RELC Hotel, Tang Court Restaurant

hi cheekychick & fantasyall,

my AD is exactly 2 months from today. 17-Nov !
really excited loh. i have already email harry to ask him to print my card inserts le, cos my GDL is 27-Oct. i worried not enough time to print. since harry say they provide the service so we agree to go ahead to do the printing. moreover, he has send me the artwork, it comes with very cute couple pics in it. since my hb has no time to source for the printers so we just leave it to harry. (although the cost per insert is higher...)

we can understand ur excitement now. when we first source for our AD venue it was also like 1 year ago. hehe, we also thot that we were very kiasu at that time. but how time flies, our AD is going to reached soon.

so cheekychick, have u decide to sign up with RELC ?

cheekychick

Hi Jean, u 17 Nov??! Dats fast! I find dat the closer the AD, the more things brides-to-be have to do *gulp*

Both hubby & myself decide not to sign up with RELC le...I tink hubby doesnt reali like the partition (like foldable stands dat kind) & i find the deco not nice enuf *no offence to all pls
* Im quite particular abt set-up of tables so at first when i noe they only offer seat covers for 2 VIP tables, abit disappointed already but was eager to view cos i prefer non-conventional locations for AD...I was also affected by the reali strong vinegar smell. But i have to say dat the flowers are very beautiful & the stage is quite big. I tink Tang Court will be able to attract more ppl if they can improve on the set-ups of the tables or at least, juz have seat covers for all chairs...will reali look more presentable. But again, the price is already very reasonable as transport is provided, food tasting is free & even if u have little tables, juz top up abit can already. Pros & cons...

muddle_ger

I had went down to view RELC. Frankly speaking Harry is a nice person, and he will be the 1 and only person that you will work with from the start till the end of banquet, which is nice ! And is really a affordable package.

Even the bridal suite is nicer than York Hotel.
The only reason that put me off is the walking distance of getting to the place.

cheekychick

Winnie, i feel dat the location is alrite...mayb becos i drive & their parking is free, so i find it ok. But they have shuttle bus service too. Have to admit dat guests who dun drive or miss the shuttle bus will find it abit inconvenient...For me, if i take RELC, i will charter another bus at a different timing from the RELC shuttle bus...I tink, its only rite dat we try to make is as convenient as possible for the guests.

muddle_ger

Yup, as i do not drive that is why i understand the inconveniences and had considered about the shuttle bus service.

Most prob, this place is out of my list already as they also have a limitation of 35 tables.

cheekychick

Winnie, u have more than 35 tables!!! Dat day i saw, they have 33 tables i tink. Quite squeezy to me & some tables are blocked. If u have so many tables...suggest u go Qianxi at Bukit Batok Civil Service Club. Their Crystal ballroom at 4th level is fantastic & they only allow couples with 42tables & above to use the place. Hope this info useful to u...

muddle_ger

thanks .... but is abit too far for me though ...
now deciding between club chinos (will need to cut down table) but i like it alot and furama city center (but the exterior is not nice) and M Hotel.

vysweetapple

Hi cheekychick,

Can e-mail to me the photos that you took? We wanted to go down last Sunday, but hubby was posted out-station again... quite worried now as many place that we wanted are taken up... left with not many options now.

cheekychick

Hi Winnie, personally, i tink Club Chinois is rather small...I've not been to M Hotel. Furama City is not bad..Agree with u on the exterior thou. But i tink once guests enter the ballroom, will forget abt the exterior liao :p

Hi June, no prob, i will send to u now, look out for the pics yeah? U better email Harry & tentatively book the date first?

vysweetapple

Hi cheekychick,

Thanks for your e-mail. My bf say the deco seem normal... But quite different from my dream wedding.... We have booked the date with Harry already, will be going down this Sunday if bf is in town this wkend.... Nw we are considering between Club Chinois & RELC.

How about you? Hv you booked a place yet?

cheekychick

Hi June, no probs
U have how many tables? Personally feel Club Chinois is more suitable for 20tables thereabouts. U've viewed Club Chinois liao? RELC deco is normal but quite alrite to me...but not v comfy with the idea of not having seat covers for all chairs. I havent book anywhere, lol. Cos mine in 2009...im still looking around...aiyoh, i keep changing my mind, cant stand myself. So far, Peony-jade & Grand Mercure Roxy on my list...im still looking around thou...gg down to Novotel Clarke Quay this Sat to view the set-up...When's ur AD btw??

I had placed my deposit for my wedding dinner to be held at Tang Court at RELC today after going down for the first time to see the hotel,restaurant and Bridal Suite.
we are very very pleased with the service given by Harry and the items included in the wedding dinner package.
I find their reception table nice and their wedding favours very good.

vysweetapple

Hi cheekychick,

We have been to Club Chinois last Friday nite. They are offering me the grand ballroom as a couple wanted to let go of their package which is on the same day as me. So we are considering there too. My wedding date is on the 8 March 2008, getting very close already. I guess that's the reason why many goods places are not available. You can consider Nobel House too... I love their set-up & location.

hi strawberryangels,

nice to see u here too !
so when is ur AD ? how many tables are u gg to held at RELC ?

my AD is next month. too excited now. currently i am asking harry to print the wedding card insert alrdy.

if u wanna chat can add me to msn : [email protected] or skype (jeangoh78)

Hi Jean,

I think the package at RELC is very good.
My AD will be in May 2008, got two dates to select haven't confirm yet.
I will be having 20tables.

Congrats..for your wedding next month. i can imagine your excitement. hehehe..
I think the inserts printed from Harry side is quite nice with the precious moment cartoon in there. I also ask him to print the inserts. But since mine is a long way still, haven't decide on the text. By the way, which wedding favour u chose? I can't decide cos' the wedding favours are all quite nice.

