RENOTALK PEOPLE

pinkpetter

Gaku Gaku... you must specify to him le.. INTERIOR 14" lol cos the wood will take up 1"
but it doesn't make a diff to the cost. it didn't to mine anyway.

gaku70

I see. Thank you thank you. I will tell him. Nearly forgot that I have to meet him this saturday for the quotation.

lavend3rmist

k0k0: ya, it includes abs trimmings. the exposed edges are smooth smooth one. As for the soft closing, i think ikea is using Blum right? The brand that ah soon's carpenter use is irex, i googled and found that its some korean brand. if not smooth, just tell the carpenter to chge. one of my drawers is going 3rd round of rectification.

My house is just a simple house, nothing fanciful leh. Hope they others that r coming dun set their expectations too high!

angel: ya, i think it does sound like ah soon clients' gathering. I kept telling him just now tt got pple wanna view, can he handover b4 sat not? heheh! u wanna come along?

gaku: have emailed u!

pinkpetter: yeah yeah! can see u again! must take photo this time. just sms when u coming over. from ur house no direct bus leh, gotta walk in, quite far. Dun fall sick under the hot sun ah!

evelyn: no prob. just come anytime b4 5pm ok? after 5 i'll be going off liao..

pinkpetter

gaku.. haha dun forget la... rem to call him beforehand to make sure he remembers too!

mrspiglet.. no prob. I'll be there about 330 I think. I will cab if it's too hot... Doctor actually told me I had heatstroke.. after some research I actually realise that people die from heatstroke... *shudders* at that thought. Will stay away from sun a bit.
We'll definitely take photos. haha
whoopee! See ya. off to bed for me!

familyof4

Pet: rest well ya

Folks, do you know what sort of wood is Ah Soon using for the carpentry works? Is he using solid ply wood?

angel81

pet - hehe, yupz should look interesting! Think ur FOC dining room is getting nearer and nearer, cuz u recommended so many pple to ah soon! :D

mrspiglet - so confirm this sat handover! tat's so cool! finally can handover, congrates congrates. tks for inviting mi! unfortunately, got frens coming over my place on sat, so can't make it to see ur lovely place. if got another chance, i'll sure go!

k0k0

mrspiglet,
Thanks for confirming that the cabinet got abs trimmings. Ikea has their own system, not blum's.

I told my hubby about the gathering at your place and he says maybe we can drop by leh. If you don't mind, pls pm me your address and time when you are home on sat. I will give you my hp #?

Angel,
I got Yeak's quote already, looks not bad though it is more expensive. Does his cabinet also come with abs trimming and soft-closing? I need to go and visit some 'showflat' to see his workmanship

angel81

Hi koko - yupz, u can ask for soft closing for his drawers. he gave mi and rondy FOC. duno abt roamca though.
And yes, his cabinets come with abs trimming too. Just let him know that u like to visit some of the places he did up, and he'll arrange for u.
He's a very nice guy, so far, no regrets signing with him.

lavend3rmist

Pinkpetter: yes! pple do die from heatstroke! better be careful leh... i also went on mc for heatstroke last wk, headache+nauseous for the whole wk! must drink more water!

oh no, talking abt that, i dun have a fridge in my house and i cant provide cold drinks for all of u coming!

angel: no worries. Next time we can have mini gatherings to visit everyone's house. haha!

jovia/k0k0: can u pm me instead? sorry ah, cos if i send u it wun reflect in my inbox and i already lost track of who's coming, who's not. I'll be at my place from 3-5pm.

familyof4: i think he's carpentry is a mixture of both chipwood and plywood. fyi, i was surprise that CD using chipwood despite their carpentry 'sounded' solid.

Anyway, talking abt the carpentry, to be fair to the carpenter, i think he's pretty responsible when dealing with ah soon's client. maybe becos he kena scolded by ah soon for his worker's job, but its understandable that as a boss.. sometimes u have no time and energy to supervise every single worker.

He was at my place whole of Tues aftn making sure everything is checked, last night reach ard 7pm(!!) to fix up the problems n when we found new problems, he's also willing to rectify. Sometimes i feel so paiseh that Ah soon is screaming at him so badly for something that was beyond his control.

Anyway, my problems were not the super major problems. just some minor defects and chipped parts here n there.

felina

I'm wondering too.. Haha..

Wow.. Everyone is going mrspiglet house to see... Sounds so cool. What a nice gathering...

familyof4

my revised quote came back! From 51k+ he discount for me to 46k. But of course there are additional things he added in there which I need to strike off.

I hope can reduce the price further...

angel81

mrspiglet - tat'll b cool! can visit everyone's hse. hehehe... gd idea.

familyof4 - wah, 46k including changing of all flr tiles & staircase? u got lots of carpentry? seems rather ok leh.

familyof4

Angel, I did many carpentry work, but not the stairs
Ya...quite reasonable actually...but I still need to strike away items that I do not really need

angel81

familyof4 - oh cool! not doing the stairs will save u lots. looking forward to the pics! :p

evelyn - yah, just sign up and post! it's easier to keep track of a forumner's reno tat way, as it's all in one thread.

pinkpetter

haha SEE EVERYONE IN RT!... evelyn.. I'll be there about that time.

