Resale Home Seekers and Owners of Resale Units

Gin,

My 2nd appt a day after yours. So when u getting the keys and starting the reno? I think nothing much for us to look for during the inspection since its a resale flat we're getting. Just to ensure that inventory that are agreed upon are sitll in tact and owners have already removed reno that are not permitted by HDB. So your seller retrofit the windows for you? I as a seller have to retrofit my windows for my buyer.

Hi Celia,
My keys getting this thurs...Reno not yet...cos still confirmation quotation and need to get loan. I also dunoe wat is not permitted. The flat is those color panes..so im not sure does he need to retrofit the windows for me...how? I guess i ask my agent later.

kirakun

Celia

Bad news. Seller is appealing to HDB to waive the penalties that have been slapped with due to holding the flat and EC at the same time. My resale officer informed that my 2nd appt has now been delayed and will only complete latest mid August. As such, I have proceeded to sign an indemity form and applied for a reno permit to start work. Will be getting keys from my seller this weekend.

Gin,

how's your inspection today?

Kira,

oh....what happened? How come the seller gotta pay penalty? Your seller sold off the flat and bought EC? I only know that it'll complicate matters if owners have private property plus HDB flat as owner supposed to stay at HDB flat instead of private property.

your 2nd appt would now be delayed till mid of Lunar 7th month but can still proceed to carry out reno right? Dun worry about it since the resale transaction had been approved and u can sign the indemity form to proceed with the reno. Must ensure u get the black and white from HDB to proceed with the reno before your 2nd appt. Reason being that there are scenarios whereby buyers and sellers engaged in law suit due to reno being carried out before buyers official take over keys. Get your agents to confirm all the details and hope the HDB resale office would issue some black and white for u to fall back on. Hey, u selected your tiles? Are u doing up laminated flooring for yr bedroom?

Hi Celia,
The flat was messy as the owner is trying to pack. I hope he by Thurs can move out so that I can start my reno soon. Sigh...

Gin,

expected right? since they supposed to hand over keys 2 days from now. Btw, what did u check as I'm quite clueless on what we as buyers supposed to check during this final inspection? Your agent went up with u?

Believed u not doing major reno and would shift into the house before Lunar 7th month?

bleue

HDB will never give you black and white to proceed with reno b4 2nd appt.

Any reno done is at your own risk..

Me also going to reno after 1st appt, agent are warning me on the risks as well. But im doing contra, so I got to reno before completion.

Anyone here reno before completion (2nd appt)?

kirakun

Bleue

Am doing that. Think u are wrong. To do reno b4 2nd appt, basically we get the contractor to apply the reno permit in the current owner's name. We then indemify them by signing a form stating that we as buyers will not hold HDB or the seller responsible for any defects etc which may result subsequently when we take over the flat at the 2nd appt. Its sort of a caveat.

Hi Celia,
We check on water pressure, drain for chokage, windows screws, tiles, toilet ceiling,...anyway tml they need to hand over the flat to me liaoz, but when I go home today, I saw their kitchen still got airing clothes leh...I seriously wonder they got time or not? As initially, he is a 'bad' guy, now this time Im going to be the 'bad' guy, he better shift everything by tml 2nd appointment. I hope he wont keep spare keys for that sia. Is tat illegal?
I wont be shifting in b4 lunar 7th mth cos me doing reno. And will hope to get the loan approval soon and start reno b4 7th mth. Wish me luck

bleue

Hi Kira, not sure what I said was wrong.

Yes, agreement will be made with undertaking letter sign by seller and owner to apply reno permits. but it will never be a "black and white from HDB"

...signing a form stating that we as buyers will not hold HDB or the seller responsible for any defects etc => at our own risk

Maybe I will start after getting the approval letter from HDB (the one u got 10days after ur 1st appt) on major items like hacking of walls, toilets etc.

Problem is, my 1st appt is on 2 Aug and chinese 7th mth starts on 5 Aug. Reno wise,likely to ask contractor do something minor just to get the reno works going b4 7th mth. Next is to consult FengShui whether open door ceremony on 2-4Aug is ok for us. If none, then maybe willhave to start after 7th mth.

kirakun

Bleue

Pardon for the confusion. Guess its how we interpret things lah. To me, that HDB allows us to start reno knowing that its the buyer who is doing so is an indication of their consent already, I suppose. The letter from the first apt only provides in-principle approval. What some of us did was to login into the HDB resale website instead. When ur CPF has been exhausted and it states on the website that resale is approved, what essentially outstanding now is for sellers to settle their outstanding bills etc and pass over the keys which will be concluded at the 2nd appt.

ya bleue, i agree with Kira that her contractor can kick start the reno after 1st appt BUT buyer must ensure that resale had to be approved first i.e CPF had been exhausted for the purchase of the flat. Once the website had updated the status as APPROVED then completion of resale is just a matter of time. So, I'm worried that u might have to start the reno only after 7th month since 1st appt is 3rd Aug and u might also want to wait for the status to be approved. Since u'll be delayed and also doing a contra....maybe can speak to your buyer and get all 3 parties (urself, ur seller and ur buyer) to endorse on a letter to indicate a late 2nd appt eg. 10 Oct. This would give u ample time for reno after 7th month.