I have msn but rarely log in. you can email me instead which i think is better - [email protected]

hi strawberryangels,

ya, the inserts have very cute couple cartoons loh. although is a bit expensive but we still decided to let harry print. also to save the trouble loh. i have not decide on the wedding favour yet, too many to chose and most of it i like, dunno how to choose...

Hi Jean,

you never trade your fruit platter for the inserts? He exchange the fruit platters in the menu for all 20 tables for card inserts leh. I think his inserts not that ex lar. he quote me $0.70 for one piece. I like his flexible style.

hi strawberryangels,

ya, he also quoted me $0.70 per insert.
however, i have already exchange the fruit platters to another night stay on my wedding eve. he is very flexible indeed. hehe.

vysweetapple

After much consideration, I have decided to held my wedding at RELC. Went down to meet Harry again yesterday. He was really very helpful & nice even though we this is the 2nd time we went down.
The strong vinegar smell was still there when I went down to view the wedding set-up. I told Harry that I mind the smell, and he says that he will put vinegar in the bottle next time.

g_phua

cheekychick,

nice to see u here...another 2009 bride like me

anyhow, i've gotten email from jean and also, from Harry...their package really seems good...i guess i just need to go down and check out the venue...

apparently, Harry's current package is also available for booking for 2009. However, a bit worried cos if book too early, would anything bad happen? i mean, like if the hotel is no longer there....or if Harry is no longer there....then would the perks change, etc....

anyone has any comments on that?

hi twinkle,

i have send u the package. pls check it out.

i have went for the food tasting today. everything has been confirm. now only looking forward to the AD. hehe.

Hi Jean,

How was the food at RELC?
I only confirmed their wedding package. Had not been to their food tasting. when is your AD?
When is the right time to go for food tasting? One month before?

hi strawberryangels,

wow, u just sign the package ? when is ur AD ?

the food taste fine, portion is very big. harry is very flexible, actually i chose Menu A, but after food tasting we decided to change to Menu D and swop some of the dishes in menu B & C. hehe. sounds a bit confusing....

my AD is 17 Nov. food tasting can be arrange anytime.

vysweetapple

Hi Jean,

Did you change the dishes after the food tasting or before? I am quite worried about the taste of the food, but hv to sign before we get to taste the food....

g_phua

Harry is quite efficient i must say....we r going to view the venue this coming Saturday so i guess we'll take some pics of the place....

Jean, do they have several themes for you to choose? u chose ur theme yet?

hi June,

actually i hv already change the menu after i confirm the package 1 year ago....however, during food tasting last friday we intend to change again. but harry is fine with it.

Hi Peiling,

i think there is no theme leh...cos harry show us the photos of the AD decorations when we sign the package. but he say the flowers can choose the type u want then they will do the deco for u loh. so i decided that i want red geberras & pink roses, the rest they will match for us.

hi strawberryangels,

thanks ! ya, think u go food tasting in late feb is fine lah, then also u can choose the wedding favours on the spot loh. hehe.

jaster7

I'm very interested in the package for Tang Court, RELC. Can someone please share with me the current package details? My email is [email protected]

Oh, and does anyone have pics of how the place is setup? If you could send some pics to me, that would be great.

Thank you very much.

gracelourdes

i just made an appt with Harry this sat...going down to view an actual wedding setup....after that, i'll email anyone who's interested in the pics...

my wedding is in 2009....just wonder if it's way too early to sign up now....but then again, to lock in the package price, i tik that would be good lah...

anyhow, i just saw the Today papers ytd and it seems that the annual value of hotels would be increased (not sure when is the effective date but i tik it's really soon) so that would mean an escalated property tax which i believe that some of the costs would be indirectly passed to consumers. *suck blood*

fantasyall

Dear grace

I have already signed up with RELC but din really go down to view an actual wedding setup at RELC.

Can you email me ([email protected]) when u have taken the picture on the setup? Esp the stage and reception. Will like to get a picture of how they look like.

Thank you very much in advance oh.

fantasyall

grace my AD is on 4th sept 2008, still got about 10months still long la :p

thank for your help, hope u got a good time viewing the place.

gracelourdes

fantasyall,

i just went to view the hotel this evening...generally, it seems ok...btw, how many tables u have? basically, we love the service that Harry provides...flexibility also...

also, this evening's couple also doing solemnization at the same time....6.30pm just before the dinner....for max hr...just at the reception side with 20 chairs placed there for the relatives and family...quite a good idea...

i shd say that it's a very good value for money place....basically, the setup looks very much like the pics he sends with his quotation...

i'll email u the pics soon....i like the long aisle though

however, we realise that the ceiling's a little low cos my fiance is quite tall....but generally, for that price and location, it's unbeatable...

fantasyall

Hi Grace

We only booked for 10 tables and Harry is willing to close down the whole restaurant for our wedding night, with a top-up of $80 per table (10 tables).

I will also be holding my solemnization at the same day maybe 6pm on the day itself. Maybe the decoration are not that fantanstic than those famous hotel, but it already good enough for us.

Hope to see your email soon. :D

Yoshimi - You can trace back from this thread to look for Harry email address and ask for the quotation or appointment to go down for further discussion.

gracelourdes

yeah fantasyall...

i do agree that the decor of the place is not that fantastic compared to the other kinds of hotels...however, i do believe that the food tastes good and for the price, it's really a very comprehensive package...

let's just say that u r budget constraint or just want to invite relatives and close friends, i tik RELC would do.

However, if u wish to have quite a few tables (more than 15 or so) and want to have a presentable hotel, i don't really think that it's that good a place as the hotel initial view does look a bit rundown....

anyhow, fantasyall, you've got mail