ROM at Swissôtel Merchant Court

• Thread starter madwoman_in_the_attic
  • Start date

madwoman_in_the_attic

Just a feedback to those who are considering Merchant Court for ROM reception. The lunch buffet is not really that great though for the price of $19.90+++ it is still considerable. Peranakan/Thai style buffet. Old folks and children have problem with the food. Limited varieties as mostly curry and spicy dishes. Note : Couple dine for free and get a complimentary bottle of red wine.

Service wise so so only. Thru out the lunch, they took ages to refill our drinks and attend to simple requests. Alot of miscommunication and mistakes in planning. So in the end, they paiseh to charge us for the wedding cake. Simply said, they still lack experience catering to ROM packages but the wedding banquet is still ok.

Nice location though, good for taking pictures. Indoor lighting not good enough but outdoor like the poolside is ideal for photo shoot.

Not exactly value for money. We paid $174 for the function room for solemnisation. But if you want somewhere nice and chic, maybe you would like to consider Merchant Court or its hi-tea buffet which sadly is much later.

ahboo

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">hi madwoman_in_the_attic:</FONT>

thanks for ur advice

i was at Merchant Court last sunday checking out on the rom package and noted that the restaurant was very packed. we went ard breakfast time. guess that's why their service was slow...

u mentioned that there were some miscommunication and mistake in planning. mind sharing ur experience? eg giving examples?

sandgirl72

hi madwoman_in_the_attic
we had our ROM Solemnization with Hi-Tea Reception in Merchant Court in May 2003. They gave us 2 rooms - 1 for solemnization and the other for sit down makan session.. They charged us at S$30+++ per pax.

They even helped us to take temperature measurement of our guests. Very helpful!

And every of our guests were so praiseful of the food and service.

As wat ahboo mentioned, could there be some miscommunication in between? Did U have any co-ordinator to work with at that time?

the above are juz our comments about MC..

madwomaninattic

Perhaps the day itself was a good day so there were actually about 4-5 couples in the same cafe!! Yes it was so chaotic. The high-tea at Merchant Court is fabulous I must admit but not the Peranakan lunch menu.

1. They got the names and my ROM date wrong

2. When we went down to pay deposit, the restaurant side said we didn't have a reservation and that the cafe is full on the actual day. Banquet side didn't coordinate well with restaurant side it seems.

3. The 2 person in-charge of our order don't seems to know what each other is doing. Have to clarify and clarify many times.

4. They got the cake order wrong and it arrived at wrong timing during the ceremony, thus we cannot go ahead with our "surprise plan"!!

3. We had to share some tables until clarification was made then they "fence off" the area. Of cos it frustrates some of our guests who had to stand and idle around until they started reorganising the place and area.

Generally Merchant Court is still good just my experience so so only. I cannot even bear to recall my ROM memories now. Sighs... I am considering having the wedding banquet in a restaurant instead of a hotel ballroom. As they said, 4/5 star hotel doesn't guarantee that everything is top notch too.

madwomaninattic

Perhaps the day itself was a good day so there were actually about 4-5 couples in the same cafe!! Yes it was so chaotic. The high-tea at Merchant Court is fabulous I must admit but not the Peranakan lunch menu.

1. They got our names and my ROM date wrong

2. When we went down to pay deposit, the restaurant side said we didn't have a reservation and that the cafe is full on the actual day. Banquet side didn't coordinate well with restaurant side it seems.

3. The 2 person in-charge of our order don't seems to know what each other is doing. Have to clarify and clarify many times.

4. They got the cake order wrong and it arrived at wrong timing during the ceremony, thus we cannot go ahead with our "surprise plan"!!

5. We had to share some tables until clarification was made then they "fence off" the area. Of cos it frustrates some of our guests who had to stand and idle around until they started reorganising the place and area.

Generally Merchant Court is still good just my experience so so only. I cannot even bear to recall my ROM memories now. Sighs... I am considering having the wedding banquet in a restaurant instead of a hotel ballroom. As they said, 4/5 star hotel doesn't guarantee that everything is top notch too.

panggou

Oh no, this is very discouraging, I was looking at Merchant Court for the lunch buffet, did not know it is so bad. think now I have to start sourcing all over again.

sandgirl72

Hi Winnie
I would think that if U have a function room solely meant for your guests, then the situation would be much better than having it at the F&amp;B outlet..

We did tat for our ROM in May 2003 with Merchant Court.

If u r still keen with Merchant Court, maybe U can give a call to Martin Tang / Asst F&amp;B Manager and speak to him on your requirements and see how best he can help you. DID: 62391811, if he is not around, you can leave a message with his secretary.

panggou

Hi Sandy, do you mean having the solemisation at the function room? or you mean can actually tell them to arrange the buffet in the function room only?

sandgirl72

Hi Winnie
Martin allocated 2 rooms for us, i.e. 1 room solely for solemnization and the adjacent room is for our guests to sit down to makan...

