RENOTALK PEOPLE

pinkpetter

VINCENT!! heheh I think you upload to wherever you want.. then give us the link to see la
cos here post photo must make the photo very small.. liddat cannot see anything... quick! excited haha.

ponytail

Wao! this thread moving so fast.

Hi micheletr, my washing machine & fridge are next to the toilet entrance.
Too bad renotalk is now at the workshop, if not you can go there & see the photos.
When you starting your reno?

Hi Lawry, your fake id is more dangerous than a snake, twist N turn face still never change colour.
Remember you ever mention you got post in some blog, maybe you can post the link here.

Angel, where r you? Waiting to see your photos.

Anyone know about this forum thing, maintenance got take so long one? I'm refering to renotalk.

pinkpetter

GASPS VINCENTTTTTT upload into FB la.. very fast one.. or or Flicker... lol

ponytail... haha I think Angel now.. one head the size of two. :p have to clean and unpack and pack.

gaku70

Good to see everyone here and hope everyone is well. What happen to Renotalk? Seems like the forum down for a long time.

By the way, just got the keys today.

pinkpetter

CONGRATS GAKU! then how? confirm an ID/contractor already??? so long haven't seen you! How did you know we're hiding here???

gaku70

Hi pinkpetter: Thanks to Mrspiglet for letting me know that you guys have migrated here.

I have stop looking for ID/contractor for sometime now. Anyway I think got to restart now since I can access the flat. This afternoon just rush down to see the flat and couldn't believe a 12yrs flat can be that bad.

lavend3rmist

pinkpetter: ask until paiseh right?? I also leh, that's why when he say he needs to charge i also willing to pay. So far only tell me $100 for the workmanship of the mosaic tiling in common toilet. Like my half wall, told him i wanted 6inches shorter, he straight away pick up the phone and ask the guys to come down immediately! but i think they not free, tmr then will come down.

sometimes i feel so paiseh seeing him so chin cai yet i'm still fussing over little things here n there. But u know lah.. u'll want every corner to be as perfect as possible. :p

Vincent: how's ur handover? Everything swee swee? Just saw Ah soon this aftn and he told me tmr will ask pple to come up n clean, then repaint n touchup. Also ensure me that the paint on the grills will be washed off too!

ponytail: my hub was telling me "u all lah, post so many things on RT, now crash it liao." We have all been waiting for >1wk for it to get out of the workshop.

Gaku70: Congrats! Finalised ur contractor?

lawryreno

pinkpetter/mrs piglet

hahhaa, I was already expecting 100 excuses out of 100 pictures already. I might still accept if her excuses were reasonable, but some were plain smoke bombs, not even convincing.

I really feel like meeting her boss and go thru the presentation personally. I want to see what kind of person he is and his standards, was it a case of -shang liang bu zheng, xia liang wai-. If so, then there's really nothing to talk already.

ponytail. I didn't really update the reno blogspot, because most of my information was over at renotalk. I was transfering the information halfway and renotalk went down. too lazy to rethink and rewrite everything. :x

anyway, it's at http://lawryreno.blogspot.com/

pinkpetter

Glad to see you here felina!!

gaku... you'll be surprised how neglected people can leave their flats. horrible. so you're beginning your search again? given up on Ah Soon already right? I think he's busier now than ever.

mrspiglet... that's EXACTLY how I feel. until some things I just close one eye but my parents still fussing. but I think Ah Soon also understands that every owner wants a beautiful home.

Tell you ah! Ah Soon just renovated his own son's flat completely FOC!! so nice hor having a father in this line.... SHIOK!

hehe Vincent is right la. They clean up well. The Worker even mopped our floor twice for us. hehehhe

ziggy

Hi all, reading about Ah Soon, the more I read, the better he sounds, can't wait till I'm about to get my keys to call him.

Thanks Pet for the contact

Btw, about when should I contact him to get a quote? After my 1st appt or wait till collect keys in June?

And if things like L-boxes, feature wall to cover the storeroom all these, will he be able to design or give us some ideas?

I may miss your replies (at the rate the thread is moving;) but will check back soon.

gaku70

mrspiglet: Thank you. Haven't finalised contractor yet. My folks already told me cannot do reno this coming month. Anyway since I just got the key, can ask contractor/id to view.

