Resale Flat Hunting??

teacup

adel: did my first house warming last nite.
one of my buddy is due soon, so she wants to come over before that.
haha, all sat on the floor cos I don have dinning table yet. :p

yongee86

hi...

coc_mybibi, nope, have not called your FH yet. will be trying our luck with WIS first. if still unable to get a flat, den will give your FH a call.

yup, agree location is very important. hence, we are very picky about viewing units in which flats coz must be near mrt.

teacup

adel, no lah. didnt. there were only 7 of us, so wnet to market and da bao things back.

Hee, dining table coming on tuesday.
so happy

yongee86

i didn't go for WIS. When i checked hdb website on tues, the quota for chinese is already filled for all the blocks for bukit merah and queenstown. in the end, i bought the resale flat that is near my parents' place. yup, going to handle the transaction ourselves. the seller is oso not engaging an agent. but at least now the house is settled. can concentrate on other stuff for wedding.

piggypig

want to seek yr opinion on how to start to offer a price to the seller's agent??

#06, 4A, 10yrs old flat valued at 318k. Agent opened a price at 348k which i told the owner off point blank at first viewing that it is ridculous. Owner embrassed, asked me to offer a price. Reno is a must since unit last renovated 10yrs ago, old fashion liao!

How should i start the ball rolling?

BTW should i use back the seller's agent or should i get my own agent bett

zixin

I m new to this forum and currently searching for a resale flat. Manage to find one that i m interested in but no valuation done by seller. Do u think i should offer a price to the seller's agent?

zixin

Hmm...

my agent told me that the seller hv got himself quite a number of agents and waiting for buyers to offer a price.

fiona

Hi piggypig (piggypig),

How come the unit u are interested in so expensive one? Issit located in central? o_O

oxygen_bar

I'm looking for a resale flat too. In AMK or Bishan. So far viewed 4 units liao. But either asking too high or not ideal. The last one I saw was not bad, but original condition asking for $12K above valuation! And I have to spend $$ to overhaul the entire place. Hai.

I wonder what's the most number of units the others out there have seen before they purchase their dream homes or even those who'd yet to find theirs heheh. My friend's mom went to see a total of 35 units before she decided to buy that one. Her agent told her she's not the record holder, another lady viewed 70units!!!! Oh man, do I have to view so many units too???

elitegal

hi breathe,

hmm..i feel tt it really depends on luck lei. me n husband are quite lucky..we viewed about 10-11 flats b4 we found our 4rm love nest.

our resale flat is in original condn. so, we ended up hacking and changing almost the whole house.=P

dun worry too much..if it's yours..it will always waiting for u.=)

margie

Hi , I have a 3room flat @ Blk 234 Toa Payoh. asking for 15k above valuation (neg) , quiet, windy, unblocked and upgraded. within 1km from Pei Chun Public School, 15mins walk to braddel MRT , kindly PM me for viewing - no agent please..

vvbbb

hi guys,

Can i ask .. if i bought my flat with $20K cash as part of the downpayment, and now if i want to sell my flat, will i get the $20K cash back ?(assuming markat value now is same as when i bought it last time)

Now, if i am planning to sell my current flat and at the same time buying another flat, will i still get the cash deposit i had from the current house?

Thanx...

stellarm

Hi viv,

U should get some cash back (if any), that is after paying off the loan amt (if any) as well as for interest owed n those legal fees etc.

chemistry

I'm selling my 6-yr old 5rm flat located opposite Sembawang Station/Sun Plaza. High Floor, well maintained & move in condition. Please sms me at 96449707/email me at [email protected], if u are interested. No agents, please.

minty_mic

Pls advise.

Saw a 5-room flat valuation ard $275k on 8th flr, 124sqm. It's unblocked, 14 years under 2nd owner for 5 yrs. Renovated but still need some minor renovation.. they asking for $300k negot.

How much should I pay? You think it's worth paying so much above valuation?

elitegal

hi minty,

which town is this flat at? and is it near any mrt station or town centre?

i tink to ask for 25K cash is abit too much.

for me, i feel tt the amount of cash portion is dependent on which part of singapore is this flat in (near city or not?), the type of amenities i can find within 5 mins of walking from the flat, the proximity of the flat to mrt stations or town centre, the type of reno they have (if it fits my theme, i can keep some and reno abit onli? saves lots of money) as well as the overall maintenance of the flat.

maybe you wanna share more info on its location? =)

mocha_lover

Yup agreeed with what JJ said, you need to consider the location. Where is this place that you are saying?