Angel.. arranging a meeting at everyone's house will be nice!!!

bluegurl

hi all... appreciate it if u could PM me some of ur recommended contractors... keep seeing this Ah Soon name, but this forum abit hard to follow through... -_- is there any website for looking at the portfolio and all? and roughly what is the rough estimate for 3-room resale flat for those 3-room flat owners... =)

can email me at [email protected]? thanks heaps for all ur help! =D i'm quite lost and noob about all these renovation thingy... i've tried reading through the topics on loans, ID, etc, but half the time or almost all, i've no idea what are u guys talking about... =(

if anyone can spare me a lil time to email me some advise, that will be great... =) thanks in advance! =)

*goes back to ploughing thru the forum*

pinkpetter

hi.
i've emailed you. he doesn't have a website... mm he doesn't speak English either. Only Hokkien and Mandarin.

Feel free to ask anything through email ya?

mango0977

Hi Pet,

Just got keys to our 5 room resale flat on 3 Apr at Punggol. Need to overhaul 2 toilets and kitchen. Also need to build a feature wall to wall-mount TV and also a console. Lastly, need to build a full-height L-shaped cabinet in the empty guest room and change the doors to the MBR wardrobe. Can you PM me Ah Soon's contact?

I have a question. When using a contractor for renovation, we will need to come up with the designs for him to execute or he'd be able to give us design ideas as well?

Seriously considering using a contractor now becos the IDs we met so far are v average only and quotes are high.

pinkpetter

Hiyee. I PMed the both of you.

Grace, since you have most of the ideas in mind you just have to relate your ideas to him. As for your carpentry just draw the layout on your floorplan and show him. He will know what to do.
If you have something special you want to do with your feature wall, pictures will help. He will be able to give design ideas and advice but not without your input.
Ah Soon is quite experienced and he will give you advice.

WARNING to the both of you though, he's super busy and WILL fly your aeroplane... if you arrange to meet up with him, please call him 1 hour before to ensure he will turn up. :p

milo66

I will be getting my keys middle of next mth and now sourcing for ID...

Just gotten a tentative layout from one co, just to share.

998020.jpg

kakashite

hi milo66, i recieved your email but i couldnt reply your email due to some email error. I am glad that you like the design of the the SAIL CONDO. I sincerely hope you could PM me your contact number. Will definately get back to you asap. Not only the sail condo, i will put up some of my recent work too. Cheers

kakashite

hi milo66, i recieved your email but i couldnt reply your email due to some email error. I am glad that you like the design of the the SAIL CONDO. I sincerely hope you could PM me your contact number. Will definately get back to you asap. Not only the sail condo, i will put up some of my recent work too. Cheers

milo66

Hi Pet: Thanks! This ID used to design my current hse for me so thinking of using him again but seems alittle diff to arrange time to meetup. With such a 2D layout, i also cant figure out wat is it :p

Evelyn: Its 110 sqm

Dave: Thanks. Received your email alr

maryjanepkt

Hi Guys,

I recently accidently purchased a square basin for my vanity, but it doesnt fit so im tinking of sellin it off & willing to go at 1/2 price
..Do PM if you're interestd.

hisbelovedchild

Hi Guys, I am new here.

Just want to find out if anyone of you had purchased from or had any designer lighting shops to recommend? I had been to Lumiere and like some of the lightings there but would like to make some comparision before commiting.

BTW, what is the est cost of lightings for a 5 room??

pinkpetter

hi hi annie. It depends on what kind of lights you are asking about. If you construct a false ceiling and buy PLC/downlights then your lightings will cost less. Probably $500-$600? mostly downlights + some hanging lights.

But if yours is like my house with all hanging lights and no L-box/false ceilings.. then it'll probably go up to $900- $1200? haha

But if you're going to splurge on designer lighting.. then the sky's the limit.

swiftmox

Hi Pet, I need to get a contractor to take over a half-done job left by my current crappy contractor.

Can send me ah soon's contact?

pinkpetter

wah... hazy... want cheap and good quality.. it's not easy you know... and... everyone have varying standards of quality. Liddat I'm also afraid to recommend you. To be honest. haha

googly

keke.. i mean cheap not really cheap la. wat i mean reasonable maybe say ard 20k cos onli wan to do kitchen, living and master br

native02

DEAR ALL,
AH SOON LOST SOME OF HIS QUOTATIONS today (20/04/09),
can those who are still chasing Ah Soon for quotations please call him and confirm if he just lost your quotations? 213 Yishun's quotation is confirmed lost.

On another note, wah~! I'm surprised Ah Soon got soooo many jobs out from my posts in renotalk - and it has even transpired through to singaporebrides!

Hmm... seems we've not being looking at renovation threads for a long time.. :s

native02

FB? Wah, I think we REALLY have an infatuation with this uncle.

Btw, do you know who's quotations got lost?
He seems quite panicky about it. Cos he scared it will take him time to churn out the quotations and delay more of his projects~! XD