Resale Home Seekers and Owners of Resale Units

man_tou_bear

Hey Celia,

Thanks. I was trying to convince my FH that we might need to start shopping earlier if we want the flat to be here by Dec this yr. He said dun need, Sept then start looking. so altogether abt 10 wks or more to get ur keys right??? meaning abt 2 and the half mths...

Hi Bear,

can try to 'soft launch' yr resale shopping already. Once confirm, then can pay deposit and exercise OTP. Btw, some sellers may even ask for a certain period before submitting the resale application so Sept might be too late if u meet such sellers. The period can be up to 90days so start shopping this weekends. Dont forget still got to do reno.

man_tou_bear

Hahahaah Celia i like the term 'soft launch'... heehee.. but to my FH he said since now we dun have enuff savings (will hit it in Dec only) there is no point to go and see resale flats. cos we will only be disappointed if we like something and cannot afford it. Hence the wait lor.. but the 7th lunar mth is around the corner and it ends in Sept. Scared by the time we get our flat it might be next yr liao. Plus also afraid of the end of the yr rush (like lasy yr a lot of ppl only got their first apptm in Mar this yr).

Reno wise we are not really in the hurry as long as everything is ready by the time my AD is over next yr Oct....

Hi Bear,

ya what ur FH said is true but its a buyers' market now and flats are going below valuation so u don't actually need any $$. If u look thru the thread, many of us bought our resale flat below valuation so everything would be settled by CPF. Believed u're 1st timer so still entitled to either 30 or 40k. Look around first since some sellers are requesting for last submission as they also need to find accommodation first before handing over the keys to u. I reckoned that the rush for last yr end was due to the 2% cash upfront...this year already 4% cash upfront for those taking bank loan.

which estate are u interested in?

man_tou_bear

Hrrmm Celia u mean i dun need cash?? we did our sums and it seems that we need it. we are looking for a flat not more than 350K, better still if EA/EM. In Bedok or Kallang Whampoa where either of our parents live.

I only started working last Sept and my FH is doing his own business so we do not have much savings nor CPF.

U think this yr will have rush or not??

winterbabylon

hi bear,

i think to determine how much time u need before you are able to buy the flat u like is not science but luck.

hence i think it would be best if you can start looking for a flat now.. after all it is only 6 months till december. do not forget, you still need to cater time for renovation and HDB processing time, on top of the time you need to look for a suitable flat.

However, since your AD is in Oct 2006, why set yourself to purchase a flat by Dec 2005? In my opinion, you shouldn't set yourself this deadline.

Shop around, and see which are the flats that you like... and proceed from there.

winterbabylon

hi celia,

thanks for the information. i think i will call the officer tomorrow to check with her what is this MFI thing.. thanks a lot.

man_tou_bear

Heehee. cos we wanna take our own sweet time to do reno.. i m the type that works best with a deadline. haha... another reason is that my FH and i work very odd hours and the only time both of us are free is on Sat aft 3pm. Even Suns we work.

I think its more like aft we get our flat we will shop for IDs and such. then CNY will be just sround the corner. Reno takes abt 6-8 wks right? by the time its done might be late April or may liao... have to move things over quick cos next yr got two 7th mths. heehee.. i like to plan in advance lor. heehee.. plan till military precision.

Hi Bear,

u wont need cash if u're buying at or below valuation. BUT, since u just started work and your hubby also do not have much CPF savings then u'll most likely need to top up with cash as u'll need to pay the initial 20% either by cash or CPF. Eg. if u're getting an EA at 350k, u'll need to set aside $70k for the first 20% downpayment. This 70k would come from your CPF if u have sufficient otherwise u'll have to top up the diff in cash (if ur taking grant, there'll be an additional 40k from HDB into your CPF). In addition, u'll need to work out the monthly housing loan and see if u need to top up with cash. U can play around witht the financial plan over here http://www.hdb.gov.sg/bb29/ispm015p.nsf/reslenq?Openform

joey0219

me and my hubby are thinking of buying resale 4 rm flat coz we tried to apply HDB BTO thrice but unsuccessful (suai lar)..now abit give up liao. But our concern is the cash we gotta fork out for resale flat..Can someone give me advices abt the fees that I gotta fork out in cash?

I heard from my friends that the price for the resale flat are dropping now, is it true?

I'm not worry abt the 20% downpayment using CPF for resale flat (coz i still got addition 30k~40k grant) but is just the fees like Conveyancing Fee, Stamp Fee and Registration &
Microfilming. And the commission for the housing agent. And from the HDB website, I understand I gotta pay option fee and deposit as well..is it all gotta pay by cash?? roughly how much will that be? if happen the value of the house is $230k?