Most imptly, is it near the mrt, bus or any shopping centres?

coz i feel $25k upfront cash is too much, unless you have such an amt at hand, and u feel that u love the hm and will enjoy living, then it's worth the investment. Furthermore, it's not at a high level & asking so much above evaulation. Is it a corner flat?

You shld ask ur agent if there is room for negotiation, saying that u have interests in the flat, but maybe much lesser, and u state your price.See if the owner is willing to let go at that price that u have stated.

minty_mic

it's at Sgoon/hougang area. not near the mrt, just some distance from reputated school and neighbourbhood mall.. 2nd last unit to corner

trying to lower the pricing.. someone offered 285 but seller refuse to sell..

I felt it's in good condition but I may need to change windows, toilet sink/bowl, build top kitchen cabinet and maybe hack living room flooring..

diva_diva

i think 25k cash to pay for that area is too much esp. for 5 room which are not as in demand as 4 room. Somemore not a corner unit and not near MRT.

Mine was a 5-room corner unit in toa payoh 7 min to MRT and they asked for 20k cash but i managed to pay only 7k. I guess my agent did a good job negotiating with them.

elitegal

hi minty,

it's too much cash for tt location. agreed with diva diva tt if it's not a corner unit and not near mrt station, why pay tt amt of cash.

i was intending to buy a resale flat last yr and was sourcing ard serangoon / hougang area too. the 5rms i hav come across are like 8 mins to mrt, 126 sq m too, and are facing another unit. think it's walk-up unit, if i m not wrong abt its name term.

1 of which, its valuation is like 290k and asking for onli 10k cash. max. reno..no need to reno anymore. negotiable somemore. 8th floor.

minty, i tink your seller is probably targetting parents wif kids who want their kids to study in tt reputed school. tts why they want 25k cash. and i tink most parents would be willing to pay tt for their kids' future.

so..think twice b4 u pay tt amt.

minty_mic

the reason is current owner bought it at a high price.

I agreed with many that it is ex. even if lower pricing. But somehow, just felt disappointed and to give up. I guessed because after flat hunting for some time, you know what you want and the feeling of stepping into the flat is an important factor.

But cons is being a rather young couple and need to pay for wedding..
you cant really get what you really want.

chng

Then you might just want to bid your time if you are not in a hurry to get a unit. Cos when i was getting my own resale, there was a unit that asked for 30k above value too but in the end they realise that it's not feasible and lowered their expectations to 5k above value only. Like many say, it's a affinity between you and the unit if it is meant to be yours. Bear in mind based on the minor reno u will be doing, it can easily cost up to 10k not to forget you need cash also for furnitures, appliances etc. U might as well spend yr 25k on reno by buying a not so well renovated house then u get everything according to yr design too!

hippo2002

yeah, I spent $7K above valuation but when the sellers moved out, they destroyed skirting for the house. So I think not worth to pay above valuation since what you see before you sign OTP may not be what you get eventually

They were probably bitter because HDB asked them to take down some unauthorised works and they simply want us to sign an undertaking to take over all unauthorised works. We refused & they just make sure we spent more money lor

Ended up we need to redo whole house flooring & blow our budget.

My hubby's friend also similar situation, seller $10K kitchen cabinet totally not usuable, also blow budget to redo

HDB don't care about such things. As long no structural issues or unauthorised work, you have to complete the resale transaction

hippo2002

But it's really subjective how much you should pay for the flat
The resale price for same block of my flat can be $33k difference !
so it's a matter of willing buyer willing seller

if the seller already had offers, then of course they keep asking for higher prices from next keen buyer

If one ignorant buyer started by making a high offer way above valuation, then you must made an even higher offer to secure that flat. Seller super happy lah in this kind of situation

If one buyer offer him $20k BELOW valuation and you come along to offer him $5k below valuation, seller also super happy to sell to you

depend on what type of buyers interested in that flat. I kanna an ignorant buyer so ended up paying above valuation. Of course can still walk away if you feel not worth but after hunting for so long, also quite sian, just pay lah, can move on

diva_diva

dun worry minty.

trust ur gut feel. we liked other units before we finally bought ours. somehow something was telling me to hold out for the best unit and bargain.

some ple even view as many as 30 units and still cannot decide.

you can put in your best price/bid but the unit may be sold to someone else also for some other reasons other than price. So end of day, it does have a little to do with affinity with the flat.

yc_mw

Me oso searching for resale unit. Looking at Bt Merah/ queenstown area de. Have viewed about 10+ units liao. Saw 1 tat we loved last Sun, but oredi sold le. Feel so sad...