The buffet line is within the corridors of these 2 rooms.. very convenient and they've waiters around to serve our guests...

madwomaninattic

Hello Sandy,

Roughly how much did they charge you for that? I know that things can be easier entertaining guests in function rooms but isn't it costier becos from what they quote us - it didn't seem worth the price. But maybe the number of guests is an issue as well. But hey at least you enjoyed yourself and had a good day at the Merchant Court!!

sandgirl72

Hi Madwoman_in_the_Attic &amp; Flower
They charged us at $30.00+++ per person.. no extra charges on the 2 function rooms.. we had around 45 pax..

tulip94

Anybody here planning to have your ROM at Swissôtel Merchant Court or had your ROM there already? Would you like to share some tips and advices please? : )

My FH and I met the hotel coordintor recently and she brought us to the poolside where we intend to have my ROM there. We were rather impressed by the ambience at the poolside.

Hope to hearing from you gals soon.

Thank you and best wishes.

tulip94

I am a newbie to this thread. Hope to sought some advices and tips from you all here.

My FH and I went to Merchant Court recently to view the poolside and the restaurant. Both of us are absolutely enchanted by the beauty of the location and would very much like to hold our solemnization ceremony by the poolside,probably at evening time (it's too sunny in the afternoon~)

However, looking at their proposed dinner buffet reception at around $65 per pax. We thought that the price is too steep. The other alternative is to have the solemnization by the poolside and then proceed to the restaurant for buffet ($25+++ per pax), but we have to pay $300 rental charge.

What do you gals say? To stay throughout by the poolside or to solemnize by the pool and then proceed to the restaurant?

Any experience or advice to share please.

Thanks you in advance and hope to seeing your reply soon.

madwomaninattic

$65 per pax for dinner steep leh... considering their wedding dinner price... And its only ROM reception so you either dun get ang pao or get only a small "yi si" amount. But maybe you want something special then its a different story.

The buffet dinner at the Ellenborough Market Cafe should be good but do check with them what they are serving so you know what to expect. DUn be like me like that. Perhaps you like to discuss with your FH regarding budget and expectations?

But yes I agree that the poolside is very very nice but not aval during my time cos' someone took it liao...
But your so smart to do it in the evening... no sun

Actually ROM 'package' with MC quite straightforward. Becos the sales side only take charge of your solemnization part and will only cont to 'take care' of your function if you are say perhaps holding a dinner reception like Sandy like that (but this one have to ask her cos' she in a better capacity to advise).

If you have a buffet dinner at the cafe. Chances are you will be in the hands of the cafe manager and service staff

Be very sure abt what you want. Thats my honest opinion and advice (if it can be considered advice haha).

sandgirl72

Hi tulip
we had our ROM solemnisation cum lunch reception at Swissotel Merchant Court in May 2003.

We held our event in the function room that is nearer to the lounge side..

All our guests complimented on the food, service &amp; ambience of the Hotel.. and we are blessed to have Martin as our co-ordinator - he is ever so helpful and attentive to our needs.

tulip94

Hi madwomaninattic

Thanks for your advise. Really appreciate it. : )Agreed with you, the $65 per pax dinner buffet by the poolside is simply too expensive for us. In fact, my FH and I are looking for a $30++ per pax package. (We have about 40 - 50 guests).

We are still awaiting for the hotel coordinator, Jean to reply our email. We have yet to hear from her, guess it's not so favourable reply.

If we will to have our reception at the Ellenborough Market Cafe , do you think the cafe can cordon off an area just for our guests?? I am afraid of the situation where all my guests are scattered around the cafe or some of my guests have to seat with the general guests.

Hopefully, we can solemnize by the poolside then they FOC a function room for the buffet reception at $30++ per pax. Do you think it's negotiable? Are we asking too much??

BTW, any gals here are also liaising with Jean from MC?

Thank you..

tulip94

Hi Sandy

Grateful to see your reply.

How much did they charge you for the reception at the function rooms? Is the function room free? Any things/freebies that you think we can negotiate with them? :p

My coordinator is Jean. In fact, Martin replied our email when we first inquired about the hotel package. But later on, Jean took over and she was also the one who showed us around the hotel. Any comments on her? She is very nice too but seem a bit new with the hotel?

Best regards.

P.S. Could you email me some of your ROM pictures please?

sandgirl72

Hi Tulip
You're welcome..

Well, we are not charged for the 2 function rooms. They charged us $30.00+++ per pax for the buffet.

If u r keen in getting your solemnization done by the poolside, maybe U can try asking Jean to throw in a free nite stay for you..

I'm afraid that I cant offer much comments about Jean as Martin is the ONLY person that we have been liaising from Day 1 till now.. though we are not holding our wedding dinner with Merchant Court though very much against my wish..

I've left my ROM album in my new house and currently I'm busy preparing my wedding in Dec.. if you don't mind, I can try to remember to bring back the album to my parent's place to scan and send to U.. but again it might take some moments.. hope U don't mind..

tulip94

Hi Sandy

Thanks for your prompt reply.

Wow, Martin gave you 2 function rooms at FOC. A great deal yeah!