Hi Gin,

so u got your keys? Wow, u really inspected the house. We didnt really conduct the inspection yesterday as its more for us to get seller to open the door for our FS master and ID for their respective collation of information/measurement. Didnt do the inspection as we clearly knew that we're buying the flat to be renovated 100% from top to bottom so doesnt matter if there're cracks here and there.

I hope to quickly proceed with my reno and move in immediately after 7th month as I need to hand over the keys to my buyers.

bleue

Hi Kira/Celia, yup yup..

That's why i said: "Maybe I will start after getting the approval letter from HDB"

I will get the contractor to hack a few tiles on toilet, "yi si yi si" start before 7mth.. then stop for 10 days, after I get approval letter, then I get contractor to do proceed with major hacking.

Hi Celia,
Kaoz...i got half set of the keys already. Sigh...cos initially that 'joker' request for another mth's stay due to his new flat reno..and he is downgrading to 2 room flat i tink. Initially, he gif me alot of trouble...now i dun give him face, i tell him i need to do my reno too as i need to get it done b4 my wedding. I ask him 1 week later to move. I shift my PUB start date to August liaoz...dunwan to mix with his.
Sianz..the way he hand over the keys, so not sincere...irritated sia...argh!

Hi Gin,

ic. My 2nd appt tomorrow and wld get half set of the keys also. The final set on Sat. Luckily my seller already moved out so I can quickly start reno.

did u transfer the PUB or u getting them to terminate and u'll apply new a/c?

Hi Celia,
So lucky. Actually ppl say the first feel when u go to the flat shld be good..but due to the stupid seller, i felt so funny abt the flat. I feel like doing every single thing abt the flat sia...
I will make sure the flat got my 'smell'..hahaha..

vone

hi gin,

no worries lah. tink after u reno d plc, d hse sure got ur smell 1. tat's wat happened 2 mine aso. hehe...

Just gone for my 1st appointment with my buyers this morning and fixed the 2nd appointment in early Sep. Would be making the first entry into my hse flat tomorrow morning though we got the keys since last Sat. Going to start reno ASAP after meeting FS master for the 2nd time this coming Thursday morning for his advise on layouts.

everything seems to be going like bullet train.

How are u, Kira and how about u, Gin?

where's everybody?

Hi Celia,
Me this thurs then able to get all the keys. Still applying for the reno loan so not sure when will I start the reno too. The contractor very nice, did try to get my flat up b4 my wedding lor.

Hi Celia,
Erm...the reno is not an issue..the money is a big issue! Hahaha...anyway I juz keep fingers crossed. Cos things are not moving very smoothly recently.

Gin,

Totally agree that $ is the issue. Furthermore, u're also holding your customary right? then more worried about $

Sigh!

Hi winter babylon,
Well....what can we do rite? Like what ppl always console me, money can be earned back....

Ya, agree with Winter Babylon. Furthermore, me and Winter Babylon's reno definitely more than $50k and sitll counting...sigh!

Hi Celia,
Juz got my loan confirmation from OCBC. Will be starting work next week. Today hubby will be receiving all keys from that 'joker'. Now becoming very busy already. As its ard 1.5 mths to my AD and yet so many things to do. Sigh.

somebride

Hi Gin,
May I know how long did your reno loan processing from OCBC take? How will you be timing the payment?

I am also applying for OCBC loan

winterbabylon

hi celia,

yeah my renovation cost already hit about $60k and still counting.. urgh... sometimes i do not know if it is worth all the monies or not..
but i will feel better when i know that i have a cosy home to live in...

Gin,
True money can be earned back.. but as i said to celia, is it really worth all these money to be spent on renovation and banquet and bridal studio, photo studio etc... haiz...

Hi Winter Babylon,

Ya...we got a big house so we gotta 'forgo' our $$$... What to do but I'm sure we'll be happy to go back to our cosy home at the end of the day.

well, we cant bring our $ over to the other 'world' so gotta earn and spent it..hehe. I'm sure both of u (Winter Babylon and Gin) would look back years later and smile to yourself in the MRT or Bus or Car as u recall back your wonderful wedding day

Hi Somebride,
Im not sure, cos my ID do everything for me. I tink last week I submitted the forms and yesterday received the reply liaoz.
Quite fast

Hi Celia,
Well..no choice. We chose a quite reliable ID..hopefully he can help us do most of the things. Of cos I will go up and see lor.