Ah soon called me just now. Most probably will ask him to view to have a better quote.

pinkpetter

Hey Ziggy >> he is good. Though you must get used to the "kite-flying" hahaha. You can contact him a few days before your second appoint to have a draft quotation first. And let him know that you will get your keys soon so that he will hurry on the quotation. Then after your draft and 2nd appt, you can bring him up to give you a more precise quote (aka a cheaper one). Mm if you have pictures of what you want to do, it'll be helpful. If not he will roughly draw for you if you want.
He's quite experienced so normally if you describe to him he will understand... though he tends to forget verbal instructions. hahah he's not young anymore you know.
He likes to say he can design though. haha he can draw 3D la.

gaku>> I'm so happy to hear that you haven't given up on him totally. hehe

felina>> it's not just you. I'm a little woozy too.

lavend3rmist

gaku: traditional oldies will say cannot start reno in Qing ming, just like 7th mth. And also becos of that i'm not in a rush to shift cos i'm not allowed to shift until Qing ming is over too! Urgh. But my father-in-law says "if u all wanna go n sleep over occassionally, its ok", all his weird logic.

Anyway i'm not surprise how old a 12yr flat can be. My house 2nd owner nvr shift in the toilet also super jialat. Flush also spoil. Ur list will just keep growing. Btw, Ah Soon prices r quite reasonable, i believe u will be able to get a gd price.

pinkpetter: so i'm not that yim-chim afterall ah? I really scare i piss him off when i keep chging my mind! haha!

damn shiok to be his son right. but see he so busy, must be no time for the family also lor... only left w precious sundays. I make it a point nvr to call him on sundays even if he gave us his other HP num.

zig: u can wait till u get keys then call him, or just a few wks b4 u get keys. Cos likely u go to him now, ur quote will chge becos a closer inspection of the house will add on to the to-do list! I believe he will fly many kites on u as well, since he always give priority to those w keys and on-going reno. Once u get keys he can give u a quote very fast. So no need to rush now.

ziggy

I can also draw 3D, one square box, maybe a rectangle too;)

Will try try to get him to take a look at the house before I get the keys and get him to quote then. Now crossing fingers and hope the resale process goes through smoothly.

Will try to follow this thread in the meantime.

Thanks Pet.

Roamca, love your doors, MBR and main door especially.

Angel, sorry I missed your post, my email is [email protected] if you don't mind sending Yeak's contact, but leaning towards Ah Soon, like the way the rest describe him about being chin chye.

pinkpetter

mrspiglet.. no la no la my father definitely more fussy... even the main door lock also changed 3 times le! and my dad really went to all the tiles shops and took home tons of samples even after we "finalised" our selections. So you're fine! haha... ya. he was telling my friend he go to bed after midnight but cannot sleep well also.. then 7am wake up already. His Sundays are really precious.

AND VINCENT really went to bed ah??

gaku70

pinkpetter: Don't think I can afford to give him up due to my budget. I think only one or two ID able to match his price without the discount.

mrspiglet: Thought I can just "Dong Tu" before Qing Ming and then do the renovation but old folks do not allow so no choice.

I was thinking to savage whatever I could but even the windows got crack, window grilles some damage or without keys for the locks. Main door also cracked, gate also damaged. In the end, nothing could be saveaged.

lavend3rmist

pinkpetter: heng ah. got ur father to set the base line for us. Everytime i ask him something, i always feel very paiseh. Cos he goes "ok. Can i settle for u. Ok, wat's next?" like my list is never ending. :p

i rembr u telling me ur dad's 1550mm story. i think my gong-li not as high as him, i hope. haha!

I think vincent K.O liao. no need to wait for his pics.

Gaku: same as u! i cannot afford anyone else but him, so had to go w gut feelings and i'm glad i did! So far apart from the electrician who we find does things a bit slipshod, the rest of his workers are splendid! u sound like ur reno's gonna be extensive huh?

My FIL did the dong-tu ritual on a separate day b4 the actual reno, just pray n use a hammer knock here n there a bit. then reno can start on any day liao. That's his logic lah, issit the same as wat u wanted?

gaku70

mrspiglet: The electrician is his brother right? Yes it looks the reno will be extensive. Everything got to go.

