Regent Singapore

nefariouskat

Latte: ya, think will do it in the bridal suite :D no need to rush..
I asked my coordinator before, per glass of beer is $13++

Laetitia: haha.. i add u on FB instead?

Those taking Tanglin Room, would u all be getting a 2nd projector so that those at the back can see clearer? My coordinator said if i wan, can either rent or bring my own.

coriela

Jia85, what's your fb name or email address?

By the way, wireless mic can try to bargain for them to include in for you?

coriela

Nefariouskat, you might not find me on FB cos my profile is hidden. Lol. Maybe you try adding sweetlove and she can add you to the group too? î–

nefariouskat

laetitia: i also dun have her email address.. haha.. or add me via my email? [email protected]

latte: cuz my fren has portable projector so can actually borrow from him instead of renting. but was thinking whether it is really necessary

wlove

join us at our private facebook page!! hehe..

nefariouskat: I have just added you too.

Latte: yup the beer they will charge by per glass. At the end of banquet they will inform you how many glasses are consumed. I suppose there is option not to serve beer at all if you want? The wait staff will just tell your guests beer is not available..

nefariouskat

sweetlove: ya, i know. thanks!!

just to check... for red wine, do we have to tell them how many bottles we want before the banquet? or they will juz open and charge accordingly?

choco_ice

Really? Can have the option? Hmm... But my mum will kick a fuss if we limit the choices.
Or I just inform the banquet captain to suggest wine if someone asks for beer. Unless he/she die die does not want wine, then no choice, beer it is...

bebe123

Sorry for late response...

yup latte, hopefully the guests at the back can enjoy the same too... :)

Hi nefariouskat, I am also taking the tanglin room and worry that guests at the back cant see the screen. However i will not be renting a 2nd projector as the rental cost is not cheap.

Since your friend has a projector, you may consider bringing it in if there is still room to place the projector. However I think the screens other than the front one is located at the sides near the window... there may be blockage due to the pillar. You may want to check with your coordinator. :p

nefariouskat

tas: still considering.. cuz other than the projector, need the cables and other stuff.. if the ones my friend has is not compatible with the hotel, den no pt le, cuz renting those cables also not cheap

maow

Nefariouskat: before your wedding you gotta assign someone u can trust and can handle situation well as your wedding coordinator for that night. Cos usually the hotel staff can't really contact u so this friend of yours will be in charge to make decisions. Like whether to open addition bottles of wine if the complimentary ones are being consumed. So before wedding u gotta let this friend know by how many dish if the wine/beer is consumed, do u still wanna open? If yes, how many?
For those doing dinner, pls bear in mind that beer are being consumed fast before or during early part of dinner. After which pple tend to switch to wine. So if the beer is being consumed like within 2nd or 3rd dish, it doesn't mean u have to top up by barrel. U can just top up by glasses. Like for my case I thought if beer was consumed by 2nd dish means they can really drink so I ordered to top up 20l barrel but in the end I think not even half was consumed! But bear in mind this is just a rough guide. It might be diff for diff guests. ;)

nefariouskat

maow: noted! thanks for reminding.. ya, will be getting my fren who works at events coordinator to help me on that

bebe123

@nefariouskat: yup rental doesnt come cheap... maybe nearer to AD, can rehearse and see if it is clear from the back.. ;p

maow: i also think the beer/wine consumption is difficult to gauge... wonder if we should take the extra barrel or change to more wine...

wlove

Nefarious & Latte: Yah I tink nvm one lah.. for my wedding there was no hard liquor (I brought in like 3 bottles but only friends drink lor). if not, like what Maow say abt guests consuming beer early in the banquet, just go by per glass. They will charge per glass consumed.

Same goes for red wine, they will let u know how many bottles is consumed, den u pay accordingly. I do have guests who are beer lovers. So depending on your guests preference, u will be able to judge which way works better for you.

msribena I added you already!! :D

msribena

Hi Laetitia & sweetlove, thanks for the add!

Sweetlove, ur evening gown is very nice! U look great!

I'm thinking of asking regent for the ang Bao box, do I have to call my coordinator now to ask for it? Or I can wait till I see her during food tasting?