I will try my best to negotiate for a cheaper rate if not a complementary night stay. In fact, my FH and I had verbally asked Jean about this, but her reply was "No complimentary night stay" I guess we can discuss further with her coz it seen that we are not given any perks at all. If not,we may have to speak to Martin.

Hey, sorry to trouble you to scan your pictures. Take your time, no worries.

Enjoy your wedding preparations.

Cheers and regards.

sandgirl72

Hi tulip
Actually Martin only gave us 1 room. It was very nice and thoughtful of him to give us 2 rooms - 1 for solemnization and 1 for sit-down makan..

He even asked his service staff to take the temp of our guests cos during our ROM time was SARS period.. hahahaa...

Maybe your last resort will be to look for Martin for any freebies which Jean would reject your lor.. now he is the asst F&amp;B manager..

Thank you very much for your understanding.. Will try to do it ASAP for U..

Take care

jnifur

oh god...I was thinking abt merchant court. Maybe I shd drop this idea. hey...this thread is not being touched for like.....more than half a yr?!

Hi jnifur,

I'm meeting up with my coord this coming Thursday... will let u know again. Pretty x, but we love the area... (and maybe can use this reason to tell my parents dun need banquet, coz we are broke)... hehehe...

magaz

Hi angela..how was the meeting?
Am curious cos am also looking for places for solemnization.
Does anyone have any idea whether I can just rent the Merchant court poolside for solemnization and also, any idea how much that would cost? thanks!

happytea

Hi all, we had just done ours at Merchant court hotel. Poolside rental @$300+++ and buffet lunch at their cafe @23.90+++ per pax.

for the final bill, they did not charge me and my hubby for the lunch, and gave us a bottle of wine and more than 10 carpark complimentary coupons for all of our guests.

these are not stated on the contract that we signed where during that time, they were quite stict abt giveing perks so we thought thats the end. with these little suprises on the actual day, we are more than satisfied w the hotel.
and not to forget the beatiful pool and terrance they have and i have received many blessings from the hotel angmo guests.

chere

Hi HappyTea,

Congrats to you ! It must have been memorable to you. Would love to know more about the solem pkg with Merchant Court, can share? How much did it cost you? Oh any lovely pics to view?

my email is <[email protected]>. Hope im not asking for too much ~ hehe thanks

happytea

hi chere,
i dun hv pics of my rom w me at my workplace right now. but i do hv few pic which i took before the rom, will send to you shortly.

it costs us slightly less than $1500 in total, for rental of poolside, lunch buffet for 37 adults and 4 kids.

chere

hi HappyTea,

Thanks for the pics !
If it's convenient, do send me the pics of your ROM. So can view the setup...
Seems quite reasonable the price. How's food? Delicious? Do they actually give you and your guests a cosy corner in the cafe to lunch? Or the guests jus have to find their own seats in the cafe?

happytea

Hi Chere,
will be busy these days, pls wait for my pics, the food are nice, eh, got abalone noodle and baby lobsters, hahaha

we reserved seats at the bartender side (on the left side from the cafe entrance), that is the best corner, no other ppl will walk up there or walk past us.
but as we only reserved for 40 pax, there is another spare long table which was reseved by a grp of ang mos, but cute enough, they came over and congrated us, haha

chere

hi HappyTea,

No prob, good things are worth the wait.
The food sounds good, abalone.. lobsters.. yummy

happytea

hihi, i am still overwhemled w joys from memories of my ROM at MC, like that place soooo much... just hate that time went off so fast that i had not enough of THAT feeling! hahaha... one of these day got to visit the poolside, i missed that place! very tempted to hold AD at MC! haha

acube

Hi all, I am very keen having my ROM at the Merchant Court. But I not too sure hows their decoration like. Is it nice? Anyone holding there before....Dont mind sending me some photo to take a peek??

Cheers..

My email: [email protected]

happytea

the deco is already there at the terrace, so on the day, they will arrange the solem table and chairs for the guests.
the table is quite simple, they did provide ring pillow but we used ours instead.

gigi_goh

hi,anybody tried MC hi-tea buffet at Ellenborough Market cafe?How is the variety of the food or service like?Cos i am inviting my guest there after the ROM ceremony at the poolside.Any advice for me?Thanks

blurbaby

But they still charge 300+++ for the use of poolside or function room... Food will be serve at the cafe so have to walk abit...

happytea

hihi, the pool is on the 2nd level, from carpark there is a lift which can go direct to the poolside. the cafe on the first level, is also v near the lift.

disneyland

Hi Sandy,
Is it possible for you to send me your rom pics and package??How much do they charge for the use of function room and are we allowed to use outside caterers.

Hi Happytea,
Can you send me your ROM pics as well and cost of the package?? Thanks!!

happyblossom

Hi Disney,

You can try Mecure Roxy Hotel, in front of Parkway Parade. I am having my ROM solemnisation this Mar at the poolside. The poolside is nice and having 2 levels for your guests to loiter around.

The marquee set-up cost 500++ for 1st level and 900++ for both levels. The buffet ranges from $30-$50/pax depending on your menu selection for lunch/high-tea/dinner.

You may like to go down and take a look.