Resale Home Seekers and Owners of Resale Units

Hi Celia,
You can login to website to check the date. Cos I also do that..so I knew it b4 the letter got to me.

Anyway sianz...now need to find so many things....for house reno and also need to go up the house and inspect.

Hi Gin,

ya...I checked the website every other day but still no good news. So u gotta fix a day to go up to inspect the house right? Your seller moved out already? My seller (did contra) already got her keys from her seller after the 1st appointment but she refused to give us the keys earlier even though highly possible that sh?is moving out soon.

kirakun

Celia

My seller quite ok lah. Besides no one is staying there. Somemore initially I only wanted to offer $315K but after they approach us, I up it to $318K. So guess there is some goodwill lah ... :p

Hi Celia,
Ya lor...fixed few days b4 the 2nd appt...but my hubby want to fix 1 week b4..so if anything nt happy, he got enuff time to change. Then 2 days b4 go up again to check make sure that the changes are done up properly. And hopefully by then he can moved out after our 2nd appt.

Kira,

good for you. So far no news (for your 2nd appt) from the website yet?

Gin,
going up to get the seller to rectify the faults?

kirakun

Celia

Just spoke to the HDB officer processing my resale. From our conversation, I understand that one of the key variables for the 2nd appt date is when funds for payment of the unit are ready. In this instance, I am taking a HDB loan and it seems that their processing is slower as compared to a commercial bank. As I had mentioned before, my fren had an early 2nd appt date as he was taking a commercial bank loan and approval was pretty quick. Which category do u fall under?

Kira,

IC but my CPF already been wiped out...and now left with a few hundreds only. In fact, the funds were wiped out within days after 1st appt. So did the resale officer mention anything about your 2nd appt date? oh, I'm taking HDB loan.

kirakun

Celia

My CPF has also been wiped out. As pointed out, our resale have been approved like yours. What is holding us back is the approval of the HDB loan which when approved will mean that funds will be downloaded and the resale transaction can then be approved.

Kira,

IC. Hey, did you check the resale transaction? Mine already listed in the Jun transaction. How about yours?

Btw Celia,
You know what is Caveat? Cos I received a letter on this..dun understand what is it toking abt...

Gin,

posted this before, somewhere in the archive.

"not very sure but I think caveat is about exercising your interest on the property during the option to purchase and have it registered with the URA (to be recorded in their system). Think the fee is to be paid by cash. Not expert so just guessing"

Hi Celia,
Wat fee? Y got fees wan? The letter put 'For your information' leh....dun scare me..need to pay property tax and so on liaoz..still pay such fees? Erm...
And also if the fire insurance the previous owner buy until 2009 liaoz, i need to refund him ah?

Hi Gin,

the caveat fee u already paid during 1st appt right? The letter is merely to inform u that u've exercised the caveat or something like that. refund of Fire insurance? I'm not sure.

kirakun

celia

your resale transaction is reflected in the latest HDB transactions already, just like mine which means it is as good as approved. :p

vone

hi gin,

a caveat is 2 indicate tat hdb hv a financial interest in ur flat as u took up d loan fr them. as 4 d fire ins, u need 2 get ur own during ur 2nd appt. d policy bought by ur previous owner wld b cancelled once he sold off his flat.

winterbabylon

good morning. would like to update that my 2nd appt was yesterday (1 July) and everything went smoothly and quickly. In fact the 2nd appt is faster than the 1st appt.

When i reached the HDB, i went to buy the fire insurance first, which cost $9.60 for 5 years for EM flats (other flat sizes costs differently). And then I went the officer office, and she asked me to sign some documents, the sellers also to sign some documents before handing over the keys to me.

The profit from selling the flat to us will also go directly to the seller in the form of cheque which is to be taken from the HDB cashier (opposite Delifrance).

Then we also need to transfer the SP services (water, electricity, gas) from the seller to the buyer. All I need is to sign a form in level 2. And the gal there will proceed to transfer the utilities to us. Also u may opt to let the gal to approve your giro by letting her swipe your atm card. then she can approve your giro for the utilities bill.

BUT.. we still need to go to the bank to apply for giro for the property tax and conservancy fees one week after our 2nd appointment.

That's all. THe flat now ours! so excited...

Hope the above information helps...

Winter Babylon,

Thanks for being so prompt to update us on the valuable information.

By the way, would like to find out about the transferring of utility a/c from the seller to buyers (most of us here). Any implication? Will there be a difference as to getting it terminated by the seller and thereafter we as buyers to apply a whole new a/c?

Kira,

ya....looking forward to getting the 2nd appt next week...Gonna check the 'completion of resale' everyday.

winterbabylon

hi celia,

im not sure if there are any implications if the utilities are terminated and then re-apply to get a totally new account. for my case, the officer asked me to simply carry out a transfer. (having said that, the seller should terminate the Singtel residential line too.)

