Removal of underarm hair

lilacz

I think shavin it is ok, but not pluck. Plucking will get all the roots out so will take some time for it to regrow again. U keep me posted of your progress too k.Thanks!

beautyseek

hi lilacz... how, did u do anything to ur hair??

I seem to think that the Strip IPL is not v strong, cos the % improvemt compared to my first time is much lesser. I think i may need 1 more time.

alleb

Just to share,

I had mine done at a clinic. Its $100 per session. So far I have done 3 session. Result is quite gd. It is not totally gone, but onces in a mth, i only have a few fine ones to pluck out thats all. Suppose to be cleared in 6 sessions, but I do not intend to go till I get a lot of growth.

hi Jasmine

where did u do it?

rebeccaloos

can i know where this Summit clinic is? any no to call? Is permanent hair removal treatment available in this clinic? I've checked with NSC and it cost approx. 200+ for each treatment. gosh... so many kinds around in the market nowadays, which one is a better choice??

alleb

Summit is at Jurong East Central. I only have num 65673003. U can call up the nurse there and ask the address and book appt. Usually appt need to book 2wks in advance.

I am not able to comment on which is better as i have never tried the rest. But for me and two of my colleauges, its is quite ok for us. At our 3rd treatment its 80% gone and the rest are fine hairs which are not obvious. It also depends on ur hair growth lar. Some ppl needs more times to clear all.
Not only NSC have, all the major beauty saloon also have. I choose Summit because I only have to pay per treatment cos i was tinking "how do i know how many times i really need?? Whereas for beauty saloon, u have to pay a package price of $800 to $2000 (depends on saloon) for like 8 to 16 treatment?? But heard that beauty saloon is guaranteed result though. As IPL only attacks on growing hair, I will go for my 4th treatment when i have more hair there, more worth it mah :p

beautyseek

I am keen to try the salon located at international building (tel:62955455) (as recommended by rapidwonder). I just called the salon and the promotion is still on. 3 times of IPL underarm hair removal @$199/-. But I think I dun need all 3 times (as I have already done twice already at other places). Looking for pple to share (I have checked and the salon said it is ok to share).

Anybody want to share at S$67/- per session? We can all appear at the salon together and split the cost on the spot lor. Pls email me at [email protected] if u are interested.

highness

Hi Beauty Seet,

Care to share more info abt this salon at international building? have u went for their services?

beautyseek

hi highness and lilacz, sorrie for late reply. Haven't been surfing.

Lilacz, i find that this intl bldg salon is much better than the Strip and Coslxxx sessions i have tried (one each at each place). They use cooling gel whereas Strip uses cooling metal rod and Coslxx just uses ice cubes! Quite friendly and cosy place for ambience. As for effectiveness, i am quite satisfied. Since that time until now, only have v v v fine hair growth (almost nothing on my right side).

Overall, I would recommend it.

esgril

Anyone had done it at Bioskin before??

I signed a package (haven't confirm whether taking 10 or 15 treatments) and paid a deposit of $250. Quite impulsive. A bit regret didn't check out other salons.

They offering me 10 treatment at $888 (w/o gst), once a mth, but NO Guarantee of total hair removal.

If I want Guarantee hair removal, i must take the 15 treatment package for $1200 (w/o gst) plus 4 times extra treatment to be used once every 3 months.

I've not made full payment for the package, so need to seek advise from those people who has done it at Bioskin. Are they good??

highness

Hi Beauty Seet,
Is this Signature Beauty really good? are they pushy? Cos my mum say beauty salon IPL dun last.. go to doc better.. Did u try with Sarah @ far east shopping centre? heard she's with summit clinic too rite?
thanks..

lilacz

Hi BeautySeet, besides seeing improvement on hair growth, is the armpit area smoother?I find that there are little bumps on that area, never look smooth and "clean" like our natural skin...

beautyseek

sorrie gals, long time no check this thread.. i find it difficult to track which ones are new postings on this forum.

I think Signature Beaute is not bad for the price. Nice ambience and gd service. They are generally not v pushy tho they will put it across to you in a "by the way, we are having promo.." manner.

Personally, i also believe doctors are better than beauticians but they r expensive for hair removal... abt S$300+ per session i think and the no of sessions claimed to be needed is abt the same.

Hi lilacz, so far ok leh. I dun feel got bumps. I think mebbe the bumps u have are the hair follicles. After the hairs are gone, these then become more visible. I dun think it shld be like our normal skin cos our normal skin does not have hair follicles.

beautyseek

Oh, to answer vampy, I did not try sarah at all. Yes, i read from old postings in this thread that Sarah was from Summit Clinic.

polkadotted

hi all, chanced upon this thread and for those who still have underarm hair problems, i suggest you try IPL by Sarah at Beauty Secrets.

she's really good and not pushy at all, and i went to her through recommendations here (singaporebrides), actually!

my hair's very thick and coarse but after each session, you really stay hair-free for bout 1-2 months after they automatically fall off a few days/weeks after treatment.

of course, how many treatments you require depends on how thick your hair is. obviously, i need ALOT of treatments.

hope this helps! :)

fionaallen

i did my underarm IPL at Strip. Anyway, it's not permanent. Hair started grwoing back half year later. That said, the hair texture is finer and grows at a slower pace. Dont need to shave that often.

ashleysg

Has anyone try DPL (Dynamic Pulse Light) technology at Only Aesthetics? I have seen this advertisement on April issue of Shape magazine. It claims to be able remove hair for good and its better than IPL. Let me know if anyone has tried it. Thks

cheerypod

I read about Spa Ziwi in the flowerpod forum and decided to go for trial session some 2 weeks ago since it is only $28.

