Resale Home Seekers and Owners of Resale Units

nicatan

hi hello,

oic... thks... my uncle whos our agent said 1st appt shd be end of sept or early oct and handover keys 1st wk of dec...

as the seller's mother is the 2nd owner and she has migrated to australia, she needs to be bk to sign the paperwork.. we gve them 30 days to do so..

Hi syt,

oic. Once your uncle submit the application then on the spot he'll be able to know your scheduled 1st appt on the spot.

Extracted from HDB website:_

"For resale applications submitted today, by agency under the Listed Housing Agents Scheme, the earliest 1st appointment resale date is 21 SEP 2005 . You may choose any date from 21 SEP 2005 to 17 OCT 2005 , not later than 2 months from the date when the resale application is submitted"

so buyer/seller can sell any dates between 21 Sep to 17 Oct for 1st appt if resale application was file today.

chng

Hi Hello,

Thanks for yr pointers, but i can't seems to find the info on hdb web. Which part of it?

kirakun

Celia

U hack away a wall to combine two rooms? Else how to have a WIW that is 17 ft in length? Mine is L shaped and I combined 2 rooms into 1. Dun think there will be constant tripping lah ... Mit Inverter Outdoor unit has variable settings so should be able to manage ... I am having 2x9000 BTU, 1x11000BTU and 1x 25000BTU. Any new pictures to view? How much is your reno altogether?

Hi Kira,

U can view some of the before and after pics and I've pasted the link last night (scroll upwards). Actually hor, I not sure if its 17ft but I didnt hack any wall. My WIW is half of my MBR and my ID doing carpentry platform for my headdress and queen size mattress.

winterbabylon

wow, this thread is getting active. i was quite busy for the last few weeks, and didnt really have the time to read the forum.

now that some of you have already started the renovation. it must be very fun and exciting. let us know if you gals have updated more pictures.

i will be starting my renovation soon too.. about two weeks from now. i am also very excited...

i am facing some problems with the air cons now. i do not know which brand/model should i choose. and what kind of BTU should i select. so headache.

kira, you are having laminated flooring in your rooms too? or is it in your living room?

kirakun

Celia

How about are u charged then? I know carpentry is charged per sq feet. Saw the pictures but only a few though.

Winter, am using laminated flooring for rooms nia. However, I have asked for a plaform to be built in my balcony too. Suppose to be a cosy area with fluffy cushions, possibly beanbags and a wall mounted mini-hifi. For aircons, go to the aircomn threads and read lor. I did not have much choice as I wanted a System 4 and could only go for either Fujitsu or Mit Inverters.

Hi Winter Babylon,

ya agreed with Kira, we don't have choice for old resale flats and only can opt for either Mit or Fujitsu if getting inverter.

Hi kira,

not sure as my friend doing the reno for us so we left majority of the stuff to them. U did platform for balcony? So your balcony not open concept?

Hi kira,

thought a close concept as u mentioned about building a platform in the balcony.

got most of the stuff within these few days and now left with electrical stuff like convention oven and microwave. How about u?

First coat of paint going up on Sunday and fixing of sanitary wares on Monday. By the way, lights alone already cost alot especially for those false ceiling and L-box.

winterbabylon

hi kira,

thank you for your suggestion. hmm looks like i will then choose to use mit system 3. however, i am still unsure should i use inverter or non-inverter series.

so your renovation started already? any photos to share? mine will start soon in early september.

Hi winter babylon,

I installed mit inverter system 3. For inverter, it really depends on your usage. For owners like us with older HDB flats, we only can choose Fujitsu or mit if we going for inverter. If non-inverter then the brand is not so restricted

kirakun

Think I misunderstood Celia's question. Balcony has been renovated to be part of the living room. Its actually close concept I guess. Lights for me also cost alot. Need about 30 down PLC lights itself. Electrical rewiring came up to about $3K alone ... *fainting*

Starting electrical and plumbing works this week follow by false ceiling and aircon next week. First coat of paint shld be up by 5-6 Sep then lighting installation. Always wanted to take pictures but end up rushing here n there ... so none to share this far. Btw, I will be using Kronotex for laminated flooring as well ...

Hi kira,

yup, the downlights cost alot...that's the cost we have to pay to doll up our house unless we do away with L-box and false ceiling and just install a light or two for living/dining area...sigh!

hey, me also using Kronotex..for my 3 bedrooms and staircase.

winterbabylon

wow, looks like u gals are spending a lot on downlights. so how much is one piece of downlight? my ID just showed my my ceiling plan yesterday and there are many lighting points. i guess the wiring is going to cost me another bomb..