Or it is more advicable to apply for a new flat instead ?

Hi Joey0219,

Which estate u intend to zoom in on? If u have sufficient CPF then u need not worry as long as u're getting a unit at valuation or even below valuation. Anything above valuation requested by seller would have to be paid by CASH. U can use the above financial plan to check as well as have a better idea of what to pay for in cash. Stamp fee would be settled by CPF. During the 1st appt, u'll only pay cash for the convey fee and caveat fee, should be less than $200. For agent comm, u'll need to pay the agent 1% as buyer and that would be in cash. Some of the agencies are GST registered so u'll have to pay 1% + GST. Option fee and Option exercise fee would be in cash but it'll be deducted from the purchase price. It'll depend on the sellers. Some sellers request for $5k (max.) whereas some allow u to pay them $100. Its really a good time to get a resale flat especially if u have been unlucky in WIS and BTO. There are plenty in the market now and buyers can afford to choose. If u're serious about getting a resale flat then start by zooming in on the flat type, interested estate and also not forgeting your budget. All the best!

man_tou_bear

Hi Celia,

Thanks for all the advice! heehee... Let's justr say even aft the grant i dun have enough CPF to pay for the 350K flat hence we are saving like mad!

kirakun

Celia

My in-principle approval letter came already yesterday. Damn fast ... last Wed was first appt .. looks good man. Btw, as I said earlier, my friend had his first appt on 30 May, 2nd appt is on 1 July.

Kira,

wow, so those who gone for 1st appt between 25 May (winterbabylon) - 30 May (your friend), can get 2nd appt on 1st Jul. So maybe u'll get your date soon...not forgetting u also submitted request for an earlier date. Good Luck!!! My seller doing a contra so the HDB officer said the earliest 2nd appt is 3rd week of Jul.

bubblesoul

Hi Celia

My 1st appt is on the 8th June which is last two weeks ago. But sad to say my 2nd appt is on the 29th July. Actuali for 2nd appt date... HDB officer allow us to choose the dates from 16-31st July. I choosen 16th July but the seller dun wan... they insist to have it on the 29th July.

We have some hicups with seller. They came up a request from us during the 1st appt. You know what... they requested us to move in only mid of Sept. Too much rite...

They are not happy with us now.... thats y they insist having the 2nd appt on the 29th July. Feel so sad... Sigh....

Hi Karen,

My 1st appt also on 8th Jun at 10.30am. U mean u already know ur 2nd appt date is 29 Jul? Its stated that my 2nd appt would be between 16-end of Jul. We requested for early 2nd appt and agent prepared a letter endorsed by 3 parties (we the buyers, my seller and my seller's seller) but HDB officer said contra case more complicated so cannot be earlier than 16-end of Jul. The HDB officer said she'll try to arrange earliest 3rd week of Jul.

Aiyo, how come your seller like that? Do u need to do reno? If 2nd appt on 29 Jul for u, will your seller pay u any rental since they want to continue staying till Sep?

For me, my 2nd appt must be before end of Jul as we need to start the renovation before 4th Aug as 5th Aug is the first day of Chinese 7th month. Thereafter reno can continue thru the 7th month. I'll move in after 8th month.

Your agent never help u?

bubblesoul

Hi Celia

Yours is on 8th June 10.30am... mine is 10.45am lei... Hahaha... So 'Qiao' lei

Basically... this flat i can say i dun have to do any reno. The condition is superb and clean. Just need to repaint and do up a built in wardrobe in the common room.

Is not i dun wan to help them... most of my things i have ordered already... warehouse cant delay that long for me. Another thing is my current flat which is my mum's flat had sold already. If the seller want to continue staying till Sept they have to pay me rental. But i still do not agree to the terms. So no matter what,they still have to move out before 29 July.

What makes me upsad is,we requested from them to let my contractor go up to do measurement for the wardrobe... Know what,they dun allow... and keep giving us excuses,saying that they are going overseas. My hubby went up to their place to check...guess what... they are at home.

My 2nd appt time is 3.00pm. So after that i will go up with my husband and my MIL to open door. Painting will start on the 30th July. They only take 1day to paint the house. So i will move in on the 31st July loh. Actuali i am kind of sad cos we want things to be fast but ended up like that.

My agent did help me... but still like that loh... Sigh,sway lah....

Hi Karen,

so just to confirm....U already know that your 2nd appt is on 29th Jul. How come so funny..u mean right on the spot during 1st appt, HDB already marked your 2nd appt as 29th Jul?

Aiyoh, why the seller like that? So your new hse is less than 10yrs so no need much reno. U paid above valuation? Where's your place and mind if ask how many rooms?