Those who're searching for the same area as myself, maybe we can exchange pointers and also update on what are the units that we have seen hor, so that we can all benefit from all's views.

minty_mic

Many thanks to all for prompt advices.

I also felt that at times, the agent will mark up the price or mentioned that there is an interesting buyer. I will just view the house again and place my bid..

Yes, DIVA. You are right. What's yours wil be yours eventually..

Thanks GUYS for sharing!

babyfifi

I am considering getting a resale flat at Redhill area. If anyone got any lobang, please email me hor at [email protected].

If got good agent to recommend, also please contact me. I dun want those kind that side owner de hor.

minty_mic

I have spoken to my agent. Just to share..

Valuation report is based on assessment of house condition, renovation, surroundings, age, level of house etc.

As buyer, amount above valuation is extra cash to seller. Probably yrs ago, property pricing is high but as compared to current, property has dropped.

When we view the house, we have seen the overall of house includes furniture. But once we take over the house, except for fixed fixtures. Rest are gone..

After hearing above, I just felt that house I want is not worth that value any more! Ironic! Haha.. maybe that's why we are call WOMAN!

hippo2002

actually have you thought of attending property agent course? depending on which agency, fees are only a few hundred dollars. After that can act as your own agent and buy or sell your flat. no need to pay any agents fees. save quite a few $k

millh

I am new in this thread. Don't mind if I join in the discussion.

hippo: Can we really become our own agent after attending the ppty agent course? No need license?

vkdwnett

allow me if I can add some points. yes you can be your own agent but it depends on how well verse you are in the property market. everything looks simple and direct but there are always something that you may encounter which may cause your transaction to be affected - being it be delay or being aborted half way due to certain criteria coming from either parties. Also in some situation especially in the legal aspect you are not covered in anyway. Bottomline is by saving that commission you may incurred a larger losses and sleepless nights on other things. That is why there are still agents around. Moreover the govt is implementing registering all agents and infact by 1 Jan 2009 all property agent must be CEHAed. Here what I have mentioned is not to dampen your spirit to act on your own to transact your property but be balanced to understand why agent is necessary. Thanks Best Rgds.

stargate2

what kind of renovation is consider unauthorised works in HDB? i saw many resales flat do not have storeroom. does that mean they have to put it back?

gera78

I'm selling my 8-yr old 5I flat at Hougang. High Floor, well maintained & move in condition.

Walking distance to Hougang Mall and MRT. 20 mins direct bus to Ang Mo Kio MRT and Yio Chu Kang MRT.
There is also direct bus to Compasspoint/Sengkang MRT & Kovan MRT/Heartland Mall.

Please sms me at 81239198 or you can email me at [email protected], if u are interested.
No agents, please. Thanks!

gera78

hi edwin,
my friend is my agent who is selling my flat for me, maybe i can intro her to you if you want?
PM me if you are interested, thanks

branlene

Im currently looking for 4-rm resale flat in jurong west area.. Anyone know the min & max income ceiling for a 4-rm flat? Thanks

cactus_79

Hi BJ, if you buying resale flat, there is no income ceiling for 4 room flat.

However if you plan to apply for the 1st timers or stay near parents' grant, your combined household income must be less than $8k.

lovelytulips

hi cactus, can i ask u something about 1st timer resale flat buyer?

i have not rom yet. possible to buy resale and ask for deferment of marriage cert?

kym377

Looking for a flat is really tiring. I've seen about 10 units over 3 weeks. Finally shortlisted one but the seller's agent is not willing to tell me how much the seller's asking for. He says that the seller is looking for a 4rm flat to downgrade to and do not have cash to pay. Thus need the cash from the sale of his current house to pay for the 4rm flat. Seller has not started looking for a flat. Now seller's agent need to survey the market before telling me how much cash above valuation they are looking at. I did not engage any agent. DOing the negotiation myself. Am i taken for a ride by the seller's agent? Quite infuriated.

cactus_79

Hi lovelytulips,

You can ask for deferment but only if you are not applying for the first timers or live near parents' grant. For these applications, you need to be married when apply to purchase resale flat.

When you ask for deferment, you need to show proof to convince HDB that you plan to ROM shortly after getting keys. Can show e-filing information, or booking of ROM venue. Usually HDB quite flexible.

anyone looking for resale flat?
how much cash upfront to pay? wat are the criteria you have when choosing the house?