come to think of it, it's not worth it. Just my 2 cents worth..

chocolatier

OinkOink
Just checked with GWP...their coffeelounge is having a revamp of buffet menu/area/prices...so they cant confirm anything with me now...*sighs*
But they are quoting the same $500+++ for their venue by poolside...

yukikodawasan

Hermit crab, well goodwood park's service maybe better than Swiss... Not sure too.. maybe you can check out their thread. Frankly speaking, I viewed most of the poolside solemnisation, no hotel beats Swiss for their privacy... so what time is your ROM? I heard evening would be better.. but the dinner buffet is more ex. I had mine in the noon... but really hot.. keke but still ok la... hehe

chocolatier

OinkOink
Ya. But they cant guarantee me the price/menu till their reno over..bit too late..
My solemnisation is around 1130..wat time was urs? Hot? Oh! Priscillia said it's not hot during that time..
Yup. I like the dinner menu (lotsa yummy things) hee...
btw, can u add me as contact in multiply. Sent u a request.

yukikodawasan

Hi Hermit crab,

Ya that would be too late. My solemnisation was at 2.30pm. But you know la, afternoon sun is so hot..warm and stuffy under the solemnisation shelter. Huh? Yours is 11.30am, just pray hard it wont be so sunny lor. Pris also told me the same thing, not hot cos mine is at 2pm+..so still ok. My hubby was perspiring non stop..so are the guests.. but they nv complaint la.. hehe Perhaps you should try to go down to the solemnisation area at ur timing before hand to have a feel of the temperature. I did that too.. but was really hot.. no choice but to pray lor.. somemore that time I romed hor? Singapore was having a strong haze...hehe PSI was normal that day... heng ar...
Ok I added you in my multiply.. check it out...

eloi

Just came back from honeymoon, sorry for not able to attend to your questions.

I think MC, you need to have a few goods frens to coordinate for you as the coordinator will not do anything for you. It will be a mess if your guests are going to cafe after the solemisation.

Hi Oink Oink,

WHat happened to you? is it the same fate as me as well?

HI hermit and huiling - have forward you the link - have a look

MIne is at 3 pm and it is very hot at 3pm. MY coordinator is priscillia. But during that day of solemisation, Priscillia is off duty so another gal help her out.

I think solemisation will be better if you have it in one area so that your guests wont have to move around and thus wont be so confusing.

crispy79

Hi ladies ...

It sounded bad!
Oops ... i'm having mine dec this year, hope things will turn out fine.

eloi/oinkoink .. thanks for the feedback. I make sure before my event, i'll drill it into the coordinator to have everything arrange nicely.

yukikodawasan

Hi Crispy,

I already added you in my Multiply liao..btw, if your coordinator is Pris.. good luck to you.I'm sure there are more unfortunate couples in this thread.I still rem I asking for more experiences in Swiss to be share and no one actually commented. I felt something was wrong... indeed it really gone haywired.. but didnt thought would be so bad.. You can nv imagine that this will happen to you and to worsen the situation, it happened on your rom...happy planning..

eloi

Hi Crispy,

Even if you have drill to your coordinator, they are not the ones to have you arranged your event. You have to plan on your own and arranged it yourself.

Imagine on my ROM day, the so called coordinator are meeting client as well so they will not be available to help you. Only when something cropped up, then you will be able to see your coordinator. Be prepared to get helps from your frens. Sorry for being so negative.

Their coordinators are more likely to be the sales personnel. Once signed and that's it.

eloi

Hi OinkOink,

Please add me to your multiply as well. My multiply user name is : steffikerk

Thanks for sharing the details with me. Guess we are the unlucky ones here.

eloi

Sorry to add on,

MC does not have alot of freebies as compare to other hotels.

As for $500+++ charges for the poolarea, i have asked why is it charged at such a high price and is it possible to waive it off? Priscilla said that it becos the charges are for manpower for moving the chairs and the set up of the area. But i have noticed that area will have chairs even when there is no one having ROM. so i guessed it not fair to pay the $500+++ for that area.

I should have go and booked at waterfront hotel at kim seng area where the coordinator are much flexible and compromise. Oh well, what's done is done, cannot change my fate for my ROM at MC.

yukikodawasan

Hi eloi,

I had invited you to be my contact. Just add me. Well, I think no matter what, the worst had happened. What we can do now is to caution the BTBs here.
You are right.. Swiss doesnt have much freebies compared to even a 4 stars hotel like Amara.. some ROM packages even have a nite stay or wedding favors. You know what, Pris wanna increase the buffet price per person after we signed the agreement from $19.90+++ to $23.90+++ you know? I was so pissed off with that increase. Of course I wrote in to her and requested for the waiver. I quoted example like I decided to purchase a bridal package now, and I oni decided to have my wedding 5 yrs later, dont tel me I shld pay the difference 5 yrs later due to inflation. She said cant compare that way leh. I was angry lor, I know Swiss was going to renovate their Ellenborough Market Cafe but I didnt know there will be an increase in the buffet price and introduction of buffet lines in the buffet. Thus I requested her management to talk to me since she doesnt have the power to make decisions. In the end, I won. She called me and told me that Mgmt decided not to increase for my case. Being my coordinator, she did not even put herself in the shoes of her customers and is not taking initiative at appropriate times. I find that really embarrasing and unprofessional.

So ladies, pld fight for your right. Even you wont get it, at least try. I also manage for get a hospitality room (cos I cant negotiate for a day's room). This is something that I asked for and she didnt bother to ask me if I need one lor. Luckily one of my colleague who is always negotiating with hotels, tipped me off. If not, I may not get a room for my makeup and dressing up on my ROM.

eloi

HI Oink Oink,

Yes i agreed with you, guess what i did, i paid for a one nite stay as well - to think they gave me a room with a lizrd in the room and the room was not properly cleaned - had a unused gel in the bathroom and a half filled water bottle left by the previous guest. haha - i even had the pics of the lizard in the hotel room. let me know if you want to look at the lizard... heez

Initially saw all those used stuffs in my room, i actually closed one eye for them already.

till at the end of the day, i cant be bothered to quarrel with them anymore. Just wish to end it and that's it.

crispy79

OinkOink,
thanks for adding me. You're so pretty that day...
btw, my coordinator not Pris, they've got a new guy called Rayston and i think my account is under him, erm...but i've not meet him before. better find 1 day to get him out and sort out all these details...

eloi,
Huh...i always tot there's nothing much to plan for ROM, seems like i'm wrong. Think i better start planning some contigency plans in case things got mess up....

Ladies..thanks for sharing and giving advise, it's scary though...;p