Hi winter babylon,

yes yes, the re-wiring alone costed a bomb and not forgetting those downlights also. I think my PLC light cost about $30++ each.

Kira, how much u spent on lights and how much did u get for each PLC lights?

tcflabby

hi all resale homeseekers and owners,

i am new to this thread & is likely to buy a resale HDB.

when viewing a resale flat what are the things to look out for?

can give me your advises and share with me your experiences?

many thanks in advance.

Hi tcflabby,

a warm welcome to you. U may like to check the archive (very first few posts) as I remembered listing some of those things to look out for

Hi winterbabylon,

dont worry...u're not alone. I also clueless about PLC. I cant recall the name but its for those downlights at L-box, false ceiling.

kirakun

Wintermelon, PLC is the type of tube I think ... :p Not too sure but I know we shld not use halogen as they are very hot.

My PLC lights cost $23 each. Good pricing from Light Arcade which has a positive reputation from this forum. My PLC lights are square with with an additional opening so that I do not have to pull the whole cover out when I need to replace any lights. The package comes with Osram tubes and Atco Ballast from Australia. Choose a mixture of warm white and cool white. In addition to this I also bought another 7 items, Crystal lights for my dining, hanging lights for my bartop, balcony and study, lights for toilet and kitchen. Cost me about $1500.

ps: Winter, I am actually a guy when I last checked .. :p

Hi Kira,

U spent $1500 for the lights? We bought PLC lights, 2 balcony wall lights, lights for all the bedrooms, a light for walkway, lights for toilet and utility room plus WIW, wall light for staircase, a crystal hanging light for MBR, a light for kitchen, standing light for living room, hanging lights for dining area plus 2 instant heater and door bell (FOC). Think that's about all...really headache when choosing the lights.

nicatan

would like to check if anyone has encounter submittin the application for sale of flat together with valuation report jus b4 the valuation report expires? does that mean tat the valuation report is still valid though 1st appt. is later than the expiry date?

thks!!

man_tou_bear

Hi Celia (hello88),

Saw that you bought an EM. I bought one too at Bedok. Now scratching my head as to how to reno it.

Check I check with you on certain things like are you going to build up ur balcony? if yes, how much ah? i wanna do that, plus i got a recess area outside to build up... dunno how much it cost...

Do you mind sharing ur quote? [email protected].

Hi Bear,

U got your keys already? Bedok? Hm....u can browse thru these2 thread and see how Chao Ah Beng reno his Bedok EM, http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/409/268547.html?1112156169 (Archive dated 30 Mar 05) and http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/5/266746.html?1112154867 (also Arhive dated 30 Mar 05). I think your floor plan would be same as his and slightly different from mine (kitchen entrance and location of doorway of common toilet upstairs).

Btw, how much u bought your EM? Do u need to overhaul the whole place? I overhauled the whole place and rebuilt very simple thing from the tiles and all the way to the ceiling. The house was in such a bad condition that I even have to replaster so that add up to cost again. But overall very satisfied and painting done and lights up. Washing to be done today as carpentry coming in soon.

We wanted a balcony so we didnt extend the living room to the balcony if that's what u mean about building up balcony. Not sure about the cost as different ID charges differently. Got to prepare $$$$ if u going to overhaul the place. Min to expect is 50k but to do up a EM...50k is the min....unless u're not the 2nd owner since renovation would have been done by 2nd or 3rd owner. We are the 2nd owner so the flat was done up about 20yrs ago by the seller...no choice! $ gone but going to stay there for a long time so would be eating bread and re-loading bank a/c all over again

oh btw, my quote in hard copy and my ID is my friend so we given a special special discount.

