Resale Home Seekers and Owners of Resale Units

avalyn

HAHA...SO CUTE HELLO88! How old are your boys? I have a 16month old and he's gonna terrorise me up and down those stairs for sure. Just had my fengshui audit for the maisonette. Any recommendations on ID/contractors? I was sorely disappointed by LWT who promised me a quote by last wed, but no word till today even tho I called them on Sat to remind them.

nicatan

just had our 1st appt last wk and sourcing for contractors now..

would like to ask if supply n laying of wall and floor tiles in kitchen and bathroom are very expensive jobs cos got a quote of $2.6k to lay and supply bathroom wall tiles to ceiling height and $2.4k to supply and lay kitchen wall tiles... prices dun include hacking away of the tiles and removin existing cabinets..

nicatan

soori gota tap on yr experience again.. is it necessary to rewire the whole hse? quote from contractor for my 4-I flat is $1.8k... is tat price resonable?

avalyn

Wall tiles are more expensive than floor tiles. Difference in price for doing wall and not doing wall can be ard $3000 or more for kitchen & 2 toilets?

nicatan

hi busybug

thks for the info... hmmm... i guess i gota do both wall tiles in kitchen and toilets..
my flat has a WC and Bath in kitchen n no toilet in master bedroom.. guess its considered as 2 toilets still rite..

bleue

My bathroom wall tiles for two toilets cost me $2.8k.

nicatan

hi busybug,

from the quote it wld be a total of 5k for both kitchen and bathrm wall tiles... he didnt state any material so we can choose wat we like rite...

avalyn

Depends on contractor. Sometimes they take the average price of a range of tiles and use that to quote. Better check when you are making your selection.

avalyn

Sorry earlier I said $3K difference for not doing wall tiles. that's only for 2 toilets. So, $5k difference for doing wall tiles for 2 tolets and kitchen shld be about right. So ex!!! I also have to do my wall tiles for kitchen and toilets. Anyone tried "refinishing" - where they spray onto the tiles to change colour? Supposed to be cheaper. Does it last long?

bleue

My contractor is my own uncle... toilet tiles are really ex, not only that, hacking is ex too.

I heard spray over, the paint will come off, after a few years, will not look nice.

idono

Not exactly lar. Depends on whether anyone willing to buy or not. Nowadays, resale mkt very bad to get good price

avalyn

Yeah, from what I heard the estate I bought used to go for $650-700K at high point. Now between $350-420K. We hope the market will go up, or at least maintain value.

hate_crap

we guess the flat was vacant for about 3 yrs, occupied only 2 yrs...only the flooring, kitchen and window grille are done...no carpentry

generally juz need to touch up the place & replace the toilet.....

dlyhsg

I'm new here. Jus bot a resale EA and looking to build a walk-in wardrobe in the master bedroom.
I've got friends telling me that sliding doors for walk-in wardrobe jammed easily. Can anyone share your experience with me?
Can anyone also share with me pics of the kind of doors that you have used?

thanks very much

Hi no_more,

did u got your flat cheaper than a resale flat at the same locality?

Hi dlyhsg,

where's your lovenest? So far I've never heard of sliding doors getting jammed easily. I'm very protective of my laminated flooring and did a top-hang sliding glass door so that mine got no tracks punctured onto my laminated floorings

hate_crap

hi hello, yes it was cheaper, as my neighbour told me they got theirs at 420K, but of course the flat was also more furnished.

Hi Adel,

not storage heater right? I used to rely on 707 but latest I got for my new house was CHAMPS Titanium recommended by my friend and I got it from his shop.

Hi no_more,

ya, definitely cheaper than those who got direct from HDB. Did u check the latest resale transaction for your area? How's the price compared to yours?

Hi Adel,

so far there's no difference and its cheaper than 707. 707 is an old reliable brand and I was using it for the past 6 years. Cant comment on CHAMPS since a new user to the brand but recommended by my friend who's been selling it and so far no violent complaints so should be ok

Hi Adel,

usually ur plumber/electrician would fix up the heater, accessories and WC etc for u

i cant recall the price but CHAMPS should be around 150

hate_crap

hi hello,

err..."definitely cheaper than those who got direct from HDB" ???

mine is direct fr hdb....while my neighbour's resale which they bought abt 2 yrs back....

recent resale txn....no leh...think hv not seen that many resale EM txn....