Try to get your agent to approach the sellers as we are buyers and also scare to offend the seller cos later they can do wonders to the hse which might not be visible to us. Could be some miscommunication so try to work it out nicely and allow them so grace period, maybe few days to move out. Do it tactfully.

Dont be sad as my case was also very complicated if u read thru the archives but now ok. So I'm sure yours would be ok. Look on the bright side of things.

bubblesoul

Hi Celia

Yes Yes... My 2nd appt date and time is confirm. On the spot during 1st appt,the officer marked my 2nd appt as 29th July loh. I even call the officer to double check loh.

My new house is 5years old so no need much reno. Yes,i paid $6K above valuation. My love nest is at Jurong West,near Jurong Point Shopping Centre. My flat is 4A,but only have 2rooms. The seller knock down 1room to make the master bedroom bigger. How about yours,care to share.

Now i like kenna stuck... dun know what should i do. As my husband says,if they dun let us go up, we oso cant do anything cos right now the flat is still theirs.

Hi Karen,

Ic. I got a Exec Mais, 19yrs old and paid below valuation.

Are u in a hurry to move in? They'll move out by 29th Jul right? If worse come to worse then ur carpenter can only do the measurement on 29th Jul. BUT, remember buyer got to check the unit before 2nd appt so how about getting your contractor to go up on that day. Its stated that buyer got to check the unit prior to the 2nd appt. Try to get your agent to arrange a date convenient for the seller...since buyer got no choice, we cannot afford to offend the seller/agent.

bubblesoul

Celia : Oh,u paid below valuation. Thats very good. Mine,i have to pay $6K above valuation. Love at 1st sight with the flat,so i agreed to the amount.

Can say that i am in a hurry to move in cos my parents flat is sold already. Plus i do nt wan to stay at my hubby place alone with my PIL when my hubby is not around due to his sailing schedule... feeling kind of uneasy lah..(heehee)

We intend getting our contractor to go up when we inspect the flat before the 2nd appt. Thats the only way out for us loh... sigh!!!

Hi queenie : Oh,u are staying at JP too... I'm at Blk 659D... issnt near to you? Yours is a resales unit too?

cheerss

Just drop by to wish all the best to you guys for getting the lovenest soon.

I am still searching and searching...waiting and waiting..... Hope can join you guys in reno chat soon, but dunno when that day will come.

Does anyone here know whether HDB have any good 4 or 5 room flat to be lauched soon?

Hi cheerss,

was just wondering where's everybody. Take your time since u not in any hurry.

Think there are still bits of 4 and 5 rooms here and there in the newer estates like Seng Kang, Punggol21, Sembawang, Bt Panjang but no idea when it'll be released as WIS......probably these units are on the lower floors so if u dont mind then can wait for it.

cheerss

Hi Celia,

Agree! I think all i need is patience...... really cannot rush into it. FH said it is ok to spend some time to look for flat then slowly take time to reno and buy furnitures. May take 2 years for these

aiyo... seems very slow to me leh
wondering why men always not so gan cheong one.

Cheerss,

men usually not gan cheong. If both of u still young then can afford to wait for 2 years. Also must take into account the customary. My colleague wanted to get a flat first but eventually decided to go ahead with wedding and stay with in-laws first as their BTO flat only ready in few years time.

cheerss

me not young liao..haha...but not too old also..hee hee.Must stay young at heart, that is the key to youthfulness

Talking about customary. i just did a simple math, and realised wedding and housing (reno + furnitures) may set us back by may $40K leh..wah piang! if become cash poor and too old to have more babies next time, government dun blame us hor

kirakun

Celia

No news yet for me as well. Still waiting ... guess same for u as well .... but I expect something pretty soon next week .... think urs too. Login to resale net and note that my application has been approved ... assumed yrs as well.

Kira,

yup think yours would be very fast since u also appealed and i believed they'll take that into consideration. As for mine, I'll not so worried. I'll check with the agent next week as hope the seller had already moved out by then so that I can get the FS master to go up the house. We need his advise on the water/fire elements for the kitchen and the other FS matters in the house like colour of painting, etc...thereafter we'll quickly settle the quotation with the selected ID. Plus also renovation loan application.

In fact, now abit stress on my side...I've already sold my place...just confirmed that 1st appt with my buyer is 18 Jul. My buyer also selling his place and their 2nd appt would be on 17 Aug. The problem is my buyers' buyer initially agreed to let my buyer stay for another month after 2nd appt (my buyer would be paying rental). With that arrangement, i can move out in early Sep as I've to wait for Chinese 8th month to move out to my new house. Now my buyer informed agent that their buyer want the keys on 6 Sep so I've to move out and hand over my keys to my buyer on 6 Sep also. Wow lau...die la, later I stranded with no house to stay...Agent now trying to settle the matter and I'm waiting for her call. She had arranged to call this evening but still no news...hope its good news.