Yes I thought the same. But even if Dong Tu b4 Qing ming. That month, nothing can be done. So no choice but to wait.

pinkpetter

WAH gaku... windows and window grilles expensive wor... you see see.. if the area don't need grilles then put at selected places only. save some money.

wa mrspiglet.. dun see my house complete.. at any time my dad can come up with a list of 20+ items for Ah Soon to improve on.... LOL so don't worry.
Did I tell you? My kitchen cabinet doors are 480mm wide. Not 470 not 490 but 480mm.
hehe

pinkpetter

eh? gaku... electrician is not his brother.. is someone else... his brother is the one in charge of tying up all the loose ends.. something like that.
Jason manages all the "lighter" works.

lavend3rmist

Gaku: no lah, electrician is another uncle. He do things a bit too chin chye also lah. The same uncle that left my cable trunking dangling in the air.

His bro is Jason, mainly in-charge of the carpentry, painting and other things after the tiling part.

Ur folks are stringent on the Qing Ming part leh! If everyone thinks the same then they no need to work for 2mths in a yr, Qing Ming n 7th mth!

pinkpetter: u didnt tell me that! His FS ruler again ah? My hub also did the same for our kitchen door width, nothing more nothing less, 1080mm, n the workers really did it leh! 20+?? ur house got so many things to do meh?

nottimonster

Hi everyone. I'm new here. I was reading your forum on RT & was lamenting when the website shut down for upgrading. So glad I found the continuation here!

I am just about to buy my new place so looking for a contractor. Ah Soon sounds good...

May I know if Ah Soon is the creative sort? Or does he do usual HDB design stuff. My previous contractor was "very experienced" so he went ahead and did lots of things on his own without asking us. He refused to undo them and said "that's what other people do".

gaku70

pinkpetter: Do you know about how much it cost to replace the windows and window grilles? Actually I do not like the grilles but was told next time got children will be safer to have them around.

I see. I thought Jason was also the electrician. If that is the case, maybe can get other electrician.

mrspiglet: Yes my folks are very strict. Doing reno is absolutely no no during Qing Ming and 7th month. Was told it is safer to stop even Dong tu before because you do not want to accidentally trap "good brother" within the house during the reno.
By the way may I know why fengshui dictates kitchen door must be 1080mm?

ivyseah

wau lau ehhh following this thread damn "chuan"! fly so fast

Pet, my place is at clementi. He didn't come in te end but it's bcos I spare him. He called me at 9+pm ask whether he can pass to me tomorrow instead. I told him ok go back and rest. Cos I'm sure he must be really tired.

But tonight he is suppose to meet Familyof4 to give her the quote as well. So I think mine will be "xiong duo ji shao" liao. hahahha

zerochristy

All> Wah you all are good man... so fast my post is far far away liao. I need to do some catch up :p

Zonkkie & pinkpetter> Wah liao everything is money sia¡­ Ok I will tell my hubby about it. Haha Oh I realised that OCBC got offer 0% Installment Plan for lots of furniture shop le¡­ but the bank will still charge you a 1 time fee for each bill of 3% or 5% depending what period you are taking for the installment for.

Pinkpetter> Btw at RT I did email you and ask for Ah Soon's contact details and its in my mailbox... can PM me at here again... paisey le.. got to store it on my protable driver now... thanks ya.

lavend3rmist

nottimonster: welcome! RT is like forever down already... Haiz. Btw, Ah soon is more like a contractor. He didnt had time to sit w me to design my items, mostly was his bro Jason who we deal with. They can do hand-drawn 3D diagram, but would suggest u show them pics of what u want. Did that for my kitchen door and they replicated an exact one!

Gaku: ur folks sounds like my in-laws.
Actually nothing much with the 1080mm. its all becos i told him abt pinkpetter's dad's incident, so he also happily go n use the FS ruler to get some 'gd' measurements. In the end, we didn't even rembr abt it, until few days ago recall.. went to measure and was surprised its really 1080mm. LOL!

xiaofeizhu83

Read that a couple of you have engaged Ah Soon to do your reno an it seems like he is doing a great job.... is his charges exp? Can anyone share a rough gauge for reno of a new 4-room HDB flat? Last but not least can any kind soul provide me with Ah Soon's contact via PM or [email protected]

Really appreciate your help and advice cos I will be collecting the keys to my flat in abt 4-5 months time...

octo

RT is still down. Petpinker, can you PM Ah soon's contacts to me again? I saved it under the RT's message box. Not sure if still accessible anot.