But I guess the there won't be much difference if you do a transfer, or reapply for a new account. The only problem you may face is that there may be a day or two without the utilities but as long as you are still not staying in that flat, then I suppose it isn't too much of a problem.

vone

hi gin,

u r welcome.

hi celia,

if u transferred the a/c, then d supply wldn't b cut at all. if d prev owner terminated d a/c & u reapply, then u might hv 2 wait 4 3 days b4 supply is restored 2 d flat.

teacup

hi there, have anyone here bought a resale flat that is 30+ years? I am interested in 1 unit but not sure if it is logical to get such an old unit. any advise?

Hi Winterbabylon and vone

Tks. Was thinking whether Spore Powers would ensure that the seller settle the outstanding amount first before approving the utilities a/c to be transferred to us. haha...apply for new a/c then got number to buy 4D..hehe.

Hi Tea,

wow...30yrs. The flat I bought about 20yrs and I thought I'm already abnormal since most people look for flats below 10yrs. Anyway, i think most importantly you must like the place and if its ok, then go ahead with it. A 30 yr old flat should be alright if the buyer is young as read from somewhere that HDB also take into account the age of the flat and age of youngest applicant when granting the max. years of housing loan. Where about is this flat? By the way, do also consider about the reno cost if this 30yr old flat requires a substantial amount on reno especially if its the 1st owner selling the flat.

vone

hi celia,

ya, singapore power wld ensure tat d prev owner settle all d outstanding amt b4 transferring d a/c 2 u. oh, tink u can buy 4d oledi as it wld b a new a/c no.
gd luck 2 u!!

vone

hi celia,

mine is at bedok reservoir. got it abt 2 yrs back. however, now i tinking of selling tis 1 & get another 1. so hv 2 do my hmwk 1st.

hi vone,

oic. Resale market not doing well and it'll be 6% cash downpayment next year but I think the resale property should be able to pick up towards end of this year. Believed u didnt take any grant so eligible to sell your flat even though u staying for only 2 yrs

Kira,

any good news from u? I emailed the resale officer and she replied within hours. Too bad, its bad news from her that 2nd appt date cant confirm due to some legal documents...Sigh!

vone

celia, tat's wat i m afraid of. so i m tinking of testing d mkt 2 c how much i can sell my current flat. in addition, i must make sure tat i 'earned' enough 2 pay d cash downpayment & if possible, 4 d reno aso.
yup, hb didn't believe in taking any grants as we wld b 'bounded'. come 2 tink of it, luckily we didn't. if not, got 2 wait 4 another 3 yrs.

kirakun

Celia

No news as yet. Officer informed now waiting for HDB loan to be downloaded. Once that happens is all system go. Will be signing up for my ID this weekend and starting tile selection liao. :p

kirakun

Vone

Think it will be difficult for you to do that. Very very few flats are selling at above valuation, let alone to be able to cover downpayment and renovation ... buyers' market. U sell expensive ... buyers will just turn to another unit lor ..

vone

kira,

sigh... tat's wat i m afraid of. tink wat i can hope is tat my valuation wld hv 'incr' sufficiently 2 cover my costs. anyway, tks 4 sharing.

Kira,

I just checked and got my 2nd appt scheduled on 15 Jul in the afternoon. So happy. Yesterday, couldnt wait any longer and emailed to the resale officer and cc to resale office and she replied within hours. She said there are still some legal documents pending and no completion date yet but see what I got today. Haha....maybe my file was right at the bottom but because of my email....she quickly expedite my case. Hope u got good news soon.

Hooray, I can get my keys soon and proceed with the rest.....Hooray

vone, how much did u got for your flat? Myself and a few friends who just sold off our flats..here's the details:-

- got my 4-room resale for 225k, sold at just 1k above valuation and made a loss of 32k. Just bought an exec for 30k below valuation. 6 yrs ago already targetted some units from the block but the min. asking price was 450k.

- friend got 5-room resale for 316k, sold at 10k below valuation and made a loss of 56k

- friend sold 4-room flat (direct from HDB) for only 219k, 6k below valuation. Last few months, such flats able to sell at least 240k

- my buyer sold 3-room flat for 140k, 15k below valuation

- friend sold 4-room flat (direct from HDB) for 260k at valuation.

- friend got a 5-room resale for 275k which was 15k below valuation.

- friend got 5-room flat (direct from HDB & directly opposite MRT & shopping mall) for nearly $300k and have intention to sell BUT latest valuation from neighbouring units and blocks only $305k. Few months ago, these units can easily sell around $380k-$400k.

in fact, many of us here bought our flat below valuation. Majority of those 5-room flats & above are selling below valuation unless buyers are loaded with $. The recent flats released by HDB (direct and unsold for min 5 yrs) into the resale market for singles and PRs was also a blow to sellers. Furthermore, HDB also recently released BTO project and WIS. So double blow to sellers. Next year worse as it'll be 6% downpayment in cash for buyers.

