Resale Home Seekers and Owners of Resale Units

bleue

I have cfm with FS that once I start on 3 Aug I must continue throughout and cant stop.

Initially I want to wait for approval letter of the sale from HDB then I proceed with major works, looks like I either go ahead and start reno w/o the approval letter or I postpone my reno after 7 mth..

Any opinions? What will be your choice? Go ahead or postpone?

Hi Spyder,
Ya cancelling the entire thing...

Hi Celia,
Its ok..i send email to HDB already...waitin for reply.
Thanks alot for your concern too. Appreciate that! :D

kirakun

Am back. Busy with my son lately so hardly had any chance to reply. Anyway, my resale completion is still delayed. Hopefully can be completed by 15 Aug though. Has however started reno on Mon via hacking of walls and floor tiles. Cheers!

Hi Kira,

welcome back. Thought u MIA. So reno started? Mine too and half way there...would try post some pics tomorrow. Place is in a mess

kashdoggie

I need some advise. I was informed by my agent that during my 1st appt, i can get some "undertaking letter" from HDB, get my seller to sign...thereafter, seller can hand the keys over to me and i can start reno.

i m worried abt liability in case something goes wrong, will seller blames me? or once seller signs this "undertaking letter", do i have "official rights" to do reno?

ALso, in the first place, is there such "undertaking letter" in existence?

thank you

spyder

Hi Celia... Thanks for the info... Nice pics. Heh. Post more pics when the full reno is done leh.

leehz

Hi Celia,
Saw that you had a EA. Does your flat needs a lot of reno and how much u spent on the reno?

leehz

Hi Celia,
Saw that you had a EM. Does your flat needs a lot of reno and how much u spent on the reno?

kirakun

Protracted resale finally settled. 2nd appt fixed for 16 Aug! :p Celia, how is your reno progress? Target when to move in?

Hi JJ,

yup, a resale EM. I overhaul the whole house and removed every single thing and fixed up everything brand new. Reno cost? still counting......

Hi Kira,

congrats....hooray...so hows your reno? My Work in progress as u can see in the above pics I've posted a few days ago....scroll upwards.

moving in on 8 Sep as good day to move house in the chinese calendar. Furthermore my FS master also selected 8 Sep for us...getting movers to help us. Just bought about 15 cartons from Shalow movers the other day ($3 per piece). Cheaper than Ikea..luckily didnt buy from Ikea which cost $9 or $9.90 for 2.

kirakun

For me, I got nothing to move except clothes and my son's toys. So no need movers. Downside is that everything got to buy ... from a simple tool to the TV etc ... 8 Sep? So fast can finish in time? I target to finish my reno in 3rd week of Sep ... lots of things to do ... practically overhauling the house with quite some carpentry. Just did a site visit, all hacking completed plus sealing and creation of walls done ..

Hi Kira,

your reno started on? mine was 22nd Jul and I must really credit my contractor and the workers as they're really working according to schedule..in fact we're a few days in advance now

bleue

HiHi, for me, I will start reno after 7mth.. selected date is 5 Sep. My second appt is 26 Sep. My buyer only allowed me to extend by charging me rental of $150 per week, max 2 weeks.

Selected for move in is 22 sep or 27 sep, if not next date is 12 Oct aldy.

Hi Kira, Can you share your quote with me? I plan to hack one of the wall for my study room and install sliding door.. to make way for my pool table...was quote 3-4k for that..

kirakun

Bleue

Hacking and replastering of wall should not cost more than a couple of hundred of dollars. What material are using for a sliding door? 3-4K seems way too much ...

I am relocating my common toilet door, sealing up MBR entrance and reopening another entrance from one of the other bedrooms and it cost me only several hundred if I recall correctly ..

Celia, started on 1 Aug. Now plastering and tiling works in progress.

bleue

Hi Kira,

I was also surprise with the estimated cost. I didnt even specify the material of the door. Will see their formal quote.

The wall I want to hack is abt 2.5m of my study room. Who is ur ID? any quote to share?

nicatan

we've bgt a 4 rm in bedok with 8k cash payment.. as its a 4i unit, there's no attached bathrom.. kan i chk did anyone creat an openin frm the bedrm to the toilet in the kitchen? is it possible to do so? we would also like to combine both the bathrm and toilet into 1...

Hi Kira,

oh, your reno started after mine. Thought yours was earlier. Who's your ID?

u relocating your common toilet door? The current door is inside the kitchen right?

Whole house plastering would be completed most likely today and electrical re-wiring would start tomorrow. Wall and floor tiles all up except pebbles at balcony and foyer/recess area. Air-con trunking to be done within next few days.

Hi syt,

not sure. Guess u need to check with a contractor first. Contractor would be more au-fait with this rather than an ID as generally most IDs are young. Majority of the contractors would have the on-the-job experience and some have ever work closely with HDB engineers before. Alternatively, go down to branch office and 'shoot' them your queries. They have qualified officers (engineers) around and they would advised u accordingly. So, u paid 8k above valuation?

nicatan

hi hello,

oic... thks very much... yes we paid 8k above valuation cos the flat is in a gd condition though block is very old.. m jus tinkin of redoing the whole kitchen and bathrm plus repaintin the walls n fixing sum cabinets... not sure if 10k would be sufficient..

nicatan

hi hello,

thks!! actually am very kiasu.. hvnt even gone for the 1st appt. with hdb but am checkin up on all the reno and stuff... :p

not sure if its poss. to move in by dec...