I want Yeak's contacts to check also. But I think Angel is probably busy with her cleaning now. Anyone with Yeak's contact, please pm me.

purple_tulip

Wahh I was not here last night & I could not find my previous post already ...
Could Roamca or anyone could kindly provide me Yeak's contact no at [email protected] ...
Btw, understand that Ah Soon is not an ID but as I do not have any design yet in mind so could he provide me opinion like how the design and what colors to choose? If nt I will have to really do my homework first before contacting him ...

xiaofeizhu83

mspiglet & ivyseah - Thanks alot for your help, will check my mail tonight =) Now very stress out with the reno and also my wed stuffs...

Anyone here engaged Sky Creation/Plush Living/Home Success/U-home design for the reno of your house? If yes, any feedback?

gaku70

mrspiglet: Seems like quite true since RT has been down for a long time. Perhaps someone who is savy can setup a temporary forum. Will also ask my bro who work in IT to help out.

Really got such thing like a FS ruler. Do you know where to get?

Talking about FS, in my plan I have a shoe rack which is full height but in recent I-magazine saying that it cannot be more than 5 level and has to be shorter than the height of the owner. Any FS master can confirm?

familyof4

wah...this thread is moving too fast!

Mrspiglet, he didn't charge u for the extension of your cabinet? That's very nice ya?

He always say money not an issue leh...i hope he dun fly me aeroplane today...I really want to see my quote as it has been almost 3 weeks already.

BTW, anyone has any modular closet pictures to share? I am thinking of getting something from closet design, not sure if it's good tho'

xaverielee75

Hi All...

May I know where to get those wall clock, which the wall is use as the clock face...so it like the clock is build-in the wall...thanks!

lavend3rmist

I think i'm guilty of bumping up the thread! Just back from meeting and so many replies! LOL!

kuek: i got a quote from Yeak b4 as well, but i dun have his contacts w me now. have the company phone num instead, u want me to send u the quote for ref?

xiaofeizhu: congrats! when's ur big day? I'm also sweating loads doing reno n wedding prep at the same time. Hope i can faster settle house then its 1 thing off my mind!

familyof4: ya, he's really very nice and flexible. u shui bian i also shui bian, then everyone can have an easier time also. U call him n remind him b4 going down, sometimes when we meet, he can be late for 2-3hrs!

Anyway, i engage closet design for my wardrobe. What info do u need? I can PM u.

PinkyX: i have the same question as u! wanna buy clock modules to DIY my own clock. Anyone knows where can i get them?

familyof4

fondue, mrspiglet: yah, it's the pole system. I am contemplationg between this and the wardrobe that the IDs/Contractors does.

Being frameless looks more spacious for storage of hand carry luggage and big bags. I can accomodationa 9 ft wardrobe in the MBR, planning 5ft for the other 2 bedrooms for the kids. The problem with contractors, they can't usually plan for us. so i gotta plan myself

familyof4

Oh, i think i mentiond in RT b4 that i went to an exhibiton, closet design has a promo, 8ft at $2k nett. I can select my own combination at no extra charges unless i need extra mirrors and the hanging rack for trousers. I tink this is quite a deal. Cos the quotes for the wardrobe already costs me more than $2.5k for 9ft.

roamca

hi kuek..i have emailed you yeak contact already. pls check

hi Shir(octo), i have pmed you too...

err...sorry ah...who else wants yeak's contact?

roamca

Hi Lawry, Thanks I love my kitchen too! i think its the best looking place in the house...hahaha....

hi zig...thanks...the main door is choosen by my hubby...we like it too!

lavend3rmist

familyof4: i think its quite a gd deal. i had frens telling me the same deal they saw at Expo fair. I've been quoted higher quotes from contractors, and internal is just using those white laminates.

I recall the pole system was much higher when i signed w them. Wanted to take the pole system, but they advise against becos of practical reasons, that the clothes will fall from the side cos no borders. So in the end i went w the american system. They will be fixing up mine next wk. Will take pic and post the final product.

fondue_

mrspiglet:
that's really a good deal *thumbs up*

yups, the folded clothes put on a pole system shelf looks like it'll toppled over. also visually it'll look messy as our clothes colour is non-uniform like the ones in the showroom

fondue_

Reno Progress update:

hubby was at the new house with ah soon earlier this morning. he just called me and said the plumber, tiler, electrician and aircon worker were all there :S

he has to shout talking to ah soon coz it's too NOISY to talk. Lol

Afternoon we are heading to Bellari, Universal Union (tentative) and Asia Excel. All at 3 different locations - running from Jln Besar to Geyland to IMM. Oh dear...

Lol