Regent Singapore

firedove

Hi Ashes, I don't have a video of the jazz ensemble, but I do have a picture. It's just a guitarist and a flutist. My guests didn't really have any feedback on them. If you want to have a look at the pic, PM me. Oh and if anyone else is interested in seeing actual day pix (L'Amour theme), you can PM me too. Sorry, I don't have any pix of the bridal suite. It wasn't that photo-worthy

As for the location, it is about 15min walk from Orchard MRT which is quite far in Singapore's weather, but there are quite a few buses that go very close. #36 stops right in front of Regent too. Guess the plus point for guests driving is that they don't have to pay ERP cos Regent's not in such a central location.

happysnowball

hey babes..

is the black table cloth an exclusive to L'amour theme?

wondering if i can switch the Chinois theme white table cloth to black? hehe..

headache.... nt much weddings coming up due to 7th mth.. we hav only viewed 1 so far and soo ting is asking me to pick my cards and guestbook etc already.. =(

time not enuf! =p

melodymin

Hello I'm new here too.. Anyone held their banquet at Tanglin room with L' Amour theme? And does anyone has the picture of the set up of the guest tables. Does the theme turn out to be very black and dull?

iris_1029_ning

Hi..all,I will hold my banquet at nassim room,but i have confirm my color theme?anyone can tell me what is different between classic Jazz and summer Jazz?Thanks a lot!

muddypaws

hey there, I'm also a Regent BTB. Having my banquet lunch at the Royal Pavilion Ballroom in Dec 08. Waiting for a new coordinator to be assigned to us cos our original coordinator, Michaela, left.

faithz17

L'Amour has only been done in Tanglin once from what i heard... they combined L'Amour with Elements of Emotions as cannot have L'Amour stage or aisle decor in Tanglin... overall effect was supposedly quite nice...

Classic Jazz is more white and gold... Summer Jazz is more pastel colours like pinks, lilacs, lavenders...

michaela's official replacement is already on board... they should be contacting you soon bah... if not you can always drop an email to the coordinator who is supposed to 'babysit' you...

fallingflakes

hi all, i'm a regent BTB too and my wedding is in nOv 08. prob is, we cant decide whether to go for Elements of Emotions or La Dolce Vita. Any idea if we can combine the theme?

went for food tasting earlier this month and both our folks felt that most of the dishes were so-so only, some they said not nice. dunno is it they are too fussy or what. Personally i feel that most are "ok lor, wedding food" though 2 or 3 dishes left a more positive impression, like the bi feng tai chicken.

fallingflakes

hi jules,

the chicken is nice lor, one of the few dishes the folks praised n its crunchy (the side ingredients), so its a diff taste lah, nice!

me_jules

but the roasted chicken thigh with cereal sounds good also leh! I like cereal! anything cereal, cereal prawns, cereal fried rice, maybe not the real cereal...

fallingflakes

yummy, sounds good too leh the cereal one, but think we will stick to the bi feng tang since thats supposedly one of the more popular dishes.

does anyone have any idea whether we need to pay more ($300 to $600) if we were to combine the themes?

muddypaws

hey there, has anyone done the L'Amour theme but with a different colored tablelinen? I like the flower arrangement of the L'Amour theme, but no way my parents and in-laws can have black tablelinen.

Anyway, I got my new coordinator.

iris_1029_ning

Thanks faithz17,this Sat i will go down to look for Joanne to confirm my card and theme also...but i also not very sure which theme is suitable for me..cos i will hold my banquet at nassim room,Joanna suggest us to choose dreams...

crab_era

Hey ladies, my wedding is in Dec 08. My meeting with William (Michela's back-fill) wasn't that pleasant.

We agreed to meet up today. He wasn't feeling well and took off without inform my fiance and I. When we reach the hotel, (since we didn't know that he went off) we call his HP and it was just ringing incessantly. When he finally picked up the call, he told us that he'll ask Eunice to meet us.

Only through Eunice that we know that he's ill. I think they can show more courtesy on that.

Maybe we were asking for things like F&B voucher for our additional night stay, asking the hotel to bring our (banquet) food to our room on that AD.