Hi Irene, welcome. How much did u bought for flat, above valuation? 4-or 5-room?

now awaiting to go for 1st appointment as just sold my flat. The technical officer from Branch office just conducted an inspection and we are told to change the window rivets for the whole house before resale application can be proceeded. That would be an added cost for us. The deadline for household to change is end of Sep so why branch office insist that we as sellers have to change it?? If its 50% of the cost then its ok but 100% by us.

Anyone in this current situation?

kirakun

Celia

Understand that the cost of changing the rivets is relatively low. Have u done an estimate yet? I suppose that is HDB's policy lah ...

As for the no house to stay part .. do u have a lot of furniture to move over? If not, u can crash over at relative's place I suppose. For me, its my first hse so everything will be new ... furnishing the place is gonna cost us alot ...

Kira,

wrote an email to HDB resale office and branch office last night and hope they give a reply soon. I just called the contractor and I estimated that it'll work out to be slightly less than $500 as fastener might also need to be changed. Feel that HDB should just ensure that the rivets are changed before deadline, as to who should do it, it shouldnt be HDB's concern unless HDB had published in the papers that there is a cut off date i.e flats sold at so and so date are to ensure that the rivets are changed before handing over to buyer. I've gone through the Windows legislation and other articles in the HDB website but nothing stated...the Windows Legislation only mentioned about end of Sep. If HDB able to give me the black and white stating that seller is responsible then I 'LL' got to do it lor. Sigh!

Yup, quite a lot of stuff and it'll involve 2 adults (me and HB) and my 2 kids so time is really a factor. Initially, the buyers informed that their buyer allow them to stay for 1 month after 2nd appt (17th Aug). Unfortunately, their buyers had a change of mind and insist they move out by 6 Sep. So, we (including my buyers) are caught in this sudden change of events. Agent is trying to negotiate a win-win situation for all.

really headache after headache...........sigh~!

winterbabylon

hi celia,

i am sorry to hear that you are facing some problems with regards to your flat. ironically, in the ST Forum today, someone enquired about the rivets in casement windows of HDB flats. The author mentioned that no contractor is willing to simply just change the rivets -- all suggested him to change the whole window system. I hope you won't be facing the same problem as the author.

Hi Winter Babylon,

oh, I better go read it later. Oh my God, I think the contractors would definitely ask me to change the fasteners as well.

Hi Celia,
I got my 2nd appt date...14th July at 3.45pm. Erm...now already sourcing for quotation for my flat. Hope things will turn out well...

Kira,

how about yours? Any news on your 2nd appt? Any idea if your seller was also asked to retrofit their windows? I was thinking whether the 2nd appointment for some of u (straight-forward cases not contra cases) might be delayed if seller has yet to retrofit the windows. Reason being that the technical officer said the resale completion would be delayed if I did not retrofit my windows.

I wrote to HDB and branch office and got a reply from the branch office. They only mentioned that HDB requires sellers to retrofit the windows before sales completion...(wonder where they pluck this piece of order from as no date, no other details available). In fact, I'm also wondering if it is an order across the board as ....(not convenient to mention it here).

kirakun

Celia

Yet to receive any news yet too. But I am going ahead with my reno plans already. Will be heading down this weekend to finalise design and take measurements. Thereafter will go select tiles etc next week. Once the letter is in, I will proceed to start purchasing things. Ground work has been completed anyway ...

Hi Celia,
Its was on 27th May lor...long time back...I tink also due to the seller also buying another flat ba..tat's y delay.
Do u noe wat fees do I need to pay on 2nd appt?

Hi Gin,

so your seller also doing a contra at the same time. 14th Jul...oh my 1st appointment was 8 Jun and my seller also doing contra...hope to get the keys soon but looks like its quitely unlikely now.

Kira,

wow, congrats that u can proceed with the reno. For me...still got to wait for 2nd appointment to get the keys. My seller already got the keys from her seller after 1st appointment and started reno. Was told that my seller had to move over to her new place before Lunar 6th month. Hope to get the keys from her and proceed with Feng Shui master then onsite measurement and final quote. Unfortunately, checked with agent today and was told that seller would give the keys to me only on 2nd appointment. So cannot do anything. Not in favour to bring the feng shui master up when the seller still around as seller showed a not so pleasant face the other time when we went up with one of the potential ID. So now can only wait.