Gd morning everyone,

A man can go two weeks without eating. But if he doesn't rest at all,
he can only survive for one week. Sleeping provides us the time to rest our
internal organs, eyes and brains. Poor sleep quality can cause
internal damage to our internal organs and brains. Therefore,
sleeping is very important to us. If you wish to have a long life and stay healthy,
please take note of the advice below.
5 DON'TS when you are sleeping
DON'T SLEEP WITH WATCH
Watches can emit a certain level of radioactivity. Though small, but if you
wear your watch to bed for a long time, it might have adverse effects
on your health.
DON'T SLEEP WITH BRA
Scientists in America have discovered those that wear bras for more
than 12hours have a higher risk of getting breast cancer. So go to bed
without it.
DON'T SLEEP WITH PHONE
Putting the phone beside your bed or anywhere near you is not
encouraged. Though some of us will use phones as alarm clocks, but please put the phone
as far as possible. Scientists have proved that electrical items including
mobile phone and television sets emit magnetic waves when used. These
waves can cause disruptions to our nervous system. Therefore if you need
to put your mobile phone near you, switch it off first.
DON'T SLEEP WITH MAKE UP
People who sleep with make up might have skin problems in the long
run. Sleeping with make up will cause the skin to have difficulty in
breathing and problem in perspiring. You will also need a much longer time to go
into deep sleep.
DON'T SLEEP WITH OTHERS' WIFE
You may never wake up again.

Hi Bear,

as for the recess area...is yours the same as mine (see pic). I shifted out my gate as I bought over the recess area which cost about $350 (estimated as forgotten about the actual cost) and can be paid either by CPF or cash

306186.jpg

man_tou_bear

Hi Celia u change name to Hello ah? Very strange leh hello to Hello.. hahaha.... sorry me a bit crazy now...

Wah Ah Beng's place is lovely!! hrmmm Ah Beng's place is similar to mine.. But i dun get the 2nd floor thingy.. how come the toilet like very front like that ah??? and the other 2 rooms' doorway are facing each other? mine is not leh....side by side if u get what i mean.

His kitchen is exactly what i want! except of using the glass door i will be using bifold door with clear glass and wooden trimming, like Ah Beng's balcony doors. will hack everything he hacked too!

My EM is the corner so i have the whole corridor, abt 6sq m to build up, with roof. have to shift my main door out too.

I need to overhaul the place though i m the 2nd owner. All 3 loos cos they are still in the original condition!! >faint< the only gd thing is that the 2nd owner did marble flooring for the first floor which we are keeping. Otherwise everything goes.

I dun wanna extend my living room to the balcony but becos we are living on the top floor i wanna build a roof and windows instead of leaving it open. Then the floor would be raise till the same level as the living room, but will use wooden flooring.. that area will be my rest and relax area.

Ya we are prepared for abt 40K.. on a tight budget.. so far some IDs quoted abt 40K for us... i got a lot of qns to ask u.. do u msn? can add me at [email protected]?

linsk

Hello all!!

im new to this thread too!! i jus got my keys this month...

went to a few ids liao...super sianz, all more than 40k.

Hi linsk,

your resale unit is a 5-room? Actually cant really look at the figure alone (40k)..gotta see what are the things u doing.

linsk

hi hello,

yep, 5rm. it's true tt i have a lot of works to be done. plastering, re-wiring, hacking &amp; such..our initial budget is only $30k (dreaming rite?) but now we gotta stretch till $40k liao.

Hi linsk,

do you have to re-do the entire flooring? Think your new budget should be able to give u a decent reno.

linsk

hi hello,

we intend to do homo tiles in kitchen &amp; living, then laminated flooring in 4 bedrooms. we bought the recess balcony outside our house &amp; we intend to do pebblewash. anyway, we gotta change our windows &amp; grills too. tt will cost a lot too.

linsk

ya lor, somemore we intend to do the reno 1 time sui sui. if not next time we move in liao den complain this nv do that nv do also sianz.

now i'm like bargaining queen, bargain with the ID like siao.

winterbabylon

hi hello,

your pictures not updated yet? i went to the link above, and it tells me no pictures are found.

hi hello and linsk,

yeah, i also hacked almost the whole house to my satisfaction. but it really comes at a price lor.. not quite heartpain...

kirakun

Celia, new pictures? Wat are the links?

Linsk, mine is 5 room resale. Started with 30K budget. Ending with about $42.5K. Like u, we want to one time do nice nice ... so thats the price lor ...

linsk

Hi Kira,

ya, tt's wat we wan to. went source ard for quotes &amp; realised that some IDs are out to chop us like carrot head. one of them took 2 weeks to get back to me..worst part is that she took my design (!!!!) &amp; quoted me $49k. i wonder y i enagage her in the 1st plc.

kirakun

hello

impress21 lah ........ we did alot alot of things ................................. eg .. every room either false ceiling or Lbox ....