I just realized i did not ask if possible for the waiver of corkage for hard liqour when I signed the package.

msribena

Oh ya, anyone knows the theme available for the royal pavilion ballroom this yr? Wanna have a look cox wanna choose my evening gown colour...

choco_ice

msribena, you can ask for angpao box. it will be given on your AD. I asked my coordinator through email. no need to wait till food tasting. Just ask her whether it's alright to borrow angpao box on your AD.

Theme for ballroom: seasons in the park (can choose summer, autumn, winter, or spring theme)
I don't remember other new themes

sweetlove, problem is I don't know what the preference of my guests is... so in a sense, I have to gamble to decide beer or red wine. hahaha

coriela

Latte, I think at the end of the day, it is your wedding. You decide what you want to serve during dinner and pre dinner. Another way of saving your beer if you want to serve during dinner is, not to start serving beer at pre dinner cocktail.

For us, we serve champagne, soft drinks and beer during the cocktail. By the time dinner start, we were informed that we had ran out of beer. So, we told the hotel to just serve soft drinks and wine. No more beer. I have no feedback that guests were unhappy that there is no beer available. In fact, all the guests enjoy the wine we serve and are happy with it.

My suggestion is, either you only start serving beer when dinner start, so you can ensure there are beer during dinner, and when it runs out, you gauge by the course... If dinner is ending, then you don't even need to buy more beer...

Or, you serve during cocktail.. when it runs out, you start serving only wine. Look at it this way, if your guests drinks only beer and it runs out, they will not drink your wine either... then you save money lor. Unless you decide to buy another barrel of beer. However, from past experience, normally ppl do not tend to drink beer with dinner. Just a thought....

coriela

nefariouskat, you do not have to commit to buying a certain number of bottles of wine from Regent. However, you need to give an estimate bottle of wine that you will need I think. This is just so that the hotel can ensure they stand by the wine for you and open them as it goes....

You will also need to advice them which wine you want to use from their wine list.

lovelydove

msrebina, heard regent is having a wedding show in May, ask your coord to let you go have a look so you can have a better idea of the colours...

sokeai

I'm btb in Oct 2011, add me to the Regent's btb fb too!

Sweetlove: It's me! I'm thinking how to match my gowns and Regent's themes. Can add me to urs?

sokeai

Btw, anyone know/booked/used AD VG that is able to do morning highlights for lunch banquet?

Probably by 2nd March-in?

wlove

Ask for complimentary entry to bridal show if you have already booked! they should have invited you anyway

Sokeai: Ahh what is ur name on FB? I forgot liaoz haha. Msg me? U so long never come to tis forum alr!! Haha.. Ooh u can actually ask ur co-ord for the pics of the themes available this year!

To add on to what Laetitia say, the additional red wine is the standard ones which is also the same type as the free 1 bottle per table if its in ur package.. They hav it all ready so no worries about giving them an estimate of numbers (my coord also never ask me..)

sokeai

Sweetlove: Yea was quietly reading through the post hehe. Can't drop you private msg, my email is [email protected]

I tried asking my coor prior to the previous show. She didn't offered or extend invites even though I told her my future PILs have yet to view the setups. Merely forward me the registration forms with payments details etc and suggested us to view during actual weddings as it is much more accurate.

Didn't quite like the idea. Past exp when we bought my parents down for viewing during actual wedding was rather rush, sneaking around like thieves dodging the hotel staffs as if we were the guests. Feels very "extra" and can't really see or ask much

sokeai

Nefariouskat: Will you be doing express highlights?

I'm pondering if we shd engage VG + express highlight, is this a need? Highlight is mainly the the gatecrash?

choco_ice

Sokeai,
Last time when I wanted to go to wedding show just to take a look at the theme, I called my wedding coordinator and she allow me to go without any forms etc. I just took a look without having the lunch reception.
I think you can just go there and see the theme. But not so early, perhaps 2 pm onwards after they finish lunch.

regarding express highlights, it's not a need. It's whether you want to showcase the morning session to the guests
If you want, you can engage the VG to do that.
In my case, I only show the montage

coriela

Sokeai,

Actually, you can request outright with your coordinator for a complimentary past to go for the wedding show. However, perhaps as your PILs also want to go then a bit difficult as that will be 4 of you. I do know couples can normally get complimentary to wedding show prior to the wedding until about June. This is because wedding shows after that are more targeted at getting couples for next year.

As for viewing the actual set up, to be honest, viewing it from real couple wedding set up is more accurate. YOu will be able to ask about if the couple top up etc. Please do bear in mind the during wedding show, all the set up are top up. They are not as lush during real weddings unless you top up.