Hi syt,

dun worry, u're not being kiasu. I started researching on reno when I signed the OTP and that was in Mar. So, at least it gives me ample time to conduct my research, gather my quotations from IDs.....

its always better to start earlier...being kiasu is actually not a bad idea afterall

my electrical works would start tomorrow and expected to be ready in 2.5days later. Air-con trunking would be up on Monday....

just made 2nd payment to my ID

going to shop for sanitary wares, lights and furnitures soon
..going to be very very broke

gotta start packing soon but still too lazy as spending my time on singaporebrides forum

bleue

I went for my first appt on 2 Aug, yet to receive any in principle approval. Just chked CPF, not deducted yet.

nicatan

hi bleue,

dun mind me askin...wats "in principle approval"?? did u get a bank or a hdb loan? wat do we do at the 1st appt? and wat do we need to bring?

tink my 1st appt. shd be end of nex mth or oct... btw, how early will hdb write to us to inform us bout the appt? as i tink i need to request early from my company for an off day...

thks!!

Hi syt,

in-principle approval would received about a week or so after 1st appt. Basically its a tentative approval that the seller and buyer are eligible to sell and buy the flat. More or less HDB allow the resale to go through unless something out of the ordinary pops up.

Bleue is taking HDB loan. U'll receive a letter for the 1st appointment (in the morning at HDB as usually afternoon reserved for 2nd appt) and it'll clearly indicate what u need to bring along (eg. NRIC, ROM cert, children's birth cert).

As for the 1st appt date, your agent would have already given the date when they submit the resale application. Btw, when did ur agent submit the resale application.

click over here https://www2.hdb.gov.sg/webapp/BF02SPINS/BF02PSPINSLogin.jsp?ctxroot=webapp/BB24RESL and login with your SINGPASS (click on the SINGPASS wording which is just above the red lettings) and see if your appt date had been updated into the system.

kirakun

Celia

Any updates? My homo tile flooring for living/dining, kitchen and toilets are almost done. Will be doing plastering and electrical wiring next week. Thereafter, false ceiling and air-con will be up. Me using Mit Inverter System 4. Everything has been bought except lights which I will be doing so this weekend.

Hi Kira,

long time no 'c'. For me, electrical works done. Contractor just finished fixing the L-box and false ceiling yesterday. Today, the contractors are fixing the sliding windows and wrought-iron gate already up yesterday but the colour is wrong.

Wow, u got a Mit Inverter System 4? Yours a resale right? Can use System 4? We wanted to but the electrical loading for our block is limited to 8.5amps so not advisable to take System 4 as there's some HDB guide lines. So we left with only Mit Inverter System 3.

Hey, we got the lights last night from Balestier and cost nearly 2k with the bulk of it coming from the L-box lighting.

Would be getting the WCs and basins today but my boy is down with high fever so.........

My contractor fixing the lights and W.C next Tuesday after doing the first coat of paint and washing. Pebbles would laid thereafter. My kitchen cabinet should be next to come in followed by laminated flooring then the rest of the carpentry.

Now very broke!.....hope this Dec's bonus would be

Hi bleue,

u working today? didnt see u on line? I just got all my lights from friend last night and would be going to his wife's shop probably tomorrow, also along Balestier.

chng

Doing a poll here for the current market. Would like to know what is the transaction price like for now, as I am looking at a resale flat and not too sure bout the market rates. For example, if valuation price is 300k, those who have recently bought/sell houses, how much higher or lower did u transact above/below valuation price?

Hi Tots,

first and foremost, which estate u're looking at as different estate have very different valuation and selling price. Eg, Bishan as compared to Hougang as compared to Tampines, etc etc

zoom in on the particular estate u're interested in, better if u're able to zoom in on the exact blocks (zone) then do a search on the HDB resale transaction from Jun onwards (those before not very accurate due to cash back cases) and also dont forget to browse through the classified especially on Saturdays.

kirakun

Celia

Mine also has 8.5A restriction and base on that can only use either Fujitsu or Mit Inverter Sys 4. Yours shld be the same. Think ur contractor got the info wrong.

I got my sanitary stuff from PJ in Jalan Besar. Which shop did u get the lights from? Assume u are using homo tiles for your living/dining as well. I am also doing laminated flooring but using supreme. Got lots of carpentry work so things are pretty rushed. My WIW alone is 14.5 ft in length.

Curtains? What are your plans? Me having headache over it ..

Hi Kira,

yup can get Mit Inverter System 4 but it'll not be powerful and power supply can trip every now and then. So cant afford to turn on aircon for 2 rooms plus living room. So decided to go for 9000btu for each of the 3 bedrooms.

Got the lights from our friend's shop so he gave us discount and package it with better bolts as some shops can short change owners with lousy quality bolts which we personally encountered recently when we bought 2 wall lights.

My WIW is half of my MBR think 17ft if not wrong.

Curtains? Maybe I'll get those off the rack type and buy those ready made support from IKEA. Or probably roller blinds....yet to decide