They use UK-made IPL and I recall when the therapist did my left underarm, it was not painful, just a slight pin-prick sensation and I fedback to her. So she up the power and continue with the right side. It was quite painful then but now the right side is like 50% less hair & left side 30% less hair. Guess I will tell the therapist to reverse the power and balance the result when I go there again 1 week later.

She showed me their daily IPL record card and wow! everyday, a lot of people had IPL done there for different areas. She also allow me to switch to my hairy legs if the underarm hairs are gone. So I just signed up for 10 sessions which is only $680 & I got 2 sessions free. They are at Blk 135, jurong east st 13, #02-329 & telephone 66650233. They also have an outlet near braddell mrt.

sweetregina

HI All, Spa Ziwi is having promotion now.
10 session for only $498 . I sign up the IPL with mask cos mine is quite dark so my package cost $688.

tianxin

so many recommendations.. quite blur now... actually looking for 1 that can do both underarm n legs.. of coz main focus in on the legs as the surface area is big n exposed ... i have low threshold for pain ..anyone got any recommendation for affordable n not so pain hair removable services?

sweetregina

Hi Winter.. Its quite ok.. My sis went too after i went and hers after 1 treatment her hair seems like dont have anymore... Maybe jus do 2-3 more times to be sure that its gone

cinditan

I did my IPLs for underarms at Dr BC Ng.
I saw pretty good results after my 2nd session.

Previously, my underarms are of a dark shade due to plucking and there's alot of unsightly bumps too! But after I went for IPL, it not only reduce the hairgrowth it also lighten my underarms and got rid of the bumps!

I'm delighted with the results

babs

heya one of the previous forummers mentioned that strip's will grow back. I rather like strip so am quite concerned.. strip, as opposed to certain other salons, allows for 100% removing of hair during the IPL and 80% growth... whereas I tried expressions, it's just 20% loss. Not sure if you get my point..

could anyone feed back on the growth rate for Strip?

hazelline

Hi all, just something to share with everyone.

You guys can try Beaute Touch for problems regarding hair removal. The staff there are pretty experience when it comes to IPL treatments, and are able to give really good handwork (esp facial).

Although it can't be guaranteed that all traces of hair will permanently be removed, the therapists there guarantee a reduction in hair and its coarseness. The therapist did explain to me that there is actually no such thing as "permanent hair removal" because of different hormonal changes in various bodies.

So yeah, at least they're honest and quite pragmatic about it. Nonetheless, you will definitely see improvement in your hair removal process. Any dark shades from your underarms will also be lighten. That, is guaranteed.

It's at Orchard Plaza by the way, pretty worth the try if you've got free time in your hand.

aaab

hi, has anyone tried bleaching for whitening of underarm? am deciding between bleaching and IPL, which is more effective for whitening?

sabmah87

i have a package for IPL bikini area to let go. I am currently unable to continue with the treatment, but I have already purchased the IPL to lock on to a cheaper price.

Promotional price was $149 plus GST ($159) but i'm willing to let it go at $135.

Location is at Fabulous Group - Hawaiian Spa @
9 Tan Quee Lan Street
#01-04 TQL Suites
Singapore 188098
(65) 6884-5455

My beautician is really friendly and will make you feel comfortable during the treatment.

Please send me a message if you are interested. Holding period only valid for 2 months.

lovecupid7

Have had really really bad experince with Beauty Face Wellness. Got the groupon deal at $48 for unlimited CPL underarm hair removal.

Like Spore Gal, I was intimidated by the way the consultant described the pain and all, how some clients got burnt etc. I did IPL on my face before, so I thought it was their tactic to make us pay for the post-treatment.

1st treatment, I felt a little pain, but the after pain was still bearable. I saw a burn mark on one side, tried putting mask and moisturiser, scab dropped off after a week plus.

29 days later, I went again coz my hair started to grow again but they say my hair not long enough, have to be at least min 0.5cm. So i made a wasted trip there.

1.5 months from the 1st treatment, I finally went again. This time another consultant who told me once again about burn mark etc and asked me to sign again that I was warned about it since I declined to pay for anything.

To my horror, this treatment was painful. I don't know if it's their way to make me pay for package or just to stop me from going again, but this time round was seriously very very painful. I suffered from burn and pain for few days on both underarms. Changing clothes was a torture the first 3 days. Am currently salvaging my "damaged" underarms.

Will never go back nor recommend anyone to Beauty Face Wellness (grassroot outlet).

Btw my hubby asked me to take a pic of the damage, but no use right, coz I signed on their paper that I was warned.

Lesson learnt. If only I was as decisive as Spore gal, I wouldn't have scabby underarms right now. Only wish is my underarms recover asap so I can wear sleeveless clothes and swim in public again. :-(

stellabella1133

I thought for Laser and IPL hair removal treatment, treatment....one is supposed to shave one or two days prior to treatment. The energy from the laser or light will be absorbed by the hair and kill/burn off the hair follicle under the skin. If you have 0.5cm hair outside the skin, the burning will occur outside the skin and surely hurt you...since the nerve endings are on the surface.

jas01

Hi. I need help.. when u r doing the ipl for underarms.is it will have slighly pain & hot? Coz this is the 1st time i am doing it..
Dunno is it the same as others? U ladies have this same feelin as well??

susy27

I use my Brown Silk Epil underarm for already 6 years. It hurt the very first times, now I'm used to it. Just when the hair is a little longer it is a little more difficult and it is painful. still it's better than going to a salon or waxing the underarm zone.