Did any of you ladies get something like that? or can anyone suggest if i should change a coordinator?

flora_bliss

My FH received a call from our wedding co-ordinator last week, reminding us to arrange a meetup with her to select the guest book, invitation cards and wedding favours. Is there anything we need to look out for on selection of such stuff?

me_jules

Hey crab, I don't think all of them are managers lah... At least mine isn't. She's just the executive.

You mean you have to ask for the banquet food to be brought up to the room on the AD? I didn't know that. For some reason, I thought it'll just happen. I didn't ask leh. What did they say when you asked for it?

Hey florabliss, have fun selecting! Although I find that there isn't much choice, though. heee... I went for my selection already!

crab_era

Hey Jules..

They told me they will keep the food warm in the ballroom, and i'll have it there after the dinner is over.

Come on.. As if i will have the mood to eat with all the gown and heavy make-up. When i asked if they can bring the food to the room, they said it's the hotel's good food policy, no food in the room. *faint*

Anyway, can i ask what happens to the empty tables paid-but-unused in the banquet?
EG: I paid for 40table. supposedly, only 38 tables are filled with guests.

Also, i'll appreciatae if someone can give me the email address of the manager incharge of the wedding coordinators. I'm thinking of changing mine...

fallingflakes

eh crab, how come urs like so unhelpful one? when we asked our co-ordinator, she said our complimentary couple meal can order room service before or after the banquet.

me_jules

Oh, I'm also wondering about what happens if I don't meet the minimum tables. I don't know if I'll still have the mood to have my dinner after the whole thing leh.

crab_era

Princess: my coordinator was Michela, the Eunice, then now William. Maybe Eunice was just the 'middleman', so she didn't have to commit herself to service us. Only left me with negative impression

fallingflakes: *sigh* I also dunno. Who's your coordinator? Eunice suggested we ta bao something to the hotel to eat. But it's a 5* hotel leh, can't even give a small snack?

jules: I haven't gotten any confirmation about the 'unused' tables and post-banquet dinner arrangements. Yup, i agree that we won't have the mood to sit in the dining room to eat after the wedding.

fallingflakes

hi crab, my coordinator is joanne. though over email and phone she is always kinda "straight to the point", but thankfully so far she is still at regent so no need to change coordinator for us. but i find it kinda stupid leh how come cannot bring the food up. maybe cos they want to maintain good food at all times, by the time they bring to u food oledi not as fresh liao, its like compromising on standard? If it is calling room service dun see why it shd be a problem lor.

fallingflakes

i thot unused tables are forfeited? cos say if you confirm 38 tables, they already cook for that guaranteed amount of pax, so by right even if attendance doesnt hit, it will be a loss for you lor. Thats my understanding lah.

Btw, my AD is in Nov and till now we still cant make up our minds to combine themes anot leh. Personally i dun see why mixing the themes using existing props should cost an additional $300 to $600 lor.

crab_era

Hey jules/flakes, sorry for the late reply. was busy studying

Anyway, i got a surprise call from Eunice yesterday. She read what i wrote and called to apologise for the unhappiness called. (That's probaby why Regent is a 5* hotel)

Now my coordinator is backed to Eunice. Regent wanna prevent anymore of such incidents happening.

ceo38

Hi crab, great tat Regent "woke up" abit and called u to apologise. 5 star hotel leh..so funny tat we have to eat at the ballroom after all have left...Sher*ton no lei, they place food inside warmer n send the food up to the room nice and warm lor. tat's what i call "special" cos we are the wedding couple there ma..tot we shd have special treatment..we r spending 20, 30, 40K there de wor... n tis changing of coordinator thing is quite a turn off I must say...it makes ppl feel insecure abt them rite... gosh...

ceo38

o ya, hi hi cookie!! nice to "see" u here....kekeke... i helped u ask abt the sash last sunday, same reply frm them. They say dnt have wor...cheh..

cookiefleur

hey karen, no prob, thanks for your help!

but what i understand is that Regent will not budge on their policy of not sending food up to the room. they just refuse to do that. i dunno why... =(

i think this is causing many couples unhappiness, not sure why... wonder if there is majority of us requesting it, maybe they will relook at their policy???

fallingflakes

hi cookie, my hb asked our coordinator and that was what he was told lor about the extra cost. sianz leh, now mid sep liao, our AD in nov now still can't decide to mix anot. goodness know how much it will add up to, lol.

crab, u mean eunice read wad u wrote on sgbrides forum?

me_jules

hah, they really won't send the food up? Will it really taste that much better if eaten in the ballroom? If I make the effort to eat in the ballroom and it sucks, how?!

simontemplar23

if I remembered during my AD, Regent sent up some nice sandwiches before the dinner itself. I guess they afraid of u all getting a stomachache from eating stale food.