Hi Winter Babylon,
Renovation its worth it...the rest, I doubt so...hahahaa.... :p

Hi Gin,

don't worry...it'll be worth it as it'll leave u with sweet memories.

Hi Tots,

wow...think Pasir Ris resale flats are quite ex but nice place as my Aunt and friends staying there. Looking at how many rooms? Maybe can look out for u

Hi bleue,
I juz complete my transaction actually. Wow..i realise you cant start reno until after that lor..i mean 7th month...cos 1st day is 5th Aug I think..

chng

Hi Celia,

Near to look for that area cos MIL staying nearby. I am looking at Drive 4, Blk 456 to 460... any lobang?

Hi Tots,

u engaged any agents or doing the searching yourself? Saturday's classified usually got the most advertisement so remember to browse thru it and also do a background checks on the resale transactions for that area so u'll strike off those unreasonable price.

bleue

Hi Gin, the unit I purchase is a vacant one , so seller has agreed to hand keys over to me on that day. FS master choose 3 Aug to open door.

So I can start on 3/4 Aug for my reno. But since Celia mentioned that must continue thru 7mth and cant stop, I will have to cfm with FS again.

Initially I plan to start on 3/4 Aug, stop and wait for Approcal letter after 1st appt then proceed with major ones like hacking..

Hi Bleue,
Anyway in FS, choose a auspicious date to start reno (b4 7th month), then during the 7th month, its ok to continue to reno. If choosen 3rd Aug, then if there is hacking to be done, use a hammer to hack the place u wan to hack as a indication of starting work...then the rest can go on already.
This is what i am doing. Given 2 dates to start reno...26/7 and 29/7..so most likely choosing 26/7 to start.

cheerss

Appreciate it if you can give me some advice regarding resale flat purchase. I went to view a unit today and both my FH and I like it a lot. The valuation is 310K but owner asked for 318K

We made an offer to the agent at 315K. The agent said he will talk to the owner (who had migrated overseas) and will let us know tomorrow. He asked us to prepare for 1K cheque as booking. I wonder does it mean we win the flat already? This 1K goes to owner or agent? Why the agent in such a hurry to ask us to pay 1K booking?

I am kinda confused now. Is this the right process? Am i required to sign OTP when i pass him the 1K cheque? What is the implication huh?

Also the agent said valuation is done but i did not have a chance to take a look at the valuation report. Should i see the valuation report first then pay 1K to him?

Appreciate if anyone here can shed some light on me. Thanks a million!

Hi cheerss,
Deposit is onli when owner is willing to sell u the flat at $315k which is wat u guys offered. And this money shld go to the owner to so call 'book' the flat. And both parties shld be ard to sign OTP so that its legally bonded. I paid $200 for deposit only...and its know you can pay from $100 - $2000 for deposit.
Agent comms is when you got ur 1st appt letter then gif wan i suppose.......cos i paid abit later...

Cheerss,

IMO, agent knows you're interested so trying to close the deal with 315k. 1k would be your deposit to indicate your interest in the flat...meaning this 1k would be used to less off the purchase price of 315k.

valuation? YES, please do ask the agent to show u the valuation as it has to be the actual HDB valuation and not the rough estimated valuation. If the HDB valuation is shown to u, check the date as valuation would expire 3 months thereafter. IMO, I think the valuation may be due soon so agent got a decent offer (from u) so he/she is so confident to get you to pay the 1k deposit. Maybe there are few offers but none above valuation and there's a potential buyer who is willing to offer 315k (that's u) so wanna quickly confirm the deal. How old is the flat and have u done the 2nd or 3rd viewing? Take your time...go at different time of the day and look around first. If u really like it and dun mind to pay above valuation then go ahead. Everyone would be happy especially agent as he/she very lucky to have buyers like u...the norm is buyers nowadays offer at valuation or below valuation).

Hi Gin,

yup reno have to start before 7th month then reno can process throughout 7th month. BUT my FS master meant was eg. -

Start 26 Jul (1st day) - then start 'again' on 10 Aug (2nd day) ...10th Aug already 7th month

so in terms of FS, start on 26 Jul then continue the reno all the whole into 7th month

Hi Gin,

yup reno have to start before 7th month then reno can proceed throughout 7th month. BUT my FS master meant was eg. -

Start 26 Jul (1st day) - then start 'again' on 10 Aug (2nd day) ...10th Aug already 7th month

so in terms of FS, start on 26 Jul then continue the reno all the whole into 7th month

Hi Gin,

since yesterday having headaches already as reno is such a big issue..got to buy this and that and furthermore, had to made some changes here and there. Some of our ideas also had to be changed...really headache.

Hi Celia,
I am cancelling my wedding so I guess the HDB will get back the flat when I file for seperation. Thanks for your info too...