Viewing real weddings, you do not go just as the guests are arriving. You go about 2 hours before the event starts. Sometimes around the staff briefing time. I had done that many times. Do not need to sneak around or avoid anyone. They know why you are there for. No one will chase you away one.

sokeai

Latte: I guess much as well. The most just do a photo montage.

Laetitia: Didn't really want to stay for the whole of event, more for the old folks to get a feel of it.

The wedding shows that we attended showcase with and without top-ups side by side. So we knew exactly how the standard will look like. But the colours are limited, like cream (elegance) for whole room, more of the colour combination. There's even different table cloth colours?!

We reach at about 10.30am, though we were advised 11+ would be ideal to view. But it was already crowded, no idea why there were so many people.

coriela

Sokeai,

for the setup. you do not have to worry about the colours. I am sure you can change the colours to what you want. Top up will only apply if you want more flowers or change the kind of flowers used.

I guess top up for colours only apply for rare colours like blue roses. Or else, the setup main flowers are typically roses...which is standard.

table cloth and sash are 'soft' items that you can mixed and match accordingly to your idea.

I had spoken to the hotel florist directly before when I want to customised the theme to what we want. Lotsa mixed and match here and there, so certain things can be neg one.

rojak

Laetitia: what kind of things did you change to customize the themes? besides colors of cloth/sash and amount of flowers, what else can we change?

coriela

Rojak, you can change and top up for different flowers used. They use the normal roses for set up. So say you want to change to peony, hydrangeas etc, then you top up accordingly lor.

Top up amount of flowers during my time was like $80 per table, then stage was another few hundreds, change flowers another few hundreds etc.

We also wanted to add additional props like say i choose theme 1, then use certain items from theme 2 to add on, then top up again as consider on rental basis....

There are many ways of doing it.In the end we did not go for it cos it is not worth it.

Bottomline is this. For theme, you have to choose one. Then big items like stage, aisle, centre pieces must be from that theme. Small items like sash, table linen, flower type, flower colours, additional props or items from other themes can be changed or add on. All these are subjected to top up and additional costs accordingly.

This is my experience. The rules and regulation from the hotel might have changed. But if you want, no harm asking your coordinator regarding this.

However, be warned that it can get pretty messy and high in cost.

Best way of doing this is to add more flowers by topping up, change sash and table linen if needed.

Or else, the themes are already very nice by themselves. Only thing is the amount of flowers. But without top up, there are already pretty good.

rojak

ohh, i had also wanted to combined themes, like what you said. but my coordinator told me it's not allowed.
but upon 2nd thought, maybe it's not worth it to top up so much for decorations.. coz regent is actually one of the tops for decorations already..
my dream wedding is to have TONNES of flowers, so the topup would be what i want.. but as alot of other brides tell me, noone sees it! >.<

coriela

Rojak, can be allowed one. But combined themes cannot be like using stage set up from theme 1 and then table setting from theme 2. Then this is not allowed.

Adding flowers is available with the relevant top up.

Well, you are right that it might not be worth it. You have to decide what is the focus of your set up. Some brides want to focus on stage only... so they just top up stage. Some the aisle then top up for aisle. Or add to the entrance. Depends on your focal point.

I believe you are having a chinese dinner? then no point to top up for centre piece. Centre piece is there for the first 30 mins then they get removed for food to be placed on the lazy susan. So, if you top up for the centre piece, a waste of money.

We went through a lot of options regarding ballroom setup. If you do not have a thematic wedding, then Regent themes are pretty good to work with.

chocolate_

Laetitia: Just wondering if we can actually request to serve the guests individually so we can "keep" the centrepcs (as they are) for the entire dinner?

coriela

Normally for Chinese banquet, they do not serve individually. It is the dish served in the centre and guests help themselves to the food. Serving individually is also more expensive cos of more man power needed.

lovelydove

I dun tink regent does that.. I know those hotels that do individual serving is more ex like Raffles hotel and St Regis. Can always try asking..

rojak

Hmm. i think what regent does is to put the dish in the centre, then serve it to all the guests from there. that's what i was told by my coord...

chocolate_

But for VIP and bridal table, they will serve them individually?

BTW during cocktail reception, are we allowed to use the grand piano at the lounge area?