Regent Singapore

lovelydove

Finally signed with Regent! Actually feel relieved after signing at least I can stopped looking at hotels and ballrooms.

Latte, do share your PS! I'm still looking out for gowns...

bzbz8384

hihi..did anyone manage to get waiver of corkage? tried asking eunice..but she say cannot leh

nefariouskat

bzbz: i also tried asking larrina, she also say cannot. hai.. tot of getting my own red wine de.. but since they can't waive the corkage, will have to get from them ba

shan: congrats! u signed for royal pavilion?

rojak

i think can waive, if you decide not to take any of their wine (i.e. the 1 free bottle per table etc) and buy all your own

choco_ice

I think if you take up the perks during the wedding show, then cannot waive. else can try to bargain.

sweetlove said their wines are nice. So I just buy their wine with corkage waiver. No need the trouble to bring in wines. Since mine is lunch, I hope everyone still need to stay sober for the rest of the day, so not much wine will be consumed. Hehees

I managed to get corkage for hard liquors up to 2 bottles.

Shan, congrats! which room did you get? Yup, I actually look fwd to PS. Want to see how good my make up artist is

For wedding gown, I take from divine couture
Evening gown is made outside spore

rojak

latte: i thought default corkage for hard liquor is 5 bottles? but i think not many pple bring in hard liquor for banquet leh.. so can change that for corkage of wine..
i think wine outside is much cheaper.. can find out what wine they carry and buy urself outside.

yar MUA is very impt for PS and AD.. do you get a trial makeup session? if so you will know her skills very soon ^_^

nefariouskat

rojak: the corkage charges not cheap.. $30++ per bottle and it is the same price as you buying a bottle of red wine from them, so we'll juz be getting their inhouse red wine ba.

latte: oh, u managed to get waiver for hard liquor ar? still thinking whether we should have hard liquor on that day. mine is also lunch, hopefully my free 20l beer and my budgeted 2bot of red wine per table will be sufficient :p

bzbz8384

Thanks everyone for the tips...i'm going back to Eunice to check on waiver for hard liquor...

Latte~ ur MUA from DC? who u engaged??

rojak

nefariouskat: yeah corkage is not cheap.. but if asked for waiver then it's cheaper to buy outside and bring in...

coriela

I agree with about the wine. Depending on your bargaining power. If can get waiver for wine corkage, it will be cheaper to bring in your own wine.

We had waiver so we brought in cartons of wines ourselves. There are wine sales around that you can get cheap wine at half the price of what the hotel charges. These wine are pretty good too. We got ours for about $20 per bottle only and including delivery to the hotel.

choco_ice

I think because mine is lunch at Tanglin, so there is no waiver for wine or hard liquor. unless it's ballroom or dinner I guess.

rojak, bzbz, my MUA is from my Johor bridal. Last time my friend did her PS there and the MUA was very skilled to do her make up. Turned out very nice. make up trial will be on PS I guess. At least can photoshop if not nice. :p

nefariouskat, I asked for waiver for hard liquor because afraid one of our relatives will bring hard liquor in. 2 bottles for table is quite a lot... I predict only 10 bottles of red wine will be consumed. Hope I am right

chocolate, I will post some of the nicest PS photos (out of the bad ones) in FB once they are ready. Can't wait to see yours too

rojak

latte: Tanglin also can. but not sure if still can ask, if you've already signed the agreement? good to try.. saves quite a bit

choco_ice

rojak, I have signed. Last time I bargained and bargained, still couldn't get the waiver of corkage because I had taken the summer perks.

lovelydove

Hi nefariouskat & Latte, I took nassism room cos i'm only planning for a small wedding for close friends. Royal Pavillon is nice but too big for me..

I did not ask for additonal cockage waiver too cos i didnt tink my guest will drink that much. On 2nd tots... maybe we can have few bottles of hard liqour for housepour during cocktails? Just an idea.. haha..

choco_ice

Shan, Nassim and Tanglin are quite similar. So we share same layouts

you can try to ask for waiver for hard liquor ;)

Yup, I like DC gowns and the services

wlove

Hi babes! So long never come in here. Haha.

Latte: Ur PS pics sure dun have not nice one lah.. so just post all!! Hehehe :p cant wait to see!!

Hmm good points of taking wine from Regent:

1) As I said, its nice. LOL. and is alot of my guests say one! So no worries about quality. U can buy a glass to try during your food tasting if you want/just to be sure. :p

2) Pay only what you consume. No worries about leftover bottles, returning to supplier etc.

3) No need transport to hotel urself, and bringing the remaining bottles back home. (More impt if ur supplier dun provide free delivery)

4) Unless your guests are all super wine drinkers, your consumption should not be much. (point to note: Unless waiver is included in your contract agreement, they wont give you free waiver one, which is why is impt to negotiate it BEFORE u sign agreement!) Therefore even thou the wine is more ex than supplier, is just few bottles only (I used only 5 bottles additional for my 26 tbl banquet).