In conclusion, the property market is SELL Cheap, BUY cheap now. Majority of those smiling to the banks (cheque not much as compared to 5-6 years ago) are those 1st owners who got their direct flat from HDB back in the early 80s. These owners tend to downgrade to smaller flat as usually their children already set up their own household.

so sellers got to absorp the losses if they intend to sell

vone

celia, gosh... seems like u & ur frens sold below valuation. i bought mine at $245k, $5k below valuation at tat time. thus i was hoping tat my valuation wld b higher when i intend 2 sell it. however, given u & ur frens's situations, tink it wld b veri unlikely. then i better b contented & stay 4 a few more yrs.

vone,

yup....not just me and my friends. I believed many sellers had been 'hit' by the property market. Have u checked the resale transaction for your block? 4-room for $245k?

kirakun

Celia

Congrats. U can proceed then. When I enquired with my resale officer last week, she told me to check with her again on the 14th. Hence, I suspect my 2nd appt will be probably around 22 July. Makes sense since my first appt was one week after yours as well.

Hi Kira,

maybe but you can try send them an email. I tried calling the resale officer since last week but got frustrated and send the email yesterday. I'm sure they are in a position to rush thru our transaction especially yours due to the following:-

- yours a straight forward case since u and seller not doing any contra (My seller doing contra)

- you and seller also wrote in to request for earlier 2nd appt (we also wrote in and got all 3 partie to sign)

If u recall, my 2nd appt was estimated to be 16-end of Jul and resale officer stressed that in the email yesterday but now I already got the date. My friend just went for 1st appointment on this Monday, she doing contra and resale officer stated 29 Aug as 2nd appt. Resale officer was willing to bring forward the 2nd appt when buyer requested but my friend need time to do up her new place so they stick with 29 Aug.

kirakun

Celia

Thanks for the suggestion. Perhaps I will. Currently busying with reno stuff already at the moment. Was thinking of settling everything b4hand and then once key is collected, next day start work. Do let me know once u receive ur 2nd appt letter as I wish to know the contents. I understand that with the letter, can apply for reno permit already.

Kira,

Ok, would let u know the details. In fact, a buyer (happened to know her from someone) already started reno after 1st appt and reno in the midst of touching up now. I think its quite common for sellers to hand over the keys to buyers after 1st appt now and some buyers proceed with the reno. But I think some form of undertaking need to be signed by seller or maybe reno permit applied by seller...not sure. My friend who just had 1st appt on Monday already got the keys from seller and going to start reno soon.

As for your case, since u already got the keys (non-official) and quotation already quite firm up then no worries. For me, I need the keys urgently from seller to proceed with Feng Shui, confirm shortlisted ID, get selected ID to do onsite measurement, apply reno loan and start reno before 7th month. And buy 4D...hehe $$$$.

vone

celia, hvn't chked yet. was tinking of doing tat when i m doing my confinement. i m currently 8 mths pregnant, so now my priority is 2 hv a healthy bb.
oh, mine is 5 rm.

tks 4 all d sharing. i really learnt a lot fr u gals.

Hi vone,

U're welcome. Dun mention as we're all here to learn from one another.

wow, baby boy or girl? so got baby bonus...congrats and take care of yourself too.

vone

celia, mine is bb boy. ya lor, at least can defray some of d costs in raising up a kid.
tks 4 d link. will chk it out.

vone,

take good care cos u'll need plenty of energy for your baby. Children makes a marriage life complete, that's according to celia...hehe.

vone

celia,

i'll. tks 4 ur concern.
true aso, if not, who going 2 look after me & hb when we r old. hehe...

knock knock...anyone home????

Kira, have u got your 2nd appt?

How's everybody? Seems like July is so going by so fast....pressing for time. Had to confirm Feng Shui layout, make first entry into flat, confirm ID, make 1st payment to ID and quickly start reno before Lunar 7th month.

winterbabylon

hi celia,

i am still here. nowadays quite busy too. busy with deciding should i use laminate flooring or hard wood flooring for my new house. also there are a few more things that i am considering with respect to the renovation of my house.

so you have decided your contractor? which one is that? hmm u believe in fengshui? if i were to believe, i think my ID's design have to be changed...

Hi Celia,
Later me going up to see my flat b4 my 2nd appt tis Thurs..i wonder what shld i look out for sia..erm...

Hi Winter Babylon,

Yup, have decided my ID, recommended by hubby's colleague who happened to be the childhood friend. ID recommended Kronotex as so far no problem with those who did Kronotex. 2 of our friends had Kronotex for the whole house and no problems encountered for the past few years.

I normally don't believe in FS but hubby said its better for those staying in the house so I'm quite ok now. Furthermore, just a couple of hundreds so I think it's worth the $ if everything goes smoothly for all in the family especially my kids. Huh, not really have to change alot in terms of designs as the FS master usually advised on certain things (eg. colours for the walls), positioning for hob, sink, fridge but its still up to individual.

Aiming to start reno by end of Jul as need to move in after 7th month