Anyway, after the dinner, where got energy and time to eat? Either too tired or too busy ;)

paulineda

Yes. Regent used to send food up until they received a complaint from a wedding couple last year or a few years ago about stale food that caused them a stomachache.

That's why. Hope everyone understands.

luvz17

Went down to Regent last friday for cards, guest books and wedding favour selections.

i did ask my coordinator in regards to some queries gng on here..

in regards to food thingy, she said they can place the food in the warmer and serve after dinner. But can only consume in the ballroom. She said it is government rules and regulations for hygiene purposes. Frankly speaking, who on earth will sit down nicely and eat at the ballroom..and maybe the whole staff is clearing table and looking at you at the same time??

If on actual day, the guest tables are lesser than the confirmed table, they will still charge you according to confirmed table. The food will be distributed to other tables (eg VIP/ relatives).

Went to see the bridal suite..Nothing fantastic..just normal 2 deluxe rooms conbine as 1.

Asked Lora (Regent Florist) before aboout combining 2 themes.. There are additional charges to it. Coz at that point in time, i was thinking to mix elements of emotion and l'amour. She adviced me to take elements of emotion and top up l'amour table decor which is cheaper. If the other way round, it is more expensive coz she sais somehting like need to transport the candle blah blah.dun really understand..

luvz17

hi iris, i cant remember exactly how much since i enquired abt this mths ago. if i am nt wrong, 1 gazebo $400, 2 gazebo $600. thn additional flower stand of l'amour theme abt $6/ stand?

the best thing is to show her the pictures of decor that u want as well as ur budget. thn she will work out for u. she mentioned that on average ppl top p abt $2000 and can get that fuller effect..maybe u can ask rcyk for better details of her wedding decor.

sillycouple

ive seen the bridal room in Regent... a bit small hor? compared to some other hotels Ive been to, their room also a bit not so nice. Hope they can reno the room a bit bit so that next year all wedding couples can get a nicer room. haha

me_jules

not at all. ceiling is super low.

By the way ladies, I am feeling a little annoyed with them. Don't know if any of you experienced it. So I went down to choose my cards and favours and all that and was asked if I would like to top up extra 5dollars for printing extra 50pieces. So I said okay. When we went to collect our cards, we were wondering why the inserts were more than the cards and envelopes. Reason? Because the 5bucks we paid is only the inserts. Card and envelopes are 2.50 per piece. Wah lau!!! This wasn't communicated to us properly at all! Why would we want to print the extra inserts without cards? Then just give people the inserts without envelopes and cards?

sillycouple

oh maybe ur coordinator didnt tell u properly. Ours told us that it'll be good to print extra inserts in case we write wrongly. Cos if not enuff, we cant print at such a low cost after that.

luvz17

jules, urs $5 ah..my coordinator said top up of $10 for 50 pcs oh...bt she did tell me abt the additional cost for envelope & ribbon.

sillycouple

it depends on the no of tables u hv. if the tables are below 30, its still v spacious

the only thing i feel sad is the bridal room has got nothing to rave abt.

me_jules

hey luvz17, to be honest, I can't remember. It should be 10 then. I don't see why it should be any different. But then again, they haven't been very upfront. Anyway, I regret using them, but what to do, its happening in a couple of months. Just get it over and done with.

By the way, paradise, I don't think the Royal Pavilion Ballroom allows you to book the place if you have less than 30 tables. What my coordinator told me was weekends, min 40 tables and weekday min 35 tables. But then again, it could be different people different info. And yup, you're right, the bridal room is really pathetic. Heard from a friend who got married there earlier this year, that service is kind of sucky too.

luvz17

Jules, when is ur AD?

i really hope regent can give us good service on AD to make what i paid worth for it.. Any recent ex-regent? Pls give comments...