Good points of supplier wine.. guess everyone know le. Hehe. so those who do not have free waiver, taking wines from hotel may not be a bad idea and instead help you to save time and energy. Esp brides with lesser tables for their banquet, consumption will be even lesser (if of cos u already have the 1 free wine per table, and/or if ur guests are super wine drinkers as I mentioned). Depending on your situation, u can decide which is more viable and cost saving for your wedding banquet.. HTH!

bzbz8384

yeah DC is worth checking out =) gowns are pretty...and service is good~~ can ask for kim hehe

sweetlove...thanks for the pros n cons listed out hehehe...okie, i'll go with regent's wine....now i jus hope eunice say "yes" to my request for corkage waiver for hard liquor :p she is taking so long to reply me

choco_ice

bzbz, if my wedding co-ord did not reply me within 2 days, I will call her. Or email again in case she misses my email.
I'll take regent wine too because it's less hassle. Furthermore, according to my estimation, it will be 10 bottles max (I hope I am right on AD). No need to dispose the red wine after banquet as compared to buying from outside.

bzbz8384

keke going for local prewed shoots tis jun w DC gown...cant wait hehe..i wanan see ur prewed pics..upload them when they're ready okie? hehe

chocolate_

bzbz: U are also a DC bride? how will the arrangement be done - collect the gown prior to the prewed shoot and then meet the MUA elsewhere?

choco_ice

I wanna see your prewed pics too bzbz

Chocolate, are you using DC MUA? If yes, you can do ur make up at DC. If not, you can collect the gowns 1-3 days prior to your PS and ask your MUA to meet somewhere. Perhaps at your house because it will be more convenient for you

coriela

I have set up a Regent Brides group on Facebook. Easier for us to share ideas and photos and stuff regarding our wedding at Regent be it from previous brides or future brides planning for their big days.

I have added some of you into the group. If I had missed anyone out, please let me know.

nefariouskat

latte: how many tables are u having? 10 bottles of red wine enough? i was thinking of switching my free barrel of beer to red wine cuz lotsa my frens say more ppl drink red wine nowadays and since i'm doing lunch, all the more ppl will drink red wine instead of beer.

any of u gg to do ur tea ceremony in the bridal suite? i'm thinking of doing that but dunno if the hotel will allow.

Laetitia: wat's the name of the FB group? tried to search for Regent Brides but cannot find..

wlove

nefariouskat: its a private grp.. r u my fren on FB? if u are, can u PM me so i add u in? hehe..

rgd tea ceremony, some couple chose to do on stage before dinner starts..hehe. nv heard of do in bridal suite yet

nefariouskat

sweetlove: er.. don't think i'm a fren in ur FB..

i'm intending to do my solemnisation ceremony on stage.. if also hold the tea ceremony on stage, scared will b too boring for the other guests..

coriela

Hi Nefariouskat,

I believe Regent allows tea ceremony to be done in the bridal suite. I was given this suggestion for my wedding too, but in the end, we did it right after our solemnisation instead.

You just need to inform your coordinator of your plans and where and when you want to do it. They will prepare the tea and tea set for you.

Nefariouskat, what is your username in FB? Are you my friend on FB too?

metro_18

Hi Laetitia,

Thanks for creating the FB-Regent page!!

Btw, wanna ask u gals for waiver of corkage for hard liquor, does it mean we must buy directly the alcohol from regent?

coriela

Hi MEtro,
if you have waiver for hard liquor, it means that you can bring in your own bottle of hard liquor as long as they are duty paid.

If you buy directly from hotel, the cost of the liquor will have included corkage charge already, hence no waiver is then needed.

coriela

Nefariouskat,

if you are doing your solemnisation on stage, then you can have your tea ceremony in the suite.
The suite is a nice setting for tea ceremony.

nefariouskat

laetitia: my FB's name is Katherine Xu.. nope.. not ur fren in FB..

ya, when i saw the bridal suite during the wedding fair, i tot of that liao cuz the space is big enough.

choco_ice

nefariouskat, actually my friend did her tea ceremony in the suite. Most of my friends did that anyway. hehee
I never even heard ppl did their tea ceremony at the stage like sweetlove said....Now I know that it's possible.
regarding changing beer to red wine, I think that's a good idea. But I wonder, if few guests drinking beer, will we be charged per L? I need to ask my wedding co-ord. She still has not got back to me regarding no of microphones I can use. Normally 1 day she already replies me. this wkday no time to call on office hours. so busy.

Laetitia, yeah, pretty excited to see how my prewed photos turn out

coriela

Hi Latte,

as for if only a few guests drink beer, they normally charge by per glass liao. Per litre wise, you have to buy their smallest barrel size depending on what is their smallest barrel... normally about 15L or 20L? This apply similar to if you run out of your complimentary barrel of beer, you have to decide to open another barrel or buy from hotel by per glass basis.

coriela

Nefariouskat, There are many Katherine Xu in FB! heehee.... so I am not sure which is you.

The bridal suite in Regent is pretty spacious. So, having a cosy tea ceremony will be very nice.

choco_ice

Thanks Laetitia, I am asking my wedding co-ord about the cost of beer per glass. Hope she will reply me tomorrow or the day after

rojak

latte: yours is tanglin room right? if so, there are limited mics that can be used there. 2 on the rostrum (for emcees) and one wired mic. this is because there are limited mic points available in the room...

coriela

I thought if wireless mic, then do not matter about how many points there are? I am sure you can still try to ask your coordinator. They are pretty good at trying their best to accommodate their couples.

rojak

yar.. i wanted to do some performance too.. but can't with a single mic. there are only 3 points built in to connect to the room's sound system.. my coordinator did say if really want need to set up amplifiers etc.. which either adds on ur logistics, or you gotta pay for the rental/setup.. >.<