Hi no_more,

ya definitely cheaper than those who got direct from HDB when keys were first available (think 6 yrs ago). I think they paid more than $400k. As for resale, think 2 years ago, property wasnt this bad...now its really buyers' market.

i think resale transaction recorded some exec (might either be EM or EA) in SK recently for as low as $300k but condition unknown.

someone in renotalk bought a RP EM for 210k....cheap right. Marble flooring and shower screen.

so your reno would be quite minor right since flooring and grilles done up. So fortunate hor.

I got my EM so much lower than what our friend bought 2 years ago (same block) but I spend a bomb on the reno as to us, its not move in condition

Im very upset...today met up with a property agent engaged by my dad to sell his current flat, when he mention that any flat face PIE will have a hard time selling due to the fact ppl will feel it is noisy.
OMG, when I am getting my current flat, my agent did not mention anything like tis to me. I think I will live here permanently liaoz...sigh...very sad...imagine flat 5 yrs also no value...
Angree too...

Hi Gin

dun feel upset. The property agent might be frank to give the general views that flats facing expressway are difficult to sell but hey u never know. Facing is only one of the criteria when people buy flats. The overall interior plus other nearby amenities etc are what people look for. Maybe, the potential buyer might be someone looking for a flat near expressway and near parents.

cheers.

hate_crap

hi hello, yah i know what you mean, it is cheaper now than 6 yrs back.

i noticed RP EM selling very cheap, rem seeing 1 at hougang 20+ yrs at below 250K! but need major rehaul type.

we only need minor reno as the condition is move-in, guess it is "heng-sway" when it comes to RP units....i hv friend who bought RP unit and it comes with air-con! it was also cheaper than getting resale.

i guess u need to rehaul to recondition the place to your needs....but at least you are happy so it should be worth the money spent!

Hi no_more,

so one cant get innto the RP flat to view it first? Will the HDB review anything about the reno done by previous owner? So really heng sway hor.

bleue

Hi Gin, err sometimes agent tell u something not good abt the flat so that seller will not be asking for too high selling price. Maybe its tactics? My prev 4 room was just beside a pri & sec sch, so there are agents who tell me, cant sell well cos too near school, some say easy to sell cos near school!!

Some pple may like ur locality and doesnt mind the PIE facing. Moreover, if u plan to stay there permanently, than who cares abt the resale value of ur area? Dun worry abt it!

avalyn

Hey hello88, haven't heard from you in a while. Was at home two days last week nursing a bad back from carrying my kiddo the wrong way. Still hurts now, but had to come back top work. any help with reno would be dearly appreciated, e.g. who you went to etc. can PM me if you prefer.

dlyhsg

Hi hello,

Mine is in Tampines. Its a 9 year old EA.
I think alot of people do use the top-hang sliding door and its actually what I wanted to do it too. but i have 2 friends who told me their doors are jammed up sometimes. I guess the quality makes a difference.

hate_crap

RP is repurchased flat....

no, one can't get in to view the inside of the flat...so you won't really know what kind of reno or condition the flat has....but most likely from the condition of the area outside the flat or window, u can roughly guess the condition and what to expect...

Hi busybug,

check yr email...me replied.

Hi dlyhsg,

wow, Tampines EA. Expensive area right? Ya, quality makes a difference.

Hi dlyhsg,

i mean quality of the types of doors does make a difference. Just like reno...go for quality and not rely too much on the price.

Hi dlyhsg,

is it a corner unit? so have u moved in?
for me, i've stayed in the north-east all the while but east not very far for me. I can only lost my way over at the West side of Singapore.

dlyhsg

Hi hello,

yes, its a corner unit. I've jus gone for the first appt, will prob be getting the keys mid-end nov. Now I'm scouting around for quotes and to decide whether to use ID or contractor.

bleue

Hi dllyhsg, congrats to u on getting ur flat. Tampines ex hor? EA can sell abv value. you got lotsa reno to do?

I was told that EA/EM owners pay a higher rate for PUB than 4/5 rooms, how true is that?

dlyhsg

Hi bleue,

thx! not a lot of reno to do. Need to overhaul the kitchen, 2 toilets and a walk-in wardrobe for mbr.
I guess the location for this unit can command above value cos jus across the road there's a wet mkt, shop n'save, Mcdonalds, harvey norman, 1 food court, 1 coffeshop and lots of shops...very convenient.